hi, anyone have any idea that how to increase top speed for phantom? or bore engine? for ta200.changing smaller sprocket? any idea where?

wondering how to increase top speed for ta200.

all these would have only a minor improvement on your top speed... on a stock phantom 200 you should be able to hit 130km/h - 140km/h on your speedo...

but still... you shouldn't have chosen the phantom if you wanted speed... right...? :smile:

• Replies 3.6k

all these would have only a minor improvement on your top speed... on a stock phantom 200 you should be able to hit 130km/h - 140km/h on your speedo...

but still... you shouldn't have chosen the phantom if you wanted speed... right...? :smile:

yeah true, but increasing the speed like changing sprocket maybe will also decrease the FC :D i am only able to hit like max 135... but tats like when the bike is on form haha, normally i maintain at 120 . any further the engine seems like its going to piang haha.engine roaring loudly

screaming phoenix lol... btw if u wana feel more power maybe b u can pump a better grade petrol + better EO... but the difference is not very huge too... maybe a better pickup or smoother ride nias

i tried better fuel(msia vpower) (sg esso 98), motul 300v engine oil. but seems to me still the same. haha,tried agip engine oil also.

does putting engine oil to the max makes any difference? 1.4litre? or 1 bottle is more than sufficient?

Topping up with too much EO will cause churning (imagine a blender filled to the brim, its not going to work very well).

1 liter is more than enough.

1.4L???your bike may land up in bike ICU..

oh... omg... i tat time went to bike shop to service, the guy keep ask me buy 2 bottles of EO to top up, but i only settle down with 1 only.luckily , else i think i gonna spend a bomb on repairing it.

yeah true, but increasing the speed like changing sprocket maybe will also decrease the FC

Smaller rear sprocket (use bigger front sprocket to compensate) can increase top speed and decrease highway fuel consumption at the cost of low-end acceleration.

Some bikes have ridiculous gearing that give them scrambler like acceleration on the street but on the highway you need to rev up to 7000rpm to get to 120kph. This is bad for the engine and bad for FC. My old bike's performance on the highway vastly improved when I dropped sprocket from size 41 (stock) to 39. I even tried 37 but that's very impractical because the engine didn't have enough torque to make use of the longer legs. But very good for downhill cruising at comfortable rpms.

I'm willing to bet the TA200 has so much torque you can reduce rear sprocket one or even two sizes down if you find the bike too noisy at high speed and still retain most of the power. Yes, you will lose some in-gear acceleration, but since we have 6 gears just kick down one gear to accelerate then cruise at top gear for economy.

It's much more comfortable than having to rev 6th gear like mad to gain a competitive speed on the highway.

hi, anyone have any idea that how to increase top speed for phantom? or bore engine? for ta200.changing smaller sprocket? any idea where?

wondering how to increase top speed for ta200.

haha... no point increase de top speed... after all just a 2b bike... even u increase top speed... de bike will be come very unstable and dangerous... if u still wanna increase top speed and ride phantom... trade in ur 200 for 150.... hehe...

i tried better fuel(msia vpower) (sg esso 98), motul 300v engine oil. but seems to me still the same. haha,tried agip engine oil also.

wa... use so gd engine oil... haha... i think is overkill liao... buy chex9000 is gd enuff lo... no nid so gd like agrip... haha...

erm... too much eo if u put 1.4L... how much is indicate on de casing = how much u should put... try not go over it... if not changing of gear will b difficult, engine response will be laggy extra eo will come out from air filter which will b a waste of money and maybe it will cos ur engine to fail due to need more pressure to push the extra eo ard the engine...

Ex bikes ~ Yamaha X1, Honda Phantom TA150

Bajaj Pulsar 200 ~~~ 14/09/11 - ???

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/1871/dsc0087zjc.jpg

Blue Pulsar with Orange sprocket.. Cool???

haha... no point increase de top speed... after all just a 2b bike... even u increase top speed... de bike will be come very unstable and dangerous... if u still wanna increase top speed and ride phantom... trade in ur 200 for 150.... hehe...

wa... use so gd engine oil... haha... i think is overkill liao... buy chex9000 is gd enuff lo... no nid so gd like agrip... haha...

erm... too much eo if u put 1.4L... how much is indicate on de casing = how much u should put... try not go over it... if not changing of gear will b difficult, engine response will be laggy extra eo will come out from air filter which will b a waste of money and maybe it will cos ur engine to fail due to need more pressure to push the extra eo ard the engine...

i see, okay, thanks for the advice :D

changing the character of the bike...it wount be a chopper anymore.

You're right - leaving her as stock is definitely the best option for now. After I lost the convoy this morning I went up Benjamin Shears Bridge for the first time on the Phantom.

While the machine's weight is a definite big plus for cruising, I had to nurse out every bit of torque from the engine to maintain acceptable speed up the Rochor Road on-ramp to ECP. I wouldn't want to do that climb on a final drive geared for downhill cruise!

This experience indeed brings to light that the bike manufacturers do put some thought into the stock config. And yes, I didn't think of the uphill because my prev. bike was practically weightless compared to the Phantom!

Good practise to open up the right side cover to check the air filter & clean it regularly. Be sure it's completely dry when replaced.

If it has holes or tears, replace it. Dust in engine = bad for long term reliability.

How to clean air filter? And in the pic i attached, left one is a new one and right one is the old one. Time to change it?

21032010005.jpg

How to clean air filter? And in the pic i attached, left one is a new one and right one is the old one. Time to change it?

use air pressure to blow it/clean it will do.. thats what ah chong taught me..

go petrol kios. press the flat tire button

to blow dry lor

lao jiaos, do correct me if im wrong.

to my best knowledge, TA200's air filter is meant to buy, dirty liao = throw away and get a new one (it's not very expensive either for a new air filter)

unlike TA150's air filter which is different, it can be cleaned, recharge and reuse again.

TA200's filter is paper based and totally bone-dry, while TA150's filter is sponge based. there is oil injected into the sponge, when you touch it or squeeze it, you will see oil on your fingers.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

Are phantom knights one of the few choppers that uses 2T engine oil?

they are some of us riding 2 stroke engine TA150 aka Phantom 150. we do use 2T.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

my phantom is T4

lao jiaos, do correct me if im wrong.

to my best knowledge, TA200's air filter is meant to buy, dirty liao = throw away and get a new one (it's not very expensive either for a new air filter)

unlike TA150's air filter which is different, it can be cleaned, recharge and reuse again.

TA200's filter is paper based and totally bone-dry, while TA150's filter is sponge based. there is oil injected into the sponge, when you touch it or squeeze it, you will see oil on your fingers.

if im not wrong, ta200 can purhase those washable filter also.. But very expensive.. Not worth it.. i rather go LAB to buy a use and throw filter.. $10 only

if the starter button can't start up the bike due to bike not used for some time and we have to do a "push-start", what are the proper steps to do it?

Should I engage any of the gear?

If the ground in the carpark is flat throughout, do I sit on or push from the side of the bike? (cos the bike is very heavy and I have recovering back injuries).

if the starter button can't start up the bike due to bike not used for some time and we have to do a "push-start", what are the proper steps to do it?

Should I engage any of the gear?

If the ground in the carpark is flat throughout, do I sit on or push from the side of the bike? (cos the bike is very heavy and I have recovering back injuries).

Go to this link :

to see how to push start.

However, i feel that unless your bike had not been maintained properly, you should be able to start your bike after a few tries. Make sure your fuel needle is not turn off, i made that mistake once.

Thanks for clarifying the filter bit :)

Push start - it may be easier and safer for you to sit on the bike and get a friend to propel you from behind.

Or if you're like Mr Koh in Bayshore Condo basement carpark... just roll down the slope and hope you start before reaching the bottom :)

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3

My bike is eating up my EO and got chau tah smell. Can it because of a worn out clutch plate that cause this? Or my piston have give way? Ask around saying tat if piston have give way, my bike will have white smoke coming out from the exhaust, but mine boh leh. So i dun think it is piston. Wat you guys think...

clutch plates does not normally burn eo...if it is bad it slips..

if u see lots of white smoke... bike has entered the terminal phase already...

this does apply to ta 150 as some welcomes the smoke.

at the present moment your eo burnt..thats may indicate extremely high temperature in the engine..i think most probably the rings/cylinder bore or crank bearings are having a hard time..ie the rings may have scratched the bore...ie if the block is bad and reboring cannot help..means one thing the block needs replacement..

please seek the bike doc. chong for advise..as this is realy no joke..

the sooner u get it sorted out..the less headache in future..i mean financally.

Yeah.. I going to see him this afternoon.