Hi, we'll be going to Hong Kong soon, like to hear recommendations on hotels from you guys out there.

some info, places that I'll confirm be going are Ocean Park, The Peak, Lantau Island, Disney and Ladies Street area.

Looking for mid price hotels, clean, accessible, helpful staffs etc..

Let's talk! :cheer:

• Replies 22

budget...?? can try one of those backpackers hostels around TST area, good and cheap.

http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/transformers/images/8/8f/Laserrave.gif

FROZEN...

Mid price hotel? what is yr budget? if u want convenience you should go for Prudential hotel at Jordan station. The hotel is on top of Joradn mtr and near to ladies market/temple street.U can visit these 2 places everynight if u want . The places you named are accessable by MTR. For Lantau Island where huge buddha is, it is quite far and you will at least half a day.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

Hi, budget not so sure, preferbly not exceeding S$700 for 5 nights. Prudential I've checked is a lil expensive. Because few weeks before this trip I'll be going to Thailand shopping and all, I guess I wont need much shopping at ladies street haha... been there once, a lil sian after 2 days of shopping there at that area, many stalls but sell the same things, guevera Ts everywhere I can remember haha...

Any commends on Dorsett Hotel, Metropark(pretty bad commends by ang moh tourist), South Pacific and Ramada?

Thanks for any help guys! :cheer:

maybe u can try out YMCA hotel...was pleasantly surprised at their level of dedication to their customers...cleanliness and facilities also :thumb: its v near to one of the MTRs also (forgot which station...yau ma tei or sth) so not too bad...

u can book online at hoteltravel.com like i did...best to book early...that time my frens and i almost didnt have a place to stay cuz the hotels were all fully booked...somemore now is sch holiday period...sure gonna get packed...

good luck!

1) Class 3 - 20 July 2005

2) Class 2B - 28 June 2006

3) Class 2A - 31 Jan 2008

http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/7269/nextupsiggy5yt5.png

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10717;118/st/20070628/e/my+turn+to+enrol+for+2A%21/dt/12/k/2fd1/event.png

I see.... so shopping is not your main reason for yr trip. Not sure if on line prices are cheaper you may want to check out Asia Pacific at Peoples Park Tel 65353433 for hotel prices. Their prices are competitive , There are alot bike shops in HK too you may want check this site b4 yr trip. http://www.ibike.com.hk/

anyway, i miss wildcard.

Guest selphie

Harbour Plaza Resort looks really nice but damn far. Not very ex.

Package for 3 days 2 nights @ $309 (incl. airfare, excl. airport tax, jetstar, book @ basement of Ppl's Park)

Hotel located at Tin Shui Wai, near Shenzhen that side le. Not a convenient location.

Although they got a shopping ctr right beside the hotel, but if you are into HK's city area, then the travelling of 30-45mins may not be what you want.

(P/S but I havent stay this hotel b4 la, just happen to be looking arnd for HK hotels too and saw this site)

I also haven't stay @ YMCA before, how r the rooms?

Guest selphie
Originally posted by swoosh@Nov 16 2006, 09:51 PM

I see.... so shopping is not your main reason for yr trip. Not sure if on line prices are cheaper you may want to check out Asia Pacific at Peoples Park Tel 65353433 for hotel prices. Their prices are competitive , There are alot bike shops in HK too you may want check this site b4 yr trip. http://www.ibike.com.hk/

I heard from a local biker riding super4 there that most bike shops are located @ kowloon tong (ok, that was 2 yrs back la, dunno now still got anot?).

He told me not to buy from the bike shops in the town area, they got axe all ready to chop.

Originally posted by selphie@Nov 16 2006, 10:12 PM

Harbour Plaza Resort looks really nice but damn far. Not very ex.

Package for 3 days 2 nights @ $309 (incl. airfare, excl. airport tax, jetstar, book @ basement of Ppl's Park)

Hotel located at Tin Shui Wai, near Shenzhen that side le. Not a convenient location.

Although they got a shopping ctr right beside the hotel, but if you are into HK's city area, then the travelling of 30-45mins may not be what you want.

(P/S but I havent stay this hotel b4 la, just happen to be looking arnd for HK hotels too and saw this site)

I also haven't stay @ YMCA before, how r the rooms?

rooms are superb value considering the price tag...clean, neat, 3 pple also can fit in comfortably...(we took double + 1extra bed)

even the service also... :thumb:

cuz our room became messy (our own doing haha), we didnt mind (preferred, actually) leaving it that way so we left the do not disturb sign outside the door...when we came back (at like 1am?), the receptionist/cleaner actually called our room and asked if we wanted a new change of towels/toiletries since they didnt have the chance to clean our room tt day...wow...din expect tt kind of service from a supposedly 3 star hotel...

the day we left...we were running abit late to get to the airport...we were asking the receptionist for airport express details, when one of the managers came over to offer help...he asked for our flight schedule n stuff, den recommended we get a taxi since other public transports would be much slower (peak time)...den he and the bellboy took our luggages for us to the entrance n the bellboy ran out to the streets to hail a cab! they even help us bargain a price to take us to the airport...

i was like...

WOW...

my best experience for free n easy so far, by far! :thumb:

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10717;118/st/20070628/e/my+turn+to+enrol+for+2A%21/dt/12/k/2fd1/event.png

Hi, is YMCA International a Hotel or hostel or clubhouse? I heard there is curfew as in the doors will be locked after certain time like 10pm so everyone has to be back by that time is that true?

Anyone stay in Ramada Hong Kong Island, South Pacific, B.p International, Stanford Hotel before?

Originally posted by selphie@Nov 16 2006, 10:23 PM

I heard from a local biker riding super4 there that most bike shops are located @ kowloon tong (ok, that was 2 yrs back la, dunno now still got anot?).

He told me not to buy from the bike shops in the town area, they got axe all ready to chop.

the site is quite informative it separates the shop into Hong kong Island (CBD Area), Kowloon and New Teritory. Yes price wise maybe more ex or the same but there are more choices in HK.

kan, sori cant advise you on hotels on HK island most of the time i book hotels in Kowloon...becos my the other half luv shopping there.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

I stayed at majestic hotel during my vacation in Hong Kong . Its rite in the middle of Jordan rd . Juz come down n its a shopping belt liao . Juz across the road is temple street liao . My room costs arnd SGD$249 per nite during the X'mas period , so i think its quite worth it . Anyway , the mtr is juz a short walk away . :smile:

My personal preference is to stay in Kowloon area.

As budget is an issue,

$150 range, I suggest BP international

(3mins walk fr Jordan MTR)

$100 range, I suggest Sing Ho hotel

(Great location, stone-throw away from Mongkok shopping district)

$100 and below [not recommended for single ladies, couple still fine]

(Hotels with hourly rates, daily rates available. Sleazy but still clean and safe. Best of all, its much spacious than any hotel within this budget. Along Temple St or Mongkok)

If your preference is to stay in Hong Kong Island, be prepared to pay slightly more...

I did it my way

Novotel Habourview not too bad. Can try.

The more you work, the more money you have.

The more money you have, the more you spend.

The more you spend, the less money you have.

The less money you have, the more you work.

Originally posted by swoosh@Nov 16 2006, 09:51 PM

Bro: which city got lots of bike shops? Sorry, for that website my chinese F9

I heard that arai ram2 or 3 can get cheaper over there!

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

prices not much different if u factor in travelling cost. Its the availability: what they have and we dun have. Most of the shops are in Kowloon Area

anyway, i miss wildcard.

Thanks everyone for contributing, I tried many hotels including Ramada, BP, YMCA, Dorsett, but all fully booked , in the end settle for Stanford hehe... :cheer:

hope this thread will be useful for anyone going to Hong Kong!

Guest selphie
Originally posted by Shawn--@Nov 24 2006, 09:15 AM

I heard kowloon city (kowloon seng)

Originally posted by Shawn--@Nov 24 2006, 09:40 AM

Found a dealer for Arai & Shoei

http://www.vetex.com.hk/06_siteguide/siteguide.htm?

Cannot find any Rams but they are having a sale on full face helmet and they accept mail orders. Perhaps you want to email them regarding RAM.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

Originally posted by Kan@Nov 17 2006, 10:50 AM

Hi, is YMCA International a Hotel or hostel or clubhouse? I heard there is curfew as in the doors will be locked after certain time like 10pm so everyone has to be back by that time is that true?

Anyone stay in Ramada Hong Kong Island, South Pacific, B.p International, Stanford Hotel before?

sorry for the late reply (seldom check this thread) but hope it still helps...

i cant distinguish whether its a clubhouse or hotel or sth else but there is a hotel manager/security officer stationed at the hotel lobby just after entering the door who will check ur name against registered room number when u enter...it was this case for all the nights we stayed there and the earliest we reached our place was around 11pm...

so regarding ur concern about having to be back by 10pm, it's not true ba :smile: