Hi guys.

I have an offroad bike which is due for inspection and insurance road tax renewal in April. I have intention of laying up the bike because I don't really ride it often now due to knee injury and the need for me to concentrate on my studies. financially wise, i need to pay for school fees in may as well. although the bike is fully paid for, my insurance is quite expensive.

question is how do i go about laying up my bike.

does my bike has to be present at LTA?

does it need to go for inspection before laying up?

is there is minimum period for laying up?

if I lay up, it still eats into my COE right?

is it possible to put the lay up address in JB? (let's say i keep my bike at my friend's place in malaysia, the dirt track is near his house so I can still play track when my knee is better. the form says if the garage address is in malaysia workshop, need a letter from the workshop to confirm that the vehicle is there for repair. is a malaysian residential address ok?)

I have the intention of renewing road tax/insurance again after my birthday this year as it would be another benchmark for cheaper premium when i reach 23.

when i wish to renew, is procedure will be the same as renewing road tax and insurance? but it's just that i can't ride my bike to inspection centre right?

will appreciate any useful advice from you guys.

307293_10150857547520648_672525279_n.jpg

Katie... I am flying with you...

• Replies 24

Hi guys.

I have an offroad bike which is due for inspection and insurance road tax renewal in April. I have intention of laying up the bike because I don't really ride it often now due to knee injury and the need for me to concentrate on my studies. financially wise, i need to pay for school fees in may as well. although the bike is fully paid for, my insurance is quite expensive.

question is how do i go about laying up my bike.

does my bike has to be present at LTA?

does it need to go for inspection before laying up?

is there is minimum period for laying up?

if I lay up, it still eats into my COE right?

is it possible to put the lay up address in JB? (let's say i keep my bike at my friend's place in malaysia, the dirt track is near his house so I can still play track when my knee is better. the form says if the garage address is in malaysia workshop, need a letter from the workshop to confirm that the vehicle is there for repair. is a malaysian residential address ok?)

I have the intention of renewing road tax/insurance again after my birthday this year as it would be another benchmark for cheaper premium when i reach 23.

when i wish to renew, is procedure will be the same as renewing road tax and insurance? but it's just that i can't ride my bike to inspection centre right?

will appreciate any useful advice from you guys.

does my bike has to be present at LTA? nope

does it need to go for inspection before laying up? nope

is there is minimum period for laying up? nope

if I lay up, it still eats into my COE right? yep

to de lay up u need to send for inspection bro. as for the garage address i put it at my hdb carpark o.O

i just paid for parking via the coupons n nothing happen

but i laid up my bike for only 1 month last time lolz

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2A-GSXR400(SCRAPPED),ZXR400(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

http://www.1000ps.at/magazin/yamaha/yamaha_r1_8gross.jpg

Hi Juve , in order for you to lay up your bike , you just need to fill up an LTA form. Your bike need not be present at time of lay up and you need not send it for inspection before laying up.

You will then be granted a laying up period of 1 year and you can only lay up 3 times (3 years in total) consecutively , after which you will have to de-register your bike (cannot use anymore after this). The trick to this is just that after 1 year of laying up , just pay 1 day of road-tax which probably end up to be about less then 10 bucks and then lay it up again. This will break the 3 times laying up consecutively chain.

As for address of garage , by right your are not suppose to move your bike away from the location of the garage during the lay up period but i suppose if the garage is on a residential address (like abg zacks house) then i suppose its ok , but do check with LTA to confirm.

The procedure for making your bike road legal again is still the same. Buy insurance , send it for inspection (cannot ride to inspection centre) and renew your road tax and your good to go.

Want A Piece Of Me??? BRING IT ON!!!

Hi Juve , in order for you to lay up your bike , you just need to fill up an LTA form. Your bike need not be present at time of lay up and you need not send it for inspection before laying up.

You will then be granted a laying up period of 1 year and you can only lay up 3 times (3 years in total) consecutively , after which you will have to de-register your bike (cannot use anymore after this). The trick to this is just that after 1 year of laying up , just pay 1 day of road-tax which probably end up to be about less then 10 bucks and then lay it up again. This will break the 3 times laying up consecutively chain.

As for address of garage , by right your are not suppose to move your bike away from the location of the garage during the lay up period but i suppose if the garage is on a residential address (like abg zacks house) then i suppose its ok , but do check with LTA to confirm.

The procedure for making your bike road legal again is still the same. Buy insurance , send it for inspection (cannot ride to inspection centre) and renew your road tax and your good to go.

Want A Piece Of Me??? BRING IT ON!!!

cool... thanks for the info and tips... taaouicha and 906rider... i guess i will have to check with LTA regarding the garage address.

906rider, have i met you before? since you mentioned abang zacks house, probably i have. 906 sounds like a very familiar number. Billy?

another question, the COE for my bike is ending in 2011 which is next year. if I don't renew it, must is be scrapped? or can i still keep it as a unregistered strictly off road bike?

To renew your COE for another 10 years, pay the Prevailing Quota Premium(PQP).

To renew your COE for another 5 years, pay 50% of the PQP.

The PQP is the moving average of the COE prices in the last 3 months.

If the application for renewal of COE is made in the month of the COE expiry or after the COE expiry date (within the 1-month grace period with payment of late fees), the PQP rate for the month of COE expiry shall be payable. Upon renewal, the new COE will commence on the next day after the current COE expiry date. If the COE renewal is made prior to the current COE expiry month, the PQP payable shall be the rate applicable at the point of the renewal of the COE. Upon renewal, the new COE will commence from the 1st of the following month from the PQP month and the balance of the current COE will be forfeited.

The 5-year COE is non-renewable, which means you must de-register the vehicle upon the expiry of the 5-year COE.

Payment Channels

Via internet (service is available daily from 6am to 12 midnight)

Click here to access our "Renew COE".

Requires a valid Internet Banking Account with Citibank, DBS/POSB or UOB. For successful deduction of the prevailing quota premium (PQP), please make sure that there is adequate fund in the account and the payment amount is within the daily internet payment limit set by the bank.

By Post (at least two weeks before the expiry date)

Make sure that the application form and payment, reaches the Land Transport Authority before the end of the month in which the PQP is applicable.

Please note that proof of posting is not proof of receipt.

The application date will be considered as the receipt date. Depending on which is earlier, the PQP payable will be the rate applicable on the receipt date or on the COE expiry date.

At LTA (10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701)

On/Before COE Expiry:

The PQP can be paid by cheque, cash, cashier's order or NETs (if the payment does not exceed the daily transaction limit set by the bank). If payment is made by cheque, the COE will only be renewed upon the clearance of the cheque. If the cheque is dishonoured, the renewal application will be cancelled, and a $20 administrative fee will be imposed for processing the dishonoured cheque and cancellation of the COE renewal application.

After COE Expiry:

If the current COE has expired, only cash, cashier's order or NETs (if the payment does not exceed the daily transaction limit set by the bank) can be accepted, and subject to payment of the applicable late payment fee(s).

For all payment channels, the application to renew the COE must be received by the Land Transport Authority within 1 month after the expiration of the COE.

View Vehicle Quota Results (in pdf format) for:

1990 - 1999

2000 - 2004

2005 - 2010

Checklist

Renew COE

Forms Download

Q02 - Application To Renew A Certificate OF Entitlement (COE)

Click here should you require the Acrobat Reader.

source : http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/maintain_vehicle/coe1.html

personally i never renewed coe myself before but in that website theres a 1 month grace period to renew the coe after it died. I dont know whats the consequences if u strech beyond it :/

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

thanks thanks... that was really help.... hopefully from now till my COE expires, there is chance upon low PQP.

anytime bro

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

I tink I wrote a post abt this topic b4.. but seems like you got all e info you need, ahaha

How do i get it to the inspection center then, if i cannot ride my bike there?

call for towing services.. tats wat my fren did.

RXZ(FE4**2A) - 25th Sept 2010 till 16th July 2011

125Z(FZ***3D) - 20th Aug 2011 till 16 Oct 2012

PULSAR 200NS(FBG 8**2J) - 29th Dec 2012 till present

How do i get it to the inspection center then, if i cannot ride my bike there?

or you can push it all the way there.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

question to ask. after i pass my inspection, can i just renew or unlay my bike at the inspection centre? if die2 must go lta, bike must be present?

dun think so leh

Lol. Anyone who got do b4 care to answer??

question to ask. after i pass my inspection, can i just renew or unlay my bike at the inspection centre? if die2 must go lta, bike must be present?

you need to get insurance before you can get roadtax.

after inspection,produce your insurance and inspection cert to get the roadtax.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

you need to get insurance before you can get roadtax.

after inspection,produce your insurance and inspection cert to get the roadtax.

so lets sae i got e insurance le

dan go inspec,pass.

can zitao produce on e spot,n buy e road tax at e inspect place ?

so lets sae i got e insurance le

dan go inspec,pass.

can zitao produce on e spot,n buy e road tax at e inspect place ?

yes yes yes.....is my statement not so clear to you?

haha,okay

thx

ya lor,double cfm

my bike is due to be deregistered on 12 May, so i need to pass my bike for inspection b4 that.

but my bike shop dont have my parts due to my bike being an old bike (duc 916)

is it possible to extend my deregister date?

understand may need to write a letter, but how to write the letter to LTA?

got an samples?

my bike is due to be deregistered on 12 May, so i need to pass my bike for inspection b4 that.

but my bike shop dont have my parts due to my bike being an old bike (duc 916)

is it possible to extend my deregister date?

understand may need to write a letter, but how to write the letter to LTA?

got an samples?

i think 1 possible solution would be, asking your bikeshop to send to inspection centre for you.

how to send when i couldnt even start my bike?

that's for the bikeshop to worry, since they are repairing your bike, they are earning your $$, ask them for advise.