guys...can check with u all ah...if i need to change many things...eg gearbox piston and stuff where to get them...me bike all over need to change man...damn...seems that all de things gonna spoil le... :cry:

got de bike less than a month and now like that...2nd hand bikes from motodiam really jialat... :cry:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/11/09/bikepics-1826024-full.jpg
  • Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

hi there nav,

actually getting from 2nd hand shop mostly are just cosmetic problems n a few missing screws n nuts here n there onli

basically u can try to change them at any experienced aprilia workshop

hmm there're many la, try asking arnd (ideal, first motor, jit sen etc.)

Buy arilia from motordiam is lidat one...

When i first got my bike it was liek fcuk sia. Missing airbox cover, no air filter, missing some fairing screws, pillion peg washer, WARPED BRAKE DISK, spoilt horn, battery and cosmetic damages here n there. It was bloody noisy, underpowered, and unsafe.

Big things like warped brake disk I went over the next day and requested a fix, they gave me a used disk but i dun mind la.

The rest of thing things ike airbox cover, air filter fairing screw can slowly do up one. any experienced aprilia motordiam will have those stuff. Slowly your bike will become more and more rideable liao.

Btw piston n gearbox should go back to your original shop within the first few weeks. These cost quite a lot leh.

hey eyz, i wana go for the meeting too~ hehe

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Originally posted by bktan@Apr 13 2004, 04:40 PM

hey guys need help here...anyone know how to change brake pad on our bikes?

what must come out?

um i dun suggest u do that yourself la

coz u need to take the brake apart. I seen mechanic do b4. It seems quite easy but dun la, brake dun preay preay

y not u go motordiam do den "tou shi" from the mech

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Originally posted by eyz@Apr 13 2004, 08:01 AM

don't want.....

oei knn~

Bros, I was quoted $100 for changing my carb plus tuning. Is it ex? Is it neccessary to change to a bigger carb or mod the pipe enough already?

Lawrence, I haven confirm with servo yet, will keep u inform.

This sat outing where u guys wanna go? Yishun am will be a good place. After that go jalan kayu makan. So how?

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/86/98/6938968/12522666816462s.jpg

heard abt this bike, one of the biggest woes is the pipe, next is the powervalve, third wondering whether restricted, fourthly is the carb~

where to get RS pipe~ and the service manual~

my qns never answered inside here.

that's the maintenance manual~

Originally posted by bktan@Apr 13 2004, 01:34 PM

wow great...where u get it from pte owner?

me got it from GHC at serangoon...~

it's a motor diam...~

may i ask what ar the possible problems that may occur when i collect my bike at the end opf the week..??

currently riding a KRR

what should i look out for when i got my bike.??

Originally posted by bktan@Apr 13 2004, 04:40 PM

hey guys need help here...anyone know how to change brake pad on our bikes?

what must come out?

bro,

get ur brake pads from chiap lee ( brands like ferrodo or vesrah ). they cost between 18 to 32 bux. good quality. once u have them give me a ring and i'll fix it for u. its very easy. FOC summore. call me.

Originally posted by Navigator@Apr 13 2004, 04:49 PM

guys...can check with u all ah...if i need to change many things...eg gearbox piston and stuff where to get them...me bike all over need to change man...damn...seems that all de things gonna spoil le... :cry:

got de bike less than a month and now like that...2nd hand bikes from motodiam really jialat... :cry:

eh bro, giv me a call. we meet up, i'll take a look at ur bike and tell u wat u need to change now and wat u need to change later. at least it wont cost u too much all at once.

Originally posted by Greydium@Apr 14 2004, 12:20 AM

Bros, I was quoted $100 for changing my carb plus tuning. Is it ex? Is it neccessary to change to a bigger carb or mod the pipe enough already?

Lawrence, I haven confirm with servo yet, will keep u inform.

This sat outing where u guys wanna go? Yishun am will be a good place. After that go jalan kayu makan. So how?

ok onz.... i anithing one. just reconfirm da plan for saturday.

Originally posted by bktan@Apr 12 2004, 09:48 AM

mine also no great increase in acceleration only psst psst sound, but if u full throttle u can feel the acceleration go.

I realize that if u hold the throttle and it hits 8k rpm it will psst psst, that's when u must twist the throttle more than the bike will fly, if u twist ur throttle earlier than 8k rpm u'd realize the bike won't accelerate as fast as ur twist after 8k rpm, that's my findings.

i think if u look at the 1995-96 aprilia manual from http://www.serviceaprilia.com u'd find how to adjust the solenoid for the rev range opening. go check that out.

lean is when u have too little petrol and a lot of air.

rich is when u have too much petrol and not enough air.

basically lean is dangerous and can cause piston jam, while rich has less power but won't cause piston jam.

ok.. let me find da article on the rational of da valve opening at 8-8.5 rpm. i know how it works but find it difficult to explain. people seldom adjust da valve open level. if u adjust the opening level too early, ur bike will suffer in top end. U will have a good pickup however reaching top speed is gona take abit of effort. i'll post da article asap. it will take a while to digest but try n understand.

Originally posted by ah_bern@Apr 14 2004, 12:40 PM

me got it from GHC at serangoon...~

it's a motor diam...~

may i ask what ar the possible problems that may occur when i collect my bike at the end opf the week..??

currently riding a KRR

what should i look out for when i got my bike.??

where is ur bike now ? giv me a call......

Originally posted by StingRhea@Apr 14 2004, 12:21 AM

heard abt this bike, one of the biggest woes is the pipe, next is the powervalve, third wondering whether restricted, fourthly is the carb~

where to get RS pipe~ and the service manual~

1) all aprilia's yr 2000 and below are restricted via the so called milo pipe. the milo pipe restrict the power output of the engine considerably. MAx rpm achievable is around 9 rpm.

2) the powervalve requires some periodic maintenance. if u clean it every month, u can be rest assured of gd power all da while. this is accompanied by spark plug change every 3000km or for me every month. u can always learn to do valve cleaning on ur own. how often the vlve jams depends on a few variables such as :

a) the way u ride ie; do u ride high speed at times or do u ride casually.

b) the amount of 2t dat enters ur engine. 2 stroke already suffers from incomplete combustion, too much 2t will make it more worst by producing more carbon which thus gets stuck on da valve. check wif ur mechanic on this.

c) u can roughly tell dat a spark plug is worn when ur bike feels sluggish and the valve has difficulty opening at the regular rpm. dun wait to change ur plugs till its too late. i have heard owners dat change ur plugs after 3-4 mths!!!! u might save money but at wat expense ? u can tell da plug is worn by looking at the tip of da plug or the white area surrounding the tip. a chiped white area means its time to change plug.

lastly if u really no money to buy new plugs, the least u could do is to do ur own valve cleaning. 1 hour is all u need to release even the most stuck valve. ( if u noe how lar hehhe )

Originally posted by josean@Apr 12 2004, 11:19 AM

u forgot to mention if rich will have carbon deposits on the cylinder head and might cause piston to jam in the long run.

plug will also foul more easily

sori josean have to correct u on this. i think wat u r trying to say is dat too much carbon will deposit itself on the sides of the piston especially at the psiton rings thus causing the rings to stick itself onto the piston thus causing low or no compression at all thus resulting in PISTON CEASE.

ur term piston jam is used when da piston rings get jammed on the sides of the cyclinder walls due to overheat or lack of 2t or in dis case too lean.

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Apr 13 2004, 04:22 PM

Umm...

Count me in for the outing...

hopefully can be on Sat?

Fri working late...

Greydium and Servo, this Sat wat time going Ideal?

I'll meet you guys there?

Just add to the list for those who wanna meet on Sat and chat over lunch?

1) Lawrence (lacrimosae)

greydium called me and we going there about 2 pm.

so tentatively the list is

1)Lacrimose

2)Greydium

3)Servoprax

Originally posted by servoprax@Apr 14 2004, 02:45 PM

where is ur bike now ? giv me a call......

well.. i haven't seen the bike..~

just gave $50 deposit n they will do up the bike for me...

if i'm pleased with the condition, i will go buy insurance for that bike..~

for ur info, the bike cost $1800 n after i trade in with my krr (which installment has not been fully paid for) it's $1000

so can u help me go n view the bike together when it's ready.? hopefully it's gonna be done this saturday.

thanz for ya help.~!!

Originally posted by servoprax@Apr 14 2004, 03:03 PM

1) all aprilia's yr 2000 and below are restricted via the so called milo pipe. the milo pipe restrict the power output of the engine considerably. MAx rpm achievable is around 9 rpm.

2) the powervalve requires some periodic maintenance. if u clean it every month, u can be rest assured of gd power all da while. this is accompanied by spark plug change every 3000km or for me every month. u can always learn to do valve cleaning on ur own. how often the vlve jams depends on a few variables such as :

a) the way u ride ie; do u ride high speed at times or do u ride casually.

b) the amount of 2t dat enters ur engine. 2 stroke already suffers from incomplete combustion, too much 2t will make it more worst by producing more carbon which thus gets stuck on da valve. check wif ur mechanic on this.

c) u can roughly tell dat a spark plug is worn when ur bike feels sluggish and the valve has difficulty opening at the regular rpm. dun wait to change ur plugs till its too late. i have heard owners dat change ur plugs after 3-4 mths!!!! u might save money but at wat expense ? u can tell da plug is worn by looking at the tip of da plug or the white area surrounding the tip. a chiped white area means its time to change plug.

lastly if u really no money to buy new plugs, the least u could do is to do ur own valve cleaning. 1 hour is all u need to release even the most stuck valve. ( if u noe how lar hehhe )

finally my questions are asked~ btw may i koe where to get my hands on a service/workshop manual? pls dun direct me to a maintenance manual~

thanks servo once again. :thumb:

Originally posted by servoprax@Apr 14 2004, 02:12 PM

bro,

get ur brake pads from chiap lee ( brands like ferrodo or vesrah ). they cost between 18 to 32 bux. good quality. once u have them give me a ring and i'll fix it for u. its very easy. FOC summore. call me.

hey hey,

thanks... btw where do u stay? i'll try to make it on sat lar, see how it goes u hav my number right?

mm...regarding the ferrodo brake pads, are they better than stock pads? the uk guys seem to recommend ebc pads, but i heard those pads have rocketsky price, i don't do racing so i guess i wldn't need that good pads and heard from tealeaf they eat your rotors, so do ferrodo eat rotors too?

heh sorry for so many qns, and thanks for ur willingness to help us :):cheer:

Better to be loved, than to hate...

servo, i don't think i can make it for the afternoon meet this coming sat..

cos i'll be working...

night time mayb can.. but as i told you, i've got a friend's chalet to attend..

so will only be joining you guys for a while if you guys are still around...

sting: service manual shows the engine part by part, rite??

if that is the one.. i think i saw it somewhere before, the owner zapped every page and upload it online..

think i saw the link from apriliaforum

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

wad is the link to there eyz?