To juanpauk:

How's the London Olympics (among the general population) preparation?? Are people excited about it??

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

• Replies 6.1k

If you can put a quick tutorial up for changing the coolant will be much appreciated. Good luck finding a good one.

Sure will but not any time soon.

Total coolant capacity 1719cc

Radiator 766cc

Reserve tank 590cc

Hoses 363cc

Wow, that's a lot of coolant! 1.72 liters.

Coolant don't come in such big capacity.

I think the norm is 500ml to 1 liter and they ain't cheap. Maybe more expensive than engine oil.

May need to change brake oil too.

Manual recommend change every 10,000km

Gear Oil Every 5000Km

Valve Adjustment every 10,000km

Here's a link to an online service manual

http://www.scribd.com/doc/18793545/Kymco-Downtown-300i-EN

If you can put a quick tutorial up for changing the coolant will be much appreciated. Good luck finding a good one.

Hey Juan,

Wonder if you miss out my message the last round.

Was wondering how is the Dr Pulley doing on your ride? Sweet?

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

Ask u guys, does travelling at higher speed after running in increase the fc?

Was at 36km/l for my DT125i, break "3k" mark le. Then 1st topup my FC drop to 34km/l liao.

Travelling up to 100km/h up from the 80km/h during run in.

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

Traveling at higher speed do increase consumption as rpm is higher and more wind resistance.

At this moment of time, topgearalwaysrock is the only 125cc person to check with.

Other causes affecting fuel consumption like :

Tire pressure

Engine oil viscosity

Upslope

Weather

Carrying extra weight than usual

I believe you know your usual style of riding so just monitor and see if you can get back the same with 80km/h.

Cheers :)

Ok noted :D Thanks. Cos I haven't got a new bike before, so didn't really notice the change in the fc.

For eg my TA150 was around 20km/l when i got it and been like that since.

My GD150 was around 22~24km/l

So trying to guage what's my real fc, think got to wait for the 5k mark for another round of servicing.

Then monitor from there.

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

For me, if travel with light throttle, I can get around 31km/L. But with my current riding style, I'm getting 29.6km/L. Haha.

Hopefully, with the 15k km servicing, replacement of items, it'll get higher fuel efficiency =D

Hey Juan,

Wonder if you miss out my message the last round.

Was wondering how is the Dr Pulley doing on your ride? Sweet?

Hi Synman,

I am pretty sure I replied to that but never mind. It is going great the annoying noises are gone but as I said before I believe the clutch bell is part of the problem as well, would you be able to get a new bell under warranty? it will be worth trying changing just the bell without touching anything else to see how it works. My conclusion after all the different things that I tried is that the quality of the bell and the pads of the clutch are not of the best quality so the bell loses its shape due overheating caused by the clutch slippage.

The Dr. Pulley clutch pads are of a better quality and the catch is much stronger avoiding slippage therefore reducing overheating.

I have had the clutch + brand new bell for about 6 months and so far everything is working smoothly, well I don't get the smoothest of take offs but it is 90% better than before and noise free.

I am still on the lookout for an aftermarket bell for our transmission system, with a better quality one we might be able to get an even smoother bike.

How is yours? is it still making those noises? getting any better?

Good luck m8

Oh well. This seems to be a universal problem..... Darn!

Shouldn't it be that stock items work as it is, without problems (excluding wear and tear of course), and aftermarket products is to improve either performance or fuel efficiency?? It's quite annoying to turn to aftermarket products to solve a defect goods problem.... Shugs!

Thank goodness the DownTown 125i I'm riding on is fine at the moment....

Anyways, what's the fuel prices in UK now??

No lah. Front is exactly the same as the outgoing Xciting 300Ri lor. Only the instrument panel, and tail-lights and probably a lower, more comfortable seat makes the difference. Not to forget, the new 400cc engine also lah.

Still a long way to go before it comes to Singapore....

No lah. Front is exactly the same as the outgoing Xciting 300Ri lor. Only the instrument panel, and tail-lights and probably a lower, more comfortable seat makes the difference. Not to forget, the new 400cc engine also lah.

Still a long way to go before it comes to Singapore....

It's the cheapest best oil i can find.

Yeah Autobacs.

The rest are as good but very ex.

For very good oil at this price it's hard to beat.

Another cheap and good is Mobil1 5W50 $10.90 hard to beat. No more at Carrefour Suntec.

Any very good oil at reasonable price?

The Idemitsu so far still ok leh. 1500km already.

I wouldn't recommend OWS though (expensive and cause a lot of vibration), and the oils that normal Workshops use....

Anyone wanna buy travel insurance?

How does this works?

Quote over from Silverwinger's thread.

Purchase of $99 Budget Annual Travel Insurance

Date: 7-June-2012

Place: During next Thurs' meetup

Annual Budget Travel Insurance fr $99 a year

buying:

1. scoobydoo (renewing)

2. SW9000 (renewing)

3. whyzee (renewing)

4. Fusionjaz (new)

5. Atlantic 200?

6. jsilverwing?

For owners of other make/model, you may want to inform the respective threads about this MO meeting as well.

I also got an annual travel insurance which covers Malaysia and Thailand. Haha.

Me kiasu.

I also got an annual travel insurance which covers Malaysia and Thailand. Haha.

Me kiasu.

How much?

What Insurance?

Which plan?

Coverage until thailand which part?

$99/ yr

ACE Insurance

Travel Smart 365

50km upwards of the border of Malaysia and Thailand

$99/ yr

ACE Insurance

Travel Smart 365

50km upwards of the border of Malaysia and Thailand

The same one I'll be renewing.

Anyone wanna get can join us at our meeting this Thursday.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/225675-SBF-Silverwings-Cafe-2009-2010-JDM-Euro-400-600?p=7609637&viewfull=1#post7609637

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Just found by accident that our rear shock can be adjusted with just bare hands. Loosening from any higher number (spring setting) to a lower can easily be done using one hand to twist it.

Adjusting from a lower number to higher will require both hands and using force upward to compress the spring and twisting at the same time.

The right hand side of the suspension is just beside the exhaust hence even with the special tool, turning is very difficult and will cause slippage and scratch the hole. Twisting with hands is easier.

Exercise with caution but it can be done.

*Do not turn from setting 5 to 1. Manual says that it'll damage the absorber.

I don't see why it is so since the adjustment is to the spring tension not the internal of the absorber.

Anyone care to enlighten me? :)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/7b4c89e6.jpg

Edited by parotae

Hmm. Maybe that explains why sometimes my ride is bouncy, sometimes it's so firm, hitting a bump feels like throwing me out of the scoot....

Darn!!!

Hi Synman,

I am pretty sure I replied to that but never mind. It is going great the annoying noises are gone but as I said before I believe the clutch bell is part of the problem as well, would you be able to get a new bell under warranty? it will be worth trying changing just the bell without touching anything else to see how it works. My conclusion after all the different things that I tried is that the quality of the bell and the pads of the clutch are not of the best quality so the bell loses its shape due overheating caused by the clutch slippage.

The Dr. Pulley clutch pads are of a better quality and the catch is much stronger avoiding slippage therefore reducing overheating.

I have had the clutch + brand new bell for about 6 months and so far everything is working smoothly, well I don't get the smoothest of take offs but it is 90% better than before and noise free.

I am still on the lookout for an aftermarket bell for our transmission system, with a better quality one we might be able to get an even smoother bike.

How is yours? is it still making those noises? getting any better?

Good luck m8

Thanks for the reply. I might have miss out as I wasn't in here for a short while.

Dun think they will allow a change with the clutch bell.

Same sound still there but not as much as before. I would normally warm up my bike

for like about 5 mins then move off.

Also I'm getting "used" to the noises and occasional slip-off. :p

Still waiting for their new clutch pads to arrive though.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530