hi guys, I'm getting one grey gts 200, 2-yr old bike, can ride 7+ yrs more, with motor box, 150 per mth + 1000 downpayment.

total ($150 x 36 mths) + $900 = $6300.

What do you guys think? :)

• Replies 3.4k

hi guys, I'm getting one grey gts 200, 2-yr old bike, can ride 7+ yrs more, with motor box, 150 per mth + 1000 downpayment.

$6300, I rather u buy a new bike better. New bike $6.8k to $6.9K plus the interest sum up a few hundred difference. I bought my GTS200 1st hand plus interest $6950 No offence is jus my opinion.

bro no offence.... but its expensive.try search other shop for better offer...

Eh 6k plus can get a brand new one. No doubt i realised i kenna chop.. mine brand new $172 for 48mths + $600 down payment.. total $8856 FZ plate since Nov 05.. whats the price of brand new gts200 nowadays?

bro no offence.... but its expensive.try search other shop for better offer...

alamak...but what if I tell you mine's first-year license and I'm only 25? is the price more expensive because of my insurance? :)

Any shops to recommend? Where did you guys buy yours?

$6300, I rather u buy a new bike better. New bike $6.8k to $6.9K plus the interest sum up a few hundred difference. I bought my GTS200 1st hand plus interest $6950 No offence is jus my opinion.

is a GTS200!

Yeah! I've finally got my first bike. Quite a nice ride. Got it from Heng Motor at a much lower price cuz know contacts here and there. :cheeky:

However, my bike's got the rattling sound at the exhaust. Read before that some of you experienced this too cuz of the metal cover on the exhaust but mine seems to be inside the exhaust. They had agreed to service for me today so I'm returning it to the shop later. :thumb:

The bike's pick up is pretty fast and I seemed to be always the first one to move off when the light turns green.

Gonna get the season parking, rain coats and more helmets later at Ah Boy.

All in all, I feel the GTS 200 is quite a cool ride with its overall outlook and the LEDs in front really catches attention at night. haha!

Oh ya just one last thing. I started riding with one bar less from full tank and when I got home at night, there's only 2 bars left. I've travelled from Toh Guan Road East back to Woodlands and then to Bukit Batok, then to Bukit Panjang and then back to Woodlands. Does the petrol use so fast? I'm not exactly a person who drags by the way. :dozed:

i think the riding experience and age only affect the insurance..
my meter lcd goes blank........ my rpm and speedometer needle sometimes stuck at 100, 160 , 90 ,40... sometimes the meter ok sometimes sort.... anione has encounter such problem??? help me wat should i do...

woah..apit, ur GTS seems problematic leh..1st hand or 2nd hand? :p

is a GTS200!

Yeah! I've finally got my first bike. Quite a nice ride. Got it from Heng Motor at a much lower price cuz know contacts here and there. :cheeky:

However, my bike's got the rattling sound at the exhaust. Read before that some of you experienced this too cuz of the metal cover on the exhaust but mine seems to be inside the exhaust. They had agreed to service for me today so I'm returning it to the shop later. :thumb:

The bike's pick up is pretty fast and I seemed to be always the first one to move off when the light turns green.

Gonna get the season parking, rain coats and more helmets later at Ah Boy.

All in all, I feel the GTS 200 is quite a cool ride with its overall outlook and the LEDs in front really catches attention at night. haha!

Oh ya just one last thing. I started riding with one bar less from full tank and when I got home at night, there's only 2 bars left. I've travelled from Toh Guan Road East back to Woodlands and then to Bukit Batok, then to Bukit Panjang and then back to Woodlands. Does the petrol use so fast? I'm not exactly a person who drags by the way. :dozed:

after awhile, the petrol gauge is not so accurate. esp if you put on side stand. but experience will help later. i think your purchase price is high, if it doesn't include insurance

ya lor! My full tank is always one bar short. Anyway, went back to dealer and was told that I've to shake abit and then add and repeat this a couple of times until full. Quite nonsensical la..to think that I was taken in at first. :sian:

and guess wat...my bike fell today man! Fell 2 days back in the morning at Sengkang and fell today at the junction near Delta Road. The former was because of oil on double yellow line when I tried to stop and check my gps for directions and the latter was just a few hours ago just after a heavy downpour.

Anyone has such problem balancing the bike before? I find it hard to bank too too much when negotiating a turn. Is it my wheels or is it because it's really the road elements? *stress* still hv to go Tiong Bahru from Woodlands later.

The fall at Sengkang left me unscathed but today's left a hole on my jeans and my right knee got grazed. :dozed: thank God I didn't become :angel:! It also broke my right mirror! Anyone knows how to fix it back or know where can I have it done up, I'll appreciate it very much if you can share! :) The plastic covering of my bike got grazed and I need to know where can I bring it for "cosmetic surgery". Anyone?

ya lor! My full tank is always one bar short. Anyway, went back to dealer and was told that I've to shake abit and then add and repeat this a couple of times until full. Quite nonsensical la..to think that I was taken in at first. :sian:

and guess wat...my bike fell today man! Fell 2 days back in the morning at Sengkang and fell today at the junction near Delta Road. The former was because of oil on double yellow line when I tried to stop and check my gps for directions and the latter was just a few hours ago just after a heavy downpour.

Anyone has such problem balancing the bike before? I find it hard to bank too too much when negotiating a turn. Is it my wheels or is it because it's really the road elements? *stress* still hv to go Tiong Bahru from Woodlands later.

The fall at Sengkang left me unscathed but today's left a hole on my jeans and my right knee got grazed. :dozed: thank God I didn't become :angel:! It also broke my right mirror! Anyone knows how to fix it back or know where can I have it done up, I'll appreciate it very much if you can share! :) The plastic covering of my bike got grazed and I need to know where can I bring it for "cosmetic surgery". Anyone?

ride safe and take care

wet days are slippery esp so on paint surface. scooter are heavier behind, so

hard braking might cause your back to fish tail. also try to use both front (more) and back for braking together.

cosmetic involve some fine sandpaper and paint coating...ask around.

as for break mirror - i dont think any thing can be done unless you glue another onto it.

my tank is also siao siao one... but now i base on calculation instead of the gauge i.e. you will know the average mileage for a tank of fuel after sometime use that as a gauge instead.

banking is difficult initially as you are not use to the bike. once you are used to it you will find that it is actually quite an easy bike to negotiate banks. but when the road is wet, reduce the bank accordingly. the tires may be a concern too some tires have better grip that the rest, but that will means it will wear out faster, so it is a balance between safety and money...

painted surfaces are very slippery during wet days, so avoid them if possible.

safe riding man...

SYM GTS 200 - 2005 - 2007

HONDA Varadero XL1000V - 2011 - 2013

hi guys! thanks for the advices so far! I really find them comforting and most importantly, useful! :)

I'm not sure if it's me or the bike but I find the steering tends to give me a feeling that it has turned a lot even though I have turned only a little. It's especially hard doing u-turns. Back at driving centre, we're taught to u-turn and hv to be back in lane one on the other side of the road but I always land up at 3 or or 2. Do you guys still apply brakes when making u-turn's for GTS200? asking this cuz there's no rear brake pedal to use liao.. :p

It's super inconvenient and dangerous to be riding without my right mirror sia. I saw this two holes near my brake oil banks and they have screw threads. Can I buy a mirror and screw them in?

and thanks "justborn"! so i heard from my fren about sanding and spray-painting. but I duno where can it be done ley...maybe I should do it at a later stage cuz still worried that I may buang...

anyone knows the prices for wheels with good grip? just wanna know if I can afford to change to those for my own safety.

oh by the way, I kena power cut the other day on the expressway when I sped all the way to 130kph! lolx! Immediately let it drift itself and I steered to the road shoulder and flicked the opened circuit switch to close and I could start the bike again. lol..

also experienced the "vibration-when-above-90kmph" phenomenon. lolx..

also, can I ask if you guys if your bike actually feels a llittle shaky when riding over the arrows and markings on the roads? mine does leh...and the wind pressure also makes my bike pretty shaky when riding at 120..is it normal?

hi guys! thanks for the advices so far! I really find them comforting and most importantly, useful! :)

I'm not sure if it's me or the bike but I find the steering tends to give me a feeling that it has turned a lot even though I have turned only a little. It's especially hard doing u-turns. Back at driving centre, we're taught to u-turn and hv to be back in lane one on the other side of the road but I always land up at 3 or or 2. Do you guys still apply brakes when making u-turn's for GTS200? asking this cuz there's no rear brake pedal to use liao.. :p

It's super inconvenient and dangerous to be riding without my right mirror sia. I saw this two holes near my brake oil banks and they have screw threads. Can I buy a mirror and screw them in?

and thanks "justborn"! so i heard from my fren about sanding and spray-painting. but I duno where can it be done ley...maybe I should do it at a later stage cuz still worried that I may buang...

anyone knows the prices for wheels with good grip? just wanna know if I can afford to change to those for my own safety.

oh by the way, I kena power cut the other day on the expressway when I sped all the way to 130kph! lolx! Immediately let it drift itself and I steered to the road shoulder and flicked the opened circuit switch to close and I could start the bike again. lol..

also, can I ask if you guys if your bike actually feels a llittle shaky when riding over the arrows and markings on the roads? mine does leh...and the wind pressure also makes my bike pretty shaky when riding at 120..is it normal?

Got my bike for about 4 months too. No problems with U-turns, except that there is no tank to grip. I had issues going up multi-storey carpark though especially those that goes in circles. Throttle control is important to have a smooth ride.

Above 90km/h, my bike does vibrate quite a bit, guess I got use to it now.

Something, different from learning at school. GTS 200 sitting profile is much higher compare to the school bike, so CG seems higher for me especially if I am with a heavy backpack. So for banks, I usually negotiate slower.

On slippery surface, those with steel metal cover over road near area where there are construction for underground MRT are dangerous on rainy days. Best to slow down when going over those surfaces.

On the missing right side mirror, I read in Motor Culture that Future Scootering does dress up your bike even for GTS 200. Not sure if they can do something on the mirror.

Knight of the Old Code

A knight is sworn to valour, His heart knows only virtue,

His blade defends the helpless, His might upholds the weak.

His word speaks only the truth, His wrath undoes the wicked.

Hi all, just got GTS 1 month + & new to scooter. Like to ask

1)stock bike got speed controller ?

2)Clutch belt is drive belt ?

3)stock roller weight ?

After 1 month driving found issue

1)bike's got the rattling sound at the exhaust.

But after found out is brake pad rattling sound & brake pump bush wear off (may due to vibration of exhaust bike when loose.make sure the exhaust secure all the time) correct me if wrong

Hve done

1)replace the ring led to blue led

2)fog light install blue led

Edited by li67
Got my bike for about 4 months too. No problems with U-turns, except that there is no tank to grip. I had issues going up multi-storey carpark though especially those that goes in circles. Throttle control is important to have a smooth ride.

Above 90km/h, my bike does vibrate quite a bit, guess I got use to it now.

Something, different from learning at school. GTS 200 sitting profile is much higher compare to the school bike, so CG seems higher for me especially if I am with a heavy backpack. So for banks, I usually negotiate slower.

On slippery surface, those with steel metal cover over road near area where there are construction for underground MRT are dangerous on rainy days. Best to slow down when going over those surfaces.

On the missing right side mirror, I read in Motor Culture that Future Scootering does dress up your bike even for GTS 200. Not sure if they can do something on the mirror.

Thanks for the tips man!

I noticed that my bike stutters a little when I'm accelerating upslope at carparks. I wonder what is the problem. It's like as if it can't take low-speed riding.

I've also called up Future Scootering to check on the cost of fixing my right mirror back. The lady said if they can fix it back for me, they won't charge me but if it has to be replaced, then it'll cost me $80+.

li67, where did you get your LEDs changed? Only half of the number of LEDs are bright and the other half of the group are dim now. It'll be cool to change to blue LEDs. Can change to red and still be legal? :p sorry ah..noob question..

Hi, personally i would not advise you to ride too fast with your baby. This is a taiwan bike and the design is for smooth riding, average about 90km/h will be best. If you always ride at 120km/h, u may face exhaust pipe problem sooner or later.

As for tyres, you can try Michelin Gold standard, so far not much complaint

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

Thanks for the tips man!

I noticed that my bike stutters a little when I'm accelerating upslope at carparks. I wonder what is the problem. It's like as if it can't take low-speed riding.

I've also called up Future Scootering to check on the cost of fixing my right mirror back. The lady said if they can fix it back for me, they won't charge me but if it has to be replaced, then it'll cost me $80+.

li67, where did you get your LEDs changed? Only half of the number of LEDs are bright and the other half of the group are dim now. It'll be cool to change to blue LEDs. Can change to red and still be legal? :p sorry ah..noob question..

It might be your clutch problem

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

Hi all, just got GTS 1 month + & new to scooter. Like to ask

1)stock bike got speed controller ?

2)Clutch belt is drive belt ?

3)stock roller weight ?

After 1 month driving found issue

1)bike's got the rattling sound at the exhaust.

But after found out is brake pad rattling sound & brake pump bush wear off (may due to vibration of exhaust bike when loose.make sure the exhaust secure all the time) correct me if wrong

Hve done

1)replace the ring led to blue led

2)fog light install blue led

1) R u refering to Polini Speed control? If yes answer is NO

2) I believe you are talking about Clutch Bell

3) Need to be confirm

After 1 month riding >

1) IT should be the exhaust silencer drop inside your exhaust. The original Brake caliper got sound even new bike. It get loose because of the Bush, it can be replace but do it soon to prevent your whole exhaust pipe DROP.

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

Darn, my bike battery is flat. Did not ride for the last six days because of heavy thunderstorm usually in the evening. Tried to start the bike this morning and it wouldn't start. Tried the kickstart level, it did not work either. Sigh.... Any suggestion apart from towing back to the workshop.

Knight of the Old Code

Darn, my bike battery is flat. Did not ride for the last six days because of heavy thunderstorm usually in the evening. Tried to start the bike this morning and it wouldn't start. Tried the kickstart level, it did not work either. Sigh.... Any suggestion apart from towing back to the workshop.

kick start should be able to solve the problem. You need the tatic, try a few time more

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

kick start should be able to solve the problem. You need the tatic, try a few time more

Have been trying that last night for about half an hour. Still unable to kick start the bike. Is there any special thing that I need to do? I presume turn on the ignition key, make sure that engine cut-off key is turn off, turn on throttle a little and kickstart.

Edited by midreef

Knight of the Old Code

Hi, personally i would not advise you to ride too fast with your baby. This is a taiwan bike and the design is for smooth riding, average about 90km/h will be best. If you always ride at 120km/h, u may face exhaust pipe problem sooner or later.

As for tyres, you can try Michelin Gold standard, so far not much complaint

Thanks for the advice bro! :btw: can you explain how is 120km/h riding linked to exhaust pipe problem please? Thanks man...am a noob still..keke..

Do u know where can I buy Michelin Gold tyres at e cheapest price u know? :pray: