• Replies 22.2k

Guys, i have the following servicing stuffs to sell hope it will help those whose servicing is due

The below mention stuffs are all brand new

OEM engine oil filter with filter wrench (from fjt) selling @ $15

3X 1 Quart (0.946l) Royal purple SAE 10W-40 (from mx trading) selling @ $12 each

3X (355ml) Red Line Water Wetter Coolant (from mx trading) selling @ $15 each

Kindly call 90263811 to deal

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

lobangs... if you wanna try :p

AMSOIL S'pore is running a year end sale, see prices at link below

http://amsoil-sg.blogspot.com/2011/10/amsoil-price-list-2011.html

SAE 10W-40 Synthetic Motorcycle Oil(MCF) is going for S$17.80 per bottle (1q = 0.964L) cheaper than other sellers like MXTradings and Mayalab.

https://www.amsoil.com/storefront/mcf.aspx

MCF_300.jpg

ps: i'm not a snake oil salesman, just sharing a lobang i saw

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

27 Nov 2011 (Sunday)

Tour de Lobster

ok... 27 Nov Tour de Lobster itinerary out liow

please see my noteboard for more info :smile:

participants:

* scoobydoo (FJS400) ... organiser

* SW9000 (SWT400) ... co-lead

* Atlantic 200 (MaxSYM 400) ... sweeper

* jsilverwing (CB400 S4)

* Fusionjaz (Versys)

* Wooolala (SWT400)

* whyzee (S.Tenere)

* sant0s (F800GS)

general plan is to meet at JB Shell (after immi) at 9am, proceed to Desaru Fruit Farm for walkabout before heading down south for lobster lunch. with the new senai-desaru highway, distance is "too short" for a breakfast stop (we experience it the last time) so settle own breakfast before meetup.

after lunch, shopping shall be at Bt Indah and return via 2nd link to avoid the 6+pm super duper causeway jam :p

location of desaru fruit farm

http://www.desaruff.com/images/map2.jpg

update: i called DFF and found out the following:

* confirm open when we arrive on 27/11 (opens everyday from 8am)

* time from Shell petrol station (immediately after immigration) to DFF is about 1hr via the new senai-desaru expressway

* entrance fee is Rm20 pax... include a tour guide and a pack of fruits each; min. 4 pax to go

* tour duration is about 1+hrs depending on how fast we walk

so how? wanna take the tour or just go to the shop, eat some fruits and buzz off?

ps: tour guide is not the tongyum land type hor :lol:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Hmm... it takes 30 mins from my carpark to reach JB shell.

Might just go for Jln Kayu roti prata breakfast at 8am 1st.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

School holiday hor... parents don't pillion their children for tour on Sundays...

lobangs... if you wanna try :p

AMSOIL S'pore is running a year end sale, see prices at link below

http://amsoil-sg.blogspot.com/2011/10/amsoil-price-list-2011.html

SAE 10W-40 Synthetic Motorcycle Oil(MCF) is going for S$17.80 per bottle (1q = 0.964L) cheaper than other sellers like MXTradings and Mayalab.

https://www.amsoil.com/storefront/mcf.aspx

MCF_300.jpg

ps: i'm not a snake oil salesman, just sharing a lobang i saw

Shop & Save selling Mobil Fully Synthetic 0W-40 and 5W-30 1q for $9.90 till 20 Nov. Good for cars (and dry clutch motorcycles).

how often do u change batteries? i getting the electronics restart when i start engine again. Last time this happen i changed battery.

My present YTZ14 is about 1 year old.

Battery normally can use for +/- 1.5 years.

Even with the electronic restarting, it can still be used provided you have a voltmeter to monitor. But don't expect it to last too long.

Switched on voltage should be 12v+. Should pay attention when dropped below 11.5v.

Just booked my Genting room for April 2012 and realised... Genting now don't offer room with breakfast.

By the way, a survey of Ipoh Hotel room preference:

1. Twin room (share): MYR45 each

2. Double Room (single): MYR90 each

Both room types may not have choice of windows...

Edited by SW9000

Shop & Save selling Mobil Fully Synthetic 0W-40 and 5W-30 1q for $9.90 till 20 Nov. Good for cars (and dry clutch motorcycles).

wah seh... shop n save also join the motor oil sales war

$9.90 per quart sounds darn tempting :lol:

~

Trips:

Anyone knows if Agoda charges the credit card for hotel booking?

I.e. Deduct the cost up front and if there is cancellation then refund?

Asiarooms and Booking.com no need payment. All pay at hotel on arrival.

yo whyzee

which olympus camera were you recommending the other night? is it the P3 or PL3?

went to courts to take a look this afternoon, the auto focus speed is rather impressive.

still undecided whether to get a more bulky SLR or a compact changeable...

very tempted by promotion for canon 660D SLR :p

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

EP3 has better build quality and touch screen focusing. EPL3 has same sensor n focusing speed, but dont touch screen n body feels cheaper.

Did u try the new Nikon J1 & V1? Very impressive colors n speed. Despite using a smaller sensor, its image quality is good. Dont haf the image file to compare, so not sure how much better though.

The micro four thirds are still leading now cos they have alot more lens options.

As for DSLR, I dont always encourage ppl to get it la. Nowadays, w my ep1, i almost nv use my dslr except for events...

Anyone knows if Agoda charges the credit card for hotel booking?

I.e. Deduct the cost up front and if there is cancellation then refund?

Asiarooms and Booking.com no need payment. All pay at hotel on arrival.

Yup. Charge the credit card. If cancel they refund back to ur credit card acc.

Did u try the new Nikon J1 & V1? Very impressive colors n speed.

The micro four thirds are still leading now cos they have alot more lens options.

As for DSLR, I dont always encourage ppl to get it la. Nowadays, w my ep1, i almost nv use my dslr except for events...

saw the 2 nikons but tot they looked really boxy ugly... not that looks matters more than what it can deliver, the P3 "stainless steel" model looks pretty cool, somewhat nostalgic :p

http://a.img-dpreview.com/reviews/olympusep3/images/lenses/45_1p8-001.jpg

did some homework and many internet reviews spoke well on such systems cameras; seems like PQ are near or similar to entry level DSLRs, but without the bulk. the olly E-P3, pany G3 and sony Nex-5 are ranked in the top few.

hmmm... no hurry, will take my time to shop for my own x'mas present, or bird'day present if not in time for x'mas. too bad i can't afford a $13+k x'mas present like my fren... hahahahaha :lol:

~

Trips:

Ipoh Suns Inn booked for April 12. Kiasu me.

2x Double Rooms (rm85):

John

Joseph

3x Twin rooms (share, rm43 each):

David

James

Raymond

Yongzhen

and.. 2 more.

Very personal feedback for these mirrorless system:

- Sony - I don't recommend them yet. Their DSLR are just picking up, but their mirrorless system have still some work to do. Processor not very good in terms of colors and noise. But most importantly is, lens selection. They don't have that much lenses yet, and their lenses are bulky.

- Panasonic: Good for videos, and personally I find their colors a bit weird for photos. But they have very good function for audio and video recording. Good if you want a dual function camera. However, they have been making very good lens for the micro four third (m43) series. Wouldn't expect less from leica glass! However, for those who need O.I.S, do take note, they only have O.I.S on their lenses, and not on their body. Good high ISO, i.e, less noise for night shot. Their flagship is the GH3.

- Olympus: Most of their camera have built in body O.I.S. The current "3" series have very good and fast focusing. Image sensor is good for moderate high ISO, still pretty decent, but not as good as Panasonic. Of cos this is if you compare the same range. Current flagship is the EP-3 with touch screen focusing, and the art filter are very nice to use. Ergonomics and retro looking are one of the major selling point. They only have a couple of nice lenses compared to Panny though. Their colors are more vibrant and refreshing. If you like Canon colors, you should like them.

Nikon 1 series: Latest entry to the mirrorless system. Same thing, limited lenses selection. However, I was very impressed with their colors and noise performance. Despite using a smaller sensor, somehow, their processor technology, make up for it, and they have imho, very good colors. I wouldn't jump in now as I want to wait for more lens options. But I'm very impressed...

anyway, for interchangeable lens cameras.. My opinion is, don't just look at the sensor size, or MP size.. In today's technology, things are improving like crazy. What you need to look at is, if there's a good selection of lenses and accessories.

Camera body don't cost much to change compare to lenses and accessories. Pain one time, get a good lens, and you will see that the difference is much bigger than some who keep changing the body.

Lens is the one that make the difference in the sharpness, the bokeh, the tonality.

Sensor wise, more or less are identical. However, different camera makers read colors different (processor), and of cos noise control.

all that tech talks aside... has to look sexy and gives you the can't take your eyes and hands off feeling.

lens wise, don't think i'm gonna go crazy like during my 35mm manual days... its a bottomless pit down the road mann. add this add that and last thing i remember was craving for fish headeye and 2X tele-converter which i didn't use. till today, still dunno why i wanted the 2x300mm :p

P3's standard kit comes with 14~42mm (28~84mm on oldschool 35mm), thinking of the double-zoom kit (+ 40~150mm) and a few filters. that sums up the poison, at least for the time being :lol:

btw, gotta let go the P500 to raise some funds

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips: