SBF Tmax Cafe

Go to solution Solved by noLplate,

Yes.. This is normal, what josean said is true. Or u have to train your angle's muscle & get use to it..

Ride's History :

Yamaha TZM 150 (03-05)

Honda Wave 125 (05-07)

SYM GTS 200 (6mths)

Yamaha T-Max R5 (07-11)

Yamaha Tmax 2011 (Current rides now)

Adventure will never End with a Yamaha T-Max R5...

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/3/23/916311/Track%20PIc.jpg

Bike dies on me on monday. Lucky battery problem. If your guys experienced lousy cracking time for a new battery..At least save $25 on tow fee......

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

After 2 1/2 years, the fuel pump finally died on me today while doing 100km along PIE. WTF, I was on the move when the pump died ... this is some serious **** !!! To me, HL should issue a safety recall. Had it towed to bike-shop and sold it off. Bought a SYM GTS200 for commutting. Guys, from what I experienced today, you guys should bang table at HL regarding this issue and ask HL to replace an upgraded fuel pump before someone gets killed.

What the experience u had when the bike suddenly died off while u on the move @ 100km/h?

That cause u to sell your bike immediately!

Ride's History :

Yamaha TZM 150 (03-05)

Honda Wave 125 (05-07)

SYM GTS 200 (6mths)

Yamaha T-Max R5 (07-11)

What the experience u had when the bike suddenly died off while u on the move @ 100km/h?

That cause u to sell your bike immediately!

Just came without warning. From PIE, had to do a stop/go/stop/go about 20 plus times before I reach work place. Took time off and decided to try the stop/go sequence to sent to bike shop but it went totally kaput at the junction of Telok Paku and Changi V. I was already intending to sell off the Max for a SYM when I booked for the 2012 GL1800 in Jul.

ARCHIVED: TX500/CB550F/CB750K4/CB750F2/ZR750/CB750F/GSR600/ZG1000/ST1100/GPZ400/

CB1/Silverwing/GL1500SE/GL1500SEW/GL1800A1/GL1800A2/GL1800A4/FJR1300ABS/TMax

ACTIVE: GL1800A12 & SYM200

Assumption is the mother of all fu@kup

I miss my Tmax... :( Damn, dreamed of it last night... Anyone selling? :)

TMD... itchy backside... see regret liao lah...!!! ppl dun follow his footstep hor... haha...

1993 TZR125, 1994 RGV125, 1995 STEED, 1996 PGM 4, 1997 HERITAGE SOFTAIL NOSTALGIA, 1999 SKIPPER, 2000 YAMAHA R1, 2003 HONDA SP2, 2008 SDR 200, 2009 Ducati 1098, 2010 Tmax500 :angel:
After 2 1/2 years, the fuel pump finally died on me today while doing 100km along PIE. WTF, I was on the move when the pump died ... this is some serious **** !!! To me, HL should issue a safety recall. Had it towed to bike-shop and sold it off. Bought a SYM GTS200 for commutting. Guys, from what I experienced today, you guys should bang table at HL regarding this issue and ask HL to replace an upgraded fuel pump before someone gets killed.
wah lau eh... HL must do something about this lah...
1993 TZR125, 1994 RGV125, 1995 STEED, 1996 PGM 4, 1997 HERITAGE SOFTAIL NOSTALGIA, 1999 SKIPPER, 2000 YAMAHA R1, 2003 HONDA SP2, 2008 SDR 200, 2009 Ducati 1098, 2010 Tmax500 :angel:
you first time riding scooter ?

Tmax is like that. try to sit infront a bit instead of leaning all the way back. there is NO WAY to reduce the seat height. unless you want to get another seat like the corbin above or cut the seat on your own.

hanlor, i really first time riding scooter and dont noe so hard to balance de either both leg or one leg on the floor when bike stationary. kind of dangerous when want squeeze through traffic den suddenly need jam brake if funny car driver want to swerve to you. i guess i had to train my both side leg muscle le . ha ha .

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg
you first time riding scooter ?

Tmax is like that. try to sit infront a bit instead of leaning all the way back. there is NO WAY to reduce the seat height. unless you want to get another seat like the corbin above or cut the seat on your own.

as for the corbin, i asked my friend staying in the states to order for me .... and ill pay for the shipping. they do not accept non US credit cards so if you want to buy from the website have to do TT which means incurring bank charges of about $80

seat should be coming end of next month if nothing goes wrong.

this bike really poison ... haha

hi bro how much will be the total can let me know i also want to order we share the shipping cost:P

Just came without warning. From PIE, had to do a stop/go/stop/go about 20 plus times before I reach work place. Took time off and decided to try the stop/go sequence to sent to bike shop but it went totally kaput at the junction of Telok Paku and Changi V. I was already intending to sell off the Max for a SYM when I booked for the 2012 GL1800 in Jul.

Now I see, I thought while u riding, suddenly bike died off therefore engine brake kick in & car follow behind u almost hit u as there no warning sign that cause u so work up.

Anyway leorider had the same experience as u stop/go/stop/go then go kaput at PIE. My experience nicer reach jurong parking for 20min then try to start totally no response dun even have the false hope of able to start, end up I tow it straight away to HL

Ride's History :

Yamaha TZM 150 (03-05)

Honda Wave 125 (05-07)

SYM GTS 200 (6mths)

Yamaha T-Max R5 (07-11)

Now I see, I thought while u riding, suddenly bike died off therefore engine brake kick in & car follow behind u almost hit u as there no warning sign that cause u so work up.

Anyway leorider had the same experience as u stop/go/stop/go then go kaput at PIE. My experience nicer reach jurong parking for 20min then try to start totally no response dun even have the false hope of able to start, end up I tow it straight away to HL

Haha nobody is as bad as me. Twice pump spoilt with bike parked unground carpark. Got to push the 200 over kg bike up slope out of the carpark.

My pump getting softer nowadays when switch on. Must cross finger and pray.

Btw anyone know which government agency is incharge or govern vehicle safety? any link to their web? Tot of sending them a mail informing them about the problem we had and hope they'll enforce HL to do a recall

Bro, I was riding at 100kmph along PIE when the fuel pump failed. Was in the center lane but managed to "glide" slowly and filter to road shoulder! Luckily there was not much traffic.

ARCHIVED: TX500/CB550F/CB750K4/CB750F2/ZR750/CB750F/GSR600/ZG1000/ST1100/GPZ400/

Haha nobody is as bad as me. Twice pump spoilt with bike parked unground carpark. Got to push the 200 over kg bike up slope out of the carpark.

Btw anyone know which government agency is incharge or govern vehicle safety? any link to their web? Tot of sending them a mail informing them about the problem we had and hope they'll enforce HL to do a recall

The govt agency should be LTA.

Hi Guys, will be signing off from this forum in a couple of days time. My SYM GTS is ready for collection. For those who called me regarding the sales of my T Max and requiring loan, you can now get her from Mah Pte Ltd. If you do buy my Max, please make sure that the fuel pump has been changed. Ride safe always and I hope HL will do a safety recall on the fuel pump. What happened to me yesterday was a rather frightening experience.

ray ng,

we will be waiting ur email to LTA den. do u noe i just collect my tmax 2 day ago. and upon seeing all this my heart sian ji bua, cos spend le so much money but get this kind of ****. my ex ex super4 spec3 ride le 6 yr also dont experience faulty pump loh. And btw u all guy experience this faulty issue is how long since u buy ur tmax, 1 yr or 2 yr ???

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg
ray ng,

we will be waiting ur email to LTA den. do u noe i just collect my tmax 2 day ago. and upon seeing all this my heart sian ji bua, cos spend le so much money but get this kind of ****. my ex ex super4 spec3 ride le 6 yr also dont experience faulty pump loh. And btw u all guy experience this faulty issue is how long since u buy ur tmax, 1 yr or 2 yr ???

mine ganna fuel pump issue after 6mths when i got my new bike, think some of them ganna it really early :)

ray ng,

mine ganna fuel pump issue after 6mths when i got my new bike, think some of them ganna it really early :)

Just my 2 cents worth, sent an email to HL and cc to LTA and AAS insisting that it should be a safety recall and not a service recall.

Email LTA is the way... Really...

http://amptrooper.10.forumer.com/images/smiles/amptrooper/Emoticon%20Star%20Wars%20154.gif http://amptrooper.10.forumer.com/images/smiles/amptrooper/AMP.gif

hi,guys.is there any other fuel pump replacement?like tdm or majesty?since its all yamaha,so it shouldnt b far off?anyone took it apart to see wats e exact problem with e pump?

its just a pump after all,as long the pressure is the same or higher shouldnt b an issue.

search through the LTA web but can't see anything.

Only found this

Q: My new vehicle was found with some defects. Why is there no recall initiated by the vehicle manufacturer?

A: A vehicle recall is an initiative taken by vehicle manufacturers to provide inspection and rectification works to a group of vehicles where there is evidence of a vehicular defect that requires remedial action.

You may wish to approach your motor dealer to look into the problem of your vehicle. It is the responsibility of the motor dealer, in consultation with the vehicle manufacturer, to conduct a thorough investigation on the reported problem and address any safety concerns.

search through the LTA web but can't see anything.

Only found this

Q: My new vehicle was found with some defects. Why is there no recall initiated by the vehicle manufacturer?

A: A vehicle recall is an initiative taken by vehicle manufacturers to provide inspection and rectification works to a group of vehicles where there is evidence of a vehicular defect that requires remedial action.

You may wish to approach your motor dealer to look into the problem of your vehicle. It is the responsibility of the motor dealer, in consultation with the vehicle manufacturer, to conduct a thorough investigation on the reported problem and address any safety concerns.

then what about cc the email to SMTA (not too sure but I think it stands for Spore Motorcycle Traders Association) maybe they can help ...

i got another issue of my current givi maxia E52 box.

i bought tat silver thick thick rack from yamaha cost me $600 but my maxia cannot fit in. my maxia catchment is 2 hole at the back ready to insert tat rack but tat rack came with 2 hole also left and rite.Therefore cannot insert .

yamaha mechanic told me i need to buy a base mount onto the $600 rack den can work. do u all guy encounter this b4 ?

Hi Anric, I also just recently got my Dec 09 TMax last week on the 23rd Sept, mine the matt blue colour, dunno if it is the same one mentioned earlier by someone here. Anyway, the good thing was that my TMax came with the thick silver bracket dat you mentioned earlier, didn't noe it was dat exp.

What you need to do is to get the base for the Givi E52 box which is different from ur default base on ur rack. Some bike shops may have used ones but new ones might cost up to abt $120 I think. (The one originally on the rack is good only for smaller boxes.) Then ur mechanic will need to position ur E52 box on ur rack and drill the base into the rack, 2 points is sufficient but I got him to drill 4 holes for me, kiasu bec I always carry heavy stuff. Dat should solve ur problem.

Then now I read thru ur posts and realise dat the TMax may hv fuel pump problems, sad, very sad and disappointed bec this is already 2nd gen TMax still hv problem w fuel pump.

As for Josean's seat, wow, dats real poison. Dunno if Eugene from Eugene Saddlery can replicate the design here. Heard dat he is really good. Cheers Guys, hope to see you all soon!!

'79 CB350 Twin, '83 WR200, '84-'94 PX150-PX200, '95-'96 NV750, '96 FZR1000, '96-'97 Shadow 400, '98 ST1100, '98-'04 Intruder 800, '04-'10 Steed 400, Sept 2010-'06 Silver Wing, Sept '08, '03 Hayabusa Gen1, Oct 2012-'12 Versys 1K (Currently riding).

Happy Riding and Be Alert and Safe Always.:cheers:

then what about cc the email to SMTA (not too sure but I think it stands for Spore Motorcycle Traders Association) maybe they can help ...

today after work i will bug mr lee from yamaha to check fuel pump issue damnn.

Hi Anric, I also just recently got my Dec 09 TMax last week on the 23rd Sept, mine the matt blue colour, dunno if it is the same one mentioned earlier by someone here. Anyway, the good thing was that my TMax came with the thick silver bracket dat you mentioned earlier, didn't noe it was dat exp.

What you need to do is to get the base for the Givi E52 box which is different from ur default base on ur rack. Some bike shops may have used ones but new ones might cost up to abt $120 I think. (The one originally on the rack is good only for smaller boxes.) Then ur mechanic will need to position ur E52 box on ur rack and drill the base into the rack, 2 points is sufficient but I got him to drill 4 holes for me, kiasu bec I always carry heavy stuff. Dat should solve ur problem.

Then now I read thru ur posts and realise dat the TMax may hv fuel pump problems, sad, very sad and disappointed bec this is already 2nd gen TMax still hv problem w fuel pump.

As for Josean's seat, wow, dats real poison. Dunno if Eugene from Eugene Saddlery can replicate the design here. Heard dat he is really good. Cheers Guys, hope to see you all soon!!

Hi trublue,

brother trublue can u take picture to show me how it look like? or if u dont noe how to upload to pc u can mms me my hp at 97402481. I heart pain when come to drilling, what i did is to go to mah bike shop ( Givi agent is there look for elyn) . she find for me the most possible base tat able to mount onto the thick $600 silver rack and den use bracket to fasten it. result is not so good cos push too far back in order to fasten. i will show u picture later to show u more clearly.

Regard to fuel pump, i reallly sian sian sian sian lah.

hi to all tmax season experienced brother,

Normally where do you all change engine oil , oil filter , v belt etc etc other than yamaha @ paya lebar? servicing at agent is costly but if service at other shop they might not have the necessary skill to remove all faring, and i noticed those oil filter is located right at the bottom of the motor. if motorshop dont have the jack machine as what HL have ,how they do it lah.. and and if just change EO or oil filter or airfilter or battery how much is those labour charge at HL? and do we really need leave our bike there for 1 day ?

Edited by anric79

usually most bike shop will be able to service our Tmax. else u can visit those scooter shop. they will definitely be able to change and remove all fairings.

fuel pump issue, when u encounter this, go straight to HL.

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]