cool....thanks wacko!

so when i pass my TP... coffee on me okie=) today i went to buy somemore stickers...man!!!! i am slowly getting addicted to buying stickers! spend so much le!!! ahhhh...

jus be careful these few days... i went to ahboy(kelantan lane) afew times in 2 days... saw a patrol can and afew TP bikes stopping 5-6 bikes to check documents...not sure wad they are but should be the usual stuffs. jus outside regina.... so peeps, dun go there if you have modded non street legal stuff/ tinted visors/windshield.. cheers!

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by muser+Jul 6 2005, 05:47 PM-->
QUOTE (muser @ Jul 6 2005, 05:47 PM)

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

Originally posted by -fspider-@Jul 6 2005, 09:03 PM

weLL saiD waCko..

erM sPeeDkiLLs... gooD lucK...

is iT uR firSt tiMe?

yes!!! does it help if our book have alot of Self practise records? =p if yes i will add afew more in myself!!!hahaha :cheeky:

hey no probs speedie boy...

anyway..

my coffee is not those 60cents ones k..

mine is a large double iced latte at spinellis k..

anyway..

where did u get ur stickers from..

erm..

guys..

which one will u pick..

alpinestar smx3/smx gpplus boots or

Oxtar GP replica..

damn in dilemma..:confused: :confused:

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

wacKo>> dePeNds on ur pref of brands...

for me.. i am an aLpiNe perSoN...

as btw the two... no diff... performance wise same.. comfort aLso..

except mayb gp new... noT sO louD... sLigHtLy moRe compaCt... botH greaT..

oxtar nO lacK in quaLitY.. jus tHe naMe... *grinZ*

sPeeDkiLL... moRe pRacTisE is aLwaEs greaT... tiLL u caN dO tHe circuiT bLinDfoLded... i sWeaR i cHeCKed my bLindiEs witHouT tHe thouGHt cRosSinG my heaD... oN a siDe noTe... dO prEpaRe foR diSaPPoiNtmeNts...

cHeeRz

Samuel, my main advice, as usual, is to help yourself be as calm as possible - some things that help this include arriving early, going to toilet early, and drinking enough water.

Originally posted by CMYRS+-->
QUOTE (CMYRS)
Pls remind me that we must have a track session before I do the deed.[/b]

I'll definitely bug you Andre, heheh. I agree with you about the socio-economic stigma of biking in Singapore. Pisses the hell out of me. Grrrr!

D-Day for me tomorrow.. Just getting prepared for the worst.. Dont be surprised if you dont see or hear from me after tomorrow ok.. haha

Hope to post good news tomorrow..

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Originally posted by CMYRS@Jul 6 2005, 09:05 PM

Are you planning to sell in the short term (within the month) or the long term (a couple of months)? I'm sure there are plenty of people eyeing your bike who'd love to know. Will you be getting another bike or are you going for a car? Was the Skyline you were referring to yours? Speed junkie, eh? I can understand that. Well, I'm staying firmly planted on 2 wheels, heheh.

Muser,

Will be looking at selling in the long term.

Pls remind me that we must have a track session before I do the deed.

Anything fast with wheels, I LIKE! :lovestruck:

Will be looking at another bike for sure.

I really hate the fact that the majority of the Spore population think that people ride bikes cause they cant afford cars.

Eg. After owning a bike for a no. of years, ppl spot you with a car and they go,"OH! You upgraded and got yrself a car!"

OR

the Double D logic

"Eh, bike so Dirty and Dangerous, buy a car lahhhhh"

When I hear that, I feel like taking my helmet & smacking him on the head.

But I think to myself.........what a wonderful world..........

I never heard such remarks when I was in Syd for 7yrs.

Bikes & Bikers get respect on the roads, regardless if its a Honda Cub or a Custom soft tail fatboy.

Anywayz.......

Speed junkie I am, top speed on 4 wheels so far is 276km/h.

Tracked using 2 GPS in the car. Speed variation between the 2 was about 0.4kmh difference.

On 2 wheels, nothing worth mentioning.......Im still eyeing that turbo Haya that smokes the rear end at over 100km/h sideways.........till then..........

i oso alwaes shut my ears off n get so turned off when ppl tink bikes are for budget ppl.. tt y i love goin to town on fridaes n saturdaes.. i love slowly moving at 50kph at the express way n looking at all the cars slowly inching their way forward n grin to myself n sae "alamak.. sti, evo wad car oso no use now oso lan lan wait for traffic to move n i juz open throttle n moveo n.." damn i juz luv tt feeling.. heh

Character is doing the right thing when no one is watching..

2005 - 2005 Aprilia RS125 FR6755A

2005 - 2006 Honda Wave S FW5450J

2006 - 2007 Honda CBR 400 RR FQ6676A

2007 - 2008 Suzuki GSX-R600 K5 FZ414G

2008 - 200? Yamaha YZF R1 A* 86 *

2008 - 2009 Honda CB400 Vtec 1 FR8377U

2009 - 2009 Honda Wave S FX4974R

Best of luck to those taking their TP tomorrow :thumb: But guys, you really shouldn't be putting so much pressure on yourselves to pass. It won't help in any way except make you nervous, which will work against you. Bike licensing in Singapore is a system, and as in all systems, luck plays THE major role in determining your success. You're there to play the jackpot, so just chill and enjoy the ride. There's always next time - only 3-5 weeks away. Remember that you will pass, whether it's tomorrow, or another day. It's basically yours already, you just don't know for sure when the system will be done processing you. Ok?

Muser, youve read the book by Kevin, in short, how does he explain that a AFRatio of 12-13:1 achieves max pwr?

I disagree IMHO though, through personal experience.

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

Originally posted by muser@Jul 6 2005, 10:26 PM

Best of luck to those taking their TP tomorrow :thumb: But guys, you really shouldn't be putting so much pressure on yourselves to pass. It won't help in any way except make you nervous, which will work against you. Bike licensing in Singapore is a system, and as in all systems, luck plays THE major role in determining your success. You're there to play the jackpot, so just chill and enjoy the ride. There's always next time - only 3-5 weeks away. Remember that you will pass, whether it's tomorrow, or another day. It's basically yours already, you just don't know for sure when the system will be done processing you. Ok?

Chris,

What you say makes sense.. There's always another day, another chance.. Except on the case of CDC, it'll be 5-8 weeks, not 3-5 weeks.. Well, i'm going to sleep now.. I'm keep your words in mind tomorrow as i go for my TP.. the license is already mine!!

Peace out, guys!!

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Originally posted by _wacko_@Jul 6 2005, 09:13 PM

hey no probs speedie boy...

anyway..

my coffee is not those 60cents ones k..

mine is a large double iced latte at spinellis k..

anyway..

where did u get ur stickers from..

erm..

guys..

which one will u pick..

alpinestar smx3/smx gpplus boots or

Oxtar GP replica..

damn in dilemma..:confused: :confused:

oxtar better... i tried both... gp replica more walkerable... comfortable and has titanium toe sliders!

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Originally posted by CMYRS@Jul 6 2005, 10:35 PM

Muser, youve read the book by Kevin, in short, how does he explain that a AFRatio of 12-13:1 achieves max pwr?

y do u disagree? aiya i lost my dyno graph or else can show u the air fuel ratio through the revs:mad:

Finally, someone who wants to discuss this! Except that I'm at work, so tired I'm literally dizzy, and without the book handy. If I remember right, it's something to effect that being very slightly rich allows the maximisation of the combustion space - ie, you get to "cheat" and cram a slightly larger charge than would otherwise "correctly" occupy the space. But being overly rich exceeds the limits of this little magic window and bogs down the power. I will post a complete quote when I get home in... several hours time, haiz.

I was reminded today how flat spots can actually give the impression of power surges because there's a sudden surge as power returns to normal, in comparison with constant power throughout the revs. We won't know for sure unless we dyno, but I suspect that some who believe that running lean improves high end power are being fooled by flat spots. I'd be interested to hear what others, especially spiderman, think.

THE MIXTURE RATIO

The air/fuel ratio (A/F) is the ratio between the air and fuel mass inducted by the engine. It is defined as:

A/F = Mair/Mfuel

If we consider this ratio from a chemical point of view, the value of the stoichiometric A/F ratio is the one that allows complete combustion,

without leaving either excess air (lean mixtures) or unburned fuel (rich mixtures)

The stoichiometric A/F ratio depends on the fuel type. For commercial gasoline this varies from about 14.5 to 14.8, meaning that 14.5-14.8 pounds of air are needed for the complete combustion of 1pound of fuel.

The mixture delivered by the carburetor during the engine's operation doesn't necessarily correspond to a stoichiometric A/F value. According to the engine design and its operating conditions (r.p.m. and load) a portion of the delivered fuel may not be burned because it doesn't reach the combustion chamber or because

the combustion itself is not perfect. Some charge dilution can also occur from residual exhaust gas remaining in the cylinder, as well as some loss of fresh charge at the exhaust. These effects are particularly sensitive in two stroke engines. If we consider that the appropriate A/F ratio must be that of the charge

taking part in the combustion, we can assert that the mixture delivered

by the carburetor must be richer (A/F

above phenomena.

***By DELL'ORTO***

Now, having said that the perfect ratio is around 14.5 , but because we should run richer to compensate for the imprefect world, and richer fuel means the ratio will be lower. And i believe thats why Kevin Cameron suggests a ratio of 12-13.1

I am not a mechanic, I might be wrong. So, please check with others!

Originally posted by gonggong@Jul 6 2005, 11:10 PM

Now, having said that the perfect ratio is around 14.5 , but because we should run richer to compensate for the imprefect world, and richer fuel means the ratio will be lower. And i believe thats why Kevin Cameron suggests a ratio of 12-13.1

That's a very good point, 2-strokes do always lose some fresh charge due to the scavenging action of the 2-stroke cycle, no matter how cleverly engine designers angle and shape the ports.

However, Cameron was almost definitely talking about 4-strokes, and devotes the chapters on engines entirely to 4-strokers. Hmm...

Perhaps what this means is that the ideal ratio for 2-strokes would be even lower than Cameron's 12-13:1, ie, 2-strokes need ideally to run slightly richer than 4-strokes - maybe something like 10-11:1?

Originally posted by muser@Jul 6 2005, 11:19 PM

That's a very good point, 2-strokes do always lose some fresh charge due to the scavenging action of the 2-stroke cycle, no matter how cleverly engine designers angle and shape the ports.

However, Cameron was almost definitely talking about 4-strokes, and devotes most of his book to 4-strokes. Hmm...

Be it 4-stroke or2-stroke. What i mentioned in the previous post are from DELL'ORTO. My feel is that if a carb manufacturer can say that one would need to run richer to get max power, I think running slightly richer should be fine. Afterall, all the situations mentioned by Dell'Orto are very real and not simply theoretical.

A ratio of 12.9 would means running at around 10% richer. And I think I will tune mine to run slightly richer...when i fixed my valve next week.

I realise that's a quote from Dell'Orto.

Originally posted by gonggong

My feel is that if a carb manufacturer can say that one would need to run richer to get max power, I think running slightly richer should be fine.

Why do say that? Is it because they're the manufacturer so they should know what they're talking about when it comes to carburetion? Sorry if this is very obvious but I'm really shagged, yet still want to discuss.

I'm looking forward to finding out how your bike runs when you move slightly rich. What's your carburetion like now?

Originally posted by spiderman@Jul 6 2005, 11:45 PM

:offtopic: have anyone here tried skiming there flywheel(magneto)? wats the result like?

To reduce rotational inertia so that you rev up quicker, but also lose revs quicker?

muser> i've been offered 350 by regina for A* smx3.. maybe can haggle till 300..

for oxtar gp replica i've been offered 395..

most probably i'll be getting the A*..

see lah..

if got budget..

so many things to buy..

so lil money..

:cry: :cry:

hahah..

subbie> :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

Originally posted by muser+Jul 6 2005, 11:37 PM-->
QUOTE (muser @ Jul 6 2005, 11:37 PM)
I realise that's a quote from Dell'Orto.

Originally posted by muser@Jul 6 2005, 11:48 PM

To reduce rotational inertia so that you rev up quicker, but also lose revs quicker?

ya i know but has anyone tried? like how significant is it? y will it lose rev quicker?

since racing rims can spin more than normal becos it is light and so should the engine?

Originally posted by _wacko_+-->
QUOTE (_wacko_)
muser> i've been offered 350 by regina for A* smx3.. maybe can haggle till 300..

for oxtar gp replica i've been offered 395..

most probably i'll be getting the A*..

see lah..

if got budget..

so many things to buy..

so lil money[/b]

Tell me about it bro - money always no enough, hah! SMX3 for about $300 sounds perfectly reasonable to me, especially since online stores like kneedraggers are selling them for US$125 (S$365) excluding shipping. I say go for it man.

I've actually been eyeing a pair of A* leather racing pants with kneesliders to go with my A* armoured jacket, but about $700 is no joke.

Originally posted by gonggong@

But once Ah boon tune it richer, the problem went away. And this is enough proof for me that there is at least some truth to the documents by Dell'Orto.

However, conventional wisdom holds that if you're rich, you're sacrificing high end for low-mid end. The key though seems to go rich but not too rich, and it's working for me right now. When I was running very rich, that killed all my power.