We officers are doing Security check not any Customer service thing to u. So what if it's Aetos or Cisco officer, they have every right in the checkpoint to check ur identity. There are employ by ICA, they are the specialist in their job. There are signs to off ur engine & to take off ur helmet, just obey to it.

haiz i think sometimes security officers (like the security guards at office buildings or school gates) also get it the hard way ... if the mas selamat kind can get across, they kena very badly. If their 'attitude' not good, they also kena complain :sian:

give and take lor, live and let live

Lessons:

1) Dont panic. Panic make you cannot use brain

2) Dont dream on the road :faint: ...

3) Look at where you're going and your own bike ... dont peep at others one :dot:

• Replies 137

haiz i think sometimes security officers (like the security guards at office buildings or school gates) also get it the hard way ... if the mas selamat kind can get across, they kena very badly. If their 'attitude' not good, they also kena complain :sian:

give and take lor, live and let live

they can be effective and courteous in discharging their duties. there is no law saying you cannot be courteous and also be effective in discharging your duties.

it's just a matter of want, or DON'T WANT. or simply put it as, can't be bothered.

by being aggressive with civilians or possible terrorist, you think that terrorist will be scared? think again.. their thinking in set in stone to cause destruction. bummer..:sian:

things that happen at custom

how abt i buy singapore ciggie ,then never open

come back to sing

the custom officer wanna tax me

but still that doesn't give you or the rest of the officers working at checkpoints the authorities to shout/yell at civilians. period. by aRcHeR

I guess u did something which irritated the officer that he/she hav to yell and scream at u, Work in the checkpoint as any appointed officer there, n u noe how it feels 1 officer clearing thousands of u ppl out there everyday, who just disobey, every little thing must tell u what to do, when u ppl have always come to checkpoint to be screen.

If u guys think u ppl pay tax, officer aso pay tax. No different to any of u out there.

Like what i say b4, u ppl trying to gamble n test the officer, bringing kfc, which already stated no meat & chicken. but u ppl are stuborn. don't u deserve it. Do u know that some officer felt guilty for throwing away stuff which can be eaten. After all we are humans. But no choice, tat is their rice bowl. they hav to follow procedures conducted by other agency.

Spore ciggrattes wil not be tax

is it ??

i didi open it and i am forced to open to show him the SDPC

he still say can tax me leh

but still that doesn't give you or the rest of the officers working at checkpoints the authorities to shout/yell at civilians. period. by aRcHeR

I guess u did something which irritated the officer that he/she hav to yell and scream at u, Work in the checkpoint as any appointed officer there, n u noe how it feels 1 officer clearing thousands of u ppl out there everyday, who just disobey, every little thing must tell u what to do, when u ppl have always come to checkpoint to be screen.

If u guys think u ppl pay tax, officer aso pay tax. No different to any of u out there.

Like what i say b4, u ppl trying to gamble n test the officer, bringing kfc, which already stated no meat & chicken. but u ppl are stuborn. don't u deserve it. Do u know that some officer felt guilty for throwing away stuff which can be eaten. After all we are humans. But no choice, tat is their rice bowl. they hav to follow procedures conducted by other agency.

You know what?

KFC and McDonald's staff are also under constant pressure during lunch time and peak hours. Customers are impatient. Customers change their orders at the last minute. Customers are demanding. Customers can be assholes....

And yet they have to keep their cool no matter what.

I guess the uniform does play a role in the attitude eh? :angel:

But yes, I agree abt the part abt guilty throwing away food.

Ppl in Africa are dying of starvation everyday, and yet they're given a directive by the ICA for throwing away perfectly good food from KFC or McDonalds... which is seriously a big WTF ... because what the fuuck is the diff if we finish the food in JB or da bao into SG?

Quarantine?? If there's something in the fuucking food, the disease is already carried into the country anyway if I ate it in JB even.

The logic of this is lost on me.

Maybe Singaporeans should all be given a directive to pack enough rations for their overseas trip and be ordered under threat of conviction should they eat food overseas. :lol: :p

Edited by DeusExMachina

This is not targeted at you personally. I just wanna comment on this general characteristic of customs officers.

These officers have a face that look as if you owed them a living. Hand passport over also bin chao chao. Talk also cannot talk properly, but grunt in short bursts. So, you wear uniform and sit up there, can treat the rest of us citizens as minions? Your job is important, so you can be so atas and rude to people?

One customs officer I met was so arrogant that I felt like slapping his face and tell him my job is also high security, need ISD to clear 10 generations of my family that type.

I'm not expecting these customs officers to smile and do customer service. Just treat us with some respect and don't be so anal. Once I rode into the wrong lane at Tuas (I missed the very tiny "motorcycle lane" sign). The customs officer refused to clear me, and insisted that I reverse all the way to join the correct queue. Sure, I was blind and missed the sign, but since traffic was light and I wasn't cutting anybody's queue (no car behind me), couldn't she have just cleared me too? But I didn't even have to ask. She just waved me aside with an irritated look.

Just because she has the power, she wants to wield it. That's her right of course. What little tiny bit of power they have, they want to show off. That's fine.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg
This is not targeted at you personally. I just wanna comment on this general characteristic of customs officers.

These officers have a face that look as if you owed them a living. Hand passport over also bin chao chao. Talk also cannot talk properly, but grunt in short bursts. So, you wear uniform and sit up there, can treat the rest of us citizens as minions? Your job is important, so you can be so atas and rude to people?

One customs officer I met was so arrogant that I felt like slapping his face and tell him my job is also high security, need ISD to clear 10 generations of my family that type.

I'm not expecting these customs officers to smile and do customer service. Just treat us with some respect and don't be so anal. Once I rode into the wrong lane at Tuas (I missed the very tiny "motorcycle lane" sign). The customs officer refused to clear me, and insisted that I reverse all the way to join the correct queue. Sure, I was blind and missed the sign, but since traffic was light and I wasn't cutting anybody's queue (no car behind me), couldn't she have just cleared me too? But I didn't even have to ask. She just waved me aside with an irritated look.

Just because she has the power, she wants to wield it. That's her right of course. What little tiny bit of power they have, they want to show off. That's fine.

sounds like premas

Ppl in africa hav no food, so did u send any of your rations to them? i tink not. i noe u r so fed-up with the loss of ur chicken. In spore we hav kfc rite.

For the wrong lane thing, off course we can't clear u if u went in to the wrong lane. u hav to be where u r, it is good enough she ask u to join back the que, then make u go to the office n make u u-turn 1 big round, which gonna make u curse n swear.

spore ciggrates r not taxable

after all not all officer are bad, stuck up n so on.

Ppl in africa hav no food, so did u send any of your rations to them? i tink not. i noe u r so fed-up with the loss of ur chicken. In spore we hav kfc rite.

Just follow orders, don't think, don't question.

Template answer, right? You guys are good at this, I know. :angel:

What's the rationale for refusing KFC? It's not raw poultry. :angel:

Nevermind lah. Don't bother to answer. It's prob way above your paygrade anyway. :p

I'm just ribbing you.

Edited by DeusExMachina
For the wrong lane thing, off course we can't clear u if u went in to the wrong lane. u hav to be where u r, it is good enough she ask u to join back the que, then make u go to the office n make u u-turn 1 big round, which gonna make u curse n swear.

"Cannot" or "Won't"? Makes a big difference. That's why I said anal.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg
"Cannot" or "Won't"? Makes a big difference. That's why I said anal.

They should be able to. The systems in the booth should all the same.

Eg: I've seen them simply move the barricades around a car lane to "convert" it into a bike lane when car traffic was down.

It's matter of want or don't want. Trust me, if you ride into the wrong area, they could simply clear you if they wanted too. But most of the time, they're not gonna be that helpful... Easier to tekan you and make you go one big roung. More fun to watch too, probably.

Still under meat product which u cant bring to spore.. even though it is cook, raw, steam, or any way it is cook.

Can't means can't.. we hav camera's to detect the mode of transport. if any dumb officer clear u, i guess the officer hav to write one long statement why they clear u on thee wrong zone, officer get warning n scolded by superior. u can happily go jb, but the officer is suffering. If that ever happens la..

Still under meat product which u cant bring to spore.. even though it is cook, raw, steam, or any way it is cook.

Can't means can't.. we hav camera's to detect the mode of transport. if any dumb officer clear u, i guess the officer hav to write one long statement why they clear u on thee wrong zone, officer get warning n scolded by superior. u can happily go jb, but the officer is suffering. If that ever happens la..

Yeah, I think we get your picture.

Can't means can't, just follow orders without question right? :angel:

Things that happens to me at the Checkpoint.

I stop my bike at the booth.

Take out my helmet.

Dig into my pocket to pull out my passport with much difficulty and almost always, it brings a smile to the immigration dude/girls.

They stamp my passport with a smile. I take it with a grin and waddle off to the side after taking away the Cashcard.

Then, I put on my fullface again. Mostly, have to remove my gloves cos puttin on the D-rings ain't gonna be possible if I wanna blast off within 1 minute (which is the highlight of eagerly going into NSH, of course)

Then I move off and await the big hump to come and tell me "FIRE ON!!!"

Ok. My life is just simple, really.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Things that happens to me at the Checkpoint.

I stop my bike at the booth.

Take out my helmet.

Dig into my pocket to pull out my passport with much difficulty and almost always, it brings a smile to the immigration dude/girls.

They stamp my passport with a smile. I take it with a grin and waddle off to the side after taking away the Cashcard.

Then, I put on my fullface again. Mostly, have to remove my gloves cos puttin on the D-rings ain't gonna be possible if I wanna blast off within 1 minute (which is the highlight of eagerly going into NSH, of course)

Then I move off and await the big hump to come and tell me "FIRE ON!!!"

Ok. My life is just simple, really.

That's like going out of SG right? :D

I like the simple life. But why not be adventurous for once?

Try bringing back a Ramli burger or KFC chicken the next time you come back in. Who knows? It might make for interesting conversation. :p

they can try checking my cargo when i return from my routine Thailand trips. Confirm take at least 30-45 minutes.

u different!! u potential smuggler!! :angel:

shld i change the title of the thread to "debation btw officers at custom checkpoints & civilian"? think it will b better rite?

i didn't know putting my heavy bag down before moving my bike into the proper 'parking lot' was an offence.

you choose the career path, nobody forced you or them to do it. you want to do it, do a good job.

officer also pay tax, so indirectly they are their own paymaster, and you meant that that give them the right to yell at civilians?

just for your info, whatever a civilian do, an officer have no right to yell or scream at him/her, unless the civilian has committed a crime or offense.

it's bullshit to me saying you can't clear if we are in the wrong lane.

i have seen senior officers upon seeing long queue in bike lanes and near empty car lanes, he just swing open the gate to expedite clearance for bikers.:thumb:

the officer inside still LL have to do the immigration clearance for bikers.

it is still the same procedure, just different type of motorist.

That's like going out of SG right? :D

I like the simple life. But why not be adventurous for once?

Try bringing back a Ramli burger or KFC chicken the next time you come back in. Who knows? It might make for interesting conversation. :p

kana at first link before le ..

officer ask me to woof it down my throat or bin it away

shld i change the title of the thread to "debation btw officers at custom checkpoints & civilian"? think it will b better rite?

how about 'checkpoint officers vs civilians? "