I was looking for suit and realise many online stores are clearing MotoGP kangeroo compression suit. Plus shipping is ard S$1k...

Was just going to click order before I decide to google 'motogp suits' and this came out: http://forums.13x.com/showthread.php?t=130268

Anybody using kangeroo suits? I know they will be lighter and more comfortable but tearing apart? eeks!

Erm... MotoGP standards now are kangaroo suits. Maybe you can check with Rhema83, he was using the arlen ness top end gp replica kangaroo suit. Very light and comfortable, definitely as durable as cowhide. He crash-tested it also... Haha...

Snow, kangaroo leathers, though lighter, but will be as tough as cowhide. Just make sure you get right sizing as they dun seems to season up as easily as cowhide. Go get it if you can afford.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

• Replies 1.3k

who's gerry loois?

Tampines Industrial....behind Tampines Safra.

Hi guys

For the suit sizing, if u wear the suit and u can feel its back protector on ur back and the front sticks to ur chest making u feel that u need to stand abit

hunch back to feel breathing is easier, is the suit too tight and need to get a size bigger or is it consider just nice? The shoulder, arm and height all ok. Just the chest part.. Pls advise.. Thank alot!!

Hi guys

For the suit sizing, if u wear the suit and u can feel its back protector on ur back and the front sticks to ur chest making u feel that u need to stand abit

hunch back to feel breathing is easier, is the suit too tight and need to get a size bigger or is it consider just nice? The shoulder, arm and height all ok. Just the chest part.. Pls advise.. Thank alot!!

It is just nice. Leather will stretch over time.

Ok i did some ground check on Leather Suit available here..

Below $500

G-Max Suit available at Gerry Looi (Tampines) and Chiap Lee (Jalan Besar and Serangoon Road) Made in Pakistan

http://www.gmaxrace.com

Below $800

- R-Jay (not sure country made) at Regina

- Rev-it GT Corsa model (holland) at Chiap Lee (Jln Besar and Serangoon road)

http://www.revit.eu

Below $1500

- Dainese - Laguna Seca 2007 model at JR Pte Ltd (Serangoon Road near Bendemeer Sec Sch)

http://www.dainese.com

Guys please take note dat our Singapore market is very small.. Hence there is not so much choice available in terms of color/size.. Agent/Dealer dont bring in large quantity of stocks with diff size/color.. Mostly are limited..

I suggest if anyone REALLY looking for suit, please head down and try size then if it fits u plus within ur budget, grab it or at lease put some deposit as reservation b4 its gone.. Its always the case when u really wanna buy then no more size lah, color not wat u want lah.. bla bla bla..

I also noticed dat most common concern is the fittings of the leathers..

It is very very difficult to get a suit to really fit us from top to bottom..

As long as it does not restrict your movement dat shud do fine for most..

Or else head down to JR and CUSTOM MADE your own suit including the color choice or design.. Only Dainese does dat BUT be prepared to pay 50% more than the usual retail price.. :thumb:

http://photos-519.friendster.com/e1/photos/91/53/29333519/29650247456167l.jpg

Good info, Doc!

Check with me if you want a size that is not available, or if you want something different. Arlen Ness and Berik might have something you want. See http://www.bg-performance.com/2006/starbike/product-arlen-berik.asp. Sizes EU46 to EU58.

The basic one-piece suit starts at $1140 shipped, which is not bad. But I think the best deals are the high-end suits. An Arlen Ness GP replica will cost $1700 shipped compared to $2000++ for other brands.

i'm currently using Arlen Ness kangoo suits. but so far, haven't encounter any incident with it yet. so i can't comment much on the durability.

snowparang, the threadstarter of the thread ya posted cleared up the cut issue of the suit in tis thread. it was stated in post #11

http://forums.13x.com/showthread.php?p=1519674#post1519674

i too saw tis before i purchase my arlen ness kangoo suit.

I was looking for suit and realise many online stores are clearing MotoGP kangeroo compression suit. Plus shipping is ard S$1k...

Was just going to click order before I decide to google 'motogp suits' and this came out: http://forums.13x.com/showthread.php?t=130268

Anybody using kangeroo suits? I know they will be lighter and more comfortable but tearing apart? eeks!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

In addition to the brand of the suits, type of the leather, the other main important thing that plays the most important function is the armour/protectors i guess.

Some of the armours/protectors found in those branded suits looks like a thin plastics/rubber armour which I don't think can take the high impact of the crash.

But on some suits, the protectors/armours really thick and padded and may able to take the high impact of the crash.

But so far, only the elbows, shoulders and knees have the armour on most suits that available here.

I yet to see those like the moto GP ones (those thick protectors protecting their wrist right up to their elbow bones.

And how about chest/rib protectors. ( i mean protecting around the chest/rib).

Any suggestion/feedback on this matter?

Tks

I have tried on a few brands before although not actively on the track.

Texport - good feel and good price but make is a little raw.

Dainese - good feel, great designs, make is good, price is too high

RS Taichi - good feel, soft but feels too thin, price is quite high.

Rev'it - good feel, well made, good price (highly recommended)

Clover - good feel, soft, doesnt feel thin, very well made, price OK.

Alpinestars - Feels tough but a bit hard and thick. Price OK

Spyke - feels good, nice designs, price OK

Komine - thin, basic, doesnt feel protective enuff, cheap

this are my personal opinions after trying the suits.

please try, strectch bend, curl, kick, pull, squat before buying.

The moment somewhere uncomfortable, drop it no matter how cheap.

$1200 can get you a very solid suit already..........

Thx for the reviews, Im thinking of investing in a Touring jacket, mind i ask whether the reviews for Racing suits is da same as Touring suits? Sorry for posting in this thread but i can't find any informative thread for touring suits.

Thx for the help

I might be Left Handed, But I'm Always RIGHT

DIY list

1. Volt Meter

2. Air Box Mod

3. Electric Horn

4. Dual Head Light

5. Removing of Mid Pipe's Cat

Dainese veli Good ! :thumb:

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y153/nocturnized/Sep2.jpg

"Me don't love fighting... but is better to die fighting for freedom than to be a prisoner all the days of your life." - Bob Marley

i'm currently using Arlen Ness kangoo suits. but so far, haven't encounter any incident with it yet. so i can't comment much on the durability.

snowparang, the threadstarter of the thread ya posted cleared up the cut issue of the suit in tis thread. it was stated in post #11

http://forums.13x.com/showthread.php?p=1519674#post1519674

i too saw tis before i purchase my arlen ness kangoo suit.

Which model did you buy in the end? When did you buy it? Just curious...

In addition to the brand of the suits, type of the leather, the other main important thing that plays the most important function is the armour/protectors i guess.

Some of the armours/protectors found in those branded suits looks like a thin plastics/rubber armour which I don't think can take the high impact of the crash.

But on some suits, the protectors/armours really thick and padded and may able to take the high impact of the crash.

But so far, only the elbows, shoulders and knees have the armour on most suits that available here.

I yet to see those like the moto GP ones (those thick protectors protecting their wrist right up to their elbow bones.

And how about chest/rib protectors. ( i mean protecting around the chest/rib).

Any suggestion/feedback on this matter?

Tks

Are you talking about external armor or internal armor?

You should always buy a suit with good (preferably CE-approved) internal armor. They are the armor pieces that go inside the suit itselt. Good CE-approved armor has thermoplastic shell and foam lining. There should be armor for shoulders, elbows and knees at a minimum. Elbow armor should preferably cover some of your forearm. Some better suits come with hip armor.

External armor usually protects both you and the suit. It prevents the seams, especially at the joints, from ripping apart in a crash. Many MotoGP riders wear suits with external armor. Example is Alpinestars, worn by Stoner and Hayden. To take it further, some suits have Titanium armor which is much stronger than thermoplastic. Examples are Dainese, worn by Rossi, and Arlen Ness, worn by Barros.

So far, only the top-of-the-line suits come with a back protector. For example, the Alpinestar GP Replica, which is the same suit that the MotoGP riders wear. Being in the trade, I have not seen a suit that comes with a dedicated chest protector. Your best bet will be to buy a set of dedicated back protector and chest protector. The former prevents fatal or debilitating spinal injuries and the latter prevents painful rib fractures.

If you buy a reputable brand of suit with CE-approved armor, you are more or less okay.

Hi guys, was wondering will suits restricted movement of your leg movement?

If yes-is the suit of wrong size to the rider?

Your legs may have a little difficulty straightening. The suit should feel most comfortable when you are on the bike in a sporty riding position.

i bought tis in the end..

the red/white/black combi

http://www.bg-performance.com/2006/starbike/ARLENness/p1/53.jpg

wasn't really lookin at tis initially, intended to get the 2007 collection, but it wasn't out yet. also, tis is like the only size available for me when i was at the shop in hong kong during my holiday during early may. it doesn't look tat bad either, so i bought it.

Which model did you buy in the end? When did you buy it? Just curious...

i had tis problem too and i realised that it was caused by my boots. my gaerne comes with 2 buckles, which i like to buckle it fairly tight, as i like to have a snug fit feeling. never did i realise was tat, as i tuck the suit into the tight fitting boots, the boots was pulling the suits whenever i flex my legs. as such, i try to not buckle the boots so tightly from now on.

Your legs may have a little difficulty straightening. The suit should feel most comfortable when you are on the bike in a sporty riding position.

good suits. in a mss, quite a lot of malaysian riders wearing this

how about da clover suits at chiap lee?

i think da price is ok... 800+...

any comments on da suits?

It's by far the most affordable and good quality branding. You can also ask Andrea Diviosioso riding 250GP.

anybody selling their suits???

1 piece or 2 piece oso can.

i m 1.7m weight 65kg

Are you looking for a suit that won't hurt your wallet? A 1-piece suit can cost as low as $350.

Unless if you're looking for 2nd-hand branded ones, then ok, I see your intention to ask the peeps here :smile:

$500+ can buy you a GPR 2-piece suit with back hump, just like mine.

Oh, and don't forget -- set aside some money for boots as well.

See you on the track!