Originally posted by servoprax@Jun 22 2005, 03:48 AM

Guys, I think u are having a small misconception on the purpose of the powervalve and its maintenance. Riding with and open valve all the way is not really gona help much. Especially riding at 4th gear or 5th gear at 9+ rpm !! Engine Stress and this not even on track. What u need to take note is on the carb settings. To rich for normal roads aint gona help u other than buring a hole in your pockets. Riding the same way u do is gona wear down more things than u might imagine. Sit back and think about it. Instant power when valve on semi-open position but at the expense of faster piston wear, uncomfy ride etc. Stuck valves is a common issue. But at the rate u guys are maintaining ur bikes, it does really take much more than a quick 15minutes even by the side of the road to clear that ugly carbon stain of the valve if u do it every week. Been there done that even on my ex bike. Check with the pioneers.

My ex bike was near stock form. Modded milo, boyesen reedvalves, 34mm carb, thinner base gasket for higher compression ratio. All that for 22km/l travelling at 100km on expressways and occasional bursts with weekly valve cleansing. But if u get a lesser mileage say 15 - 17km/l for an arrow, that would be fine. My fazer currently on 17km/l so i do understand the pinch some of u are feeling.

Some of u ask how u got that mileage, well, im not an expert. I just "felt it" plus all the tips available on the net like the spark plug comparisons etc.

Just use some WD40 and a bit of petrol to clean the valve every 3 weeks or so.

Simple operation of raising the tank, taking out the right side fairing, removing the power valve sheath and cable, then taking it out to clean.

Just ride the bike normally, and open it up from time to time. Use good synth 2T.

Everything should be good.

If u ride it like you race it, then you're gonna end up with a lot of worn parts fast.

I used to whack my Priller last time. I went thru 2 pistons in 8 months for all my misguided troubles... not worth it.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

DNAdevil,

You made everyone wait for you at the Dam and you didnt turn up.

NOT COOL.

Axxis,

I think it wasnt your fault for blowing your bike up. The bike's 2nd-hand, history's foggy, you didnt know how the bike was set - rich or lean, 2T flow, etc....

All you had was the mechanic's word.

I took my 8 yr old bike to the track and kept the revs in the 10,000 - 13,500 rpm range. She's still running fine...

Heading to scrapyard to look for footpegs and headlights tomorrow. Buzz me if you want me to look out for anything.

Jie Liang,

That shirt's not worth much. Dont sell it for such a high price. I'm giving it away for free leh...

Why was your neighbour out with you if she didnt want to be? Strange how some girls are like that. Alternatively, you can always find a girl who rides too.

Viknesh,

Join us for future gatherings. We'll be pleased to have your company. Try not to ride around your estate's MSCP or open air carparks because sometimes neighbourhood patrols will stop you to check. I nearly got caught for riding without a helmet from my home to the MSCP which is a mere 200m away. Also, the bike needs to move even if you're warming it up.

The battery only gets charged after 4,000 RPM, which means that if you have been letting the bike run without exceeding over 4,000 rpm the engine has been running off its own battery, and the battery will drain and die soon.

Moreover, you need to ride the bike around to get the gear oil moving around and for the crankshaft and other bearings get some exercise. The radiator also gets heated up without air rushing over it from the front that it gets when on the move.

Its like waking up everyday but just lying in bed, not moving. In the end your muscles will atrophy. Might as well not wake up and just stay in a coma.

Disconnect your battery, cover your pipe, put some 2T into your tank, drain the fluids and leave the bike in cold storage will do the bike a lot more good than just letting the bike run stationary. Edwin will tell you in details how.

Stuff on your bike easy to fix. Dont let bike shops chop you silly. You can just get parts and do it yourself. Christina's bike used to belch plenty of white smoke all the time despite bringing it to the mech repeatedly and complaining abt it endlessly. Recently, I cleaned the carb and tuned it up. Today her baby's running sweet and has minimal white smoke emission.

I learnt a lot from servoprax, willing mechanics and other tinkerers, and also from opening up stuff and trying to figure them out myself. Today I've learnt that I've been getting ripped off since the day I took the bike into a shop and that's why I'm trying to build a good reputation for my business by setting a high standard for ourselves.

Try to learn as much as you can and do stuff yourself. You'll save yrself a lot of money and grief.

CMYRS

Am using a Creative Muvo. No problems with it skipping. I play Armin van Buuren pretty damn loud too...

Lightbolt,

We recently did an overhaul for an RX-Z... hahahaa.... Anything from changing and servicing fork, rear shock, changing tyres with computerised wheel balancing, changing of brake pads and brakelines with bleeding, the list goes on. Any bikes from R1 to Rs125 to RXK to Phantoms. Its just like any other bike shop lah.

We do regular stuff like washing of carb and valve, tuning, gear oil, etc. We also carry 'Braking' brake pads and EBC brake pads, as well as Dunlop, Bridgestone and Michelin tyres.

My partner, Faizal, services and tunes his own R1 and R6. He's very good with all engines and has contacts for parts and apparel. If you guys want suits, gloves, boots etc, just let us know. We'll get it at dealer's price. Much cheaper than getting end-user price.

Matrix and all,

Valves can go to Edwin....

He's the dealer of Aprilia 2nd hand valves. All original, all good as new. Some even better than new - fabricated from stainless steel. It'll outlast 10 generations of Aprilias. I bought a steel one from him, heavy as hell but stronger than anything.

muser and CMYRS,

My working hours are roughly 10am till...... the end of the week. So go figure...

I'd like to hang out with you guys more often, and its easier now coz now I'll be as tired as you are. After cleaning 3 carbs a day among many other things, I start to respect Alex from Stamford Motor (next door) on how he can still get customers despite a 6 month wait. Its because of his good service that he still has customers willing to wait up to 6 months just to get their BMW bikes done up by him.

Wow... Yet another meetup?

I wish I could go! But sometimes when people turn up after hours weeping about their bikes, we cant say no, can we?

I'd love to have you guys over for a DIY sometime. Just like old times....

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Originally posted by Benguin46@Jun 22 2005, 05:16 PM

and so.. im asking again.. who studies or works in Dover ITE coz i see an aprilia there almost all the time..

And so, we'll tell you again.

Its irrelevant.

Talk to the guy, leave a note, or something. Aprilia is a great bike. And so is a Mito. Intelligent people will eventually understand this and buy an Italian machine to use it.

If no one admits to parking his/her bike at Dover ITE, then obviously, the person is either an arrogant bas***d (!), or he simply does not patronise this forum.

Either way, its a waste of time to search for someone on the internet, its almost like looking for a needle in a haystack. Well, unless you're looking for sex with a hairy, overweight, middle-aged paedophile, then I'm sure it would garner a much better response.

oh looky, smilies

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Jun 22 2005, 04:00 PM

Why was your neighbour out with you if she didnt want to be? Strange how some girls are like that. Alternatively, you can always find a girl who rides too.

Maybe she was looking forward to the other ride?

Originally posted by xxes123@Jun 22 2005, 10:01 AM

the teflon balancer is not the cause of weird sound , its the 250 arrow stomach...

The what stomach?!?? RS250!? :giddy: :faint: Is that even a good idea? No wonder that one-of-a-kind super-RS flies!

Either way, its a waste of time to search for someone on the internet, its almost like looking for a needle in a haystack. Well, unless you're looking for sex with a hairy, overweight, middle-aged paedophile, then I'm sure it would garner a much better response.

yes sir.. ahhaha

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/4760/presentation1re8.jpg
Originally posted by Divine^ponytailz@Jun 22 2005, 05:32 PM

Maybe she was looking forward to the other ride?

I see where you're coming from.....

uh huh.... oh yeah.

No wonder in a hurry to go off..... Jie Liang :nono: tsk tsk

The truth.... Who is she?

Originally posted by muser@Jun 22 2005, 05:34 PM

The what stomach?!?? RS250!? :giddy: :faint: Is that even a good idea? No wonder that one-of-a-kind super-RS flies!

yeah... my mech also told me to get a rs250 stomach...

he said it's good stuff~

but ya bro in law told me he's not using the 250 stomach...

unless he's trying to hide from us his secret weapons...

muahahahaa

eh edwin, ya bro in law is using the teflon balancer gear lah...

no more cast iron... he said it's be more flexible during high temperature..

hence less chances of breaking...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg
Originally posted by Sub Zero@Jun 22 2005, 07:21 AM

I'm very depressed.. I've gotta certain no. of problems that i need your opinon and help..

1)White smoke - Till this day, i do not know why is my bike still belching white smoke.. My bike has been ridden by my bro.. and he has whacked it hard so it cant be carbon in the exhaust.. He even brought it to the shop and had them drain out the old 2T and put in new one.. yet, the bike belching out white smoke.. the min i start the bike, smoke comes out.. i ride abit and come to a stop, smoke comes out.. only at higher gears, there's little smoke, but could be cause i going faster... Any ideas?

2)My speedo and trip not working.. i discover the speedo cable hanging out this morning.. Any idea where i can get it done up and how much? And are the speedo and trip both associated with the same cable or different? i was told by someone who got his speedo fixed that it cost 120 to replace that teeny gear part... how?

3) Spots of black oil found below my bike.. leaking engine oil.. God knows fm where? Wat are the reprecussions of this and how much to get it fixed??

I cant take it sia.. before getting my license oredi so much problem.. If i din love Aprilia so much, i'd hang myself... :cry: :cry:

please help!! :help:

hmmm

mayb the smoke is not caused by 2t?? but by ya gear oil???

piston ring loose and gear oil seeping into ya cylinder??

is that possible??

one way to find out is to plug out ya 2t tube from the carb and let it run there for

a while.. see whether is there any smoke.. if there's still smoke.. then the 2t is not

the cause of the problem...

and yah.. it won't seize ya engine if ya just leave it idling or riding at low rpm...

so so so.. those going for inspection can try this method if ya bike is emitting too

much white smoke..

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Jun 22 2005, 05:54 PM

I see where you're coming from.....

uh huh.... oh yeah.

No wonder in a hurry to go off..... Jie Liang :nono: tsk tsk

The truth.... Who is she?

i want the aprilia polo!!

ya said ya giving it for free uh??

come come come...

hey hanif and ben, which of ya want the 2nd hand sach rear shock??

i'll be going down to my mech tml..

and i'll check with him how much is it going for (+10% kopi duit)

hahah

Eyz, sorry dude, still have not had the time to go zip & send u the pics.

Will do so soon, hopefully by Christmas.

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

no prob dude..

the fotos ain't important...

i was trying to help ya upload those fotos..

wat's important was the gatherhing itself...

cheer~

Yea, Im totally out of touch with these things, tried uploading and resizing the pics but w/o much luck and result.

Thanks Eyz.

They go their own way.

How come nobody liked my pics?? Haiz..:cry: :cheer:

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

hey guys.. yishun dam fri nite, anyone?

meeting place: park at orchard cineleisure carpark.. meet at rocky master e cafe at e entrance of cineleisure

time: 11pm?

venue: dunno.. rounding or sth then end up at yishun dam and then supper at jalan kayu aft tt if everyone's game..

1. redridinghood-vivi

2. lightbolt75- godfrey 93361475

3. M@+r!X- andrew 98554161

3. xiongzzz-96654547

4. kron- andy 94876200

5. huinjianmin- nick 97979471

6. CMYRS- andre 91992019

7. dirtman - Glenn 90478375 ( For an hour or two)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/1c026f0e.jpg

- vivi

speaking of the fotos ya sent me...

i haven't upload it yet...

Andre, but i'd seen gonggong uploaded some fotos, were they yours??

Originally posted by eyz@Jun 22 2005, 08:24 PM

Dude,

they were mine!! Which i uploaded to ARC's friendster profile... :smile:

Do go check it out.. and add yourself as a friend while you're at it! :cheer:

[email protected] :thumb:

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

simply because restricting my engine size restricts my running costs to some extent. 1 spark plug vs 4 spark plugs; road tax; gear/engine oil; it all adds up - I've done the numbers.

ouuccch.... I kinda felt it...... hehehe. But how about a four stroke Sonic or wave then.. heheheh

Originally posted by eyz@Jun 22 2005, 08:24 PM

Nope, they were not mine!

But u saw the one of Chris right?

Looked like an eXtra from the movie TORQUE :sian:

They go their own way.

Originally posted by muser@Jun 22 2005, 05:22 PM

i don't understand, why don't edmund just get a rs250 instead?

Always be prepared.

1stly thanks to everyone who gave me their opinion and help on my various problems..

Just an update..

I dunno how but somehow the smoke coming out has sorta decreased.. I've not really ridden the bike around.. but the smoke has decreased substantially when i start my bike and leave running at neutral.. hmm...:confused: But problem still not solved... Still smoking..

Another miracle, managed to screw back the speedo cable.. Thank God! And it's working fine..

Finally the engine/gear? oil leaking..I managed to find one area.. the lower half of my milo kong is black wit it.. jus below the exhaust hole.. Law told me it's too much 2t flow.. There's one more area below my bike tat got leak.. i suspect it fm the part of the milo kong that is under bike... :confused:

Anyway, thanks again all you guys..

Chris, was talkng to Lawrence abt the VDO speedo u installed.. I'll be getting one too.. after i finish doing all the initial touchups for my baby.. Do you still have your original analog speedo? I plan to keep my original speedo and add on the digital one.. Law said it should be running fine together.. I heartpain to let go of my original Aprilia speedo.. :cheeky:

Originally posted by lacrimosae+-->
QUOTE (lacrimosae)
I'd like to hang out with you guys more often, and its easier now coz now I'll be as tired as you are.[/b]

Heheh, ok, we'll tiredly commiserate with you then. I'm eyeing a transfer at my newspaper from the Sub-Editing section to the Foreign Desk, which may actually lengthen my working hours if it goes through. Nevermind, the time to whack at work is while we're young (and I hereby declare that young is anything under 40, cuz I'm sweating as I approach 30).

Originally posted by lacrimosae@

oh looky, smilies

Wah wah wah, come back first thing claws come out ah!? Well here's me flopping :faint: and cuckoo-eyed :giddy: at that.