Hi guys

I just wanna share a story with you guys, especially with new riders out there. Here goes...

My experience

I was on my way back from work and was travelling on Keppel Road towards the ECP going to Changi Airport. It was a red light and i was in my lane. As the light turned green, a black SUV, SJT 8292T cut into lane, only turning on his signal lights as he was turning in. I had to avoid him so i had to accelerate hard. He nearly banged, not clipped, banged onto my rear wheel sideways and i had to do an evasive maneuver to avoid an accident. And all this happened when i was on gear 1 about 10-15km/h. I was cursing under my breath but continued on accelerating towards the expressway trying to avoid him.

On the ECP towards Changi Airport, i was going up the steep bridge where the speed limit was 70km/h. There was quite a jam and the cars were travelling about 30-35km/k. In my mirrors, i saw the exact same SUV cutting a car behind me and ended right behind me. He was tailgating me to the extreme, almost forcing me to kiss the car in front of me. He also honked at me for no reason. When there was some space, i did Intermittent braking to warn the driver behind me that he is too close and he should move back, like what they teach us in school. After a while, he honked at me again and was playing with his brakes. I heard another horn but i think this came from the driver behind him as i think he was accelerating hard and stopping hard. Having enough of this, i just bit the bullet and switched lanes. The driver then accelerated hard and really nearly kissed the bumper of the driver in front of me. I could see all this as the traffic was kinda slow.

After action report

1) Like in my experience, i advice all riders to take up a lane not squeeze through cars unnecessarily. Always be prepared to perform an evasive maneuver to avoid an accident. When in motion, try to apply the 2 second rule and try to me on the left or right of the lane, just in case the driver in front of you jams his/her brakes and you can avoid it.

2) Always keep you cool. Like in my experience, i almost wanted to throw my middle finger at his face, scratch his car or kick his door. I was taught in NS that it is better to run a coward to live another day then die a hero. The driver in my case might chase me down or knock my bike on purpose or something. As riders, we are not protected like drivers. In situations like this, try to ride away safely as soon as possible. The driver may bear a grude on you or start to mess with you. After all, we are all human.

4) Be alert and have a clear head. When the driver started to tail gate me and honked at me, i had to admit, i was worried what might be wrong. Could it be that my pipe fell off? My box flew off? I kinda panicked. But i managed to keep my cool and ride with my concentration at full.

5) When you see an immediate danger in front of you or want to warn the driver behind you that he/she is too close, do intermittent braking. Many a times when doing so, it has decreased a chance for an accident. In most cases, when i do that, most cars with either change lane or slow down as they know that there might be something amiss that they cannot see. This technique was taught to me by both my riding and driving instructors. In my experience described above, it was to warn the driver in behind of me to be careful as he is way to close to me.

6) When you confront an over zealous driver, run away as soon as possible. Just my luck that the same driver wanted to "pick" on me today. In the end, when i saw my opportunity, i quickly made sure it was clear and did a lane change. Like i said, it is better to run a coward to live another day then die a hero.

Moral of the story

As a rider, safety is of paramount importance. Unlike cars, we dont have a cocoon of metal to protect us from danger. For me, i will always wear long pants, proper shoes and gloves. Yes i ride a YBR, but no rider has ever made fun of my gear because they know its for my safety.

As a rider, be alert at all times. I always felt that my experience in both driving and riding has made me into a better motorist. I always keep in mind where are the areas a driver cannot see me and i will try to ride out of his blind spot. As a driver, i will always be wary of riders and make sure i give them ample space if they ever decide to squeeze through my car and others. I may be a new driver/rider, but i try to check my blindspot most of the time as i know how it feels when a car comes swerving into your lane, never signalling and assuming that the lane is clear.

My advice to all, especially new riders, to be careful and take note of the lessons i've learnt so that hopefully, you will be more aware and be ready to tackle road situations. For me, everytime when i am on the road, whether in a car or bike, is a different day and things cannot be assumed. A close friend once told me this. "On a bike, the percentage that you will be safe is 50%. The other 50% is dependent on other motorist. So MAKE SURE that you already have that 50% with you all the time."

If any other riders/drivers have any other experiences and lessons for us, please feel free to share. Learning is a never-ending journey as everyday is a different one. Good luck and ride safe everyone.:thumb:

• Replies 54

Hi guys

I just wanna share a story with you guys, especially with new riders out there. Here goes...

My experience

I was on my way back from work and was travelling on Keppel Road towards the ECP going to Changi Airport. It was a red light and i was in my lane. As the light turned green, a black SUV, SJT 8292T cut into lane, only turning on his signal lights as he was turning in. I had to avoid him so i had to accelerate hard. He nearly banged, not clipped, banged onto my rear wheel sideways and i had to do an evasive maneuver to avoid an accident. And all this happened when i was on gear 1 about 10-15km/h. I was cursing under my breath but continued on accelerating towards the expressway trying to avoid him.

On the ECP towards Changi Airport, i was going up the steep bridge where the speed limit was 70km/h. There was quite a jam and the cars were travelling about 30-35km/k. In my mirrors, i saw the exact same SUV cutting a car behind me and ended right behind me. He was tailgating me to the extreme, almost forcing me to kiss the car in front of me. He also honked at me for no reason. When there was some space, i did Intermittent braking to warn the driver behind me that he is too close and he should move back, like what they teach us in school. After a while, he honked at me again and was playing with his brakes. I heard another horn but i think this came from the driver behind him as i think he was accelerating hard and stopping hard. Having enough of this, i just bit the bullet and switched lanes. The driver then accelerated hard and really nearly kissed the bumper of the driver in front of me. I could see all this as the traffic was kinda slow.

After action report

1) Like in my experience, i advice all riders to take up a lane not squeeze through cars unnecessarily. Always be prepared to perform an evasive maneuver to avoid an accident. When in motion, try to apply the 2 second rule and try to me on the left or right of the lane, just in case the driver in front of you jams his/her brakes and you can avoid it.

2) Always keep you cool. Like in my experience, i almost wanted to throw my middle finger at his face, scratch his car or kick his door. I was taught in NS that it is better to run a coward to live another day then die a hero. The driver in my case might chase me down or knock my bike on purpose or something. As riders, we are not protected like drivers. In situations like this, try to ride away safely as soon as possible. The driver may bear a grude on you or start to mess with you. After all, we are all human.

4) Be alert and have a clear head. When the driver started to tail gate me and honked at me, i had to admit, i was worried what might be wrong. Could it be that my pipe fell off? My box flew off? I kinda panicked. But i managed to keep my cool and ride with my concentration at full.

5) When you see an immediate danger in front of you or want to warn the driver behind you that he/she is too close, do intermittent braking. Many a times when doing so, it has decreased a chance for an accident. In most cases, when i do that, most cars with either change lane or slow down as they know that there might be something amiss that they cannot see. This technique was taught to me by both my riding and driving instructors. In my experience described above, it was to warn the driver in behind of me to be careful as he is way to close to me.

6) When you confront an over zealous driver, run away as soon as possible. Just my luck that the same driver wanted to "pick" on me today. In the end, when i saw my opportunity, i quickly made sure it was clear and did a lane change. Like i said, it is better to run a coward to live another day then die a hero.

Moral of the story

As a rider, safety is of paramount importance. Unlike cars, we dont have a cocoon of metal to protect us from danger. For me, i will always wear long pants, proper shoes and gloves. Yes i ride a YBR, but no rider has ever made fun of my gear because they know its for my safety.

As a rider, be alert at all times. I always felt that my experience in both driving and riding has made me into a better motorist. I always keep in mind where are the areas a driver cannot see me and i will try to ride out of his blind spot. As a driver, i will always be wary of riders and make sure i give them ample space if they ever decide to squeeze through my car and others. I may be a new driver/rider, but i try to check my blindspot most of the time as i know how it feels when a car comes swerving into your lane, never signalling and assuming that the lane is clear.

My advice to all, especially new riders, to be careful and take note of the lessons i've learnt so that hopefully, you will be more aware and be ready to tackle road situations. For me, everytime when i am on the road, whether in a car or bike, is a different day and things cannot be assumed. A close friend once told me this. "On a bike, the percentage that you will be safe is 50%. The other 50% is dependent on other motorist. So MAKE SURE that you already have that 50% with you all the time."

If any other riders/drivers have any other experiences and lessons for us, please feel free to share. Learning is a never-ending journey as everyday is a different one. Good luck and ride safe everyone.:thumb:

Tough luck. Just 1 of those 'bad' day.

Have a good night rest and tomorrow is another better day :thumb:

No matter what bike you are riding, best is to ride safely. Accidents are a waste of time, effort, energy and money.

At times i do lose my cool, i will also horn and show the 'international language'....

But ultimately, still a must to ride safely, as u mention "..it is better to run a coward to live another day then die a hero..."

:angel::angel::angel:

PS: you could actually note down the car number, and report it to TP or make a police report.

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2679/189/29/620279922/n620279922_2379756_8186156.jpg

Shared grief is half the sorrow. Happiness when shared is doubled

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs110.snc3/15733_203433224922_620279922_4083571_81483_n.jpg

在错的时候é‡åˆ°å¯¹çš„人, æ˜¯é—æ†¾;

在对的时候é‡åˆ°é”™çš„人, 是错爱;

在错的时候é‡åˆ°é”™çš„人, 是幸è¿;

在对的时候é‡åˆ°å¯¹çš„人, 是幸ç¦.

one week ago or so... park at some coffee shop...

somebody wana park dere oso bang into ma mirror and crack it...

todae... ma spare helmet visor is stolen from plaza singapura multistorey carpark....

wondering why do ppl do such tings...

its jus a visor..why steal it..

if u bang into somebody vehicle and its damage... please leave a note with ur number at least.

~Please Ride N Drive Safely.~

if u cant,its ok,but dont bring harm to other ppl.

wana die,go die alone.dnt bring innnocent ppl along.

OKae!

many people are like that...wanna avoid facing up to what they have done, be it on purpose or accidental. the only consolation is knowing that you are above that and did not wish the person harm. build good karma man :-)

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

First day park at multi story carpark at marine drive, my speedometer screws were stolen and clutch cables pulled out.

-Park at places that are more open.

Kena saman by certis cisco twice

-When i am parking at 2 places, i will cfm put coupon coz its worth it. It spoils the mood.

Kena accident at 120km/hr because single disc brakes are shi+. (rightmost lane suddenly jammed brake at expressway to 0km/hr.)

-Got claimed, got scars, got scared. Dun think 2b bikes belongs on the right most lane in congested situations.

Almost got into accident with a pillion.

- When with a pillon, ride really really safe.

Just say that the quality of the human being in the place we call home has dengenerated to an unacceptable level... best of all we are a developed country

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=90&pictureid=3431

I believe in Value for My HaRD EARN MOOlah

If someone purposely tailgate me lke that, I will get their car number, identify who is driving the vehicle and make a police report. I will not pass go and will not collect my $200.

I seem to be facing a lot of nonsense on the roads these days, so I'm gonna fit a cheap-cheap SD Card camera to my bike.

Yesterday on the way to work, some idiot jogger decide to cross the busy road in front of me. He definitley saw me.

And on the way back from work, some biker+pillion from Johor merge go into my lane without even looking in the mirror or over the shoulder to see if the lane is clear or not. When I sound my horn, I never seen anyone jump so high out of their seat.

Current FAZER600-Naked

many people are like that...wanna avoid facing up to what they have done, be it on purpose or accidental. the only consolation is knowing that you are above that and did not wish the person harm. build good karma man :-)

yea..wat goes around comes around..

to those people who are reading dis.. and have been stealing tings..

stop it r..not evrydae sundae..one dae sure kene...

~Please Ride N Drive Safely.~

if u cant,its ok,but dont bring harm to other ppl.

wana die,go die alone.dnt bring innnocent ppl along.

OKae!

Yeah a lot of this kinda drivers around. Same as i almost got hit 2x on the same road by 2 diff cars. Must learn the way of the road and of cuz defensive riding is good. I really felt good to have completed by defensive riding in the army.

These reckless drivers are inevitable on the road ... Either we face them or evade them .. We never noe we are even one of those reckless drivers that drivers/riders mite express their opinion on us ..

Be humble on the road at all times coz u'll neva noe wen u need any rider's help...

Juz report the bloody burger...1 recklessness removed from the road is better than none.

hope his family members die in the road.

looks like this behaviour isn't limited to this island nation. see this video of one situation in the uk...you have to watch a little into it to get to the scene.

Hi guys

Crazydj, thanks for sharing your experience. And more importantly, you also shared positive and constructive ideas with others, on how to handle such situations in the future. :thumb:

I encountered such situations before. And I am also human. But don't you feel proud of yourself afterwards when you start to appreciate you have kept your cool and handled the situation wisely, instead of being driven by impulse at that moment and might have ended up much worse? :thumb:

So guys, keep our cool. You will always be thankful to yourself for that afterwards.

One way to help you keep your cool is Don't take things personally.

1) That driver may be just a ******* ******* driver.

The person just drives like that towards every other road user on the road. It is not directed towards you.

As Crazydj noticed, that particular driver just continues to do the same at the next car in front of him.

Since this person is such a madman, it will be wise of you to get out the madman's way.

2) We don't know what is driving the driver to be driving so madly. Maybe he has genuine reasons. Eg: his house has an emergency to his wife, kids, parents. We don't know for sure. Why don't we give way? Afterall, this is a public road.

To sign up on Hazard Oriented-Vision (HOV) and other motorcycle safety lessons, go to:

http://www.rider.sg

This site is dedicated for motorcycling safety. It is a bit bare now.We are building it up. Lessons are completely free of charge.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Keeping my cool can be the hardest thing to do...but you are absolutely right that its the best thing to do. Sigh...I even find it hard to keep my cool just now when a stupid bus driver drove straight into the lane I was going into. Sigh. Lots to learn!!!

one week ago or so... park at some coffee shop...

somebody wana park dere oso bang into ma mirror and crack it...

todae... ma spare helmet visor is stolen from plaza singapura multistorey carpark....

wondering why do ppl do such tings...

its jus a visor..why steal it..

if u bang into somebody vehicle and its damage... please leave a note with ur number at least.

i'm curious, if i caught someone steal smth, stop him already but he tries to run away... can i wack him till he stops struggling? or will i be charged for violence or smth?

i caught someone stole things before, but lucky he stopped running and i brought him to e security.. but what if he doesnt stop and keep trying to run free???

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

i'm curious, if i caught someone steal smth, stop him already but he tries to run away... can i wack him till he stops struggling? or will i be charged for violence or smth?

i caught someone stole things before, but lucky he stopped running and i brought him to e security.. but what if he doesnt stop and keep trying to run free???

If i am not wrong, you can detain him under "citizens arrest". If the accused is a lady, better get a lady to accompany you. Just in case the accused accused you of rape/molest/ourage of modesty.

So back to your question. If you caught someone stealing something, i would have detained him and call for the police.

Edited by crazydj

okie.. so detainingequal to wacking the **** out of him till he stops struggling or running away...

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

Great sharing. Staying cool headed is possibly the single most important thing when riding. When one becomes enraged, one will not be concentrating properly on the road and might not notice the traffic situation change. This is just courting disaster.

Getting yourself away from the sticky situation and live to ride another day. To me, that is "win" already. :)

I Had THe Same Experience WIth A SUV too Just 3 days back,PIE saturday evening...

Packed But At Constang Speed,,Right Lane,,My fren was behind me...THat SUV tailgated him,,he changed lane,then tailgated me,,so i lane-split,and overtake taxi in front of me,alrdy goin at 90-100,the taxi was alrdy behind me was tailgated,so he too changed lane,then that suv tailgated me again,,so fedup with his lights reflecting on the mirror i too went to change lane and gave way,,he sped up,then it traffic was getting slower cos near BKE exit always lidat,my fren saw a woman was driving,,what a femme fatale...lols..

:angel: \M/Live To Rock,Ride To Keep Living\M/:angel:

Do you feel we need more tp one the roads? because i do. Or a 4 lane carriageway