-=TLRiders=-

Lonely Stranger

just remembered that i read an article on plugs in one of the edition of "MOTOR CYCLIST" and they said...

"Durability comes from new precious metals that are more resistant to electrical wear and heat breakdowns.mainstream plugs have center electrodes made from nickel alloy-good,reasonaly durable and inexpensive"

So as iridium is "better" than nickel thus it shld be able to last longer....

just my own theory.....:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

• Replies 5.6k

Originally posted by WildCard@Mar 17 2004, 04:58 PM

shoei, need help? I have a working PayPal account and maybe I can help out with any purchases.

Guys, my new service manual just arrived from the US. So, I'm planning to sell the copy I got with my bike. Its a photocopied version. Quite clear but not same as an original. Comes in a file. Anyone interested, just PM me a quote.

thanks pal.if i need it i will msg u

thanks in advance

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by zx4@Mar 17 2004, 10:46 PM

just remembered that i read an article on plugs in one of the edition of "MOTOR CYCLIST" and they said...

"Durability comes from new precious metals that are more resistant to electrical wear and heat breakdowns.mainstream plugs have center electrodes made from nickel alloy-good,reasonaly durable and inexpensive"

So as iridium is "better" than nickel thus it shld be able to last longer....

just my own theory.....:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Yeah, man.. now since u riding V-twin, only need to change two plugs instead of four, might as well get better ones... moreover, the front one so ley chey to change, might as well get something that last longer...so no need change so often..

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 18 2004, 09:40 AM

Yeah, man.. now since u riding V-twin, only need to change two plugs instead of four, might as well get better ones... moreover, the front one so ley chey to change, might as well get something that last longer...so no need change so often..

yeah i agree with u.u cannot save on plugs

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by kish_garfield@Mar 18 2004, 07:54 PM

the funny thing is i heard the tip is so thin that if it breaks, den ur engine will die????:confused: :confused:

i haven heard of a spark plug tip broken manz...i wonder what did the rider do?

在绝望中坚强

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by kish_garfield@Mar 18 2004, 07:54 PM

the funny thing is i heard the tip is so thin that if it breaks, den ur engine will die????:confused: :confused:

I've had heard of that before. But it happened to a batch of fake NGK spark plugs. Not Denso, neither iridium.

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 18 2004, 09:46 PM

I've had heard of that before. But it happened to a batch of fake NGK spark plugs. Not Denso, neither iridium.

pengz....fake plugs?!? :giddy:

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by WildCard@Mar 17 2004, 09:28 PM

her gut is spilled all over the workshop floor...

Naw, just waiting for parts. Saw the damage. Real bad man. Its like half the threads on the 4th gear cog snapped off. Even Micheal was scratching his head how come the gear cog can get damaged like that. He says he's seen other engine parts wear out and get damage, like piston, con rod, etc. But extremely rare that a gear cog can get damaged, especially like mine. Fortunately, everything else is ok.

Hmm, since the whole engine is out, maybe can ask him to check and clean out the dirt stuffs. Oso, can ask him help install Red's pair vavle block-off plates.

hehehehehehe

what happen pal??!?:confused:

在绝望中坚强

Juz a personal experience to share......did the worst mistake in the world that a person doing his bike would do manz!!!

i opened up my air box to clean my air filter the other day and i stuffed newspaper in the throttle body to prevent dust from entering it...and when i was done i installed everything back and took my bike out for a spin...bike was doing fine until few mins later where the throttle got quite hard to turn .....i quickly u-turn home and started wondering what i did...began staring at my air-box and juz remembered that i didny take out the newspaper from the throttle body!!!!!!!wah...

what an experience for a person doing his bike for the first time...:sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

So i started thinking what could have led to this...

1. Insufficent lightings at the area doing your bike.

2. Always check carefully before doing the next step..do not over look anything...(think its a valuable advise from Reddevil...)

3. Maybe should come out with a checklist or something to prevent such things from happening again....

comments or experience to share anyone??:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

http://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/bigfinger.gifhttp://www.webdeveloper.com/animations/bnifiles/face.gif

>>>>http://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gifNo offence guyz.juz for the laughterhttp://www.tlplanet.com/forums/images/smilies/laugh.gif<<<<

wat do u mean trottle body?? where? well i had my hiccups but found out that TLR too has bad design interms of maintenace. its built for something else

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by zx4@Mar 23 2004, 09:25 PM

Juz a personal experience to share......did the worst mistake in the world that a person doing his bike would do manz!!!

i opened up my air box to clean my air filter the other day and i stuffed newspaper in the throttle body to prevent dust from entering it...and when i was done i installed everything back and took my bike out for a spin...bike was doing fine until few mins later where the throttle got quite hard to turn .....i quickly u-turn home and started wondering what i did...began staring at my air-box and juz remembered that i didny take out the newspaper from the throttle body!!!!!!!wah...

what an experience for a person doing his bike for the first time...:sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

So i started thinking what could have led to this...

1. Insufficent lightings at the area doing your bike.

2. Always check carefully before doing the next step..do not over look anything...(think its a valuable advise from Reddevil...)

3. Maybe should come out with a checklist or something to prevent such things from happening again....

comments or experience to share anyone??:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Wah, champion leh...

No need checklist lah... but point 1 & 2 is impt.

Go get a SAF picnic lantern, power!

well...nvr mind..lesson learnt...

next on my list of things would be sealing up the fuel injection plates with silicone (its the metal plate below ur fuel tank..) as its leaking ...

hope the same kinda incident wont happen again.....:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Yoz...fellow Tillers.....wanna meet for kopi this Fri(26/03) or Sat(27/03)???

Can meet and check out each others bike...Xchange pointers too..

Place: Jln kayu or the prata shop near NUS:hungry: ..or anyone has gotta better place.. :smile: :smile: :smile:

time: 2130

All are welcome to suggest time and place...then i will confirm it tonite..:cheer: :cheer: :cheer::cheer:

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by zx4@Mar 24 2004, 12:19 PM

well...nvr mind..lesson learnt...

next on my list of things would be sealing up the fuel injection plates with silicone (its the metal plate below ur fuel tank..) as its leaking ...

hope the same kinda incident wont happen again.....:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

That's the fuel pump gasket. Remember to use the blue type hor... RTV silicone... and clean the area up before applying.

Originally posted by zx4@Mar 24 2004, 12:39 PM

Yoz...fellow Tillers.....wanna meet for kopi this Fri(26/03) or Sat(27/03)???

Can meet and check out each others bike...Xchange pointers too..

Place: Jln kayu or the prata shop near NUS:hungry: ..or anyone has gotta better place.. :smile: :smile: :smile:

time: 2130

All are welcome to suggest time and place...then i will confirm it tonite..:cheer: :cheer: :cheer::cheer:

are u the guy yesterday at fong senG?

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Mar 24 2004, 01:15 PM

That's the fuel pump gasket. Remember to use the blue type hor... RTV silicone... and clean the area up before applying.

i couldn't find silicone but i found a kinda sealant also gas n oil resistant from D.I.Y shop....The RTV silicone that u said isit a brand called RTV ??

Originally posted by shoei@Mar 24 2004, 01:33 PM

are u the guy yesterday at fong senG?

Yup....hows ur TL??how come u riding ur bro's haya?

Originally posted by zx4@Mar 24 2004, 07:21 PM

Yup....hows ur TL??how come u riding ur bro's haya?

i wonder how is it....we share bike one mahz.... i miss my TLr....since many weeks haven rode it and i would say i still pefer the twin engine..

在绝望中坚强