• Replies 5.6k

First and foremost, would like to apologise for 'gate-crashing' on this thread.

Cos I dun own a TLR but a GSXR instead.

Anyway, I wanna check my TPS setting and I figured that this is a good place to ask cos I read that some of you guys here DIY yer TPS and TBS.

Tink the GSXR and TLR TPS adjustment is similar.

Is this the correct way to go abt doing it?

1. Turn on the ignition.

2. Jumper into dealer mode with a paperclip

3. Crank start the bike.

4. If no errors, it will show the TPS adjustment symbols rite?

5. Set to proper idle (1200+/-) using the throttle stop adjustment screw

6. Ensure that the line on the display is in the center.

7. If not, then loosen the screws securing the TPS and adjust the TPS till the line centers. Retighten screws.

8. Do i unjumper then kill the engine or kill 1st then unjumper? Or it does not matter?

Originally posted by tracky@Sep 27 2005, 02:27 PM

First and foremost, would like to apologise for 'gate-crashing' on this thread.

Cos I dun own a TLR but a GSXR instead.

Anyway, I wanna check my TPS setting and I figured that this is a good place to ask cos I read that some of you guys here DIY yer TPS and TBS.

Tink the GSXR and TLR TPS adjustment is similar.

Is this the correct way to go abt doing it?

1. Turn on the ignition.

2. Jumper into dealer mode with a paperclip

3. Crank start the bike.

4. If no errors, it will show the TPS adjustment symbols rite?

5. Set to proper idle (1200+/-) using the throttle stop adjustment screw

6. Ensure that the line on the display is in the center.

7. If not, then loosen the screws securing the TPS and adjust the TPS till the line centers. Retighten screws.

8. Do i unjumper then kill the engine or kill 1st then unjumper? Or it does not matter?

Sound like you know your stuff.

If the line is in the centre... rev the engine a bit to 1,400rpm and the line shud move up... otherwise set it as you have described.

Instead of using a paperclip, better to get a shirt length of wire and expose the 2 ends and then roll em up so that they can be pushed into the sockets.

Shut off engine before you fit and unfit the jumper... so as to prevent any accidental power surge.... due to sparking contact.

Have fun... Great bike... if you need Teka... I have a Teka SFI... can borrow.. pay me kopi $ a bit la... cost me USD595 + USD32 for shipping... but great fun with it ;-)

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Sep 26 2005, 07:25 PM

where is everyone sia?

still here bro... just tied up with work..

I am getting some 4mm think spacers done in case anyone of you want it.. lmk.

It's for the rear shock mount to raise the bike a wee bit to improve the handling

Originally posted by johntan@Sep 27 2005, 09:27 PM

Sound like you know your stuff.

If the line is in the centre... rev the engine a bit to 1,400rpm and the line shud move up... otherwise set it as you have described.

Instead of using a paperclip, better to get a shirt length of wire and expose the 2 ends and then roll em up so that they can be pushed into the sockets.

Shut off engine before you fit and unfit the jumper... so as to prevent any accidental power surge.... due to sparking contact.

Have fun... Great bike... if you need Teka... I have a Teka SFI... can borrow.. pay me kopi $ a bit la... cost me USD595 + USD32 for shipping... but great fun with it ;-)

hey johntan,

thanks for the confirmation :)

time to get my hands dirty :D

I may just take you up on yer Teka offer once i get all the odds and ends sorted out on my bike

tracky

Originally posted by shoei@Sep 28 2005, 09:26 AM

what spacers??

rear shock or subframe?

The original spacers are about 7mm thick (item 11) and ID is 20mm and OD is 30mm.

I have checked with the good people at the TLPlanet and max we can go is 11mm, so that is an additional 4mm spacer (same items as "11" but 4mm thick).

Any more and the bolt will not be able to pass thru the frame sufficiently for the nut to bolt down the (rear shock top mount) bracket.

http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/showthread....&threadid=55555

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y131/JTBMX/TLRRearShock.jpg

the shipping is about USD70.

last time i bidded one CBR900 ohlin shock from USA, the seller quote me this price...

you may need to bid US350 and above to get this shock, last time i bidded USD350, but end up still lose to someone.... :giddy: what is you budget? i can help you bid. :thumb:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Sep 28 2005, 05:12 PM

damper is the same.....but that one i think not in tip top condition....like leaking

Hey, i went to Ohlins website...the part number for the damper of K3 and our TLR is different leh....

Originally posted by suzuka1980@Sep 28 2005, 11:34 PM

Hey, i went to Ohlins website...the part number for the damper of K3 and our TLR is different leh....

is it? tot it's the same? i remember it's all the same...direct fitting....hmmm...shoei pls confirm

Originally posted by suzukiroy@Sep 29 2005, 12:14 AM

hey shoei the rearsets how huh. you got place order?

ya ordered liao.

i get best price for us.175 per set

i order 3 gold sets for u,jason and myself

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强