Originally posted by Sub Zero@Apr 23 2006, 02:03 PM

it's ok dude.. There are some of us who want to come but cannot confirm until later this week.. That's why we never put our name in the list...

We were thinking of renting a car like you or going with you.. Hotel room can be shared, even if it is full price, we can all chip in, the pinch wouldnt be so hard!

Thanks anyway.. I still dont know whether i can come.. :smile:

Hahas yeah lorh .. I really can feel the hard pinch even before i fork out the money lehs. It'd be nice if someone can offer to share room with me lo. Dun worry i'm not gay .. Though i look like one =X

Hope to see you there wor !!! Try to make it k =)) Cheers !!! :cheer:

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h27/purelybkhehhx/1003110_10151413962892455_1896109672_n.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h27/purelybkhehhx/DSC00886.jpg

When It Comes To Love, Too Much Is Not Even Enough

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by brYan . k@Apr 24 2006, 01:46 AM

Hahas yeah lorh .. I really can feel the hard pinch even before i fork out the money lehs. It'd be nice if someone can offer to share room with me lo. Dun worry i'm not gay .. Though i look like one =X

Hope to see you there wor !!! Try to make it k =)) Cheers !!! :cheer:

Don't worry Bryan there will definitely someone sharing the room with you unless you want to have it all by yourself. :smile:

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/9692/img9124zb3.jpghttp://img259.imageshack.us/img259/8310/alanhv3.png

Aprilia Riders Club Singapore (ARC)

a place where all aprilians gathers and have fun together!

Originally posted by Sub Zero@Apr 23 2006, 02:32 PM

OK OK.. let me specify...

My golden rules...

Never(or atleast try not to) bang the girl you ware serious with and want to marry..

One night stands are alright, no need to feel guilty becasue you dont love the person.. as long as the girl is not a VIRGIN.. even if she wants it.. Bad karma..

NEVER BANG A VIRGIN UNLESS YOU CONFIRM GOING TO MARRY HER!!!

*Rules 1&2 apply to girls of all races.. Rule # is exclusively for indian girls.. Why? Coz they will hound you to death if you dont marry.. So dont bang!

Damn, i miss Minahs...

Jaz, i got too much love to give liao.. wat to do??

Damn you're good !!! EVIL i should say. LOL :bounce:

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h27/purelybkhehhx/1003110_10151413962892455_1896109672_n.jpg

Originally posted by alanhim@Apr 24 2006, 12:57 AM

Don't worry Bryan there will definitely someone sharing the room with you unless you want to have it all by yourself. :smile:

hahas i wun want to slp alone laa .. Cos its too ex liaox .. I dun mind sharing rooms de .. Really !!! :smile:

wan ask a question :confused:

during my last piston jammed , the cause was a part of the piston head being chipped off rite down to the first ring , wat could be the cause of this type of jammed.. No wheel lock or anything , jus a soft thud sound and the engine die

i have eliminate the following causes:

1) 2t not enough=> being running on tat setting for ages

2) not warm up sufficiently before whack => i purposely let the engine warm up till 70 degrees

3) piston worn out => jus done full overhual and done less than 10,000km..

WHY WHY WHY :confused: :confused: :confused:

Originally posted by gadget28+Apr 23 2006, 09:26 PM-->
QUOTE (gadget28 @ Apr 23 2006, 09:26 PM)
Thanks for the note that adjustments have to be made once the engine has reached its normal operating temp... i was about to make the changes before i decided to check up on the forum thread...

i don't know which type of carb i am using as i had the bike for only 2days now... all i know is that the adjustment screw is located right after the airbox and not before the cylinder.

i tried adjusting 1/4 increment only (counter clockwise) then tested it around my neighborhood as well as the pie and ecp for 30mins... there was a very slight change in the responsiveness but the engine would still act like it would refuse to move once in first gear, setting off from a stop, especially when i tried it in a very small inclined road i could feel that there is very little power transfer - and that's still riding alone, what if i had a pillion?

i wanted to adjust the mixture to lean it out a bit more but, being new to aprilia and 2T bikes altogether, i don't know how much adjustment would be enough. I read in the thread that it would be better to be on the richer side than on the leaner side since the latter would increase the probability of a seizure...

so i've decided to consult the forum first before i do any further adjustments...

thanks for the help guys... really. [/b]

Here's an old excerpt from a few pages back. There're so many people who are scared shitless about getting a piston seizure that most riders are running on rich jets. I dont because I do my own jetting, and I am a heterosexual.

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Originally posted by xxes123@Apr 24 2006, 09:02 AM

during my last piston jammed , the cause was a part of the piston head being chipped off rite down to the first ring , wat could be the cause of this type of jammed.. No wheel lock or anything , jus a soft thud sound and the engine die

2) not warm up sufficiently before whack => i purposely let the engine warm up till 70 degrees

Could be caused by composite flaking if the ignition timing is retarded or advanced too much.

I agree with Law - ignition timing problems could be likely since you mentioned to me before that your timing is either very advanced or retarded (you didn't mention which). Either of those extremes can cause a seizure.

As for 2T - yes, you've been running your lean 2T setting for ages, but it's possible that your long-term lack of lubrication is finally catching up with you. Accumulated wear and tear, which leads me to:

Your new piston - Yes, you just changed piston, but your block is old. Very old. Time to check the thickness of your nicosil (nickel-silicon-carbide) cylinder coating.

I would think that the culprit is pre-detonation......possible cause for pre-detonation could be too high compression, ignition timing too fast/early...

Wats the colour of your spark plug when you remove block? How was the condition of the firing tip of the plug? How was the condition of the grounding electrode of the plug? (i hope i am using the right terms for the plugs...)

And can you roughly tell us what did you do (or wat were you doing) when you heard the soft thud sound? eg...revving and holding at 10k rpm when the soft thud happens?

I am not a mechanic, I might be wrong. So, please check with others!

Originally posted by gonggong@Apr 24 2006, 03:08 PM

Wats the colour of your spark plug when you remove block? How was the condition of the firing tip of the plug? How was the condition of the grounding electrode of the plug? (i hope i am using the right terms for the plugs...)

Yah, spark plug condition would tell part of the story.

Originally posted by xxes123@Apr 24 2006, 05:18 PM

Wa laoz, your pic so blur :giddy: Lots of things could have caused it, I think. For safety's sake, I would really check your block. The piston looks like it hit something. Could be flaking composite, as Law speculated. It could be your cylinder cap if your block's been skimmed. It could even be your ports if their edges have been altered but not properly filed and evened out. Hmm. I'll go home tonight and check my piston seizure diagnosis book.

Originally posted by xxes123@Apr 24 2006, 05:21 PM

:cry: :cry:

Oi, Edwin, the 2nd pic of your spark plug is too blur lah, really cannot see clearly enough to make any guesses. Take a clearer pic leh :faint: As gonggong said, the condition of the ground electrode is a very important clue.

Originally posted by muser@Apr 24 2006, 03:06 PM

I agree with Law - ignition timing problems could be likely since you mentioned to me before that your timing is either very advanced or retarded (you didn't mention which). Either of those extremes can cause a seizure.

As for 2T - yes, you've been running your lean 2T setting for ages, but it's possible that your long-term lack of lubrication is finally catching up with you. Accumulated wear and tear, which leads me to:

Your new piston - Yes, you just changed piston, but your block is old. Very old. Time to check the thickness of your nicosil (nickel-silicon-carbide) cylinder coating.

When sh!t happens, its seldom a single factor involved.

Its usually a number of factors combined.

Judging from the photos, it could have been too advanced ignition that caused the intake side to overheat, combined with the lack of lubrication, to expand and 'knock' on the dome, intake side. This knocking might have caused the piston to flake, or chip slightly, leaving shards of debris inside. On the next upstroke, the debris gets lodged between the worn walls (now much larger) and the piston and scraped further down the cylinder, thereby destroying the rings and side of the piston.

Originally posted by mike1024@Apr 24 2006, 05:33 PM

oi, move to ARC leh...

You know why I never suggest that? Cuz Edwin doesn't post there lar :cheeky: I've given up on him ever posting there, despite the fact that he's very enthusiastic about technical issues. So I know that if I didn't reply to him here, I won't have a chance to answer him liao.

Anyone else want to go with us for a track session tomorrow? Chris? Mike? Law? Dax? Isa? Anyone?

TRACK Session on 25th April (Tuesdays)

Meet up white card house at 9.00am . Moving off time will be 9.30am Sharp! Singapore time pls...!! Going for 11am slot so not so early.

Pls put your name if you want to go.

1) Alan

2) Eyz

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/9692/img9124zb3.jpghttp://img259.imageshack.us/img259/8310/alanhv3.png

Aprilia Riders Club Singapore (ARC)

a place where all aprilians gathers and have fun together!

Originally posted by muser@Apr 24 2006, 05:43 PM

You know why I never suggest that? Cuz Edwin doesn't post there lar :cheeky: I've given up on him ever posting there, despite the fact that he's very enthusiastic about technical issues. So I know that if I didn't reply to him here, I won't have a chance to answer him liao.

:sweat: :sweat: i migrate over to ARC now :deal:

Originally posted by mike1024@Apr 24 2006, 12:41 AM

due to the nature of this being a single discussion thread and therefore its difficulty of being searched, i would advise you to bring your questions to the ARC troubleshooting thread.

to answer your problem: if your adjustment screw is found closer to the airbox it is an air screw. So unscrewing it opens the passage allowing more air in, thus leaning out the mixture.

eyz: his one is not mixture screw! that one is closer to the cylinder side, and also, 34mm has air screw, whereas 28mm has mixture screw. and please everybody, for sanity's sake, there's no such thing as an air mixture screw!

go easy on the air screw adjustments. again, to reiterate, do it only when the engine's warm, and adjust during the time of day that you want your optimum performance (i.e. do not do carb adjustment at night if you ride mostly in the day). lean out the mixture, check to see how quickly the revs drop when you rev it up. If it is slow, then you have over-done it. Ride it around, if you experience bogging at small throttle openings, you have not done enough of it. 1/4 turn at a time is good.

Thanks Eyz and Mike for the replies... I will look at the carb model tomorrow and repost for a clearer dissection of my bogging issue.

Mike: Tried posting the issue in the ARC forum but I am experiencing browser problems whenever i try to post - the entire screen turns black, with only a few icons in view and the text box itself... i don't encounter the problem when i only read the posts. Hope somebody can do the re-post for me =) but then again, i wouldn't be able to post my reply...

Anyway, i'll just keep on leaning it out bit by bit, with a lap or two around my area in between adjustments, until i feel that the revs have started making slow descents towards idling... where i would then take it back a notch towards the richer side...until the revs drop quickly again.

Consequently... does it relatively mean that the leaner the mixture gets, the harder it will be to crank the engine from a cold start? coz currently, the bike starts within one or two seconds, even without the choke... but obviously at the expense of pick-up...

yeah. you do not really sound like a beginner at this. what previous experience do you have, actually. Not trying to interrogate you, just curious, that's all. :)

when the bike is stone cold, especially overnight, a lot of the fuel that enters the cylinder immediately condenses onto the walls, thus making the fuel air mixture in the cylinder too lean to start the bike up properly.

If you have your air screw set too rich, it will start up nicely from cold, but will bog (the situation you describe) when the engine is at proper running temp.

Of course, this is not a desirable situation, so engineers installed a choke channel, which allows excess fuel to richen up a properly tuned mixture when the engine is cold, to assist starting.

so, if you never need to pull your choke when you try starting in the morning, and you have difficulty re-starting the bike after buying chicken rice for lunch, then you know you have too rich an idle mixture.

forum wise, i think something can be done to fix it.. stay tuned.

SEPANG TRIP April' 2006

29 April 2006 - Ride up to Sepang for track.

30 April 2006 - Sepang Aprilia only track day

Trackies

1) Dannis 90214262

2) Dax 94599385 (track paid)

3) Isa quikslvr 81254579 (track paid)

4) Lawrence 98632724 (hotel/track paid)

5) Alan Him 96800844 (track paid)

6) Maiker 81114867

7) Daniel Macerena

Spectators

1) Kram 98580625

2) Servo 98226237 (SafetyBike)

3) Mike (cameraman)

4) Bryan.k

5) Alan Hin Wife

6) Christina (Lawrence gf)

7) Andytank

Room 1 : Dannis, Dax, Isa, Andy (sharing the room)

Room 2 : Lawerence n GF

Room 3 : Alan n wife

Room 4 :

Room 5 :

Pls update on who is sharing room with who.....

I call for a short meet-up for Sepang Trip ppl at Yishun Dam lamp post 268-270 on wednesday night at 10pm. Those going to Sepang pls be there. If rain then the meeting cancelled. We have to finalise what is the time we going to departure. Trip is super near..... pls decide now. Alan u confirm going up by van? Lawerence u going up with me on Friday night (midnight) ?

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......