guys hw many days will the trip be? if i wanna go i need apply leave in advance pls advise thx

Character is doing the right thing when no one is watching..

2005 - 2005 Aprilia RS125 FR6755A

2005 - 2006 Honda Wave S FW5450J

2006 - 2007 Honda CBR 400 RR FQ6676A

2007 - 2008 Suzuki GSX-R600 K5 FZ414G

2008 - 200? Yamaha YZF R1 A* 86 *

2008 - 2009 Honda CB400 Vtec 1 FR8377U

2009 - 2009 Honda Wave S FX4974R

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

juz collected my bike today. saw an orange and black cbr. fm9***. think it belongs to one of u guys.

the pt is, collected the bike and i've alr faced some problems. the lights in front dun work and tested new bulbs at the bike shop, and the lights still dun work. the mech says its the circuitry. anyone knows how to fix this prob?and the radiator fan...does it go off after a while if u dun start the bike?

sry to bother u bros.

Feb '05 - Nov '06 ---> KRR150RR (FS7177Z)

Nov '06 - Feb '07 ---> CBR400RRR (FM3727C)

Mar '07 - Nov '14 ---> CB400SI (FT1733K)

Nov '14 - Now ---> NC750X (F******K)

Ride or Die!!!

Originally posted by razorblade41@Nov 4 2006, 11:11 PM

juz collected my bike today. saw an orange and black cbr. fm9***. think it belongs to one of u guys.

the pt is, collected the bike and i've alr faced some problems. the lights in front dun work and tested new bulbs at the bike shop, and the lights still dun work. the mech says its the circuitry. anyone knows how to fix this prob?and the radiator fan...does it go off after a while if u dun start the bike?

sry to bother u bros.

which lights not workin? head light or signal? chk ur wire tt leads to head light. e condition? n also e fuse n relay...

2002 - 2005 : NSR150SP

2005 - 2008 : CBR400RRL

2008 - : Wave S 125

Since June 2006 :Touring ( History )

Yoshimura.Pivot.Hel.Haris.Bridgestone.NgkIridium. AFAM.DID.Broquet.Kenso.Motul.K&N.HRC.

Originally posted by blueblood@Nov 4 2006, 07:54 PM

hahaha agree.

ride like theres no tomorrow :cheeky:

wah lau.....

i ride hard and fast but safely ok...

Originally posted by razorblade41@Nov 4 2006, 11:11 PM

sry to bother u bros.

welcome to the cbr club..... its just the beginning... enjoy ur ride

but i'll say this: once u iron out the probs, u'll love the bike. only prob is how long it takes to settle all the c***-ups!!!

I agree. You gotta be able to part with some $$$ first before you can enjoy the NC29 to the fullest.

thx guys. beginning to love the ride. wanna do up the bike till its nice.

head lights are gone. other lights are working fine. the first switches on the signals in front so the light is always constant rite?(only the left is working...i dunnoe y) and the next level switches on the front lights(they are gone as well)

as for temp wise, how hot will the bike go on the meter?? becoz today when i rode it....it went until 3.4 of the temp meter....

Ride or Die!!!

thx guys. beginning to love the ride. wanna do up the bike till its nice.

head lights are gone. other lights are working fine. the first switches on the signals in front so the light is always constant rite?(only the left is working...i dunnoe y) and the next level switches on the front lights(they are gone as well)

as for temp wise, how hot will the bike go on the meter?? becoz today when i rode it....it went until 3.4 of the temp meter....

well... i would suggest you to go to your bikeshop for "full body checkup"

my bike temperature will only reach 1/4 the most because the fan will on when hit 1/4. i just changed thermostat or fan switch(ah beng say 1).

maybe you can try to flush the coolant first and see if the temperature will go up anot. if still continue go up den i think will be your thermostat "lag" thus delaying the fan to on when the temperature is hot.

Yamaha RXK (2003-2004)(FB****?)

Aprilia RS125 (2004-2004)(FM2834H)

Honda SP150 (2004-2005)(FR3462P)

Honda CBR400RRN(2005-2007)(FN2935L)

Nissian Latio (2007-2013)(SGU7413C)

Honda CBR600RR5 (2010-2013) (FZ3775U)

Kawasaki Z800 (2014-2018) (FBJ1955L)

Finally a brand new bike!

e nc- 29 is hell of a great bike to ride... e stock performance is alr a fulfiling experience... good stability n handling. when speed is concern i would say e blade is e best!!... touring on blade is also fun tailing e big machine at 160km/h to 180 km/hr not a prob.....

get e probs done up esp wiring... i did full wiring tt solved a lot of my wiring probs.

2002 - 2005 : NSR150SP

2005 - 2008 : CBR400RRL

2008 - : Wave S 125

Since June 2006 :Touring ( History )

Yoshimura.Pivot.Hel.Haris.Bridgestone.NgkIridium. AFAM.DID.Broquet.Kenso.Motul.K&N.HRC.

Originally posted by daojeff@Nov 5 2006, 01:52 AM

well... i would suggest you to go to your bikeshop for "full body checkup"

my bike temperature will only reach 1/4 the most because the fan will on when hit 1/4. i just changed thermostat or fan switch(ah beng say 1).

maybe you can try to flush the coolant first and see if the temperature will go up anot. if still continue go up den i think will be your thermostat "lag" thus delaying the fan to on when the temperature is hot.

Agreed. While it may sound expensive, the total amount of $$$ you need to spend on existing problems will be about the same. It's better to have them fixed once and for all so that the mech won't have to take things apart multiple times. I suggest you go to a good and reliable mech (like Ah Beng of BikeWorkz or Clifford of K&T) to get all the problems solved.

I spent $1600 and two full days (literally, from shop open 9am to shop close at 9pm) to get my CBR400RR healthy. I am really loving the ride.

Originally posted by rhema83@Nov 5 2006, 07:08 AM

Agreed. While it may sound expensive, the total amount of $$$ you need to spend on existing problems will be about the same. It's better to have them fixed once and for all so that the mech won't have to take things apart multiple times. I suggest you go to a good and reliable mech (like Ah Beng of BikeWorkz or Clifford of K&T) to get all the problems solved.

I spent $1600 and two full days (literally, from shop open 9am to shop close at 9pm) to get my CBR400RR healthy. I am really loving the ride.

hmmm..but i'm still an NSF...not much money.... they dun take instalments on repairs rite?

Tronicans, where did u do ur wiring?

Ride or Die!!!

hmmm..but i'm still an NSF...not much money.... they dun take instalments on repairs rite?

Actually if you just buy your bike, i think you can go back to the bike shop where u bought the bike.

They should sort of warrenty the bike for like the min 1 month.

If u buy from private seller, the best thing i think u can do is to do the bike slowly lor.

Try to do those things which are more important.

Yamaha RXK (2003-2004)(FB****?)

Aprilia RS125 (2004-2004)(FM2834H)

Honda SP150 (2004-2005)(FR3462P)

Honda CBR400RRN(2005-2007)(FN2935L)

Nissian Latio (2007-2013)(SGU7413C)

Honda CBR600RR5 (2010-2013) (FZ3775U)

Kawasaki Z800 (2014-2018) (FBJ1955L)

Finally a brand new bike!

Originally posted by daojeff@Nov 5 2006, 01:28 PM

Actually if you just buy your bike, i think you can go back to the bike shop where u bought the bike.

They should sort of warrenty the bike for like the min 1 month.

If u buy from private seller, the best thing i think u can do is to do the bike slowly lor.

Try to do those things which are more important.

It depends bro..

If the shop never tell you they are giving you warranty or so, even if were to go back to the shop, they will charge you for repairs or anything. And this is the lesson i learnt from the first bike i get. Curse that shop. Haha.. Actually went to C.A.S.E. to report that shop, but its useless.

Originally posted by M@+r!X@Nov 4 2006, 10:29 PM

guys hw many days will the trip be? if i wanna go i need apply leave in advance pls advise thx

most likely i will be going for a day trip onli and back sg at nite..

Originally posted by Aalex82@Nov 5 2006, 02:21 PM

most likely i will be going for a day trip onli and back sg at nite..

if its a day trip, i'm interested as well... but i scared my bike don't allow me to... :weep:

Originally posted by myusha@Nov 5 2006, 01:54 PM

It depends bro..

If the shop never tell you they are giving you warranty or so, even if were to go back to the shop, they will charge you for repairs or anything. And this is the lesson i learnt from the first bike i get. Curse that shop. Haha.. Actually went to C.A.S.E. to report that shop, but its useless.

hmmm, will go back to the shop and see wat they say. bringing it back tmr..couz bringing it so i will have to go back to camp bikeless.

Ride or Die!!!

Originally posted by razorblade41@Nov 5 2006, 02:36 PM

hmmm, will go back to the shop and see wat they say. bringing it back tmr..couz bringing it so i will have to go back to camp bikeless.

best is...

Originally posted by razorblade41@Nov 5 2006, 11:20 AM

Good to see another CBR rider!

Sounds like the previous owner has neglected some repairs as they were planning to sell the bike anyway but the problems you are reporting are likely quite minor.

Radiator fan - this should not come on until the temp gauge is just about hitting red, if it comes on straight away when you turn the key it has been rewired incorrectly.

Headlights - the most common cause of problems is actually the wiring in the switch block on the left handle bar burning out. This happens once the bike gets a bit older and is made a common problem as everyone uses replacement bulbs that use more power than the standard ones so it burns the wires out inside the switch more quickly. If possible try plugging a friends switch block in and see if it fixes the problem, I bet it will ;)

Probably also a good idea to flush out the radiator/cooling system and fill with fresh coolant to make sure it is working well, with a hot climate like ours this is very important.

To do all these items including replacing the switch block I would not expect to pay more than around $100.

Originally posted by Tronicans@Nov 3 2006, 07:56 PM

can rev til redline?? all gears? 6th gear? if yes wats ur speedo showing? i know of blades touching 14k rpm but speedo is on til nippon seiko onli.. tts not high end... though it revs til 14k e speed is e same like many other blades who finish e nippon seiko but onli at 12.5k rpm... jus tt ur bike reaches e 14k rpm faster than e 12.5k rpm bike... tt wil probabbly result in a bit higher BHP!...

Doesn't really matter what the speedo is showing, over 100km/h the speedo gets less and less accurate. Different gearing will make bikes rev to different levels for the same speed though.

I haven't run my bike over here all the way out in top gear as there are no roads long enough or safe enough to do that kind of speed (without risking huge fines at least!!). I do run gears 1-2-3 out to redline and easily hit 130-140 on the speedo. How accurate it is I have no idea.

My CBR400 back home in Australia revs cleanly all the way to red line in every gear including 6th. As it is a race bike there is no speedo on the bike so I cannot say where the needle on the speedo would be.

What stops your bike from hitting redline in 6th gear is the standard gearing. If you lower your gearing you will have greater acceleration off the mark, more power down low where you need it riding around and will be able to hit the redline in top easily if that is what you want to do. Try a 14t front sprocket to replace your standard 15t one and you will appreciate the difference immediately.

Originally posted by Zer0@Nov 5 2006, 02:57 PM

Good to see another CBR rider!

Sounds like the previous owner has neglected some repairs as they were planning to sell the bike anyway but the problems you are reporting are likely quite minor.

Radiator fan - this should not come on until the temp gauge is just about hitting red, if it comes on straight away when you turn the key it has been rewired incorrectly.

Headlights - the most common cause of problems is actually the wiring in the switch block on the left handle bar burning out. This happens once the bike gets a bit older and is made a common problem as everyone uses replacement bulbs that use more power than the standard ones so it burns the wires out inside the switch more quickly. If possible try plugging a friends switch block in and see if it fixes the problem, I bet it will ;)

Probably also a good idea to flush out the radiator/cooling system and fill with fresh coolant to make sure it is working well, with a hot climate like ours this is very important.

To do all these items including replacing the switch block I would not expect to pay more than around $100.

thx bro...nice to be part of this family. couz also has a CBR.

Abt the head lights, i wanna change to H4 bulbs. does it use a lot of current. juz checking...juz in case. sending to the bike shop tmr to do it. will seek u guys advice more often. thx guys for all the previous advice.

Ride or Die!!!

Originally posted by razorblade41@Nov 5 2006, 03:50 PM

thx bro...nice to be part of this family. couz also has a CBR.

Abt the head lights, i wanna change to H4 bulbs. does it use a lot of current. juz checking...juz in case. sending to the bike shop tmr to do it. will seek u guys advice more often. thx guys for all the previous advice.

cbr originally using H4 bulbs..

wat u mean to change to H4??

yrs is not H4??

Originally posted by myusha@Nov 5 2006, 02:24 PM

if its a day trip, i'm interested as well... but i scared my bike don't allow me to... :weep:

if yr bike is in gd condition, i sure the bike can bring u to and fro..

Originally posted by Aalex82@Nov 5 2006, 04:33 PM

cbr originally using H4 bulbs..

wat u mean to change to H4??

yrs is not H4??

nope....juz some normal halogen bulbs. wanted to get those H4 ones...blue tinted....lol.

the switch block?? how does it exactly look like?not the one that contains the fuses rite? the fuses are all working fine btw...checked them juz now

Ride or Die!!!

Originally posted by razorblade41@Nov 5 2006, 05:51 PM

nope....juz some normal halogen bulbs. wanted to get those H4 ones...blue tinted....lol.

the switch block?? how does it exactly look like?not the one that contains the fuses rite? the fuses are all working fine btw...checked them juz now

is advised to get better quanlity bulbs..

:btw: H4 is oso halogen bulbs..

if not, gd luck to yr sockets and wiring..

bro and sis .. will like to ask did anyone of u change ur front brake disc b4 ? and also the behind brake disc cost roughly how much ?

and when is the time to change the brake disc .. e.g eaten up by 2mm to 3mm still able to last how long .. ?