Does anyone know what spark plug or heat range Motorsport is using for downtown 300.

The mechanic asked me because I have juddering issue between 40km/h to 60km/h. I told him I'm using CR7EIX.

He says should use CR6 and I told him original came is 7.

He says he's been changing so many he can't be wrong.

I don't want to argue as he maybe right, so does anyone knows?

When I went for servicing, wanted to change spark plug....but before installation, they wanted to put the CR6 too. I checked my manual and stopped him. To cut the story short, MS only have CR6 when I was there.... I do not want to as the manual specifically stated CR7.

@parotae, I thought you changed the Spark Plug yourself already to Iridium?

• Replies 6.1k

@Doremi, dun stop contributing because of one person..... it's a free forum, up to individual to select what is right to read and what is nonsense..... As a rider of almost 2 decades and many trips up North, owner from a small cub to BMW... what you wrote were fair and correct...

@paithorn

As I'm having jerky feeling from my scoot between 40km/h to 60km/h the mechanic over at Motorsport suggested that I might be using the wrong plug as they use only CR6.

Then I was thinking better fuel consumption maybe related to using CR6.

I swapped my CR7EIX with a new CR7EIX just to see if there was any difference.

Yup, no difference, still the same jerkiness.

At around 7500km the spark plug still looks very good with minimal coffee soot. :)

Like you, the manual suggested CR7 so I just stick to the same heat range.

Hi Kymco riders, Brembo & myself are organizing a meet up kopi session next Friday across the Causeway at GP Town.

Do join us.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/357621-Meet-Up-Session-For-Scooters-Riders-2012-11-05-2012-2230HRS-%28Friday-Nite%29

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb103/g-max1881/2009tmax500.jpg

"ALWAYS SAFETY FIRST"

"RIDE SAFE & SMART"

HP - 9645 7667 (Alvin)

@paithorn

As I'm having jerky feeling from my scoot between 40km/h to 60km/h the mechanic over at Motorsport suggested that I might be using the wrong plug as they use only CR6.

Then I was thinking better fuel consumption maybe related to using CR6.

I swapped my CR7EIX with a new CR7EIX just to see if there was any difference.

Yup, no difference, still the same jerkiness.

At around 7500km the spark plug still looks very good with minimal coffee soot. :)

Like you, the manual suggested CR7 so I just stick to the same heat range.

@parotae, I do not mind using your extra CR7 to confirm it gives the jerky feeling or not.... but then again.... your demands of smoothness might be different from mine...

Ya, you can have it. Still good to last a long time.

Let me check if it's in my scooter toolbox.

CR7EIX that is :)

@Doremi, dun stop contributing because of one person..... it's a free forum, up to individual to select what is right to read and what is nonsense..... As a rider of almost 2 decades and many trips up North, owner from a small cub to BMW... what you wrote were fair and correct...

Paithorn - thank you for the good hearted comment. I love to share and contribute from my experiences in touring. Unfortunately I feel utterly disgusted by people who knows nut of what was shared in the thread and yet spoken like someone who has been there done that. Best of the best, he used books and television programme to claim trophies.

I find it pointless to waste my time here. Rather than talking to the keyboard hero, I prefer to spend the precious time to bring riders (friends, newbies, seasonal tourers etc) up-north to explore uncharted land of boleh-ness and land of smiles.

Hope we get the chance to ride out together too! I will not be replying, k. Please dont be mistaken that I am stuck up. I prefer to ride out!

Doremi, please continue riding up north, good for you and good for boleh land economy. I shall continue posting here, since I don't have the time to ride up anywhere as frequently as you.

U think what?? Everybody is like you?? Plus I dont expect everyone to agree with what I write here.

Agree to disagree.

Please enjoy what we have now. I bet everyone will do the same and be "keyboard hero" if your had internet and forums 20 years ago, and having just passed your license.....

Edited by topgearalwaysrock

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

-- Double Post --

Edited by topgearalwaysrock

Paithorn - thank you for the good hearted comment. I love to share and contribute from my experiences in touring. Unfortunately I feel utterly disgusted by people who knows nut of what was shared in the thread and yet spoken like someone who has been there done that. Best of the best, he used books and television programme to claim trophies.

I find it pointless to waste my time here. Rather than talking to the keyboard hero, I prefer to spend the precious time to bring riders (friends, newbies, seasonal tourers etc) up-north to explore uncharted land of boleh-ness and land of smiles.

Hope we get the chance to ride out together too! I will not be replying, k. Please dont be mistaken that I am stuck up. I prefer to ride out!

Sure, maybe ride together to Malacca or Desaru yah?

Ya, you can have it. Still good to last a long time.

Let me check if it's in my scooter toolbox.

CR7EIX that is :)

Let's see when we can tie down to change the plugs.... if it's new, I can buy from you...due to change anyway....

No worries, we'll arrange a timing.

I can't make it for the future scooter opening, will check it out another time.:cheeky:

I was riding together with Doremi for a short while......helpful and v.nice guy.....definitely experienced. Must be able to catch up with him though....

@synman

Called Malossi Singapore

Mr Desmond very busy, not free to talk.

Here are the part number for Malossi Multivar 2000

Article Code 5114238 (SK60) Kymco Downtown 300i (Model Without Hazard Light)

Article Code 5114730 (SK60A) Kymco Downtown 300i (Model with Hazard Light)

Article Code 5113892 Kymco Xciting R 300i

@synman

Called Malossi Singapore

Mr Desmond very busy, not free to talk.

Here are the part number for Malossi Multivar 2000

Article Code 5114238 (SK60) Kymco Downtown 300i (Model Without Hazard Light)

Article Code 5114730 (SK60A) Kymco Downtown 300i (Model with Hazard Light)

Article Code 5113892 Kymco Xciting R 300i

Wah thanks for the homework.

I wonder should I get the one for Xciting or the one for DT. Will check with Desmond.

Thanks again bro.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

...but I found a Taiwanese webby asking Xciting 250 owners to change to downtown rear clutch set to lessen the move of vibration. Anyway, to check which model is your downtown 300i. SK60 or SK60AStamped model number are located on the left side engine area near the full stand. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/d9a38838.jpg

Actually, what does redline mean ahh?? I only know it's the (layman term) "danger-range" for the engine.... Usually cars have red line from 6,500-8,000rpm....

I actually find it weird that DownTown 125i don't have red line, and it can rev till 10,000rpm, the maximum it's displayed on the rev-meter....

Meaning the fuel supply won't increase even if it exceeds 8250rpm for DT300i???

Can take away the restriction right???

Meaning the fuel supply won't increase even if it exceeds 8250rpm for DT300i???

Can take away the restriction right???

Actually, what does redline mean ahh?? I only know it's the (layman term) "danger-range" for the engine.... Usually cars have red line from 6,500-8,000rpm....

I actually find it weird that DownTown 125i don't have red line, and it can rev till 10,000rpm, the maximum it's displayed on the rev-meter....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redline