Hei guys.....

Quite frequently we all see dead animals being runover by vehicles on the roads.....

But wat is really aches me when i see dead cats being run over....

Im a cat lover tats y.....

But can we stop or slow down when we approach tis animals especially cats?

Im sure the cats will run away if there r any incoming vehicles approaching them.....

But is it an offence to knock them or hit them on the roads?

Just hope tat drivers or riders being more considerate not only to other riders or drivers but to animals too........

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

• Replies 23

double post... duh.

I ever saw a limping dog near the rd side before.

Seems like injured as got people crowding around but not doing anything.

We slowly approach the dog, as it doesnt seems to be aggressive. How can it be aggressive in the 1st place when the leg is broken.

I carefully dragged the dog onto the pavement and called the spca. They came within 30mins, which is quite fast lah. Officer told me dog will be put down if there's no owner to claim it, so sad...

Then, there was a time I hit a small animal also while driving. I was on the overtaking lane on the eway, and it just leap out onto my lane from the divider. I was shocked to see it but couldn't stop as even if I jam brake, it's too late. It's like 1 sec I see it, the next I had hit it and hear the sound of pain from the animal. I couldn't even see what animal it was from that 1 sec.

So I guess, it depends on the situation, if can avoid, definately will.

OF coz we should stop. I love small animal like cats and dogs. Once my Jack Russell was ran over by a taxi after escaping from my hse. The taxi just speed off after running over him, with tires mark on his fur, broken nails and abrasion on his face and body.

Thank god that my Jack Russell survived after that accident. Its unbelievable that my dog still can get up on its feet and chase after the taxi. That time I was really stunted and puzzled. Of coz I chased after my dog and sent him to A&E which cost quite a huge amount.

Too bad that time I am not able to note down the taxi number as he really speed off and beat the red light at the junction. All I can remember is that it is a blue comfort. :angry:

everytime i see dem on the rd..it gives me the goosebumps..pity these creatures..my hse der..sure alot of dogs kena knocked down..usually factory dogs..these people nvr think..animals oso have feelings..dey can oso feel pain..deir blood are oso red..

:clap: I love my cute, small bike! :clap:

once i saw a squirrel fell from the tree and land on the road..i immediatly tried to stop the on coming cars...but they dun stop...and i saw the squirrel go under the wheels...horrible sound of cracking bones...in less then a minute...become mince meat...sad...

å·±æ‰€ä¸æ¬²ï¼Œå‹¿æ–½äºŽäºº

abit off topic...last time when i was still riding my sp...always gena shock of my life..when ride halfway, suddenly an iguana will climb out from dun noe which part of my bike and go to the meter there...not small one leh..wah lau..whole journey so scared wait it loses its grip and fly towards my face..if that happens..confirm buang one...lol

OF coz we should stop. I love small animal like cats and dogs. Once my Jack Russell was ran over by a taxi after escaping from my hse. The taxi just speed off after running over him, with tires mark on his fur, broken nails and abrasion on his face and body.

Thank god that my Jack Russell survived after that accident. Its unbelievable that my dog still can get up on its feet and chase after the taxi. That time I was really stunted and puzzled. Of coz I chased after my dog and sent him to A&E which cost quite a huge amount.

Too bad that time I am not able to note down the taxi number as he really speed off and beat the red light at the junction. All I can remember is that it is a blue comfort. :angry:

how on earth that ur dog escape? nvr leash?

hate to say these but for wild animals on highway, better dun stop b4 u become mince meat ur self. if small roads, then stop if can.

as 4 wounded pets, the owners shd have sum resposibility unless really unavoidable (eg dog chase after theif, got run over by thief's car, typical composition), cos dogs/cats/rabbits etc r like children, they wouldn't really noe how to cross the road. u let them run across then u better bear the responsibilities of not only it being run over but go and bite someone. :sian:

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

abit off topic...last time when i was still riding my sp...always gena shock of my life..when ride halfway, suddenly an iguana will climb out from dun noe which part of my bike and go to the meter there...not small one leh..wah lau..whole journey so scared wait it loses its grip and fly towards my face..if that happens..confirm buang one...lol

If it's an Iguana, it'll probably scratch half your face away if it does "fly" towards your face from the meter. o_O

I think the word you're trying to put across is the gecko. The normal house gecko.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

If can stop, can help, i definitely will. Its good to know there are a few people who feels for animals like stray dogs and cats. But ive seen alot who simply do not care and just speed towards them.

These people you dunno what they thinking, no regards for other living things. I curse them.

STOP ANIMAL ABUSE

for me i would definitely stop. i cant bear to kill all tis cuties. hope those irresponsible and heartless driver will get their retribution 1 day.

class 2A- 7/9/10

http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj304/sypx/P140209_1713.jpg

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;13;116/st/20060214/e/i%27m+with+u+%3A%29/dt/13/k/e39c/event.png

Chocolate lover <3

actually do u guys know its an offence to know down animals eg: dogs cats and u drive away? it was on new paper... *dun have links sorry*

can be charged one leh

Low Life Helmet Stealers shld just DIE

05-06 - FU*7*7A NSR SP (Proj Bee)

06-07 - FY*3*3L Wave S (Proj Bass)

07-07 - FN3**3M RVF 400 (Proj Black)

08-08 - FU**9*U KAWA ZX (Squeaky)

08-09 FBB***9D Pulsar DTS-i (Black)

10- FBC**98S SYM GTS

ah... found the evidence.... as below:

WHAT IF THE VICTIM OF A HIT-AND-RUN HAS FOUR LEGS?

Friday February 22, 2008, Today Newspaper

SHOULD a hit-and-run driver be made to pay even if his victim is not a human, but a dog? Ms Cassandra Leong certainly thinks so.

Since she witnessed a black maltese getting hit by a car in Punggol on Sunday, the secretary has been trying to bring the culprit to justice.

According to her, the driver hit the pooch while making a turn at Punggol Field junction. While the dog yelped loudly and fell on its side, unable to move with an apparently injured hip, the man turned into a side road, got out of his black car briefly for a look and then drove off.

"He should be held accountable for what he has done and pay for the dog's medical expenses," said Ms Leong, 42. "If he can do this to a dog, he could do this to a human."

She has since given the car's licence plate number to the Traffic Police and liaised with the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA), which rescued the dog.

The maltese was given painkillers and the SPCA ran advertisements in the papers over two days, seeking its owner.

"If the owner does not come forward, we will have to make a decision on the dog according to our adoption criteria of health, temperament, age and space available," said Ms Deirdre Moss, SPCA's executive officer.

Under the Road Traffic Act, it is an offence for drivers not to stop in cases of accidents where there is damage or injury to any person, vehicle, structure or animal. Offenders face a fine of up to $3,000, or imprisonment of up to 12 months.

In an accident, the responsible party should "call the SPCA or transport the animal to us if they are able to and not leave it to suffer", said Ms Moss.

Another animal welfare group, Action for Singapore Dogs (ASD), asks callers to assess how badly injured the dogs are. "If it can be treated, we will dispatch transport and send it to the vet," said ASD president Ricky Yeo.

The public should take down the licence plate numbers of the vehicles responsible and help the dog if possible. Experienced handlers can bundle up the dog and take it to the vet, using a towel as a temporary muzzle if the dog resists. Sliding a cardboard "stretcher" under it can also prevent

further injury to its back or spinal cord, added Mr Yeo.

You can call the SPCA hotline is 6287 5355, while the ASD can be paged at 9259 0698.

Last Updated ( Thursday, 24 April 2008 )

Low Life Helmet Stealers shld just DIE

05-06 - FU*7*7A NSR SP (Proj Bee)

06-07 - FY*3*3L Wave S (Proj Bass)

07-07 - FN3**3M RVF 400 (Proj Black)

08-08 - FU**9*U KAWA ZX (Squeaky)

08-09 FBB***9D Pulsar DTS-i (Black)

10- FBC**98S SYM GTS

ah... found the evidence.... as below:

WHAT IF THE VICTIM OF A HIT-AND-RUN HAS FOUR LEGS?

Friday February 22, 2008, Today Newspaper

SHOULD a hit-and-run driver be made to pay even if his victim is not a human, but a dog? Ms Cassandra Leong certainly thinks so.

Since she witnessed a black maltese getting hit by a car in Punggol on Sunday, the secretary has been trying to bring the culprit to justice.

According to her, the driver hit the pooch while making a turn at Punggol Field junction. While the dog yelped loudly and fell on its side, unable to move with an apparently injured hip, the man turned into a side road, got out of his black car briefly for a look and then drove off.

"He should be held accountable for what he has done and pay for the dog's medical expenses," said Ms Leong, 42. "If he can do this to a dog, he could do this to a human."

She has since given the car's licence plate number to the Traffic Police and liaised with the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA), which rescued the dog.

The maltese was given painkillers and the SPCA ran advertisements in the papers over two days, seeking its owner.

"If the owner does not come forward, we will have to make a decision on the dog according to our adoption criteria of health, temperament, age and space available," said Ms Deirdre Moss, SPCA's executive officer.

Under the Road Traffic Act, it is an offence for drivers not to stop in cases of accidents where there is damage or injury to any person, vehicle, structure or animal. Offenders face a fine of up to $3,000, or imprisonment of up to 12 months.

In an accident, the responsible party should "call the SPCA or transport the animal to us if they are able to and not leave it to suffer", said Ms Moss.

Another animal welfare group, Action for Singapore Dogs (ASD), asks callers to assess how badly injured the dogs are. "If it can be treated, we will dispatch transport and send it to the vet," said ASD president Ricky Yeo.

The public should take down the licence plate numbers of the vehicles responsible and help the dog if possible. Experienced handlers can bundle up the dog and take it to the vet, using a towel as a temporary muzzle if the dog resists. Sliding a cardboard "stretcher" under it can also prevent

further injury to its back or spinal cord, added Mr Yeo.

You can call the SPCA hotline is 6287 5355, while the ASD can be paged at 9259 0698.

Last Updated ( Thursday, 24 April 2008 )

Great effort.... Thks....

Take note of them who r irresponsible...

Make sure they get sumting....:angry:

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

If it's an Iguana, it'll probably scratch half your face away if it does "fly" towards your face from the meter. o_O

I think the word you're trying to put across is the gecko. The normal house gecko.

piangz...i know the difference between an iguana and a gecko la....if the gecko grow to the size i saw...:faint:

goodness... i didn't know we are legally bounded to "assist" animals in an accident.

hope what we don't run over a skunk or porcupine. Will be quite hard to transport to spca. maybe something not so cute like a rat? say.. its half dead. Just half, not fully. Then well... .... u got to...

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

goodness... i didn't know we are legally bounded to "assist" animals in an accident.

hope what we don't run over a skunk or porcupine. Will be quite hard to transport to spca. maybe something not so cute like a rat? say.. its half dead. Just half, not fully. Then well... .... u got to...

maybe tire got multiple holes leaking air liao, run over porcupine lol

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif
maybe tire got multiple holes leaking air liao, run over porcupine lol

just kidding lah. But i honestly find the situation rather problematic leh. The witness who was enraged that the driver never stop to "assist" the dog was not wrong. She acted out of a sense of righteousness and concern for animals. Yet on the other hand, the driver was not exactly at fault for ignoring an animal. Few of us really considered such a senario before. In Aussie thats more than common, when it involves kangeroos. I saw one of them myself. It certainly stinks a lot more than cats and dogs.

Its common knowledge hit and run involving humans is illegal. But animals? Few people really know.

Then there is the question of where do u draw the line. Rats countered? If counted, then ants how? cockroach? Why only dogs and cats countered? Just because they are cute? The practical issue of concern is which animals are we legally liable to "assist" and which are not? This we can only agar agar by size?

If u hit an animal... just hope no smart alec or char boh too free and document your accident.

SAF rule lah.. you can do whatever you want, just don't get caught.

Edited by Pplater

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

there was onces i was playing coner at devils bends .. on approcing the last bend gg towards the causrina prata shop there was this ang mo driving a car gg on the other directions .. he wine down his window and signal me to slow at first i thought this guy trying to be funny .. even though i slowed down and lucky i did because in my tracks was a slow moving tortise walking towards the grass then i realise that ang mo saved that tortise's life

The angmoh might have saved your life too.

Considering 2 that may happen....you see the tortise and skidded to avoid the tortise.

Or you run over the tortise and lose control of your bike.