Are you able to start your bike?

Most of the connectors are inside the headlamp. Looks like connectors not connected properly. Unless you are not able to start your bike.

thanks..

will checkout once I get my set of tools to do some self checks/repairs. :cheers:

do what you have to do! :cheer:

~ ver S ~

'''not into fancy stuff, just want to maintain bike in safe riding condition..

:thumb: safe rider!

• Replies 18.1k

u know hw much is it to change the starter relay or te voltage supply ?

I am not very sure of the price for starter relay... As for voltage supply u need to check the battery voltage with a multi-meter, if the meter reading for the battery is below 12v without switching on the ignition. Meaning the battery is not in a good condition and may not be able to give enough voltage to start up your bike.

If able to start your bike and the meter should read about 13-14V when the bike is idling... and when throttle its should read about 14-15V or maybe even 16V...

If the reading is below 13V when idling means the charging for your battery is too low. And also means that the rectifier is faulty too.

You should actually check the battery first cause its the highest possibility that its is defective. And just in case nothing is wrong with your starting system, you won't get chop chop chop from motordiam...

u know hw much is it to change the starter relay or te voltage supply ?

Do you know how to push start your bike?.

Make sure your engine switch is "ON". Put the gear in 2nd shift..clutch in..push and at run with the bike for a few feet and when you pichk up speed..timely release the clutch..this should kick in into engine start.

Once engine start, throttle on..don't shut but make sure you clutch in at that moment. Go take a few km ride. Stop and shut engine..and see if your starter relay click when press start button. The battery should be a little charge up by now.

If you can't do this...find a slope and let it roll to speed and do the same with the clutch and gear as mentioned.

if all is well, goes to show likely your battery is dying and no charge getting to it..definitely nothing to do with starter. So far..I have yet to hear S4 having starter problem.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Thanks for the info! :smile:

1st, I'll have to get some tools.. any advice the basic set to do these simple things on my own? Thanks again. :cheers:

You need only one allen key size for the two round hex screw..sorry can't remember what size at the moment. Just careful with the fuse box..has to press the catch down and lift..nothing move..don't force.

yo ah pek.... wats up? mi bike was the one rectifire burnt.. hahah talk abt push starting a bike, i would prefer on a gear 1 then 2... throw the clutch with a bit of throttle then prepare front brakes :p ... thats how i did it when i couldnt start my bike for a few days due to mi rectifier.

btw, after changing the wires and rectifier at Sin Boon Motors my bike was back on the road!! woohoo... thanks to u too ah pek!!

Dear non-vtecs, if during cornerning and even straight road u feel ur bike unstable(slightly go left to right) but then u thought its cone steering problem but it seems like it doesnt then what could be the problem?

Bearing?

Thank You,

Valentino Hondaman. lol

Honda Rebel 125 (Rebeliah) 2004-2006

Super 4 Ver S (Sephia) 2006-

Mersing(Air papan), Desaru,Tanjung Balau,Tanjung Piai,Pahang/Rompin,Penyabong,bekok waterfalls,Sepang/KL, Penang/KL,Melacca/Gunung Ledang,Pahang Endau Rompin Jungle. more to come~

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d23/salleh_/S4MHondaman.jpg

yo ah pek.... wats up? mi bike was the one rectifire burnt.. hahah talk abt push starting a bike, i would prefer on a gear 1 then 2... throw the clutch with a bit of throttle then prepare front brakes :p ..

Believe me Bro..second gear is better because the kick in of the starter to fire the engine is more 'gentle' and mild. if you are not experience, gear one can be 'risky' especially when you are not quick enough to clutch back and at same time rev the throttle when engine starts.

I normally don't run oush the bike, I walk fast with it and slow my walk when I ready to lead the clutch bites. Once engine start, I rev the engine at the same time clutching back and bike not moving at all. This is done with 2nd gear shifted in. Demostrated b4 at Teck Ghee Sq...:D

Dear non-vtecs, if during cornerning and even straight road u feel ur bike unstable(slightly go left to right) but then u thought its cone steering problem but it seems like it doesnt then what could be the problem?

Bearing?

Thank You,

Valentino Hondaman. lol

This would happened only if you just dropped your bike recently :D ..hmmm?..must be lah.

Have to check your upper and lower handle bracket arm..those that grips the fork.

Thank you

Ah Rossi Pek..:D

If lets say i am riding alone on the NS highway. Then my coolant hose broke and I dont have a spare one.

What should i do??

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

If lets say i am riding alone on the NS highway. Then my coolant hose broke and I dont have a spare one.

What should i do??

Ride slow..preferably less than 50km/hr. If your destination (mototiam) is far..stop at interval on the safe road side with engine off to cool till you reach destination. If you are fighting for time and want to continously ride, get to the nearest kiosk and get a bottle of 2-T oil and premix a bit to your fuel. Just ride reasonably..don't rev engine and monitor temp light as you proceed.

useful info there.. thanks ahpek..

Welcome bro...but thanks to which one huh?...so many...heeee....x3! :D

hey guys. when do u all service the forks? every year? my forks are getting softer. change fork oils and seals?

I'd rather get a Leo Vince than a Louis Vuitton.

hey guys. when do u all service the forks? every year? my forks are getting softer. change fork oils and seals?

This is subjective lah...no fixed timing one..example: 10 yrs don't change oso can when you ride your bike only once a month :D ..got it?

So..if its to soft for your comfort and got $$$s..change lah..price range from different shops from $90 - $150 (max), includes new pair of oil seal, servicing and oil replacement.

If your seal is ok and your fork got a drain nut at the bottom of the fork..jsut release the oil and pumped the old oil out by decompressing your forks. Top up with PJI 10W fork oil..volume should be around 420cc per fork.:bounce: save

This is subjective lah...no fixed timing one..example: 10 yrs don't change oso can when you ride your bike only once a month :D ..got it?

So..if its to soft for your comfort and got $$$s..change lah..price range from different shops from $90 - $150 (max), includes new pair of oil seal, servicing and oil replacement.

If your seal is ok and your fork got a drain nut at the bottom of the fork..jsut release the oil and pumped the old oil out by decompressing your forks. Top up with PJI 10W fork oil..volume should be around 420cc per fork.:bounce: save lots of $s eh!

This would happened only if you just dropped your bike recently :D ..hmmm?..must be lah.

Have to check your upper and lower handle bracket arm..those that grips the fork.

Thank you

Ah Rossi Pek..:D

But never drop lei...maybe in the past ah. But this happens after I came back from Melacca trip. suddenly like not stable. :weep:

Mersing(Air papan), Desaru,Tanjung Balau,Tanjung Piai,Pahang/Rompin,Penyabong,bekok waterfalls,Sepang/KL, Penang/KL,Melacca/Gunung Ledang,Pahang Endau Rompin Jungle. more to come~

But never drop lei...maybe in the past ah. But this happens after I came back from Melacca trip. suddenly like not stable. :weep:

In this case..can think of your wheel bearing..tyre uneven wear or rim (got kenna pot hole?). Believe you replaced your cone bearing already?

Ah Pek, i sent my bike for repair on the engine and need to remove the engine top cylinder... Usually such repair will take how long??? Cause the senior mech there had told me that it might takes 1-2weeks and not confirm will ok by then...

How come?...why so serious?..or doin an overhaul?

hard to say depending on their schedule..but two weeks is too long. Either they send the parts to someone else and earn middle $$$s or they intend to charge more. The very most four days. Looks like they are waving golden parang on you big time this time. Got asked for how much estimate b4 you do or not?

This is the best time to take the chrome head top back home and use paint remover to take off the laquer :)...blink blink like mine..LOL!

better ask how much first before suddenly at the end the price came out like one 2nd hand ver S again. more problem.

Usually takes 4 to 6 days.

Ah Pek, I realised that my front tire is actually 'pulling' to the left. What I did was go at slow speed and clutch in. The puling seems quite bad.

Usually this kind of symptom means what?

Thanks man..

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

Ah Pek, I realised that my front tire is actually 'pulling' to the left. What I did was go at slow speed and clutch in. The puling seems quite bad.

Usually this kind of symptom means what?

Thanks man..

I need you to have the following questions answered first as I can physically view your bike.

1) How old is the front tire and what the wear level of the centre thread line..is it almost shallow.

2) Have you ever change front wheel axle bearing or your steering cone bearing before? If you have a main stand, get the front wheel up, squad in font of the wheel, grab the two lower part of the fork and rock forward and back..if some movement is detected..cone bearing likely worn. If you grab the front wheel and rock it sideway and mild movement is felt..axle bearing oso worn liao.

3) Have you hit any pot holes before?

4) Is your front fork very soft?..since when was the last time anything done for the front fork..ike seal replacement, change of oil and cleaning services.

5) have you drop your bike before or lately?