• Replies 1k

castrol chain wax make my chain yellowish....but the spill off only a little only

Yes, i noe itz kinda unsightly so maybe we can have a summary of the chain lubes dat does not fling off easily and dosen't stains?

"Contemplate thy powers, contemplate thy wants and thy connections; so shalt thou discover the duties of life, and be directed in all thy ways."

Guest safe

Hi juz wonder whether tis will help. I usually wax my chain at night and by the next a.m. it should have hardened and stick v well to the chain the flinging messy part is always minimal. Guess thick and ugly should offer better protection than a thin layer of oil or whatsoever. I'm considering fixing a scott oiler or a main stand to my phantom bcos whenever I wax chain, damn 'siong'.... spray n roll x many times.... Any comments?

Get a car jack to jack up ur rear wheel while pivoting on side stand will do the job. Did that and no more problems... :) Dunno if phantom can or not...

"Contemplate thy powers, contemplate thy wants and thy connections; so shalt thou discover the duties of life, and be directed in all thy ways."

waxing is done with the same purpose of lubricating the chain to reduce wear and tear. it's the same my friend. unless you wax the chain to remove hairs or something... :eek:

hehe... :D ok thanks...

bought plutoline (blue one) from LAB today, 7 bucks...then the moment i open, accidentally squirted a bit on my finger..damn! blue colour..lucky wipe off b4 it dried

anyway i not really sure how to spray leh..so i sprayed the sides of chain, both inside n outside

IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

If the above is chain, i sprayed the top n bottom (the horizontal lines)

now my whole chain like blue colour, save the centre portion :pity:

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

bought plutoline (blue one) from LAB today, 7 bucks...then the moment i open, accidentally squirted a bit on my finger..damn! blue colour..lucky wipe off b4 it dried

anyway i not really sure how to spray leh..so i sprayed the sides of chain, both inside n outside

i think u spray the wrong method...it suppose the pray the centre roller dat is the inner side....if u spray outer also can.......

Devil May Cry!!!

Rider May ........!~!!!!!

huh u mean should spray the vertical part of the I?

Er... for me i spray the join of the III where the O ring is and clean the side of the chain, so it go back to my gold colour... I'm not sure is this the best, but so far I find the feeling of the chain is very good.... what do the other say??

So how often u guys wax/lube ur chain?:confused:

Heard every 500km if not after every heavy raining day.. :sweat:

Any comments?? :smile:

:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

http://www.gixxer.com/photopost/data/505/4377LavillaDesktop2.jpg

none or few of u mention professional chain lube from rock oil.. its the best i've used so far.. but now no more stock.. they stop importing from hq quite long ago.. dunno when will come back again.. I'll sure use it if it comes back..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Guest Paultheball

Just wanna ask if its alright to lube the chain every 2 weeks? Thanks :smile:

Anyone here knows hw to removed dirt tat struck on2 my steed 'O' ring?

Do i use degreaser,kerosene or diesel?

If possible,SMS me at 91727875 for the solution,thaxs

May the FORCE be with u whenever u RIDE

ya u r right

was told by my mechanic to spray the both horizontal part..

the vertical part no need waste your lube..

i usually lube my chain once a week(when i wash bike). :D

So how often u guys wax/lube ur chain?:confused:

Heard every 500km if not after every heavy raining day.. :sweat:

Any comments?? :smile:

:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

yes it can be done tis way too....

Devil May Cry!!!

Anyone here knows hw to removed dirt tat struck on2 my steed 'O' ring?

Do i use degreaser,kerosene or diesel?

use kerosene or diesel is the best....

Devil May Cry!!!

Guest quizesilver
none or few of u mention professional chain lube from rock oil.. its the best i've used so far.. but now no more stock.. they stop importing from hq quite long ago.. dunno when will come back again.. I'll sure use it if it comes back..

sorry got alot of qns here goes...

hmm so rock oil or PJ1 is better ?

how to u all tell which is better?

where to get both of them?

at other topic i was told PJ1 can buy at mah motor opps sim lim tower...

how abt this rock oil? anyppl got any idea where to get...

wan to ask also ...

for me i juz keep adding on the putoline chain wax frm LAB... do i need to remove all the wax den respray another layer?

How come this chain wax u all say is frm thailand. for mine all are english or some dun noe wat country and seem like it came frm holland dun have any thai wording.

how u all remove it all? i see some use diesel or kerosene.

so how to remove ... juz pour them one the chain or use a cloth or something dip it den wipe the chain or use a brush to give it a gd brushing?

pls advise

thks

Just to confirm: Is the rock oil lube made in US? I have seem lots of bottles at this bike shop in Balestier called Wing Yap. It looks a bit dodgy to me but since the old birds here says its good, why is it good? Mind enlightening me?

both lube is good.. i tried both.. rock oil is veri stickly.. for best results leave it for overnite..

i got my PJ1 form HKL @ $7 if i remember correctly..:)

wan to ask also ...

for me i juz keep adding on the putoline chain wax frm LAB... do i need to remove all the wax den respray another layer?

How come this chain wax u all say is frm thailand. for mine all are english or some dun noe wat country and seem like it came frm holland dun have any thai wording.

how u all remove it all? i see some use diesel or kerosene.

so how to remove ... juz pour them one the chain or use a cloth or something dip it den wipe the chain or use a brush to give it a gd brushing?

give it a good wet brushing wif diesel.. all dirt will come off. :D

pls advise

thks

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y281/Saintdudu/desaru%20080706/allbikes2.jpg

U cAn SpEeD .... bUt CaN u StOp In TiMe??

"SpeEd On BrOtHeR, HELL AiNt FULL

PoWeR iS nOtHiNg WiThOuT cOnTrOl

what is the meaning of chain spoil??

what kind symtoms/sound will we hear or see when a chain is spoilt??

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

Hello guys.

Hope I can shed some light on the sticky situations we face when confronted with the problem of lubricating our motorcycle drive chains.

QN: What can I use to clean my drive chain?

ANS: Diesel fuel, kerosene or lightweight lubricating oil. Diesel and kerosene should be cleaned off thoroughly after you're done. Avoid using sprays like WD40 and RP7.

AT ALL COSTS avoid using PETROL, THINNER or any highly volatile solvent.

QN: What can I use to lube my chain?

ANS: Good old SAE40 engine oil is the best to use. Avoid heavier oils as they gunk up the countershaft sprocket cover and the rear wheel and sprocket.

Lighter oils such as 10W40 engine oil work very well to keep your chain and sprocket clean and free of dirt. Since the oil is lightweight it displaces road grime easily whilst providing protection for your o-ring chain. However, you'll need to lube your chain very frequently.

Spray on chain waxes and lubes are great for keeping water and dirt away but they attract fine road grit and are a pain to clean off. They also form a fine, but abrasive paste on the inside of your countershaft sprocket cover that can wreak havoc if it gets on your chain.

Apply chain waxes when the chain is HOT for maximum penetrative effect.

QN: How often should I clean my chain?

ANS: A basic, yet effective quideline would be...

Of course, increase the frequency of cleaning in dirty or wet conditions. Increase the frequency of cleaning if you do sustained high-speed riding.

LUBE: SAE 10W40

INTERVAL: Every 200km, no cleaning needed.

LUBE: SAE40

INTERVAL: Every 300km, clean every 600km.

LUBE: Chain wax

INTERVAL: Every 500km, clean every 1000km.

QN: What do I use?

ANS: SAE 40 engine oil. Once a month I clean my chain with kerosene. I replace chains every 40,000km.