Hey bros, I have been reading about Aprillians ****ing up their "valves" or something. What is it exactly and how does one remedy or prevent it from happening?

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by FatiGuE@Jul 7 2005, 01:57 AM

Hey bros, I have been reading about Aprillians ****ing up their "valves" or something. What is it exactly and how does one remedy or prevent it from happening?

use better 2t and the right amt adjusted by yr 2t pump... good jetting and of cos every time before u paark yr bike try to wack first to clear the carbon in the engine... wack as in riding wack not stationary... and make sure yr valve is adjusted properly or else it will break or the cable will...

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Originally posted by spiderman@Jul 7 2005, 02:04 AM

use better 2t and the right amt adjusted by yr 2t pump... good jetting and of cos every time before u paark yr bike try to wack first to clear the carbon in the engine... wack as in riding wack not stationary... and make sure yr valve is adjusted properly or else it will break or the cable will...

valve adjusting i can go to NTRUST to do rite?

Wah, I come home from work you guys still up ah?

Originally posted by _wacko_+-->
QUOTE (_wacko_)
thanks bro..

its a 2 piece verona komine suit ( i think so)[/b]

Bro, you've got me interested in Komine suits suddenly, but I don't know much about them. I think I'll pay Motoworld a visit, then can drop by Ideal to buy spare fairing nuts.

Originally posted by spiderman+-->
QUOTE (spiderman)
after u all go track can post yr timing inside[/b]

Eh? How come your time not there, or I blind from sleepiness? :confused:

Originally posted by snowparang

you would tune a 2 stroke racer differently to a 2 stroke dirt bike?

A strong torque spread is more important for dirt, but for racers, horsepower is a big deal, and you make more horsepower if max torque comes at higher revs (torque x rpm = HP)

But the down side, besides fouled plugs, is the higher consumption?

I don't think real-world usage is quite so clear cut. For instance, if you run lean and need to rev a lot to get enough usable torque, you may end up using more fuel than if you were running rich and cruising around contentedly at 5k rpm.

change of exhaust, open pod filters etc will all require rejetting. true?

This probably varies depending on how radical the mods are. Rejetting's required if the AF mix changes significantly. A slightly less restrictive exhaust than stock may not require anything to be done.

Originally posted by CMYRS

If you want the full story I will tell it in person

Andre, you've revealed yourself to be one hardcore performance nut :cheeky:

Originally posted by spiderman

i like my plug to be meduim tanned

I must remember to ask you to show me the colour.

As promised, here's an excerpt on carburetion from Cameron's book (in my sig):

"Engines idle on a very rich mixture of about 10-11:1. This is necessary because vaporisation conditions are poor at idle, when intake air veolcity is low and mixing is poor. Consequently, low-volatility parts of the fuel remain liquid, creeping along the intake pipe walls, and do not burn. More fuel must be added to deliver a combustible vapour fraction.

Engines cruise on a chemically correct mixture (14.8:1) or even a bit leaner. This produces maximum economy and minimum emissions (with plenty of oxygen available, unburned hydrocarbons are minimised - every dancer has a partner).

Maximum power is achieved with a somewhat richer-than-correct mixture in the 12-13:1 range. The extra fuel gives the combustion gas a slightly larger specific volume, based upon a larger number of reaction product molecules. Adding more extra fuel than this reduces power."

Ok, that's enough, goodnite everyone :sleep:

Pasir Gudang Track Session

When? This Friday, July 8th

What time? Which slot do you guys think we can make it for if we meet around the 2nd link at 9am? Sorry, but I haven't been to PG in over 2 years, and never on a bike, so not sure best way to go about things.

Why? Because it's way overdue, and because I feel like it. Because I'm 28 and I'd better hurry up and do some living, otherwise I'll end up beard-dragging on the track, not knee-dragging. As DeusExMachina said before, no need to schedule a Grand Aprilia Track Day - feel like going just go.

Who?

1) muser Chris 97405630

2) maiker michael 9691 6356. need to be home b4 1600.working at 1700.

got to test my new found power!!!

AN650L3 (current): All mod transferred.

SW-T400 (till oct 13): voltmeter, safety features disabled. coocase v36+remote. Adjustable, folding Brake levers. Givi AF318 windshield. on-off switch(pilot light, head light, hazard light), electrical seat unlatch,Dr pulley.

AN400K6 (apr07-dec11): side deflectors, J Costa variator, Dr pulley slider + HiT clutch.

YP250, RVF400/RS250, NSF125.

Aprilia Riders Club (ARC)

Active

Axxis Chris (9125-6095) RS125 Woodlands

berukblue hanif (9477-3946) RS125 Woodlands

Benguin46 Benedict (9698-8499) waiting for tp

Bluesea01 Henry (9877-5179) Serangoon

Bokers Julian (97441244) RS125 Replica East Coast

CMYRS Andre (9199-2019) RS125 Seletar

Divine^ponytailz Jude (9436-0943) RS250 Serangoon North

eyz Chin Kuan (9239-0400) RS125 Potong Pasir

gonggong (9637-7477) RS125 Tiong Bahru

Jmega Johan (9756-6466) RS125 Novena

lacrimosae Lawrence (9863-2724) RS125 Serangoon

lightbolt75 Godfrey (9336-1475) RS125 Y2K Braddell

M@+r!x Andrew (9855-4161) AMK

macan_putih Khai (9042-2503) RS125 Boon Lay

maiker Michael (9691-6356) RS250 Jurong

muser Chris (9740-5630) '04 Y2K RS125 Tampines

myxilplix Rafeal (9125-5705) RS250 Marsiling

Roadster Mark (9675-1984) RS250 East Coast

servoprax wan (9822-6237) Former-RS125+RS250 Paris

snowparang Hansen (9479-0437) RS250 Bukit Batok

Speedkills Samuel (9106-0925) Yew Tee (waiting for TP) RS125

sPideR Marcus (9757-0644) Former-RS250 Pasir Ris

spiderman Alex (9734-8976) RS250

Sub Zero Viknesh (9182-0340) RS125 AMK (waiting for TP)

Visor Benjamin (9782-8437) RS125

_wacko_ Syah (9012-6423) RS250 Boon Lay

warren84 Warren (9150-2864) RS250 Hougang

xiongzzz(9665-4547) RS125 Bishan

xxes123 Edwin (9826-5496) RS125 Yishun

Yaz (9471-3741) '04 Y2K RS125

Inactive/Unconfirmed status

ACEVIPER107 John (8113-0265)

ahwing bert (9823-4294) Tampines

Bee Patrick (9852-0111) Ubi

bktan Bernard (9877-0874) Tuono125 (Former owner???) Lentor

cheng_xi07 (9021-0871) RS125 Novena (bike scrapped)

cruz cruz (9482-6421) Johore

CykeArtemis Andre (9852-5524) East Coast (Near Bedok)

daojeff Steve (9383-5822) Yishun

Den Dennis (9877-4776) RS250 Tampines

Edward1029 Edward (9800-5460) Bukit Batok

efferverscence dave (9008-8848) upper serangoon

em7 Emmett (9389-1111) Bukit Merah

Emperor Knights Mike (9767-7979) Bedok Reservoir

fibre Alex (9199-8979) RS125 Sengkang

fire_ufo kioki (9049-8583) Bishan

FuBby Kelvin (9847-2564) Pasir Ris

Greydium Kelvin (8113-3423) Former-RS125 Sengkang

gta James (9835-0577) Yishun

Gucci Briane (9688-5743) Former-RS125 Bedok

Hon Ryan (9686-9694) Punggol

hunt (9767-3284) Clementi

HUNTER Richard (8111-4463)

jasper (9431-5715) AMK

jimmy25 aka rvf7972 Kumar (9693-7264) Pasir Ris

kink galen (9046-9601) RS125 Holland Rd

kokakola eugene (9363-1448) West Coast

LostRose Haidar (9799-0070) Tampines

messiah Darren (9649-4321) Upper Bukit Timah

Navigator ZongHan (9007-1837) CCK...soon 2 be Serangoon

nicky Edmund (9369-7922) Queenstown

Onikage Hazam (9004-6162) Bukit Panjang

rogie Roger (9169-4411) Serangoon

ROTHMANS Derrick (9450-5124) Woodlands

sadistic Jason (9675-5040) Former-RS125 Bedok North

SafetyCar aka Guan (9848-8259) RS125 West Coast

siewsphone Wen Xiu (9482-6078) Potong Pasir

Supertzm Jerra (9737-3969) Jurong East

wqlin84 Weiquan (9698-5712) Hillview

Xiung Rudy (9125-0725) CCK

zaid Thaurinzil (9695-3344) Extrema Tampines

Originally posted by muser@Jul 6 2005, 06:32 PM

A non-adjustable rear shock doesn't sound like that great an investment. Bitubo too big? The way it looks now, I'll take my chances with WP. Thanks for doing all the research Ben. Do you feel you've gotten all the info you possibly can from Teck Thye? Perhaps we should approach another suspension vendor/tuner next, before making a decision.

Andre's already stated clearly why he wants to move on - he's an adrenaline junkie who, among other things, needs to feel the Hand of God Himself shoving him into his car seat whenever he steps on the accelerator pedal.

U wont go wrong with WP hehhe... Tried Tested and Proven. I miss my WP so much !!!

muser> really.. hmm..

anyway..

if u are going down to motoworld..

give me a beep..

u got my number right..

wanna check something out..

anyway....

those komine suits are really great for beginners as it won't hurt ur pockets unless u got big pockets..

its perforated at places where u want air into and all the protections are in place..

can get it at motoworld..

i got mine at only $450..

then end up getting a shark s800 helmet and a spidi long gloves..

total cost=

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

take care guys..

subbie> hope to hear the good news...

i think ur tp is today if i'm not wrong..

gotta catch Fantastic4..

will tell u guys the reviews..

till then...

FLAME ON!!!!!!!

:bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

Originally posted by muser@Jul 6 2005, 08:16 PM

I called already, onz bo? But need at least one lau jiao to come leh, so far no one interested... hmm...

Sori Bro, Im werking morning shift on friday unless u want to go on saturday morning. heheheh....

I think i got the wrong bike. Im using my daily transport bike to track and using TOURING tyres. Wrong... Definitely wrong. All Because an OldTimer told me. "Trust your tyres."

Where's my Tuono !!! hehe... Sori yar.. abit stressed lar this few days. Wonder how my ex-250 machine doing.... Jude, sell me back lehh.... hehe...

Originally posted by CMYRS@Jul 6 2005, 09:05 PM

Are you planning to sell in the short term (within the month) or the long term (a couple of months)? I'm sure there are plenty of people eyeing your bike who'd love to know. Will you be getting another bike or are you going for a car? Was the Skyline you were referring to yours? Speed junkie, eh? I can understand that. Well, I'm staying firmly planted on 2 wheels, heheh.

Muser,

Will be looking at selling in the long term.

Pls remind me that we must have a track session before I do the deed.

Anything fast with wheels, I LIKE! :lovestruck:

Will be looking at another bike for sure.

I really hate the fact that the majority of the Spore population think that people ride bikes cause they cant afford cars.

Eg. After owning a bike for a no. of years, ppl spot you with a car and they go,"OH! You upgraded and got yrself a car!"

OR

the Double D logic

"Eh, bike so Dirty and Dangerous, buy a car lahhhhh"

When I hear that, I feel like taking my helmet & smacking him on the head.

But I think to myself.........what a wonderful world..........

I never heard such remarks when I was in Syd for 7yrs.

Bikes & Bikers get respect on the roads, regardless if its a Honda Cub or a Custom soft tail fatboy.

Anywayz.......

Speed junkie I am, top speed on 4 wheels so far is 276km/h.

Tracked using 2 GPS in the car. Speed variation between the 2 was about 0.4kmh difference.

On 2 wheels, nothing worth mentioning.......Im still eyeing that turbo Haya that smokes the rear end at over 100km/h sideways.........till then..........

Well, someone who i thought was very quiet apparently is a mighty cili padi.. heheh.. Nice account on your experiences. We need more people like u who have extensive experience to be able to make serious comparisons and judgement. Think U n chris can join up.. hehe...

Chris sori abt the other day with regards the makan... OT lar.

date: 23.07.2005 sat

meeting place: kkfc

venue: marina south for steamboat buffet.. aft tt rounding to dam if got ppl wanna go..

time: 6pm

price: think the steamboat buffet there all is $12 standard rite.. heh..

guys pls leave your nick, real name, and contact nos for easy contact ok!

going:

1. CMYRS- andre 91992019

2. redridinghood- vivi

3. Speedkills (if i get my license!!!!!!!! pray for me...) -samuel 91060925

4. Divine^ponytailz - jude - 94360943

5. M@+r!x - andrew - 98554161

6. 0001-nick 97979471

7. JieLiang 96859522

pending:

1. muser- Chris 97405630

2. wacko - syah 90126423

everyone's welcome!! :bouncefire:

more response plsss!! :cheer:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/1c026f0e.jpg

- vivi

hey Mr. Viknesh passed his TP!

now who's turn now??

hahah

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

:smile: he just told me oso that he pass so happy for him

i have another good news

tomoro im officially a ARC member liao HAHAHA

Originally posted by redridinghood@Jul 7 2005, 11:41 AM

venue: marina south for steamboat buffet.. aft tt rounding to dam if got ppl wanna go..

going:

1. CMYRS- andre 91992019

2. redridinghood- vivi

6. 0001-nick 97979471

7. JieLiang 96859522

pending:

1. muser- Chris 97405630

2. wacko - syah 90126423

everyone's welcome!! :bouncefire:

more response plsss!! :cheer:

going:

1. CMYRS- andre 91992019

2. redridinghood- vivi

6. 0001-nick 97979471

7. JieLiang 96859522

pending:

1. muser- Chris 97405630

2. wacko - syah 90126423

3.Dahlia-Barry-97483351

4.kram-Mark-97483351

5.pyscho-Ash-97483351

http://home.graffiti.net/crescentgsxr:graffiti.net/rs250.jpg

Once A Punk,Always A Punk!!!Who says Punk don ride Aprilia!!???

Originally posted by speedkills@Jul 7 2005, 12:42 PM

wooohoooooo!!!! power!!! now left me!!! so pls pray for me le..... 5days and counting down!!! :giddy:

dun worry u will pass cos all here will pray for u :smile: :cheer:

Originally posted by speedkills@Jul 7 2005, 12:42 PM

wooohoooooo!!!! power!!! now left me!!! so pls pray for me le..... 5days and counting down!!! :giddy:

5 DAYS?TP test?don worry.....ride it relaxly....don keep on thinking that you must pass.....you will mentally stress out on that day,treat it as just a revision lesson,try your best for it.....do it smooth and steady....YOU WILL MAKE IT!!!!:cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

http://home.graffiti.net/crescentgsxr:graffiti.net/rs250.jpg

Once A Punk,Always A Punk!!!Who says Punk don ride Aprilia!!???

Pasir Gudang Track Session

When? Tomorrow - Friday, July 8th

What time? Meet near 2nd link at 9am, aiming for PG 10am slot

Why? Because you know you want to

Who?

1) muser Chris 9740 5630 Also need to be home by around 1400.

2) maiker michael 9691 6356. need to be home b4 1600.working at 1700.

got to test my new found power!!!

3) ...

Blast from 10am, makan lunch there, come back to S'pore; simple and quite chopchop. I'll be calling PG this afternoon to double-confirm track availability. I'm guessing plenty of people need to work "normal" hours, so can't make it on a Friday morning. Nevermind, I'll just go, even if it's just Michael and me, and the rest can go together some other time. By the way, you don't need to go PG to race hardcore - go there see see look look also can; tour track slowly also can.

Originally posted by _wacko_+-->
QUOTE (_wacko_)
muser> really.. hmm..

anyway..

if u are going down to motoworld..

give me a beep..

u got my number right..

wanna check something out[/b]

Yup, got your number wacko, and will buzz you if I'm going. I wonder how the Komine suits compare to the GPR ones being sold at places like Chong Aik. I guess I'll find out soon.

Originally posted by servoprax+-->
QUOTE (servoprax)
Sori Bro, Im werking morning shift on friday unless u want to go on saturday morning. heheheh....

I think i got the wrong bike. Im using my daily transport bike to track and using TOURING tyres. Wrong... Definitely wrong. All Because an OldTimer told me. "Trust your tyres."[/b]

No probs - next time then we must go together then servo, heheh. I would actually go Sat morning, but celebrating my fiancee's birthday that day with her friends. Eh, I also using my daily transport bike leh! Go for performance tyres lah - get the Michelin Pilot Powers :thumb:

Originally posted by servoprax

Well, someone who i thought was very quiet apparently is a mighty cili padi

Andre is definitely one powerful cili padi sia, kekeke! Andre, you'd better still hang with us even after you've sold your RS, ok?

Originally posted by servoprax

Chris sori abt the other day with regards the makan... OT lar

No probs Wan, was just trying my luck anyway, heheh. Shift work can be xiong man, I need a coffee really badly rite now. Kopi keras!

Originally posted by eyz

Mr. Viknesh passed his TP!

:cheer: Great news! Congrats! :cheer: It's really not easy to pass 2B TP nowadays, especially at CDC.

join u all can show off no, cos i dun really like the paint maybe will do a new paint job but have to make sure the bike is in gd condition 1st then think abt it