a fussy rider with sensitive butt... every bit of improvement counts as $ well spent;

a chin-chye rider with easy butt... every non-essential job counts as $ unnecessarily spent;

a rich rider with spare cash to splurge... every $ spent counts as $ enjoyably spent;

but to a rider with shallow pockets… every $ unspent counts as $ for tomolo :p

so see which type of rider you belong to lor… listen to your butt :cheeky:

my pocket very shallow, so balancing for rear wheel becomes not essential as the difference is not significant enough to affect safety :angel:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

• Replies 22.2k

last nite, when riding in the carpark after washing, the engine cut off by itself. The electrical was ok. Can restart engine with no problem. if it happen once it, it will happen again. I dont wanna kenna engine cut while riding on expressway during peak hour.

What can cause the engine cut?? just changed spark plug 1 mth ago. dont think its electrical problem. Maybe fuel injection??

Some bro mentioned that it's water getting into the engine cut switch, esp since you just washed your bike.

last nite, when riding in the carpark after washing, the engine cut off by itself. The electrical was ok. Can restart engine with no problem. if it happen once it, it will happen again. I dont wanna kenna engine cut while riding on expressway during peak hour.

What can cause the engine cut?? just changed spark plug 1 mth ago. dont think its electrical problem. Maybe fuel injection??

maybe your engine too cold after your bike wash. idling might be too low causing the engine to die off.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

tks for the suggestions. let see what happen next week when i do my weekly bike wash

Let the bike run hot before riding it.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Anyone knows where to wash bike in JB...?

Most car washes do accept bikes, you can try the holiday inn area. You can put there to wash, then go makan n shop for "movies" :cheeky:

a fussy rider with sensitive butt... every bit of improvement counts as $ well spent;

a chin-chye rider with easy butt... every non-essential job counts as $ unnecessarily spent;

a rich rider with spare cash to splurge... every $ spent counts as $ enjoyably spent;

but to a rider with shallow pockets… every $ unspent counts as $ for tomolo :p

so see which type of rider you belong to lor… listen to your butt :cheeky:

my pocket very shallow, so balancing for rear wheel becomes not essential as the difference is not significant enough to affect safety :angel:

wah lau... u make tire balancing sound like golf like that... :faint:

Anyway, given a choice it's better to balance it la. Better fast n steady, not fast n shaky

Edited by big4rider
Just upgrade from 3rd Party Fire & Theft (aka 2nd Party) to 1st Party Comprehensive.

3rd Party F & T = $338 (with 20% NCD) *$422 without NCD

1st Party = $586 (with 20% NCD) *$732 without NCD

I topped up the difference.

Excess is $500.

Bike Lost excess is $1000.

Additional loading in premium after claim is for 1 year only.

Loading will be according to claim, i.e. more than $4k = 1.75x, otherwise should be about 1.5x.

Therefore if claim (calculation for illustration purpose only):

$2000:

Premium for next renew = 1.5x $732 = $1098

Plus excess $500

Total money spent = $1598 - $586 = $1012

Total saved = $2000-$1012 = $988.

$3000 claim = save $1988

$4000 claim = save $2988

$4001 claim = save $2806 *loading 1.75x

$5000 claim = save $3805

$6000 claim = save $4805

How come loading for 1 year only ?

I thought once there is a loading on the insurance, it will be most likely with you forever ?

22 August 2005 - August 2006 - Phantom TA 200

August 2006 - April 25 2007 - X9- Almafi

May 2007 - Feb 2008 - S4 Spec III

Feb 2008 - Dec 2012 - Silverwing Euro 400 (longest ride)

July 2009 - Oct 2012 OPC - Sold

Dec 2012 - Jun 2013- paggio x10

Jun 2013 -?????? - Silverwing SW-T400 ABS (Euro ver)

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f138/flamingangelz/th_DSC00702.jpg

This and the tech page is very informative .. realli feel like getting a SW .. but how much is the agent bike now? Anyone knows? Thanks.

How come loading for 1 year only ?

I thought once there is a loading on the insurance, it will be most likely with you forever ?

I got email from insurance company to backup.

Anyway, I think for bike to need to punish us so many years lah.

Car drivers might be different bah... even if they have shallow pockets. mauahahaha :cheeky:

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

If SW were in the days where it cost 11k+ I would not hesitate to get get new one...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Anyone knows where to wash bike in JB...?

the whole stretch at New York Hotel.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

When are you planning to go in...?

tonight. via 1st link Woodlands. meet 9.30pm under the SLE bridge.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

then get a 2nd hand one lor... the SW is a rather trouble free bike, seldom break down unless badly abused, maintenance cost is also very reasonable :thumb:

if buying 2nd hand, must make sure the body and all tupperwares are in good condition... a new set of tupperwares cost a few Ks :faint:

This and the tech page is very informative .. realli feel like getting a SW .. but how much is the agent bike now? Anyone knows? Thanks.

If SW were in the days where it cost 11k+ I would not hesitate to get get new one...

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

then get a 2nd hand one lor... the SW is a rather trouble free bike, seldom break down unless badly abused, maintenance cost is also very reasonable :thumb:

if buying 2nd hand, must make sure the body and all tupperwares are in good condition... a new set of tupperwares cost a few Ks :faint:

Thanks scoobydoo ... I note u have contributed a lot on the SW.

Still prefer to get one new so that I know its history .. only thing is that the pricing is quite steep ... very close to a new CB13 which I am also eyeing!

Thanks scoobydoo ... I note u have contributed a lot on the SW.

Still prefer to get one new so that I know its history .. only thing is that the pricing is quite steep ... very close to a new CB13 which I am also eyeing!

SW is still a scooter.

Not many ppl can take the change from road/race bike to scoots.

Some sell the bike after just a couple of months.

Some still riding it after many years because the ease of use of an auto-bike is addictive.

If wanna buy new, then must get chance for test ride.

Otherwise a 2nd hand with no known accident history would be good.

Less than 2-year old bike is estimated abt 9-10k (bike shop may sell 11k). That's a 5-7k difference to your pocket.

Enough to ping pong massage for many years. hehehe.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Was reading through the posts .. izzit still $17K for a new SW400?

Recently I checked about 17K, but u can opt for the ABS version which is almost same price as the standard one

Thanks SW9000 ... u r right ...

I have ridden an auto scoot b4 .. had a Vespa GT200 .. loved it and wanted to get the new 300 but after reading the horror stories ... quickly changed my mind ...