African Twin Lovers,here the specs

chrisonance

The original shock(showa) which is the same quality as all honda bikes. Therefore it can last as long as all other bikes using showa shocks. Its lifespan may be shorter if the rider is too big(>90kg)+ AT is quite heavy and e style of riding eg. dashin a hump, takin a jump, or goin offroad for a long distance(highway in cambodia) etc etc.... I believe this truly applies to other bikes as well... If u r riding it like a road bike n provided u r not huge, the shock can last as long as its engine....

P.S. Those who weighed below 85kg riding class 2bikes would not make a fuss out of their suspensions... if ang mohs can ride them, sure can we!!! :D :D :D

Life is Short...... Ride Hard!!!

http://www.intertanko.com/tankerfacts/sizes/images/t11.jpg

• Replies 342

The original shock(showa) which is the same quality as all honda bikes. Therefore it can last as long as all other bikes using showa shocks. Its lifespan may be shorter if the rider is too big(>90kg)+ AT is quite heavy and e style of riding eg. dashin a hump, takin a jump, or goin offroad for a long distance(highway in cambodia) etc etc.... I believe this truly applies to other bikes as well... If u r riding it like a road bike n provided u r not huge, the shock can last as long as its engine....

P.S. Those who weighed below 85kg riding class 2bikes would not make a fuss out of their suspensions... if ang mohs can ride them, sure can we!!! :D :D :D

but if include pillion definitely more than 90kg already...

assuming not using to do extreme offroad..but just for long distance?

what would the lifespan be? est?

btw, is there a thread comparing vara and AT?

Ishi no aru tokoro ni hoho ari

(Where there\'s a will there\'s a way)

Can't blame him. AT is such a good bike but maintainence is really way beyond imagination should it break down.

In terms of maintenance, AT considered to be 1 of the lowest liao(class 2 bikes of cos).... :bounce:

would be good, if someone could provide the figures?

or websites to compare???

but if include pillion definitely more than 90kg already...

assuming not using to do extreme offroad..but just for long distance?

what would the lifespan be? est?

btw, is there a thread comparing vara and AT?

Of cos i m referin to the weight of e rider onli... I do believe other class2 bikes using showa shocks oso have pillions rite? As i said b4... again.... it's e same as other bikes using showa shocks... :D

Can't blame him. AT is such a good bike but maintainence is really way beyond imagination should it break down.

In terms of maintenance, AT considered to be 1 of the lowest liao(class 2 bikes of cos).... :bounce:

For standard maintenance- nuthin much 2 calculate(or u can calculate urself :D )... eng oil(3 bottls)... oil filter(1 honda OEM).. n tatz abt it...As for wear n tear, it's the same as other bikes... too much 2 mention here.. :eek: I tink towards the end is tat ppl wanna find out whether AT is problematic or not rite? Well I can tell u it's not... :bounce:

thanks! :p

btw, u riding AT now? any probs u encounter dat u wanna share?

chris> I tink we had discussed abt e shock b4. Remember?.... no pt keep on repeatin e same old question... if u r worryin abt tis n tat constantly... y dun u change ur "dream bike"? Pls 4give me for being so straightforward... I'm juz tryin 2 make u c things clearly... m i rite? cheers!! :smile:

Sorry, if dis qn is repeated. but normally how long can the suspension last? including pillion. and which is better vara or AT?

Really sorry, if dis qns are repeated. If there is such a qn pose before. Can someone direct me the thread? sorry....

come on lah. Look at it this way, if u have the money to buy a class 2 bike, u should also have the money to buy class 2 bike parts. That's the cost of riding class 2 bikes mah. cannot be helped. Tyres are bigger, engine is bigger, so don't u think your maintenance cost is bigger? ;)

http://carblueprints.info/design/images/logos/triumph-logo.png

chris> I tink we had discussed abt e shock b4. Remember?.... no pt keep on repeatin e same old question... if u r worryin abt tis n tat constantly... y dun u change ur "dream bike"? Pls 4give me for being so straightforward... I'm juz tryin 2 make u c things clearly... m i rite? cheers!! :smile:

Sorry, if dis qn is repeated. but normally how long can the suspension last? including pillion. and which is better vara or AT?

Really sorry, if dis qns are repeated. If there is such a qn pose before. Can someone direct me the thread? sorry....

come on lah. Look at it this way, if u have the money to buy a class 2 bike, u should also have the money to buy class 2 bike parts. That's the cost of riding class 2 bikes mah. cannot be helped. Tyres are bigger, engine is bigger, so don't u think your maintenance cost is bigger? ;)

clear a lot of my doubts thanx gan n spoffy....

well At indeed a good bike enduring to be precise... as fro class two i will definately go for my dream bike... maintenance wise guess just gotta work more OT n shift lor.... still got 3 months before class two.. thanx pals.. both of u r great!!!!

:shy: cHrIsOnAnCe :makeup:

:box: OnE tHaT s|tS oN PoRcH sW|Ng :cheeky:

:lovestruck: aPaRt By E mOOn N sTaRs :lovestruck:

:smooch: LoOk|nG @ skY tH|NkInG :dozed: oF CB1000/Fz1000 !!!:smooch:

so why not allow me to add in a last statement to dissolve all the disputes. chris, we can't worry so much about this and that will spoil, who can name the 1 bike that guarrante no faults will occur, so just do it, if not end up with nothing if keep on worrying...... :smile:

The Second Is The First Loser

so why not allow me to add in a last statement to dissolve all the disputes. chris, we can't worry so much about this and that will spoil, who can name the 1 bike that guarrante no faults will occur, so just do it, if not end up with nothing if keep on worrying...... :smile:

agreed.... but if only we all got loadsa money... :D :D :D

i think i just settle for a miniature model... hee

agreed.... but if only we all got loadsa money... :D :D :D

i think i just settle for a miniature model... hee

dun worry i pillion u when i gt my AT... :lol: :lol: :lol:

wow thats ALOT

yup tatz a lot compared to other bikes. wait till u c those 43L aftermarket tank!! 1 full tank can send u frm spore to thailand(border) wifout refuellin!!

hahaha ;) tatz true......as i say yesterday....i ever pump more than 25lit....till the neck of the tank.......n i travel more than 500km b4 next refuellin...BUT dun 4get where n how u ride it.......it makes diff in the mileage :bounce: :cheer: these 2 r just the basic to conider.......n there more technical things to consider if u r the serious type..... :p :lol:

mid96-end'96 RD350

end'96-1999 CBR hurricane

1999-2000 S4 vtec

2000-2002 R1

2002-2005 XRV750

2005-;) bm Rseries

If ur fuel pump is spoilt, there will b no fuel flowin into e carbs. So ur bike will cease... majiam like no fuel like tat even though there is still fuel in ur tank... i suspect ur timing is out or piston rings worn out... does ur engine oil level go down(burnt)?

hey buddy.... :bounce: dun scared ppl la with the timing or piston worn off.... :p yea AT in the previous model do have fuel pump problem.....but i guess mine dun have any problem.....not too sure y???mayb mine not a parellel import type.......anyway if u guy got that kinda of prob.....just get the pump change n everything will back to norm.... :bounce: n u can jump like this jumpin ballz :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :lol:

i roughly knoe wats wrong with the pump but diff to explain here.....

mid96-end'96 RD350

1999-2000 S4 vtec

2000-2002 R1

2002-2005 XRV750

2005-;) bm Rseries

sian keep seeing AT but cant own one... will definately try to save one n pillion the girl of my dream

i tell u loh, 8 out of 10 girls will hv difficulty appreciating AT. most of the girls i tok to have their eyes only on R1 or G1. 1 of my friend cant even get a AT becos his gf doesnt like it. hahaha. so yr dream girl like AT?

Can someone brain wash my ger so that I can buy R1 or K1

hehe brainwash with bleech.... :shades: jokin ya.....4 yur info.....mayb can print tis n show it to gerl....i do own a R1 b4 AT......guess wat it cost me $25K to buy theR1 in 2000 n i had an accident in the yr 2001 after using it for 1.5yrs......its really a devils bike tat i ever rode.....but bcause of the accident the R1 got to be scrap bcause of some fracture n i loseout $10k in the value.......i admited to the hospital for a wk.....n had my left colar bone fracture n other minor injury.......intend to get the the 2003 R1 initally but then my soul told me to stay away from the superbike for the rest of my bike..... :pity:

anyway i can stop u from buyin R1.....BUT do checkout the insurance u gotta pay.....hear from my frnz...its not like wat i used to pay in the yr 2000 n presently......lastly AT is still the rugged bike ive ride.....CHEERS!!!

mid96-end'96 RD350

1999-2000 S4 vtec

2000-2002 R1

2002-2005 XRV750

2005-;) bm Rseries

The revival of AT thread...

How the acceleration of AT??

Can someone lend me ride around carpark on their AT.

I wanna test test!

I wanna test test also.. jio me along if u have such lobang in future :p

see someone by named of dan post this at singnet classfied... :p

how true is it? african owner pls comments? :confused:

FN plate 4k or less FP plate 4k to 5.5k FQ plate 6k to 6.5k FR plate 7k to 7.5k FS plate 7.5k to 8.5k Pls reply if only you are willing to sell at these prices. Pls remember that insurance has gone up and bike prices are at an all time low. A BRAND NEW Africa Twin with no insurance cost 14.7k.

cos i remember AT750 OTR with 2nd party insurance is about 18.7k... :smile:

FN plate 4k or less FP plate 4k to 5.5k FQ plate 6k to 6.5k FR plate 7k to 7.5k FS plate 7.5k to 8.5k Pls reply if only you are willing to sell at these prices. Pls remember that insurance has gone up and bike prices are at an all time low. A BRAND NEW Africa Twin with no insurance cost 14.7k.

Hey Chris , there's a gathering of AT riders every Thurs at Simpang Bedok around 10 pm , can drop by and hear the various views :D

Dun go to Simpang n tell e boys abt e above-mentioned prices unless u wanna kana whacked... :D U hv been warned....

Warh....he siao izit...? Where in the world would anyone wanna sell their AT for such low prices..? Telling us rising insurances is a major hurdle for him is all crap!!! I bet he could get at least 3rd party insurance for about $600++. Brand new AT without insurance is about $15.3K, and wat about registration fees, IU unit...etc etc...? Most probly will add up to 18.7K like wat Chris mentioned with insurance.

===================================

I Dun Horn, But Will Cursed You To Go To Hell :angry:

===============================

No Matter How Fast You Are.....Someone Out

=========================

There Is Always Ahead Of You :angry:

Warh....he siao izit...? Where in the world would anyone wanna sell their AT for such low prices..? Telling us rising insurances is a major hurdle for him is all crap!!! I bet he could get at least 3rd party insurance for about $600++. Brand new AT without insurance is about $15.3K, and wat about registration fees, IU unit...etc etc...? Most probly will add up to 18.7K like wat Chris mentioned with insurance.

i agreed with u AFT777. tha why i am thinking how come so cheap.

Btw if take new AT wans to bid plate.. how i go about doing??? must gop where to see nice nos plate online??? :confused:

My number plate is actually transfer over from another scram bike. Cos i told the shop boss, if he help me find the number i want, i will buy the AT from him. And warh.....he really got it for me by buying over the bike and sell me the number plate. But for all i know, if you want really really nice number, its very hard to bid by your ownself as you really need alot of $$$ to compete with all the 'big boys' out there. In fact, MAH motor is usually the one with the most nice number.

===============================

No Matter How Fast You Are.....Someone Out

=========================

There Is Always Ahead Of You :angry: