go down pay installment leh.. then brake pads due to change too when replace i took a look at the old pad.. just nice..ahaha used up liao.

Bro, what brand of brake pad are u using?

• Replies 22.2k

bring her along lor... got 2 other lady pillions to do non-rider talk-shop with :cheeky:

Participants:

1. scoobydoo / 90112330 ... confirmed

2. helmetBOX! ... confirmed

3. SW9000 ... confirmed

4. Atlantic 200 ... confirmed

5. jsilverwing ... confirmed

6/7. Adr77 & wife ... confirmed

8. paithorn ... spark or 100spark?

9/10. thatone1 & gf ...confirmed

11. Sensible & ?? ... pending visa

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Bro, what brand of brake pad are u using?

braking cm55

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

Still waiting for Visa to be approved leh...

u go i go ah......

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

Just back from a midnight movie and also took my bike for a walk to Changi Airport.

Anyone thinking of watching Blood the Last Vampire... please don't waste your $$. Super Lousy.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Guys do check your bike right crank case cover ( where the magnetic coil is ), mine leak engine oil past few days. Jus got this done today !

Which motordiam did u fix the prob and how much u're charged?

anyone knows how much a Magnetto cost ? Exclude labour..thanks !

Mine voltmeter suddenly reading 12.5V constant.. :sian:

Is a voltmeter a must-have for bikes? I'm really a noob in this...what kind of readings would show that our bike is running normally? 12.5V is too low? Which shop is recommended to fix a voltmeter? Any advice really welcomed! :thumb:

for scooters, Yes. cos scooters, when battery dead, dun have a kick starter & being automatic, unable to push start. so its good to have a voltmeter to monitor the bike's battery.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

Which motordiam did u fix the prob and how much u're charged?

should be around 50, at least 100 if go BS (not recommended)

u should try asking around... only a few shops to check with

proper sealing of the side cover needs to take note these areas:

a) all contact surfaces should be clean, dry, free from oil/dirt

b) better to used hi-temp RTV silicone glue instead of the normal gasket glue

c) proper application: surfaces sufficiently covered but not too thick (will result in too much excess when cover is put/bolted together)

d) sufficient curing time (depends on the glue used): usually need to allow for at least 15-30mins before putting/bolting the cover back in place. after putting back, allow for another 15-30mins for "stabilising" before starting engine.

e) bolting pressure (2 stages): initial bolting should firm and not tight, enough to displace air but not the glue. too tight will squeeze the glue out resulting in a too thin "gasket". bolt the cover firmly and tightly in place after the "stabilising" period".

f) although not stated in glue manual, avoid stressing the new gasket by riding at lower rpms when riding home. mech recommend me to let it rest for a night before going high rpms.

there're only a small handful of motortiams that are familiar with SW. even BS is not trustable (i had 2 bad experiences). some shops (even the established ones) will claim that they can do the SW. but frankly, any how trust them will result in even more problems... liow lui liow si kan liow jeng sin :gun:

eg1: went to one shop to fit stebel horn, mech gave up after trying for 15 mins, put everything back, said sorry n recommended another shop to go... lucky no charges

eg2: one very established shop told me my magneto no problem when it was defective... outcome = stalled on the way n gotta tua chia again

eg3: one very established shop told me very confidently that using 10w40 eo for final drive is wrong, must use normal gear oil... outcome = darn jia-lat

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

who u bought from & how much?

my own bike shop lor.

price is 50dollars.

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

should be around 50, at least 100 if go BS (not recommended)

u should try asking around... only a few shops to check with

proper sealing of the side cover needs to take note these areas:

a) all contact surfaces should be clean, dry, free from oil/dirt

b) better to used hi-temp RTV silicone glue instead of the normal gasket glue

c) proper application: surfaces sufficiently covered but not too thick (will result in too much excess when cover is put/bolted together)

d) sufficient curing time (depends on the glue used): usually need to allow for at least 15-30mins before putting/bolting the cover back in place. after putting back, allow for another 15-30mins for "stabilising" before starting engine.

e) bolting pressure (2 stages): initial bolting should firm and not tight, enough to displace air but not the glue. too tight will squeeze the glue out resulting in a too thin "gasket". bolt the cover firmly and tightly in place after the "stabilising" period".

f) although not stated in glue manual, avoid stressing the new gasket by riding at lower rpms when riding home. mech recommend me to let it rest for a night before going high rpms.

Hi scoobydoo,

Seems like so many things to take note when fixing the oil leak prob...btw which shop did all these things for u? Can tell me? I'm afraid of going to the wrong one may lead to more probs....

At which shop do u guys fix yr voltmeter? Any recommended models? Thinking of fixing but have to fix at a place where it won't be easily stolen right?

he is not called DIY Master for nothing :cheeky:

ZZzzzzz...

i mean the shop where i got my bike :)

At which shop do u guys fix yr voltmeter? Any recommended models? Thinking of fixing but have to fix at a place where it won't be easily stolen right?

refer to the picture below, i tink thats the best place to install liao :)

DSC00118.jpg

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

Where did u fix up the voltmeter? Cost? Have to cut away 1 of the plastic panels?

fix up under my blk..haha

meter bought from the mass order, brand dynamax i tink..

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

Guys do check your bike right crank case cover ( where the magnetic coil is ), mine leak engine oil past few days. Jus got this done today ! Then ask my fren to check on his bike, his oso got a bit of seepage now. Its near the bottom where there's 2 wires coming out from there. 1 is connected to red 2-pin connector, the other is a white 3-pin connector. Check the area where it is link to the engine.

I still can't figure out exactly where to look. The 2 wires u mentioned are they the ones that are black in color?

they are insulated by a black sleeve i tink. take out ur right side pillon foot rest. u'll find a 2pin & 3pin connector. Trace these 2 wires. they lead to the right crank case. Then check the area ard there lo..