Hi fellow X9 riders,

I've owned my X9 Amalfi (FV plate) two months ago. Am a noob to scooters. Took over from an uncle as 2nd owner.

Y'day I checked the engine oil and to my surprise, the level has dropped to minimal mark on the dip stick. So far, I've traveled about 2,000KM on my X9. I did not check the EO on taking over ownership though.

Do you guys do usually top-up the EO?

Another "symptom" I noticed about my X9:

So far, I have ridden my X9 in rain twice. The first occasion, I rode through heavy rain to my office. While turning into carpark a low speak, the engine suddenly went low RPM to near stall. I've to throttle more to keep it firing. When I'm done with work at the end of the day, I fire up the engine and rode off. On the first traffic junction where I came to a stop, the engine stalled. I have to press the start button many times before it cranked and move off. It happened several times that same evening. To prevent from stalling, I kept rev the RPM to "move-off" point i.e. about 3,000RPM.

Another thing is, I kept hearing a "roaring" sound during move off. Seems to come from the left side of the engine. Then, the pick-up of the scooter slacked. It is as if the belt or something is not "gripping" well.

What I did to rectify the above two symptoms? Nothing - I juz keep riding every day hoping it'll not stall. The roaring sound went away gradually. There is no drop in my fuel consumption.

2nd occasion where I rode in the rain. This time the rain was light. My X9 did not stall this time, but the "roaring" sound could still be heard. It went away on its own and performance.

Any of you has encountered these before? It looks to me that my X9 engine is not "water proof" or something like that.

Last noob qns: What is the recommended shops to go for servicing like EO, hub-oil, air-filter, belt and etc? (you can PM me if it is sensitive info to post it here).

min. mark is still ok, just need to top up abit.

the sound you mention, most likely is the clutch slip, it come only when you pick up or slow speed, once you hit up more than 40km/h is gone.

get your carb and air-filter check, small problem only, cheers.

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

• Replies 2.2k

is armour all the viking in the picture 1?? Also can future scootering boss pm me the prices for polini speed clutch, speed bell and speed control prices? Planning to change them as soon as pay comes in :)

i recommend Maxima SC1 for your plastic panel.

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

Guest chaochao
first of all, X9 is water proof don worry. haha

for EO did you check on a flat ground? me being cheated for the first few months too. because my carpark the road seems to curve towards right. so whenever i check sure only @ low dip level.

for roaring,

i think i encounter this before..

think ur bike need to do servicing..

the roaring should be clutch slip. i got the clutch from horizoner (use 8k only) and it solve. i see my old clutch before.. the clutch pad almost gone.. depends on u to change clutch or not.. after i change, no more roaring sound, pick up better..

as for the engine stall.. nt very sure.. didn't encounter this before.. is it the curb??

Thanks for the insight, DesmondBand.

The "roaring" sounds comes only after I rode in the rain. Everything return to normal after a while. And pick up resumes. I can fetch about 28KM/L in fuel consumption. Anyway - I'll continue to monitor.

For EO, I did check on flat ground with the bike on main stand. Y'day I went to buy a 10W/40 Mobile EO and top up about 500ml. The EO is now at "Max" mark. Will ride the bike for another 1000KM before bringing it to service.

---------------------

Btw, is there any meet-ups over kopi for the folks in this X9 Cafe? Wld like to join in if there's one. Thanks

Thanks for the insight, DesmondBand.

The "roaring" sounds comes only after I rode in the rain. Everything return to normal after a while. And pick up resumes. I can fetch about 28KM/L in fuel consumption. Anyway - I'll continue to monitor.

For EO, I did check on flat ground with the bike on main stand. Y'day I went to buy a 10W/40 Mobile EO and top up about 500ml. The EO is now at "Max" mark. Will ride the bike for another 1000KM before bringing it to service.

---------------------

Btw, is there any meet-ups over kopi for the folks in this X9 Cafe? Wld like to join in if there's one. Thanks

I think no one wish to host a meet up/never appear before

Normally we will meet @ workshop... For those who know.

Else tonight i am meeting another group @ TPY Botak jones for a small meet up.(non X9 group) Join me if you want. My bike will be easy to spot.

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

Guest chaochao
I think no one wish to host a meet up/never appear before

Normally we will meet @ workshop... For those who know.

Else tonight i am meeting another group @ TPY Botak jones for a small meet up.(non X9 group) Join me if you want. My bike will be easy to spot.

OIC. - Well - do PM me if you and some guys here are going to a workshop - wld like to tag along as well (if that's how you guys would meet-up)... Kam-siah.

Thanks for upz-ing my sales thread... so what time do you be at TPY botak jones this evening? I'll see if I can drop by - likely to be around 9PM+

Guest chaochao
min. mark is still ok, just need to top up abit.

the sound you mention, most likely is the clutch slip, it come only when you pick up or slow speed, once you hit up more than 40km/h is gone.

get your carb and air-filter check, small problem only, cheers.

Thanks for the advice!

Clutch-slip huh... yes - when I go up about 40kph, the "roaring" sound will disappear. But after a few days - the sound never comes back - not till I ride in the rain again.

I'll have my carb and air-filter check when I visit a workshop. Thanks

OIC. - Well - do PM me if you and some guys here are going to a workshop - wld like to tag along as well (if that's how you guys would meet-up)... Kam-siah.

Thanks for upz-ing my sales thread... so what time do you be at TPY botak jones this evening? I'll see if I can drop by - likely to be around 9PM+

You selling a bike that i hope to own. but not now....

Tonight group you may know some of them, or non.....

I will be there from 8+ or 9+.

Thanks for the advice!

Clutch-slip huh... yes - when I go up about 40kph, the "roaring" sound will disappear. But after a few days - the sound never comes back - not till I ride in the rain again.

I'll have my carb and air-filter check when I visit a workshop. Thanks

at the transmission cover, ther is a black colour hose, is it connect to the transmission cover?

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

Hi...question again...

How much would the cone bearings and front wheel bearing cost?

and usually if sent to show,how much would they charge you for the labour and parts?

thanks.:cheers:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

Hi...question again...

How much would the cone bearings and front wheel bearing cost?

and usually if sent to show,how much would they charge you for the labour and parts?

thanks.:cheers:

if i remember correctly, to change the cone bearings, could possibily cost abt 100 plus together with the workmanship.

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/S1030017.jpg (Nite Mode)

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/Daymode-1.jpg(Day Mode)

Always Contactable at 92745438

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)

if i remember correctly, to change the cone bearings, could possibily cost abt 100 plus together with the workmanship.

yup...that's what i heard....:giddy:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

feel like changing the EO myself. anyone know how? cause i go alot of shop don have motul V300, that i wanted.. somemore quite ex.. $40 everychange. i buy myself cheaper right?

discard the oil quite simple.. i ask the petrol station and they are able to do it.

Oct 2009 - Passed 2B - Piaggio X9 Almafi

May 2010 - Passed 3 - Hyundai Matrix 1.6 FL

August 2012 - Passed 2A - Super 4 Revo

June 2014 - Mazda 3 SP Luxury 1.6A

oil cant tie in plastic bag and throw in rubbish chute 1?? i only know cant dispose of it at public drainage..

anyway wana ask does installing voltage stabalizers(e.g power abuser/ revtec) helps in the normal riding of the bike?? like increased pickup or smoother engine?? Coz the benefits are kinda... too gd 2 be true ?? haha cuz i ever installed on my 2-stroke bike like no effect..

Edited by m3ng

07-09 : NSR SP 150cc

09-10 : Piaggio X9 200 EVO A

Current Ride : CB 400 Super 4

yup...that's what i heard....:giddy:

The bearings grade varies with bike shops. some buy the cheap ones while some get the good quality ones... so u need to know which shop to go.

the poor quality ones, u can expect to do your cone again within a short time, like 6 months or so.... the good ones can last at least 1 year plus to 2 years....

but of cos shops don't tell you what kinda of bearings they buy unless u are so close to them that they can teach u in depth type....

Main thing why 100 plus is becos u need to dismantle the whole steering area, then change the bearing part by part..... it's not an easy task at all...... perhaps u should sit down and see how they do then u will know/understand y it cost that price.

Of cos if u are experienced with this kind of thing, then i think u could do it yourself but for me, it's a NO NO.....

feel like changing the EO myself. anyone know how? cause i go alot of shop don have motul V300, that i wanted.. somemore quite ex.. $40 everychange. i buy myself cheaper right?

discard the oil quite simple.. i ask the petrol station and they are able to do it.

hmm... u mean 1L of Motul 300 cost $40 now??....if that 's case, u need 2 bottle of it, cos you EO is 1.2L and not 1L.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)

The bearings grade varies with bike shops. some buy the cheap ones while some get the good quality ones... so u need to know which shop to go.

the poor quality ones, u can expect to do your cone again within a short time, like 6 months or so.... the good ones can last at least 1 year plus to 2 years....

but of cos shops don't tell you what kinda of bearings they buy unless u are so close to them that they can teach u in depth type....

Main thing why 100 plus is becos u need to dismantle the whole steering area, then change the bearing part by part..... it's not an easy task at all...... perhaps u should sit down and see how they do then u will know/understand y it cost that price.

Of cos if u are experienced with this kind of thing, then i think u could do it yourself but for me, it's a NO NO.....

hmm... u mean 1L of Motul 300 cost $40 now??....if that 's case, u need 2 bottle of it, cos you EO is 1.2L and not 1L.

300V where got so ex now...

Last seen is about near to 30 nia....near auntie shop.

last known price to me was 20 plus plus few years ago before i know doc ponytail but ever since i used his EO, i never change to others liao....

Reasonablely cheap and GOOD!!....:angel:

yooo.... working also can eat snake huh??.... anyway will be at doc place early today.... if u got go down early just buzz me.....:angel:

my "wife" finally due for ops liao..... hopefully after the ops, she will be more "powerful" than ever...!!!:angel:

yooo.... working also can eat snake huh??.... anyway will be at doc place early today.... if u got go down early just buzz me.....:angel:

my "wife" finally due for ops liao..... hopefully after the ops, she will be more "powerful" than ever...!!!:angel:

Then you better pray that i won`t add extra new things inside during the ops..... how about some hei mee???? or.... some cloths inside the head....

last known price to me was 20 plus plus few years ago before i know doc ponytail but ever since i used his EO, i never change to others liao....

Reasonablely cheap and GOOD!!....:angel:

Doc ponytail EO not bad la. i get alittle bit more mileage then other brand. Have never look back before.

den i think i made a mistake. ha! 40 include oil filter too..

btw,

other den motul v300, Doc ponytail good? woo.. need advise.. reaching 3k soon..

den i think i made a mistake. ha! 40 include oil filter too..

btw,

other den motul v300, Doc ponytail good? woo.. need advise.. reaching 3k soon..

I have use a few kind before......

Motul 300v waste money....

7100 price reasonable, not bad also.

Doc ponytail - forgot brand. Price reasonable, engine quite smooth.

Maxima - forgot which 1 le....

Not bad. but not cheap also.

yes! my next EO is doc ponytail.

next question..

where to change??

494 macpherson road. WOnderful motors call him at 96936520 if need direction.

Halo... Des know where la..... just that he dunno who is DOC Ponytail....:angel:

Hi guys! need to find out what is a EVO 200 FY plate market price now. my friend wants to sell but he not sure how much to quote. He just did a top overhaul for the bike and new batt. but since he driving, he dun wan to ride anymore coz he's a pilot and not allowed to ride bike. Thanks in advance for ur help guys!