Originally posted by Yoshiki@Feb 26 2004, 10:35 PM

Higher gear crusing fuel consumption will be lower.. Normally I use 5th/6th gear on the expressway riding 100..

no wonder I'm such a squid.

hahhaha! ok will try tat tomorrow....

hmmm....

• Replies 5.6k

Originally posted by WildCard@Feb 26 2004, 06:57 PM

guys, guys...

:help: :help: :help:

Horrors abound....

Tuesday nite, before heading home, I tanked up to full tank at Jurong. Headed home. Wednesday morning, went to my motortiam at Alex Village to get a replacement light bulb which blown the night before and headed home. Afternoon, rode to Tuas, picked my fiance up from werk, sent her back to Jurong East, rode back home to pick up my dinner and headed to werk at Sengkang. Overnite shift. Early morning, rode back home using the same exact route. Then early this morning, rode from home to Changi Airport for a job interview. To my horror, the reserve light started blinking. I checked my tripmeter 1 and it displayed 140+ km (I reset at the Jurong petrol station on Tuesday nite).

Wah, dun tell me my full tank can only bring me up to 150+km before reserve. Cannot be rite? I was hoping at least 220 km. before reserve. Didn;t really ride hard. But wondering could it be my riding style.

Rite now, I'm still getting used to the bike and keeping up to 100km/h on all roads. Since my 4th gear is a bit loose (being rectified this weekend), I stayed up to 3rd gear, but didn't really drag. Dunno whether is my mileage correct?

:cry: :cry:

my reserve lights comes on at 180km

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by Yoshiki@Feb 26 2004, 09:53 PM

Whats F2-21?

Mexon (or Mexxon ?? ) fuel additive.

F2-21. Came out some years back. Some bikers swear by it. Some 2-strokers have reported that after usage it totally gummed up their crankshafts.

An educated guess would be that it is used best for 4-strokes. But then again, treat all fuel additives with a grain of salt. We dunno which are the gimmick stuff that will totally screw the engine over.

true

dont rely on additive too much. i had it for free. used only one bottle n works fine.hey i see results

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Guest Reddevil76

guys, guys...

Horrors abound....

Tuesday nite, before heading home, I tanked up to full tank at Jurong. Headed home. Wednesday morning, went to my motortiam at Alex Village to get a replacement light bulb which blown the night before and headed home. Afternoon, rode to Tuas, picked my fiance up from werk, sent her back to Jurong East, rode back home to pick up my dinner and headed to werk at Sengkang. Overnite shift. Early morning, rode back home using the same exact route. Then early this morning, rode from home to Changi Airport for a job interview. To my horror, the reserve light started blinking. I checked my tripmeter 1 and it displayed 140+ km (I reset at the Jurong petrol station on Tuesday nite).

Wah, dun tell me my full tank can only bring me up to 150+km before reserve. Cannot be rite? I was hoping at least 220 km. before reserve. Didn;t really ride hard. But wondering could it be my riding style.

Rite now, I'm still getting used to the bike and keeping up to 100km/h on all roads. Since my 4th gear is a bit loose (being rectified this weekend), I stayed up to 3rd gear, but didn't really drag. Dunno whether is my mileage correct?

That's unusually bad fuel consumption. Could be due to you cruising in the wrong gear. If while using sixth, it still persists. Best to list here if air filter and exhaust has been modded and if remapping has been done.

Also, are the sprocket sizes stock? Modding them will result in some inaccuracies in speedo and also mileage. But not alot. Your reserve coming on at 140 is alot of difference. Mine comes on just before 200, and I travel avg 110-120km/h to work. I've done a remap by Biketech to ensure I'm not running lean, still get the same mileage.

Also, what do you mean by 4th gear loose? If its a job that requires splitting of the crankcase, it may cost you parts and labour in four figure.

Originally posted by kish_garfield@Feb 25 2004, 08:27 PM

i think there should be a club in sg for TL. so we can go on outings together. anyway i am a fallow TL got any updates or anything pls share with us

same here!!!count me in...:cheer:

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

guys, guys...

Horrors abound....

u will be surprise how thristy that TL camel is man!!

mine goes into reserve at abt 180- 190..

btw any TL riders know of a reliable place to service..thinkin of servicing the carb and tuning... :smile:

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

hey guyz...was going to the http://www.tlplanet.com forum and saw quite alot of useful tips and advice in their forum...maybe u guys can go in and browse..u never know that there will be answers for Tl riders with problems...:smile: :smile: :smile: :smile:

http://pub141.ezboard.com/ftlownersboardtl...opicID=32.topic

what the codes would mean when ur FI lights up??check out the link above..

Heyos, all.

Thankies for all the advices. I spoke to the previous owner. Turn out, I super kancheong a bit. He told me there's two kinds of alerts. The first is the blinking reserve light and the 2nd is when the reserve light stays on. Turns out I hit 140km at the blinking light. He assured I am still able to go on further, according to the bike manual anyway. When the light stops to blink, then its time to tank up.

Anywayz, I tried a higher gear cruising and it helps. This time, the reserve lights started to blink at around 160+km, meaning I should be able to hit 200-210 km before it stops blinking.

Andy adviced me to try using Broquet tablets to lower the consumption further, sold from his shop, of course.

:cheeky: Will consider that soon.

The fourth gear is loose or more like the "gear sub is a goner" as quoted by the Suzuki Service Centre (Guan Hoe Co., NOT Guan Hoe Cheong). Unfortunately, the mechs there is out of spare parts. So he adviced me to go to another reputable shop lah coz they most prolly would have spare parts on hand. Will check on that on Monday.

Well, the bike needs some more work on it. The headlights keep going off everytime I switch it on, but a fellow PKC helped me trace the problem to a faulty connector above the left air-intake (muackss to Ivant). The clearance valve and timing belt may need a looking into.

More $$$ to pour in. But gonna work this one problem at a time.... :sweat:

I know that for carb tuning it is very common. price wise it is cheaper than FI. so due to TLR's FI, wat are the tunings that needs concern. valve? injection?And anyone with EXP could share the price info.

Thanks alot!!!

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by WildCard@Feb 28 2004, 07:13 PM

Heyos, all.

Thankies for all the advices. I spoke to the previous owner. Turn out, I super kancheong a bit. He told me there's two kinds of alerts. The first is the blinking reserve light and the 2nd is when the reserve light stays on. Turns out I hit 140km at the blinking light. He assured I am still able to go on further, according to the bike manual anyway. When the light stops to blink, then its time to tank up.

Anywayz, I tried a higher gear cruising and it helps. This time, the reserve lights started to blink at around 160+km, meaning I should be able to hit 200-210 km before it stops blinking.

Andy adviced me to try using Broquet tablets to lower the consumption further, sold from his shop, of course.

:cheeky: Will consider that soon.

The fourth gear is loose or more like the "gear sub is a goner" as quoted by the Suzuki Service Centre (Guan Hoe Co., NOT Guan Hoe Cheong). Unfortunately, the mechs there is out of spare parts. So he adviced me to go to another reputable shop lah coz they most prolly would have spare parts on hand. Will check on that on Monday.

Well, the bike needs some more work on it. The headlights keep going off everytime I switch it on, but a fellow PKC helped me trace the problem to a faulty connector above the left air-intake (muackss to Ivant). The clearance valve and timing belt may need a looking into.

More $$$ to pour in. But gonna work this one problem at a time.... :sweat:

If the engine unable to sustaint that pertol cinsumption , Broquet fuel catalyst cant do any wonder too. it can only reduce when your petrol consuption is in normal level. save the money. Ur tank need 2-4 set of this.. i might be wrong too.

Originally posted by kish_garfield@Feb 29 2004, 12:28 PM

I know that for carb tuning it is very common. price wise it is cheaper than FI. so due to TLR's FI, wat are the tunings that needs concern. valve? injection?And anyone with EXP could share the price info.

Thanks alot!!!

I believe EFIs rarely need tunings. The settings are kinda permanently stored into the ECU and rarely run off-spec. A retune of the EFI means you gotta find the proper shop with the proper tools and system to do it for you. Unless you're willing to invest in a Power Commander.

Instead, consider the age of your bike and try looking a valve clearances. A reputable member of the forum took a look at my bike and adviced me to have the valves checked out ASAP. And mine is an FS plate.

Guest Reddevil76

If the reputable member advised you based on the ticking sound of the engine. Then I would think twice. The TLS and TLR are known to tick, and even after valve clearances are checked, they still tick. I would suggest valve clearances be done on a mileage basis, or unless the ticking sound can even be heard while going at 100km/h on the expressway.

The statement that the TLR does not require tuning is absurd. Can you please define tuning? I often hear people say use the term carb tuning loosely without an inkling what it means.

For the case of the TLR, an FI bike. There is two areas you might be concerned with. First, tuning as in synchronising the throttle bodies. It does go "off" and does require tuning.

The other is the air/fuel mixture mapping at different conditions and engine speed. In this case, it is more commonly referred to as re-mapping instead of re-tuning. Usage of proper terms ensures that everyone is on the same frequency. I remember Shoei having a hard time on TLplanet.com when he insist on using singlish, local sms lingo and local motorshop hokkien technical terms in his posts there.

Back to remapping, air/fuel mixture is controlled by the ECU and whatever changes made to it is permanent. And can be finely tuned by the Teka SFI available at Bikelab. However, they don't use a dyno machine, and thus reliance on rider's feedback is important. If the rider can't feedback accurately what his machine is doing, adjustments may be difficult.

Other FI bikes may change their maps by replacing performance chips, or using add on devices like the Power Commander, Yosh EMS, etc. All these add on devices, they interrupt the signal between the ECU and the rest of the bike, but they make no changes to the ECU. Devices like Teka SFI makes direct changes to the ECU, and can be removed from the bike once done. Thus, negating the need for the rider to purchase an expensive device. The shop only needs to charge him for the service.

All in all, it is too much a sweeping statement to say the TLR does not require tuning at all. The synch of the throttle bodies does require perodic checks. Only the mapping of the ECU is permanent (if you do a remap).

It is also wise to check your TPS setting from time to time. By getting your bike into the dealer mode.

The malfunction codes do not show up by themselves when one of the sensors detect a malfunction. The malfunction codes are only visible on the temp gauge IF the bike is set into the dealer mode. This action requires a piece of wire or paperclip or anything that conducts electricity, and plugging both ends into the white plug located at the left rear side of the tail.

The TLR is unique in certain ways. I would not trust the advice of anyone who has not owned one and worked on one technically. TLplanet.com however is a good source for info. But nothing beat actual practice and trial and error.

Lastly, I will be spending a day with my new owner to go through a actual DIY session with him covering basic things like how to remove bodywork, and regular maintenance and checks on settings, electrics, sensors and some info on what's best for the bike and what's best avoided. With his permission, anyone interested may join. But I gotta ask him first as he has the right to demand it exclusive.

Guest Reddevil76

Please ascertain what he actually means by "gear sub".

If you are referring to the detent star, I have the part. Plus spring and arm. This is the OEM one. I have this as extra because I installed the Factory Pro ones. The new owner will be getting the Factory Pro ones.

If you wanna buy it off me, PM me.

But first, ascertain exactly what is wrong, and what they are going to do to rectify it. Being informed is the best way to avoid being cheated. Not relying on "where is the cheapest shop to do servicing" threads.

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by WildCard@Feb 28 2004, 08:13 PM

Turn out, I super kancheong a bit. He told me there's two kinds of alerts. The first is the blinking reserve light and the 2nd is when the reserve light stays on. Turns out I hit 140km at the blinking light. He assured I am still able to go on further, according to the bike manual anyway. When the light stops to blink, then its time to tank up.

Mine starts blinking around 180-190km. And I'm running on a modified airbox, airfilter, exhaust, and remapped for performance. If stock, I'm sure I can do more km/s before it starts blinking.

Maybe you should check if your air filter is dirty. If its clean, try pouring a fuel system cleaner like the one from OWS into your next full tank. A remp and synch of TBs would be good too.

It is unwise to run the bike on reserve (blinking light) as the fuel cools the fuel pump too. If you run till the fuel level is really low, this means the fuel pump is getting heated with no fuel around it to cool it down, and that is going to result in another expensive repair.

How much did you buy this TL for? I remember you were one of those who PMed me but didn't even come to view the bike. Was price the deciding factor?

Mine is a 53,000km mileage bike, with wear & tear compenents like chain and sprockets all just changed, and $6000 or more worth of accessories. And I know my bike well enough to take care of it. That time I was selling for 8K+. People commented its ex.

I wonder how it compares to buying a bike cheap, but end up spending the difference just to get it working. In the end, when the bike is finally fixed, maybe same price (but minus the 6K worth of accessories??). And usually if the bike has one major problem, it could indicate neglect on the bike, which means there could be more problems to come.

I'd really like to understand the forum's residents mentality when buying bikes as it intrigues me very much.

it's like that one ma...forum wat..ppl dun mind paying for more popular bikes like rvf, fireblade even k1,k2,k3 r1,r6..but those less popular ones like my fav tl100r...ppl put it down n say expensive...cannot run fast la...all that crap....i onil knoe once i grad and get a proper job...this will be the bike i'm aiming....but then still long...haiz...by the time....haiz....

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 1 2004, 09:24 AM

Mine starts blinking around 180-190km. And I'm running on a modified airbox, airfilter, exhaust, and remapped for performance. If stock, I'm sure I can do more km/s before it starts blinking.

Maybe you should check if your air filter is dirty. If its clean, try pouring a fuel system cleaner like the one from OWS into your next full tank. A remp and synch of TBs would be good too.

It is unwise to run the bike on reserve (blinking light) as the fuel cools the fuel pump too. If you run till the fuel level is really low, this means the fuel pump is getting heated with no fuel around it to cool it down, and that is going to result in another expensive repair.

How much did you buy this TL for? I remember you were one of those who PMed me but didn't even come to view the bike. Was price the deciding factor?

Mine is a 53,000km mileage bike, with wear & tear compenents like chain and sprockets all just changed, and $6000 or more worth of accessories. And I know my bike well enough to take care of it. That time I was selling for 8K+. People commented its ex.

I wonder how it compares to buying a bike cheap, but end up spending the difference just to get it working. In the end, when the bike is finally fixed, maybe same price (but minus the 6K worth of accessories??). And usually if the bike has one major problem, it could indicate neglect on the bike, which means there could be more problems to come.

I'd really like to understand the forum's residents mentality when buying bikes as it intrigues me very much.

isn't it like that everywhere, all the time??.. I have people valuating my CB1 for 800 bucks... frankly, I would like to buy from him at that price if he can find one ard, with my kind of engine condition.. Cheers...

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 1 2004, 09:24 AM

Not really. It wasn't your price. At your price, I'll cut my own throat with a blunt knife if I turn it down for no apparent reason.

Truthfully, I was looking for a bike with a monthly installment of max $200. I spoke to several shops about getting a reloan on your bike. Well, all the answers the same, above $200 per month.

Its more of a personal reason than price-wise.

Hope you understand and apologies for any inconveniences I may have caused.

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Mar 1 2004, 10:28 AM

it's like that one ma...forum wat..ppl dun mind paying for more popular bikes like rvf, fireblade even k1,k2,k3 r1,r6..but those less popular ones like my fav tl100r...ppl put it down n say expensive...cannot run fast la...all that crap....i onil knoe once i grad and get a proper job...this will be the bike i'm aiming....but then still long...haiz...by the time....haiz....

relax, dude.

There are some of us buyers with valid reasons why we can't get what someone is selling at a particular price.

If I dun feel its a good offer, I wouldn't even bother asking about it in the first place. Why flood his sale thread with useless requests?

But if the seller makes a good offer, like in Reddevil's case, I did enquire some info that I need from him and did some research on my own with shops and websites such as financing, value, maintenance, etc. Unfortunately things didn't work out for some reason or rather. Would that still make me at fault for turning down a good deal?

I never intended to pick a TLR in the first place. What caught me was a reasonable price, a fierce twin-pipe look and of course, its a V-twin. I've grew up on a V-twin bike (ode to my Steed) so why not?

So what if people say its "not fast"? How fast can you go in S'pore traffic? You can get the fastest bike on Earth, but will you be happy?

I'm having some minor problems with the bike rite now. Headlights, the current gear problem and dropping it twice (sigh). But I've decided to still stick by it. I chose that bike, not it chose me. I've have a saying that goes like

"When you make a decision in this business, you live by it and die by it. I'm here to live by mine and make others pay for theirs..."

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by WildCard@Mar 1 2004, 11:22 AM

Not really. It wasn't your price. At your price, I'll cut my own throat with a blunt knife if I turn it down for no apparent reason.

Truthfully, I was looking for a bike with a monthly installment of max $200. I spoke to several shops about getting a reloan on your bike. Well, all the answers the same, above $200 per month.

Its more of a personal reason than price-wise.

Hope you understand and apologies for any inconveniences I may have caused.

I see. Then you could have talked to me. That's why I encourage people to come and view my bike first. There's only so much to be communicated over PM and sms.

My buyer viewed and like it, and I went through the options with him. He actually found it very convenient and easy to get a loan with Hitachi Credit and interest is only 5.25%. Last Thu he submitted the form, this Thu he can give the cheque to me liao. And monthly instalment is less than $200.

Reloans from bikeshops are usually 10%. Thus never worth it.

The main thing with local riders is that everything must go through bikeshops. Wanna buy a screw, they also go through bikeshop. They think that anything to do with bikes, must go through bike shops. That's not true.

My home-made undertail is a combi of materials from hardware stores, and handicraft shops. Nothing from bikeshop.

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by WildCard@Mar 1 2004, 11:37 AM

I'm having some minor problems with the bike rite now. Headlights, the current gear problem and dropping it twice (sigh).

what's the issue with your headlight? Tot its fixed?

Dropped it twice so far?? That's an expensive habit. Make sure sliders is first on your shopping list, dude. You wun regret it.

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by Aldebaran@Mar 1 2004, 12:15 PM

wat ya actually mean yr undertail is self made? care to share? i think i saw yr tl b4...u sold it off to a guy called shoei???

No, my bike is still with me. Handing over this week. And I'm selling it to a guy not from this forum. He's not very familiar with the TLR or bikes in general. But he is very curious and willing to learn.

Shoei from my short acquaintance with him, I only remember him telling me the TLR has no oil cooler and that I should get to know my own bike better when obviously even the Suzuki press release even states the TLR has one.

It is ok not to know. But its a sin to indulge in ignorance to save face.

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 1 2004, 01:34 PM

No, my bike is still with me. Handing over this week. And I'm selling it to a guy not from this forum. He's not very familiar with the TLR or bikes in general. But he is very curious and willing to learn.

Shoei from my short acquaintance with him, I only remember him telling me the TLR has no oil cooler and that I should get to know my own bike better when obviously even the Suzuki press release even states the TLR has one.

It is ok not to know. But its a sin to indulge in ignorance to save face.

Hear, hear!!!