• Replies 22.2k

Gong Xi Fa Cai guys...~~ Njoy urself. . .

duN ask oR deMand s0 much in |ife, mayB u'lL liv3 betTa t|s wAy....~~

I was thinking of illuminating my scooter.. haha.

Maybe I should not... too "eye catching".

Easy to be spotted by TP..

if you like it... http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:NvPpi2UVT7z00M

this is my scooby with blue illums :angel:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=85814&d=1230639938http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=85815&d=1230639985

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

LOL, idiot lor. Last day of NS play with extinguisher..

Really nothing better to do..

lucky they play with extinguishers... play with fire dunno go DB chalet how many days :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Date: 28 Feb 2010

Day: Sunday

Time: 0800hrs

Meet: GP Petronas

Objective: Nice Beach, Hot Spring and Waterfall

** Bring swim attire and toiletries!

Tentative Itinerary:

1. 0800hrs - Meet up.

2. 0815hrs - Move Off. Breakfast at Perling (24km).

3. 1100hrs - Air Papan Beach, Mersing via route 3 (143km).

4. 1345hrs - Labis for Lunch via route 50, J16 and J150 (182km).

5. 1415hrs - Labis Hotspring and Waterfall

6. 1700hrs - Yong Peng via route 1 (55km)

7. 1800hrs - GP Tian Lai Seafood Dinner (104km)?

Not going to post interested list.

Anyone wants to join can just meet there before moving off time.

SMS me @ 98194170 if late.

Edited by SW9000

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Haha. Don't dare to trial and error.

Was hoping someone would have done all the necessary tests and positioning then can share the experience.

The Rectifier position must change for easy replacement on tour.

I'll consult my mech on next visit.

wah, you sound like it's ready to spoil anytime or like consumables as EO or spark plugs :)

if it's rated for 50k km, then change if yours is near that mileage and use the old ones as spares, or just bring a spare battery and charger during tour lor.

for me, will take me 5 years to clock 50k km!

I feel the passion you guys have on silverwings, they are a thing of beauty after all. Had a go on my friends and was immediately hooked. Currently riding an Atlantic 200, sourcing for another bike. Found a 1yr 11month Silverwing at XXXXbike shop, it's going for 8k. Owner bought a car liao.. So, what do you guys think?

SlayerScoot.

somebody said before if the SW is below 2 years and no accident, can just buy (if price is reasonable) even without testing.

price feels reasonable for less than 2 years. but do cater for some common items replacement / servicing even if shop says servicing done.

wah, you sound like it's ready to spoil anytime or like consumables as EO or spark plugs :)

if it's rated for 50k km, then change if yours is near that mileage and use the old ones as spares, or just bring a spare battery and charger during tour lor.

for me, will take me 5 years to clock 50k km!

Won't spoil easily bah but you'll never know.

Will bring spare for tour but need the position to be accessible for plug and play without taking out the front fairing.

I feel the passion you guys have on silverwings, they are a thing of beauty after all. Had a go on my friends and was immediately hooked. Currently riding an Atlantic 200, sourcing for another bike. Found a 1yr 11month Silverwing at XXXXbike shop, it's going for 8k. Owner bought a car liao.. So, what do you guys think?

SlayerScoot.

8k still ok bah but spare some $$ for full checking and replacement.

SW is likeable by fate.

Some rode for 2-3 months sell liao.

Some travelled 60k in less than 2 yrs and still happy happy.

only use in MY? :cheeky: makes me want to do something too ...

SlayerScoot.

we can't really comment based only on age and price, suggest you consider the following and also check out more shops:

* age you mention is 1y11m, per registration date? what about manufactured month (check log card/letter)? a bike could be manufactured few years earlier than the registration date.

* $8k OTR all inclusive? what cat insurance given, transfer, min loan, loan interest, admin fees, GST, etc.

* any warranty period? some shops give 1 month, some are buy at own risk. but note that its almost impossible to claim warranty near 2 yrs old bike coz almost everything could be classed under wear-n-tear.

* odometer mileage? if high mileage (regular touring?), need to consider wear-n-tear replacement costs. i clock >40k kms in around that time, dunno high or low leh :lol:

* imminent replacements and recently replaced items? e.g. tyres, rollers, belt, u-clips, variators, clutch, magnetic coil, rectifier, battery, sparkies, etc.

* engine condition? this is most tricky cos need experience/skills to assess.

theoretically, engines should be responsive (open n close throttle tests), smooth and not noisy (listen for unnatural or knocking sound), no excessive vibrations when at idling or "rev-ed" on mainstand, idling rpm should be stable and not fluctuating, some pp poke finger into exhaust (when cold lah) to check for soot level (lots of soot means possible that more than normal EO is burn, means possibly rings are loose, means need min top overhaul), etc etc.

p/s: this is what i heard (i'm a construction worker, not a mech) :p

* condition of transmission system? idle bike on main stand and listen for rough sound from the variators and clutch areas, especially near the rear wheel area where gears shafts are; rather expensive to repair.

* check body condition... stock paintwork or resprayed, buang marks, patching done, accident before? best if all are still stock.

* suspensions all ok, any leaking at front? SW's rear shocks seldom spoil at 2 years unless badly abused.

* any after-market add-ons or mods?

* don't think any bike shops will allow test rides so checking for alignment is out of the question... will only know after buying but too late liow, see heng or suay. heard got pp align the front and rear wheels in straight line, then see handlebar whether straight or not. but this only check for handlebar alignment and not frame alignment.

wear-n-tear replacements are inevitable for a near 2-year old used bike, but due diligence are required to minimise risk of major repairs :angel:

~

Trips:

1st we have someone kup corner with 1 hand...

then we have someone e-brake with 1 hand...

what else did someone do with 1 hand? :cheeky:

think i'm thinking wat you're thinking. haha.....

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

Date: 28 Feb 2010

Day: Sunday

Time: 0800hrs

Meet: GP Petronas

Objective: Nice Beach, Hot Spring and Waterfall

** Bring swim attire and toiletries!

Tentative Itinerary:

1. 0800hrs - Meet up.

2. 0815hrs - Move Off. Breakfast at Perling (24km).

3. 1100hrs - Air Papan Beach, Mersing via route 3 (143km).

4. 1345hrs - Labis for Lunch via route 50, J16 and J150 (182km).

5. 1415hrs - Labis Hotspring and Waterfall

6. 1700hrs - Yong Peng via route 1 (55km)

7. 1800hrs - GP Tian Lai Seafood Dinner (104km)?

Not going to post interested list.

Anyone wants to join can just meet there before moving off time.

SMS me @ 98194170 if late.

Is this the 750km route you posted earlier?

1st we have someone kup corner with 1 hand...

then we have someone e-brake with 1 hand...

what else did someone do with 1 hand? :cheeky:

Maybe somebody can try 1 hand mainstand... Haha...

Is this the 750km route you posted earlier?

Correct :angel:

Who going??? Me confirmed :)

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

Correct :angel:

Who going??? Me confirmed :)

Wrong leh.

This one shorter loop to Mersing then Labis only.

Unless... you guys really can endure the longer ride then we go to Kuantan and back.

So, please comment on:

Option 1: Shorter ride to Mersing/Labis hotspring & waterfall.

Option 2: Longer Ride to Kuantan Pandan Falls and Lao Zi Temple.

Option 1 or 2 is OK for me, I'm hopping my TransAlp can be ready by the time for the trunk road.

Edited by Atlantic 200

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

Option 1 or 2 is OK for me, I'm hopping my TransAlp can be ready by the time for the trunk road.

TransAlp on trunk roads... like that I'll be sweeper liao.

8k still ok bah but spare some $$ for full checking and replacement.

SW is likeable by fate.

Some rode for 2-3 months sell liao.

Some travelled 60k in less than 2 yrs and still happy happy.

It is strange and hard to describe leh.... let me give u an example: When I rode in morning, the ride was generally smooth and stable but I find it unstable when I am riding back home.

Path used to work: TPE, KPE, Sheares Bridge and AYE.

Path used to go home: same as above but opposite direction.

My guess is the wind blast on the bike causing it to be unstable. During afternoon/evening/night time, I noticed I have to tilt the bike towards the right side (could this be the wind direction from right?) can causes it to wobble quite a fair bit.

As the bike is stable during morning w/o any stability issues, I strongly belief the bike should be ok. My guess..... if those riders are using it during windy period, he/she may find this bike kind of dangerous......

Any one keen to explain?

My 2 months experience with SW is that it's quite susceptible to cross winds at low speeds (below 80kmh). I think the weight distribution is to the rear but the front has a big surface area of fairings when viewed from the sides. At high speeds though, the downforce generated by the front fairings balanced up the weight distribution, making the bike more stable and less effect by the cross winds.

I think that's why some brothers who travel mostly on highways do not have such issues while I do experience them as I go through congested roads all the time.

Wrong leh.

This one shorter loop to Mersing then Labis only.

Unless... you guys really can endure the longer ride then we go to Kuantan and back.

So, please comment on:

Option 1: Shorter ride to Mersing/Labis hotspring & waterfall.

Option 2: Longer Ride to Kuantan Pandan Falls and Lao Zi Temple.

I'm interested. :angel:

can keep me posted? :cheeky:

:angry: Road to Endless Destination is still burning. :angry:
My 2 months experience with SW is that it's quite susceptible to cross winds at low speeds (below 80kmh). I think the weight distribution is to the rear but the front has a big surface area of fairings when viewed from the sides. At high speeds though, the downforce generated by the front fairings balanced up the weight distribution, making the bike more stable and less effect by the cross winds.

I think that's why some brothers who travel mostly on highways do not have such issues while I do experience them as I go through congested roads all the time.

I have the same sentiments too.... think if we want to ride SW with ease, it is better to ride at cruising speed instead of start-stop speed. :)

Thinking out loud, read that it is also good to change the front n rear suspension to make it more comfortable. Wonder if this helps in stabilising it? Base on theory, comfort does not equates to stability, hence my guess is that it will helps to make it comfortable in straight road, during corners but not against cross wind unless u r on cruising speed....

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=85814&d=1230639938http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=85815&d=1230639985

Let there'll be light!!!!!

:angel::angel::angel::angel:

more blings boss?:cool:

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

I have the same sentiments too.... think if we want to ride SW with ease, it is better to ride at cruising speed instead of start-stop speed. :)

Thinking out loud, read that it is also good to change the front n rear suspension to make it more comfortable. Wonder if this helps in stabilising it? Base on theory, comfort does not equates to stability, hence my guess is that it will helps to make it comfortable in straight road, during corners but not against cross wind unless u r on cruising speed....

Cross wind will become a problem only at high speed. Otherwise, the bike is very stable at all conditions.

However, the stock front spring is the major culprit for the cornering problem (it will drift out of line). It will also give u dipping feel as if the bike will fall and you have to ease up on the corners. Very dangerous if got vehicles behind you.

Rear suspension usually have to rebuilt or replace after a few of years. The Hagon is slightly harder and won't sink/squat as much as the stock. It is built to work with the Hyperpro and better for heavier rider or with pillion. If the stock rear suspension feels ok, no need to change.