Stagnant? Damn right. The CBR400 guys seem to be having more fun.

Anyway, one way to see if your bike is restricted or un-restricted is to check out the speedo. If it reads up to 240km/h, it should be able to hit 220-230km/h tops (like mine).

Restricted bikes have speedos that read up to 180km/h only. If it was originally restricted but has been de-restricted, then there's no way of telling other than cracking it wide open on the highway.

Woohoo!!! mine shows 240km/h... that means i can race my way thru... heh heh... lets make this index alive again... YO ALL GSX PPL... THIS CALL IS HEADING TOWARDS YOU!!!

... but another thing... don't really know if it's a problem. my GSX4 begins to vibrate when going above 7-8000 rpm, but my fren says that his Gsx400 NEVER vibrates, at any speed and rpm... is he telling the truth?

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Guest TheSquid

hi guys...

me also new to 400s.

currently riding a ta200 but i have a small share on a rvf with my close friend.

tried the bike but .... like that loh.

fast but not "scary"

heard from people that gsx p model is faster than a rvf and more stable too. that true?

honestly, think i'll just get a gsx after i get my 2a (due 2 years ago!!!)

coz i think in terms of performance and maintetance, rather a gsx than a rvf.

so can i get more details on a g4?

greeting fellow gixxer fans.

i wanna share my experience too :sweat:

im on a 400 RP as some of you have met me over some prata or shopping ....

on the vibration part: engine internals dun really vibrate when stationary. only when u move and travel over uneven roads will cause the bike to vibrate. in this case. it should be the forks or the rear suspensions not at optimum. OR things like pillion foot rest vibrating or mirrors vibrating is pretty normal. btw, wad u mean by vibrating, handle bar shaking or something else?

Next on Guan Ho ( not Guan Ho cheong )

they got 2 branches. one at defu lane, the other one at rangoon road.

the former is the one i frequent and the latter is the HQ where all the spare parts are.

theres a good webbie on the net by a fellow s'porean gixxer. well written and close encounters with guan ho on his part. do a search and u will get ur answer.

as for my experience. there are the best in suzuki. experienced and well trained. know each part inside out. outside in.

eg.. hear the idling they know that im using the wrong plug liao.

sometimes i would rather pay *slightly* more to go to GH than to go elsewhere.

more specific. a shop at alexendra village quoted me set of sprockets and chain for 260.

another one at sin ming quoted me 280 with RK chain.

Guan ho charged me 330 for a set of original sprockets with RK x ring.

i rather pay the extra 50 bucks more and i feel safe that my sprockets are the original stuffs and workmanship is at its best.

btw, in case u were wondering ... aftermarket sprockets are cheaper than original ones. but they are not built to last. thus the pricey-ness.

i chose for durability. and for the 400, the bandit sprockets are compatable. so be wary when u change em coz u dunno wad the shop might give u.

another topic is that KS and GUAN HO argument.

what i know so far is that KS sells cheaper than guan ho.

argument being that agent cannot lower prices but distributor can.

i dunno the truth in it BUT ... nonick told me otherwise.....

any spares i would encourage u to shop around to do some scouting.

the next thing is about restriction.

what i know so far is that... Gixxers are all unrestricted.

reason: came in before 1995, commonly known as the FN onwards power cut.

but another argument surfaced... as u all have read the previous posts.. so ... ill reserve my doubts.

mine has a meter of up to 240. tried up to 200kmh or a 180 on 5th Gear at 10k RPM. max is 18k unlike honda makes of 16k. *no offence to rvf and cbr riders hor*

next part for Ae86

1. RK and DID x rings are comparable. juz like shoei and arai. DID shines better thou. must maintain propare chain care. lube-ing it not enuff. cleaning the chain is a must to prolong its life. better to change in a set rather then a piece. coz different wear and tear rate. stock is 520. i dunno wad the different number means.

2. brake bleeding is not costly. can DIY if u know how to. if not do together as a set lor

3. the pads must see whether worn out yet or not. u wan solid braking. use steel braided brake lines available at max epqt at 180 for a whole set of front and rear. (goodridge) without installation. use together with EBC brake pads. caution: will warp the disc. to counter this, change the joints on the discs to full floaters. credits go to il4 for his advice. and i have not tried EBC yet. steel braided hoses are encouraged and do not get tok-ed by unity like i did.

4. best to do a total flush.

5. carbs can be washed at a usual price of 80. guan ho does a good job, ET does a good job too. but combine does the best job so far. super through and excellent results. ps: im not condemning the other 2 shops

6.reccomended by agent is 15w50. Motul300V is solid stuff but burns a hole in ur pockets. alternative solutions can be mobil-one racing 4t. *mobil spends a lot on R&D* get from petrol kiosk. or TOTAL 4t for budget choices. liqi moly sucks and motorex aint that good. mebbe it deffers for different makes of machines.

wanna add that the 4t would lubricate the clutch plates and the pistons. ours are old bike liao. better use a good engine oil. spend that extra dollars lest to risk a piston overhaul that could cost u at least 800 bucks.

7. ori oil filter costs 20 bucks. best to change with every oil change if u got spare cash to spend. otherwise change one filter every 2 oil change.

8. i duno wad the heck is the fuel hose.

9. thirsty liao lah. go get a drink.

the bike starts to vibrate after 8000rpms... it's not the bump felt on uneven roads. And yes, it's on the handlebars and rider footpegs. The vibration is only slight though...

I know it may sound funny but my G4 vibrates much B4!! it actually hit 8K RPm..once beyond that...all I hear is a fierce and and smooth escalating "scream" from those inline 4s. A GSXR is suppose to be at it;s best at 8K rpm and above..anything below..expect underpower..vibrations..and sluggishness.

Y not organise a outing for G4?

So tat we can meet up and chat on the bikes.

As well as letting the experience riders take a look and share info on us newbie G4 rider.

Life short, play hard

You will be sorry when you see me.

Speed is not how fast you can go,

But how fast you can handle.

Ppl always think they\'re good but

It\'s others tat judge them not themselve.

that would be great...

... however, i went to 2 mechanics just now... and they said my piston rod is loose... aiyooooh.... and to do an overhaul will cost me $1k+++

ARGH... anybody with this problem before? maybe can recommend a motorshop at a better price...

$1k+++... i might as well trade it in for another bike...

loose nvm wan.

make sure when u rev that time observe that there is no white smoke coming out.

if not ...

means that the pistons rings are loose.

which in turn means that $ gotta be spent to fix it.

piston ring overhaul not equals to piston overhaul.

if no white smoke comes out. screw the mech. juz another one who wanna eats our hard earned $.

common problem in vehicles our age.

really?... thanx man...

... but the metal sound vibrating when i rev is really irritating. it's not loud, but it seems like the bike is not as smooth to ride as before...

really dunno to solve yr problem.

reccomended that u chk it out with a mech.

mechanics are not engineers

that would be great...

... however, i went to 2 mechanics just now... and they said my piston rod is loose... aiyooooh.... and to do an overhaul will cost me $1k+++

ARGH... anybody with this problem before? maybe can recommend a motorshop at a better price...

$1k+++... i might as well trade it in for another bike...

yo yo, i've got the same problem, mine is ridiculously underpowered in 1st gear. comparable to 2B bike wif pillon, according to my mechanic (to whom i trust my life with) its a case of worn piston rings. Engine loses compression during the combustion therefore causing a huge leak in power. IF, i stress on the big IF, wat he suspects is true then its abt $800++ down the toilet..... if its a engine Low End problem then its gonna be by the $1000s... btw our Gixxer4s from what i know are rather prone to piston rod damages. BTW, mines an L model born in '91 but cannot join the Gixxer4 club cos mine looks good on the outside but cannot make it on the inside.....

Hi, i\'m SoNiQUE. I like 2 wheelers.

yo yo, i've got the same problem, mine is ridiculously underpowered in 1st gear. comparable to 2B bike wif pillon, according to my mechanic (to whom i trust my life with) its a case of worn piston rings. Engine loses compression during the combustion therefore causing a huge leak in power. IF, i stress on the big IF, wat he suspects is true then its abt $800++ down the toilet..... if its a engine Low End problem then its gonna be by the $1000s... btw our Gixxer4s from what i know are rather prone to piston rod damages. BTW, mines an L model born in '91 but cannot join the Gixxer4 club cos mine looks good on the outside but cannot make it on the inside.....

when the piston rings are worn out, 4t starts leaking into the combustion process, thus emitting white smoke. if urs have no white smoke, its safe.

compression problems might be due to the worn out shim.

try to do shim clearance where possible.

if u free, bring ur baby down to guan ho (suzuki agent) to take a look

the best ive tried so far. highly experienced and reccomended.

might be juz a carb manifold/tuning problem after all.

u need the addy or number, do leave a msg

Hahaha.... SAME!!! mine has a Telefonica Movistar paintwork... wash and wax nearly every week. Looks excellent (to me at least) but the engine and front fork screwed up! I went to 2 mechs in Ubi and they told me i that my engine is in the initial stages of breaking down, and told me not to rev so much if i want my engine to live longer...

... i'm happy though that no smoke is coming out from the exhaust... no white smoke, no black smoke. :sweat:

Looks like we're in the same boat...

:cry: :confused: :smile: :cry: :confused:

josean: Thanx for all ur help bro....

i believe i should have seen u OTR before. not many telefonica 400s out there. mine is a black DIY improvised telefonica. urs is wad plate ?

My plate is FL

Black DIY improvised Telefonica?... Hmmm, never seen it yet. Maybe i'll keep a lookout from now on.

As for me, i used to ride at 120km/h average... but after my 6pt, $150 fine at PIE one unfateful evening, now i'm a law abiding motorist, riding an average of 90km/h... so if u spot a guy in a blue/yellow Telefonica Movistar GSX4 riding like a granny, it's me... riding as carefully as i can because i treasure my license... hehehe ;)

hi guys.. might join the club soon, if i can spare enough dosh... :sweat:

got a question for you guys, has the damping rod front fork setup of the GSXR bothered you in anyway? like, okay over humps and all, but diving during hard braking. or real sensitive ride, but humps are unnerving?

i know it's kinda early, given that i haven't tried the bike before, and don't own one by the way... has any of you guys thought about getting a racetech emulator? gives cartridge fork adjustability for damping rod forks. racetech doesn't like the GSXR400 on their website, but they do list a GSF400 Bandit... with a bit of luck, it oughta fit. how many guys interested? :D

jss... nobody organising, so no outing as yet...

Anyway, as for my engine problem, the sound from the engine was due to the air-jet (aka air intake) being too large, as told to me by my friend. so, i went to my fav. motorshop, told them to reduce the air-intake in the carb, and now the problem is GONE!!!! :sweat: PHEWWWW!!! :sweat:

my gixxer is now running like when i first bought it... WOOHOO!!! thank God! :cheer:

Anyway, thanx to everyone who contributed in helping me troubleshoot this problem, especially josean, who told me that no smoke=no worries... :smile:

anyone got fix steering damper on there beloved gixxer????

how much does a normal one cost (excluding ohlins) and dose it really helps in the conering????

2yrs of waiting. few accidents, tons of determination and lots of hard work!! now i am enjoying biking on my beloved Fazer!

yo bros, i'm looking for a gsxr400 pillon seat. anyone wanna sell? please call 96904964, wenbin.

thanks....

I LOVE u RS. Please dont breakdown. I\'m BROKE!!!

Wat's tis?

Where's the destination?

Life short, play hard

You will be sorry when you see me.

Speed is not how fast you can go,

But how fast you can handle.

Ppl always think they\'re good but

It\'s others tat judge them not themselve.

Hehe... sorry... missed out the most important info

Saturday 29/03/2003

1930hrs

GP Esso. Heading Kulai Makan

1)RicK GSXR400RR

2)Weixiong GSXR400RR

3)Melvin GSXR400RR

4)Vincent GSXR400RR