Any senior can tell me the expected average speed and time required (excluding stops) between these points?:

1. Chiang Mai to MHS (via Pai) aka anti-clockwise.

Speed?

Time needed?

2. MHS to Mae Sariang.

Speed?

Time needed?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

• Replies 19

well from my experience from mae sariang to MHS will take about 4-5hrs and riding speed will be no more that 80 or 90km/hr and lowest will drop to abt 30 - 40 km. lots of twist and turns. but u have to stay 1 night in Pai. good westernised town with lots of foreigners, internet cafe and such. gd luck

ya, if u ride a Dream izzt about the same speed as most ppl will do the ANTI-CLOCKWISE as the hard twist n turn first then the easy after u stay a night at MHS, Pai is getting more n more Tourist place already.. if u want to short-cut to go to Doi Inthanon u can go thru Mae Chan as u can save paying the Toll to go up but the road condition is not so good, so ride safe... :cheeky:

well from my experience from mae sariang to MHS will take about 4-5hrs and riding speed will be no more that 80 or 90km/hr and lowest will drop to abt 30 - 40 km. lots of twist and turns. but u have to stay 1 night in Pai. good westernised town with lots of foreigners, internet cafe and such. gd luck

fn328k.multiply.com/photos

Life is short, Ride hard..........

ya, if u ride a Dream izzt about the same speed as most ppl will do the ANTI-CLOCKWISE as the hard twist n turn first then the easy after u stay a night at MHS, Pai is getting more n more Tourist place already.. if u want to short-cut to go to Doi Inthanon u can go thru Mae Chan as u can save paying the Toll to go up but the road condition is not so good, so ride safe... :cheeky:

So, it is better to anti-clockwise because the Pai section is more 'siong' than the rest of the loop?

I think on agaration it will take 3hrs to reach Pai from Chiang Mai and another 3hrs for visit to Tham LOD. Might have time to stay over at Pai for a night just for look see or head straight to MHS after Tham LOD.

Well, still in planning. Got time to decide:

1. Fly and Ride 12 Days (7 days leave) est $1600

2. Ride there 16 days (9-10 days leave) est $1400

Not much difference in cost but higher fatigue level if ride there.

Fly there got more time to play. Hmm....

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

So, it is better to anti-clockwise because the Pai section is more 'siong' than the rest of the loop?

I think on agaration it will take 3hrs to reach Pai from Chiang Mai and another 3hrs for visit to Tham LOD. Might have time to stay over at Pai for a night just for look see or head straight to MHS after Tham LOD.

I suggest you take your time riding, and exploring the place, rather than just ride through the 'loop'

I did it counter-clockwise by the way. Best is not to rush it, and give yourself plenty of time. I took nearly one hour to travel from ChiangMai to the beginning of route 1095 actually, due to the heavy traffic, even though I set off at 7am. From there, with plenty of stops, took me nearly 8 hours to reach MHS town itself with plenty of stops inbetween.

Tip : Don't bother about the Tham Pla (Fish cave), nothing much actually.

Bro, i dun think u need to spend so much as i have done it afew time, if u want just take a Transit filght... cheaper on the Weekday..if u need any website let me know.... :angel:

ya, i agree with u Neo, if have lot of time n want to see more than just riding thru it then just go slow n stop whenever u like... :cheeky: as u set off at 7am is still not so early as i have try at 0600hr.. dammed SHOIK when u ride thru the DEW in the Morning, almost cannot STAND UP lioa... :angel:

so just ride safe everyone, n dun take it easy on the LOOP as izzt a long ride as i have almost wanted to give up my ride one time just to take a nap as too TIRED to carry on... :dozed: n eye keep falling...

I suggest you take your time riding, and exploring the place, rather than just ride through the 'loop'

I did it counter-clockwise by the way. Best is not to rush it, and give yourself plenty of time. I took nearly one hour to travel from ChiangMai to the beginning of route 1095 actually, due to the heavy traffic, even though I set off at 7am. From there, with plenty of stops, took me nearly 8 hours to reach MHS town itself with plenty of stops inbetween.

Tip : Don't bother about the Tham Pla (Fish cave), nothing much actually.

mae hong son.....makes genting n cameron looks like childs play...for those who made it to the top..POWER..:thumb:

Edited by v-max

hey people. please help me out .Do you have a detail plan on going to MHS from singapore? It is fine to go up alone ? thinking of going up during december ?

December is wet season, better be careful. April/May is hot/dry season, so your ride will be safer, but you'd be in danger of heat exhaustion.

Going alone is fine, I did just that, armed with only a map. But make sure you know your ride and equipment well. You will not believe how important simple things can be on a long trip like this.

If you can't navigate yourself with a map, then you better not go alone.

hey people. please help me out .Do you have a detail plan on going to MHS from singapore? It is fine to go up alone ? thinking of going up during december ?

i just came back last week.i chose April cause i don't want to ride in cold/wet weather as neo mentioned.:)

i took a train up from haytai->BKK->chiangmai

ride start from chiangmai

i did it alone with map and GPS.

Chiangmai->mae sarieng

Mae sarieng -> MHS

MHS->PAI

PAI->Mae salong

Mae salong->mae sai,GT then chiangmai

hope this help. Happy planning:)

Actually Dec is only raining season in Sg, malaysia and southern tip of thailand (all the way up to chumpon). Rode up MHS last Nov. Not a drop of rain from chumpon up. Very cool riding condition.. I rode up MHS later than my friends as my STx then got some issue.. I cleared MHS at night (which i seriously DUN recommand). The temp can drop down to 8 degres. And the town is like ghost town at night, no good petrol station up (from Doi Inthanon). Lucky my old STx able to go 400km b4 feeling thirsty. May ride up again this Nov/Dec period with my friends.

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

i just came back last week.i chose April cause i don't want to ride in cold/wet weather as neo mentioned.:)

i took a train up from haytai->BKK->chiangmai

ride start from chiangmai

i did it alone with map and GPS.

Chiangmai->mae sarieng

Mae sarieng -> MHS

MHS->PAI

PAI->Mae salong

Mae salong->mae sai,GT then chiangmai

hope this help. Happy planning:)

hey geraki . wow thanks for the wonderful info.

December is wet season, better be careful. April/May is hot/dry season, so your ride will be safer, but you'd be in danger of heat exhaustion.

Going alone is fine, I did just that, armed with only a map. But make sure you know your ride and equipment well. You will not believe how important simple things can be on a long trip like this.

If you can't navigate yourself with a map, then you better not go alone.

hey Neo .

power lah you. ride all the way up from singapore to MHS or by train ?

what equipment did you bring ?

what recommendation will you bring for the trip?

Actually Dec is only raining season in Sg, malaysia and southern tip of thailand (all the way up to chumpon). Rode up MHS last Nov. Not a drop of rain from chumpon up. Very cool riding condition.. I rode up MHS later than my friends as my STx then got some issue.. I cleared MHS at night (which i seriously DUN recommand). The temp can drop down to 8 degres. And the town is like ghost town at night, no good petrol station up (from Doi Inthanon). Lucky my old STx able to go 400km b4 feeling thirsty. May ride up again this Nov/Dec period with my friends.

hey R1

thank you for your updated info. it is ok if i tag along with you for the end of the year trip ?will you riding up from singapore to MHS? or by train again ?

how long did you ride from MHS to singapore or you come back by train as well ?

Foxy > In the spirit of adventure, I think its best you discover and plan the route yourself.

Prepare your bike for the 6000-8000km round trip, budget time and money for a relaxed journey with plenty of rest stops. I recommend stopping at Chiangmai for one or two days before doing the MHS loop.

I just packed by touring gear the same way I pack for any trip, KL or Thailand. I believe every seasoned tourer will have a familiar list of things to pack.

Foxy > In the spirit of adventure, I think its best you discover and plan the route yourself.

Prepare your bike for the 6000-8000km round trip, budget time and money for a relaxed journey with plenty of rest stops. I recommend stopping at Chiangmai for one or two days before doing the MHS loop.

I just packed by touring gear the same way I pack for any trip, KL or Thailand. I believe every seasoned tourer will have a familiar list of things to pack.

hi neo your 6000 to 8000 km is from singapore to MHS and come back singapore or just go MHS 6000 to 8000 km ?

i will bring what i need to go MHS thanks for your reply.

We rode all the way up to MHS while attending 1 bikeweek on the way up. Welcome to tag along but i still awaiting for my friend to confirm with me the ride. We took 2 weeks back and fro. Rushing.. Didnt get to enjoy much of the way up..

hey geraki . wow thanks for the wonderful info.

hey R1

thank you for your updated info. it is ok if i tag along with you for the end of the year trip ?will you riding up from singapore to MHS? or by train again ?

how long did you ride from MHS to singapore or you come back by train as well ?

6000km to 8000km is 2 way.. Up and down..

hi neo your 6000 to 8000 km is from singapore to MHS and come back singapore or just go MHS 6000 to 8000 km ?

i will bring what i need to go MHS thanks for your reply.

bro yzf R1 hw r u?going up again dis mth..wish u could join us..dis time crossing over to laos to china border..nov u going up?come lah dis mth we go together..:cheeky:

http://Chttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/%5CDocuments%20and%20Settings%5CFazli%5CMy%20Documents%5CCIMG3767.JPG
bro yzf R1 hw r u?going up again dis mth..wish u could join us..dis time crossing over to laos to china border..nov u going up?come lah dis mth we go together..:cheeky:

We do it again this Nov/Dec la.. I already plan my leave for that period le..

• 5 years later...