OMG! ty so much scoobydoo & SW9000!! Sori i abit noob.. SW9000 was mentioning (Gear eo) so wad gear eo to use? 10W40 MOTOR OIL = 10w40 fully synthetic engine oil? Lol sori noob here...

To make things easy... simply use the same engine oil for BOTH the engine bay and the final drive.

In a nutshell, gear oil and the engine oil we put into the crank case/engine bay are different, although both are "motor oil". Gear oils are a type of motor oil formulated specifically for transmissions, transfer cases, etc. However, this heavier oil may cause viscous drag, impairing the efficiency of the oil reaching into finer areas. They are usually more "sticky" to better protect the gears in action. Engine oils are specially formulated for use in the hot and pressurized engine compartment (crank case/engine bay) and cylinders, to provide lubrication and cooling to engine parts like, con rods, pistons, etc.

Although most motorbikes/scooters uses gear oil for their transmission gears, the SW is an exception.

Gear oils' multigrade ratings are different from those of engine oils; higher numbers are used; see pic below.

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/images/visc.jpg

e.g. a 75W90 gear oil have similar viscosity as that of a 10W40 motor oil. Sounds similar but they are NOT the same and MUST NOT be interchangeably used. However, the SW's final drive is an exception, using 10W40 engine oil according to Honda's service manual.

Think of it this way (extreme scenario)... imagine putting the 75W90 gear oil into the engine bay instead of the 10W40 motor oil. Any sensible mechanic will tell you that's not right.

If any smart alec try to convince you their two are the same becos they both have similar viscosity, challenge them to run their engine using the gear oil... see what they say :p

This construction worker here will clap hand and say... ho say liow!!! :lol:

sharing my 0.02 yen of inputs

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

• Replies 22.2k

Ultimate protection. But what if happen on a down slope, eg; like genting.. ?? rolling rolling rolling rollinggggg............

For every Minute you are angry.. :angry:

U lose 60 seconds of happiness.. :cheeky:

2007 - 2010 Aprillia Sportcity 200

2010 - 2012 Honda SW-T400 TYPE RR

Happy New Year everyone... SW or other bike riders same same.

not enough rides on the road arh? then ride more at home ride lor :lol:

That's ur kpi this year? Do home riding? Heee.. All the best!

Happy new year 2012 to all swingers and those who took care of me during the april tour...

May this yr will be another good yr and safe ride for all bikers, peace to those cars..

:shy:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/brownkai/X8gathering1-2.jpg
:cheeky: HAPPY HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYBODY...!!! :cheers:

For every Minute you are angry.. :angry:

U lose 60 seconds of happiness.. :cheeky:

2007 - 2010 Aprillia Sportcity 200

2010 - 2012 Honda SW-T400 TYPE RR

Happy New Year everyone... SW or other bike riders same same.

not enough rides on the road arh? then ride more at home ride lor :lol:

Wahsey, got OC liao exercise regime also changed.

Wait promote to CO then won't leave the room...

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Very nice package indeed. Was my 1st choice, but 46k otr for basic model, plus high svc cost n spare part prices made me changed my mind..

One day, maybe......

so many electronic pack into 1 185KG bike...must be scare...when river-crossing...or flood zone...lastly, cant afford to kanna chop by mary each time after a long tour...:cheeky:

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

Wahsey, got OC liao exercise regime also changed.

Wait promote to CO then won't leave the room...

sounds like a good new year resolution... whahahahaha

start saving up for ang pow hor... ah bo new SWT also gladly accept :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I just earned a 2nd hand SW-T400 this morning! What a start to the New Year.

Story goes like this:

On Sat, went to collect school uniforms for the kids and bought some durians for wify.

Upon return parked the bike at MSCP. Took out everything... except the keys. WTF!!!

Only found out this morning (3 days liao) before leaving the house that the bike key was not with me.

Heart pounding, took a spare key and went to carpark.

Saw the bike... wahsey, so relieved.

Some good person kept the keys in my box. Lucky, right?

This my 2nd time totally forgotten about bike key. The last time was years ago on my 1st SW.

Since I already got my surprised bonus (bike returned), guess no more extra luck (allocated) with 4D liao.

I just earned a 2nd hand SW-T400 this morning! What a start to the New Year.

Story goes like this:

On Sat, went to collect school uniforms for the kids and bought some durians for wify.

Upon return parked the bike at MSCP. Took out everything... except the keys. WTF!!!

Only found out this morning (3 days liao) before leaving the house that the bike key was not with me.

Heart pounding, took a spare key and went to carpark.

Saw the bike... wahsey, so relieved.

Some good person kept the keys in my box. Lucky, right?

This my 2nd time totally forgotten about bike key. The last time was years ago on my 1st SW.

Since I already got my surprised bonus (bike returned), guess no more extra luck (allocated) with 4D liao.

wa. I know what you mean! It happened to me a few years back, someone kept the keys underneath my tank bra of my super4. No wonder that 2 years didnt win any toto/4d....

but hor, I once found the key on a vespa gt200 at Wheelock place, took out the keys, put it at the corner of the seat. But hor, 1 week later, I go to wheelock place, the bike's still there...

Btw, can tell me abt next week's genting itinerary? which day is atlantic checking out?

I probably can go... :)

Atlantic will check-out on 17 Jan (Tue).

If going with me, then collect the card from him in SG on 18th (wed).

The room is booked till 21st Jan (Sat).

Genting 19 Jan to 21 Jan 2012 (Thu to Sat).

DAY 1:

8am - I will leave GP Esso.

9am - reached Yong Peng for Breakfast (till 9.45am).

11.15am - Seremban RSA for petrol.

Arrival Genting (102km) at 12.45pm.

Activities: OTOT- movies, swim (hot pool?), makan, pubs, gamble...

DAY 2 (Optional. Can follow me if you want):

8.30am - Breakfast.

9.30am - Leave for Fraser Hill (81km). *11am for ascending (1-way traffic).

1pm - Leave for Bukit Tinggi: Colmar Tropicale & Japanese garden **Might substitute it with Lao Zi Temple in Kuantan... but 238km away.

3pm - Leave for Genting

Day 3:

8am - Breakfast

9am - Check out.

10am - Batu Cave.

12.30 noon - Ayer Keroh A & W

3.30pm - Sutera massage.

7pm - Dinner

Edited by SW9000

2012 First Meetup

Date: 05/01/2012 (Thurs)

Time: 7+pm onwards

Place: The Rail Mall - Coffee Bean Clubhouse

~7++pm: Dinner at E.A.T. or Ah Mei (Halal)

>7.30pm: CB Clubhouse

As usual, all bike models are welcomed... no bike also can come look see look see and gather info about SW before buying :)

Itinerary:

* 2012 "Trips Calendar"

* 1st trip of 2012... Genting

* 2012 new bikes

* TCSS

* etc.

See ya :angel:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips: