Hi Scoobydoo,

Was it you last night I was riding home with? There were 2 Silverwings riding with me together last night on the PIE to the west. I couldn't confirm if it was you though...

you must be the white silverwing.. with a pillion. :)

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

• Replies 22.2k

Hi Scoobydoo,

Was it you last night I was riding home with? There were 2 Silverwings riding with me together last night on the PIE to the west. I couldn't confirm if it was you though...

yup, its me and Helmetbox! back from dinner at bedok.

we also noticed a white SW beside us but wasn't sure whether to wave at the rider as its dark at night, in case a friendly gesture misinterpreted as a middle finger or the pretty babe behind not happy, then cham liow... whahahaha :lol:

hope to see you at the gatherings :angel:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

yup, its me and Helmetbox! back from dinner at bedok.

Wah. Travelling all over for makan!

So, Thursday how?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

So, Thursday how?

can no longer join you guys on thursday liao:cry::cry::cry:

having class on Thursday evening and tuesday evening..:cry::cry::cry:

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

So, Thursday how?

our friend want to eat 猪腰面线 mah... must be working very "hard" that's needs 以型补型 :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

our friend want to eat 猪腰面线 mah... must be working very "hard" that's needs 以型补型 :cheeky:

I was over there also leh...Blk 511 market right?

The pillion behind my wife la...:p

I waved to you, but I couldnt chase up fast enough for you to see...hahahh!!

The clincher that I guessed would be you was the thai words on your rear number plate...hee hee

Usually I see Silverwings, I will follow in tow just to enjoy the "convoy" ride...

Remember my number lor, that would be me. ;)

I try my best to join you guys, but nowadays I mostly posted to Qatar for a month, then back for a week, then back there again for a month...I dont have much time in Singapore.

But for sure want to meet up you guys again man!!

Skid Row (aka Joe)

Skid Row

I Remember You...

Any makan/meet-up to night?

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

Any makan/meet-up to night?

Any suggestion?

I'm ok with anything after 6pm.

ok, coming :cheeky:

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

ok, coming :cheeky:

so sad.. can't join you guys on thursday laio...

Just checked with Hyperpro... said the fork oil generally should use 10wt.

KNN but the box comes with 20wt oil!!

HelmetBox now using the stock 20wt oil.

Scoobydoo using Silkolene's fully synthetic 15wt.

Hmm. Should I experiment with 10wt? :angel:

Fork Spring not here yet... hehehe.

btw, petrol smell everytime I switch off the bike after travelling some distance.

Hope not my fuel hose giving way...

btw, petrol smell everytime I switch off the bike after travelling some distance.

you pump too much is it?

could it be setting too rich such that there's still petrol in the hole when engine is killed?

if you remember, i had this petrol smell issue when i first bought scooby. went to BS and they BS me... KNN :bouncefire: now better at 1.8T but still got a little bit smell... tempted to try 1.9T or 2.0T with the K&N :p

~

Trips:

gave scooby a bath and put on the 1st coat of autoglym resin/sealant onto scooby just now... only realised the whole project took about 3 hrs when i got home at 11+pm. HelmetBOX! and myself started about 8+pm but he completed his project earlier and left about 10+pm.

scooby is now shiny blink blink... yeah!!! :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Now FC already 25++.

Lean the mix some more...

Will check with Clifford what's causing it.

I remembered my x9 EVO also got this petrol smell sometimes.

Now FC already 25++.

Lean the mix some more...

Will check with Clifford what's causing it.

I remembered my x9 EVO also got this petrol smell sometimes.

that one is call the smell of perfectionist

Scooby's lagi better.

With K & N also 25km/L.

Scooby's lagi better.

With K & N also 25km/L.

he push his bike to work de..:angel::angel::angel:

Hi guys, dunno if im in the wrong thread with my following queries and if so i apologise first. Im contemplating to upgrade to a Silverwing/S4 for work and night schooling however im more inclined to get a S.Wing coz of the storage only. Yeah i know this is a S.Wing thread so im open to be biased please go ahead and trash S4 on its cons compared to S.Wing if any of my queries is open for debate.

1. Understand that S4 got very good resale value how about S.Wing honestly coz i don foresee myself using it for more than 5 years and no plans to further change my machine after this upgrade. I just want to gauge how much % losses i am going to suffer between choice of this 2 machines.

2. Whats the recommended grade fuel in the S.Wing owner's manual arh? U guys pump 95 or 98? S4 or S.Wing which more fuel taxing? I am going to bring pillion very often if this info is of any relevance.

3. Whats the world reknown and famous problem for S.Wing? Or whats the most hated issue about this machine after u bought it?

4. Euro or Jap model which better? I read the tech specs about S.Wing400 on another thread but too deep cannot understand. Kindly tell me in short and to the point answer please (a.k.a layman terms)......

5. Im hitting unclehood already so im not looking to any modifications of my bike to make it faster or take off upon greenlight. Probably the only mod to my bike would be the 45L box behind thats all. But here's the catch, is there any necessary stuffs that had to be replaced for better safety or riding comfort for the S.Wing? What are the costs if any.

Edited by catzilla

Fazer600S2 2007 Damage List

- Hel Brakelines (Carbon), Motovation Sliders, H&B Journey 50L Top Box, DNA Air Filter, Dynamyx Volt Meter, Spy Alarm LM209, Scottoiler V-System, Bagster Tank Bra, Broquet Fuel Charger B5T, PUIG Touring Windshield

hi catzilla, please see my opinions in green below. i'll try to be as objective as possible :p

this thread is to share info and talk kok, so no need to apologise

... for work and night schooling however im more inclined to get a S.Wing coz of the storage only.

yeah, you can put your barang barang all inside the SW's belly and even more if you have a top box; yet the bike still looks cool.

i commute to work everyday and there're some things the SW can provide but S4 can't when i travel >65km everyday to-n-fro work:

a) i am sheltered from wind-blast by the SW's tall windshield and head cowl. i.e. shirt is still clean when i reach office/home even when i didn't wear windbreaker, face is also less sticky.

b) after rain stops and the road is still wet, my shoes can stay dry as they are protected by the floorboard. no need to change into slippers.

c) during light drizzling, i sometimes put on only upper rain coat but my pants and shoes still stay dry, thanks to the floorboard and the headcowl.

maintenance for the SW could be cheaper... i'm not sure but

* SW's set of tires costs about 175 but the S4's easily >250

* SW uses 2 spark plugs while S4 uses 4

* SW uses 2.2L of EO while S4 uses 3.2L (same oil filter for both)

* SW's belt, roller & u-clips set changing costs 220 but could last as long as a few chain-sprocket sets for SW. someone changed his belt set at around 40+k kms; that's like 800 running days (about 2.2 years) based on average mileage of 50km/day. how many chain sprocket sets would have been changed in 2 years? but if go touring, that's a different story :p

1. Understand that S4 got very good resale value how about S.Wing honestly coz i don foresee myself using it for more than 5 years and no plans to further change my machine after this upgrade. I just want to gauge how much % losses i am going to suffer between choice of this 2 machines.

i think S4 has better resale value as its market is much much bigger than that of SW. maxi-scoots are gaining on popularity but it is still far far behind the S4.

2. Whats the recommended grade fuel in the S.Wing owner's manual arh? U guys pump 95 or 98? S4 or S.Wing which more fuel taxing? I am going to bring pillion very often if this info is of any relevance.

some pump 98, but many of us pump 95. my regular is esso 5000 (other than M'sia petrol) and i still get 25km/l from my scooby :thumb:

3. Whats the world reknown and famous problem for S.Wing? Or whats the most hated issue about this machine after u bought it?

heavy... handling needs more tact

long body... parking in squeezy places could be tricky

little add-ons options... it has almost everything liow

pigeons... sound coming from clutch area during moving off after some 20+k kms on odo but its doesn't affect running

??? ... nothing major leh

4. Euro or Jap model which better? I read the tech specs about S.Wing400 on another thread but too deep cannot understand. Kindly tell me in short and to the point answer please (a.k.a layman terms)......

same same lah (later models are all euros coz BS didn't bring in JDM). heard the euros gives better FC but it depends on your wrist power :D

5. Im hitting unclehood already so im not looking to any modifications of my bike to make it faster or take off upon greenlight. Probably the only mod to my bike would be the 45L box behind thats all. But here's the catch, is there any necessary stuffs that had to be replaced for better safety or riding comfort for the S.Wing? What are the costs if any.

a loud electric horn is a must have life saver. other safety related things are like the hyperpro fork spring (for better handling), hazard light switch, brake pads, new tires, and maybe even the non-slip fabric seat wrap, etc

~

Trips: