Anybody knows where to get front fork brace for SW? It could be a simple and cheap fix for wobbleness on hard cornering.

• Replies 22.2k

I want to explore other shops. Sick of being the carrot everytime at the shop at yishun industrial park. :(

if want motul 7100 10w40, can go KC at kallang.

if want maxima extra 10w40, can go K&T at ubi.

both also $22/bott... depends on what you want :cool:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I intend to DIY the next 2 EO and gear oil change. 4L Shell Helix Ultra only cost $50!

what you do mean by "harden"? do you mean chemically treat it, or physically by attaching a fork brace?

changing eo & filter of SW is pretty straight forward, but please dispose the used eo in a proper or "green" manner.

the 4L shell helix ultra is for cars, i also saw at Giant. although some riders also use car lubs, i wouldn't advise so. if add additives, means more costs.

good bike lubs are specially formulated with additives as bike engines run at much higher revolutions. e.g. our SW clocks 5k rpm at 90+kph, my car runs near 2k rpm at that speed.

other than changing the spring to "harden" front suspension, one may also use heavier grade fork oil, pre-load (adding spacers) the spring, etc.

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

if want motul 7100 10w40, can go KC at kallang.

if want maxima extra 10w40, can go K&T at ubi.

both also $22/bott... depends on what you want :cool:

hmm, i think for engine oil i can go to the yishun shop. But other things better dun go there liao, price is on the higher side sial.

How to pre-load (adding spacers) the spring?

Anybody knows where to get front fork brace for SW? It could be a simple and cheap fix for wobbleness on hard cornering.

Let me if it works..

dual disc? not going to be easy. your front fork need to weld in the brake caliper holder, and wat caliper u going to use?

bridgestone is always on the higher side. and its slippery when wet. next time go Kallang Cycle for a much much better deal.

Kallang cycle.. ok man, noted.

i think it is not cost effective if wanna fix another caliper..

bridgestone slippery when wet..? i think hor, all tyres are slippery when wet and therefore do not run too fast when it's raining, si bei dangerous one.. haha..

suggest u to lower cum harden your front fork. i've tried that. felt better than the the hyperpro fork springs. contact ah choong for more details. not forgetting, its cheaper than the hyperpro.

ah choong is from which bikeshop? How much did you paid for this lowering-cum-hardening?

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2004-2004 DUcati Monster 400

2004-2006 Suzuki Gixxer 400

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

2011-current CB400 Vtec 1

ok, was told can discount $100 if order both front and back. so far rear is still ok for me as I always ride solo. will let you know before I order if you want to tamba the rear springs :)

ok, that makes 2 front and 1 rear already. anymore keen?

what you do mean by "harden"? do you mean chemically treat it, or physically by attaching a fork brace?

one of the shop told me they can bring in steel brake hose ($200+) for SilverWing from this supplier http://www.plotonline.com/brand/swege-line/index.html I also intend to change if price is good with a few combined orders. If not, wait till it's time to change the brake fluid.

Hyperpro & Plot brake lines are brought in by Hodaka Motoworld. last check, Hyperpro dun make rear shocks for Silverwing.

to know more abt hardening the front fork, pls approach Ah Choong. the problem with the silverwing fork is travel too long and too soft.

chemically treating can't harden the fork. and adding a fork brace is to prevent the fork from twitching.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

need to change brake disc liao..

the braking cm55 is eating my disc liao.

ah keong also having this problem. thats why i dun use the CM55 front Braking pads.

only using the Braking rear SM pads. cos its damn cheap (for me). haha.....

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Sifu Big Cow..wad exhaust are u having on now?Seepae loud leh..nv heard any silver wing so fierce before..

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Current : Tmax 530

bridgestone slippery when wet..? i think hor, all tyres are slippery when wet and therefore do not run too fast when it's raining, si bei dangerous one.. haha..

ah choong is from which bikeshop? How much did you paid for this lowering-cum-hardening?

not all tires are slippery. if u can set the tire pressure and suspension right, a good tire can grip when wet.

when i was riding my burgman 650 using the Bridgestone TH01 tire, when raining, i can even cut across the white line. but this tire only have size for Tmax, Nexus & Burgman 650.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Sifu Big Cow..wad exhaust are u having on now?Seepae loud leh..nv heard any silver wing so fierce before..

me no Sifu. just a bigcow riding a slow scoot. there's only one Full system for Silverwing lo.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

is it?wad is it?long time nv see u man..come out la..seepae sian..stay so near,always see u but cannot catch up to call u

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

is it?wad is it?long time nv see u man..come out la..seepae sian..stay so near,always see u but cannot catch up to call u

Leo Vince 4 Road lo. when when when?

TEAM RedBull Singapore

now la..u tink of place..i meet u..

your place lo. forget your blk le. sms me leh. i going out now.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

fork brace is to prevent the fork from twitching.

if not wrong, there's no space to fit fork brace on the SW's front fork assembly, unless the front fender is modified. i tot of fitting it also :p

~

Trips:

if not wrong, there's no space to fit fork brace on the SW's front fork assembly, unless the front fender is modified. i tot of fitting it also :p

may not be necessary to modify the front fender as I've seen fork braces that are slightly curved as well as "n" shape. maybe someone can CNC the part if there's enough interests?

Hyperpro & Plot brake lines are brought in by Hodaka Motoworld. last check, Hyperpro dun make rear shocks for Silverwing.

to know more abt hardening the front fork, pls approach Ah Choong. the problem with the silverwing fork is travel too long and too soft.

chemically treating can't harden the fork. and adding a fork brace is to prevent the fork from twitching.

got it! actually the softness isn't much of an issue for me as I always ride solo and not aggressive (hard braking, eg). it's more of when I corner fast (eg expressway exit), I can feel the front "twitch" occasionally, if you can say so, which does not give me much confidence and I've to hold the handlebar harder. so can this be solved with fork brace and any available for SW?

how about using handlebar stabiliser (those with hydraulic cylinder attached to the handlebar steering, typically seen on BIG cc sportsbikes)? I know sounds a bit overkill but want to explore all possibilities :)

got it! actually the softness isn't much of an issue for me as I always ride solo and not aggressive (hard braking, eg). it's more of when I corner fast (eg expressway exit), I can feel the front "twitch" occasionally, if you can say so, which does not give me much confidence and I've to hold the handlebar harder. so can this be solved with fork brace and any available for SW?

how about using handlebar stabiliser (those with hydraulic cylinder attached to the handlebar steering, typically seen on BIG cc sportsbikes)? I know sounds a bit overkill but want to explore all possibilities :)

handlebar stabiliser = Steering damper

Haven't seen any scooter using it (maybe hidden) :cheeky:

Too soft of front/rear will make you bike harder to control (dangerous) while cornering especially while on rough/uneven/pothole road surface.

The most effective is to change "aftermarket" fork spring and heavier grade fork oil if necessary. :(

Lc/Rd/Mito/Rvf/BlackBird/Zxr6/Hayabusa/Rxz/S4/Vfr/Dragster/GS11/X9/Vxr/Gts/Atlantic/ Use Legs power currently!

Next? :pray: Tio 4D/Toto :pray:

need recommendation on H4 bulbs ,

I have been using philips vision plus before , and is looking for brighter ones..not looking into HID though ~ don't want to risk the plastic lens cover :cheeky:

heard of osram night breaker , any one using it ?? or other brands??

I have been using philips vision plus before , and is looking for brighter ones..not looking into HID though ~ don't want to risk the plastic lens cover :cheeky:

I have try to install HID on SW before...... The clear lens won`t melt... HID is cooler then halogen bulb....

The only set back is the bracket holding bulb....

As SW have a adaptor to hold the bulb, while HID have to customise a bracket/spacer to hold the bulb....

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

thanks for the reply anodise57 ,I will go around looking for it .

and thanks to 紅燈泡 and 黃燈泡 too .. you must have tried a lot of bulbs

I thot SW is using H7 bulb. :confused:

or you are not refering to SW... :confused:

thanks for the reply anodise57 ,I will go around looking for it .

and thanks to 紅燈泡 and 黃燈泡 too .. you must have tried a lot of bulbs

Nope..... My bike fully LED and hid nia....... never go try other product

My bike is red/yellow colour......

Then i am the sweeper for trips......

Then happen that 1 trip 2 person ride so close and da qing ma qiao infront of me......

you should know how the bulb word coming into the picture le.....:angel:

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

Hope to see you on trips then .. I am usually sweeping the road trips too.. but long time never join trips liao ... :(

yes 867k , I am an undercover ~ the thread I am supposed to be is too quiet haha