Just now at TPE i encountered something terrible.

There was this 18 wheeler trailer used the right lane to overtake a lorry dangerously at abt 90-100kmh. Then I noticed got one piece of wooden plank dropping off from the trailer. The wood rolled from the right lane to the left lane. I was on left lane and I can't siam, so I rode over the wooden plank, thinking "Knn, siao liao lor, hope i dun buang"

So lucky nothing happened to me when i rode over the wood, only experineced some wobble and jump. Thank god..

Lesson learnt: stay far away from heavy vehicles, you never know what is going to drop on the road. :sian:

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2004-2004 DUcati Monster 400

2004-2006 Suzuki Gixxer 400

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

2011-current CB400 Vtec 1

• Replies 22.2k

  Andydy said:

There was this 18 wheeler trailer used the right lane to overtake a lorry dangerously at abt 90-100kmh. Then I noticed got one piece of wooden plank dropping off from the trailer. The wood rolled from the right lane to the left lane. I was on left lane and I can't siam, so I rode over the wooden plank, thinking "Knn, siao liao lor, hope i dun buang"

So lucky nothing happened to me when i rode over the wood, only experineced some wobble and jump. Thank god..

Lesson learnt: stay far away from heavy vehicles, you never know what is going to drop on the road. :sian:

didn't take down the trailer's number plate and report to LTA? he might unsuccesfully not kill u but killed someone else.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

  bigcow said:
didn't take down the trailer's number plate and report to LTA? he might unsuccesfully not kill u but killed someone else.

It happened too fast.. and i was shocked..

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

I've solved the front fork wobbling issue. 1 hand riding has never been more stable. Whether at high or low speeds, the bike is so stable that i can practically feel my front wheel sticking on the ground. Bike handling confidence went up. No longer a bike that can't corner. Feel is totally different. When bike runs over a hump too fast or hit something at high speed, the bike doesn't bounce so much.

Will have to mod your front fork. Nothing removed or tampered with. This mod is also wat the Japanese have done before. Satisfaction guaranteed. We've already done for 7 Silverwings. All 7 giving this mod a :thumb:

This mod will also lower your front fork giving the bike more clearance for cornering and the travel will not be so long. Curbing the wobbling issue. But not to worry, tested that it will not hit your mud guard, humps or even bottom up.

This mod is cheaper & will also surpass the Hyperpro front fork kit which cost $250 before installation and this Hyperpro does not lower the fork. Which is not so good cos the travel is still the same.

Not forgetting the rear suspension softens in time, have also harden my rear suspension.

For more info, pls contact me @ 91050569.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

  Andydy said:

Consider yourself lucky that the log did not fall on you and that you've lived to ride another day. :)

  bigcow said:
All scooters whose final drive runs on belts, the rear wheel does not have bearings. Thus cannot be balance. Unless have the special tool. But no shops I know of in Singapore can do it. Cos demand is low. I have rode many scooters, having run high and low speeds on everyone, see no need to balance the rear wheel. Balancing a wheel is to minimise the wobbling and jumping of the wheel cos all tires when manufactured, when rubbers are combined, the mixture is never accurate.

Minimising the wheel wooble will increase overall system reliability (wheel bearings, brake pads, mountings, stress on frame, etc) which I thought is important. Still many other scooter makes besides SW. What about the big brother Goldwing? I will imagine it to be disastrous if the wheels are not balanced for such a big cc / power bike.

  Uncle said:
Consider yourself lucky that the log did not fall on you and that you've lived to ride another day. :)

Heng lor... haha

Huat ah!

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

  bigcow said:
I've solved the front fork wobbling issue. 1 hand riding has never been more stable. Whether at high or low speeds, the bike is so stable that i can practically feel my front wheel sticking on the ground. Bike handling confidence went up. No longer a bike that can't corner. Feel is totally different. When bike runs over a hump too fast or hit something at high speed, the bike doesn't bounce so much.

Will have to mod your front fork. Nothing removed or tampered with. This mod is also wat the Japanese have done before. Satisfaction guaranteed. We've already done for 7 Silverwings. All 7 giving this mod a :thumb:

This mod will also lower your front fork giving the bike more clearance for cornering and the travel will not be so long. Curbing the wobbling issue. But not to worry, tested that it will not hit your mud guard, humps or even bottom up.

This mod is cheaper & will also surpass the Hyperpro front fork kit which cost $250 before installation and this Hyperpro does not lower the fork. Which is not so good cos the travel is still the same.

Not forgetting the rear suspension softens in time, have also harden my rear suspension.

Haha..This is a good mod. :thumb:

Better than stock setup..

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

Hi guys.. wanted to buy bike cover for my Silverwing. Just want to check with u guys before i buy the wrong size. Does size 3L fits nicely on Silverwing?

1995/1996 - TZR 125 (FJ 8709M)

1996/2003 - Rebel 125 (FN 4795T)

2003/2004 - Super 4 Vtec 1 (FT 6105R)

2004/2004 - 125Z (FX 9008Y)

2004/2005 - RXZ (FN 7178E)

2005/2007 - Majesty 250 (FQ 5381G)

2007/2008 - X9 Evo 200 (FZ 2272K)

2008/2009 - Ver S (FP 762 D)

2010.......... Silverwing 400 (FB* 3**8 *)

  BrokenBones said:
Hi guys.. wanted to buy bike cover for my Silverwing. Just want to check with u guys before i buy the wrong size. Does size 3L fits nicely on Silverwing?

I'm using 3L as it was a free gift from my previous bike. It's a bit small, especially if you have a top box. Will not cover top to bottom although the length is good. But I can live with it ;)

  Uncle said:
I'm using 3L as it was a free gift from my previous bike. It's a bit small, especially if you have a top box. Will not cover top to bottom although the length is good. But I can live with it ;)

hi uncle.. thanks for the feed back. and yes, i hava a top box too. guess have to get 4L then..

thanks again..

1995/1996 - TZR 125 (FJ 8709M)

1996/2003 - Rebel 125 (FN 4795T)

2003/2004 - Super 4 Vtec 1 (FT 6105R)

2004/2004 - 125Z (FX 9008Y)

2004/2005 - RXZ (FN 7178E)

2005/2007 - Majesty 250 (FQ 5381G)

2007/2008 - X9 Evo 200 (FZ 2272K)

2008/2009 - Ver S (FP 762 D)

2010.......... Silverwing 400 (FB* 3**8 *)

  Andydy said:

Ride far from these idiotic lorry drivers, they dont give a damn for other road users. glad u are safe!

Read before that somebody can fit tennis rackets in the underseat compartment. Tried to put my badminton rackets and it cannot makan :weep:

Found a shop that says they have new machine that can balance our SW rear tyres. Will be going down this evening to check it out. Keep fingers crossed :pray:

  bigcow said:

Hi, where can this mod be done? Is it done by u or at which motordiam? Cost is abt how much?

  hilfiger said:
Hi, where can this mod be done? Is it done by u or at which motordiam? Cost is abt how much?

Kallang cycle.

Done by ah chong.

For front and back abt 250 plus minus.

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

  Uncle said:
Read before that somebody can fit tennis rackets in the underseat compartment. Tried to put my badminton rackets and it cannot makan :weep:

that's me... i usually put 2 tennis rackets inside (no need to bring so many mah), didn't try 3 but i think it may even fit 4.

put the handle part in towards rear before laying the racket's face in at the front... see pic 29.

ok... pic uploaded :D

if tennis racket can fit, badminton should fit coz length of badminton rackets are about 26.75", shorter than my 27" tennis rackets. but must be careful if you're squeezing lots of stuffs inside, make sure don't bend or break you racket when pushing the seat close... whahahaha :p

if you see pic 30, there's still lots of space for sports wear even with shoes (green shoe bag) & raincoat (black bag) also inside :thumb:

Photo0029.jpg

Photo0030.jpg

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

My swing has this whistling sound coming out from the rear wheel area. Any idea what sound is it.?

:cheeky:My First Bike - phantom 150 - Dec 1999, CBR 400 RN - 2003, Honda Wave -2003, Super4 Spec II -2004, Fazer 6 S2 - May 2007, SilverWing 400 Euro - Feb 2010, BMW R1200ST - July 2010, R1200GS(LC) - Oct 2017:cool:

likely is from clutch assembly... if sound is high pitched, maybe bad news; if low pitched like pigeon calls, probably some cleaning could do the trick.

join the thurs weekly kopi session for a free inspection lor... hehe :p

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

  bigcow said:

i'm interested in this mod but i travelled to Tuas for work and the Tuas roads are very bumpy... will it be gd for bumpy roads? seems like my rear sus is kinda hard...

--------------------------------------

Never argue with an idiot. He brings you

down to his level, then beats you on experience...

  hilfiger said:

contact me for more info.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

  QuietStorm said:
i'm interested in this mod but i travelled to Tuas for work and the Tuas roads are very bumpy... will it be gd for bumpy roads? seems like my rear sus is kinda hard...

yes. after mod, your front will no longer bounce so much. cos travel is shorten. this mod also helps when during turning or cornering where the road is bumpy. stock set up will wobble a lot due to the long travel that makes the bike bounce.

rear suspension is 430mm long. the rear suspension spring will soften in time. many people already change theirs to after market ones. we can also harden your rear spring when stock ones become soften at a fraction of wat the after market ones cost.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

  scoobydoo said:
there's still lots of space for sports wear even with shoes (green shoe bag) & raincoat (black bag) also inside :thumb:

thanks scoobydoo! will try again. somehow your compartment looks bigger :D

Hi all I had this prob. There is some whistling sound comng from my rear wheel area when I move off. Any idea wat happen? It will only happen at stationary position or when I squeezing through jam when throttling is require at very low speed. During normal or moving rides no sound when I throttle.

:cheeky:My First Bike - phantom 150 - Dec 1999, CBR 400 RN - 2003, Honda Wave -2003, Super4 Spec II -2004, Fazer 6 S2 - May 2007, SilverWing 400 Euro - Feb 2010, BMW R1200ST - July 2010, R1200GS(LC) - Oct 2017:cool:

  QuietStorm said:

there's no perfect setup for all road conditions, that's why race cars adjust their settings to suit the conditions of the tracks they're racing on to obtain optimal handing which affects performance and also safety.

there's always a trade off... harder dampener/springs provide better handling but trades of the cushioning comfort.

if rear shocks are too hard, the pre-loading (there's a number marked on the lower cap) may be set too high. factory setting is at 3, maybe try lowering it to 2 or 1 by turning the cap, a tool is provided but bare hands will do. important is to make sure both are at same level.

~

Trips: