guys. i got headache.

my coe ending jan 09. i sayang my bike. plus, i still paying installment.

i dun really understand this coe thing arh. i only hear people say got bidding lah, this lah, that lah. can bid $1 not? i seriously dunno sia. i hear market now 1k++ i sell backside times over also cannot get that amount sia.

how? how? how? mati sia...

Forget all the jargon about COE. Just pay thru internet. There are question at LTA web site that you can answer like how many years (5 or 10yrs) you want and the $s figure would come out. Its an average of 3 months. Once paid using POSB (I think) account..just print copy for your own reference keeping.

The current exact figure is not what you are paying..should be slightly lesser depending on the moving average of the last 3 months.

Just know that extending 5 years..you cannot extend anymore in future...for 10 yrs...life goes on or the bike. 10 yrs would be a smart move as the bikes still carries $s value. When COE goes up...you can always recover your expenses when selling it off one day. If ever down...you still can use current paid COE as a reference..so why not 10 yrs ;)

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 18.1k

Anyone knows wat happen??? Yesterday while washing bike i took out my air filter to do some cleaning on it... i discover that there are oily patches in the bottom area where we intall the air filter...

I checked on the air filter and there is no oily stain on it.... Anyone knows wat happen why suddenly got oily patches in that area???

to all the s4 bros.. selling my two bro endcan.. pls pm me for info.. thanx

Koyak lah like that..what happened mannn!?..like Wubefrud said..don't want to help out for a refund eh?

Hi guys, just wanna know, what is 'valve clearance'?, how much will it cost?... thanks..

Valve clearance for S4 are the shims (overhead cam engine only). Its the clearance betwen your cam lope and the valves via a cam follower and the shim. Cost varies and I do not know how much. Asked Krafadsw...he did his not long ago. make such the mototiam ahs done this before and have a caliper to measure the shim sizes needed.

i discover that there are oily patches in the bottom area where we intall the air filter...

Nothing unusal...just accumulation of vapor grease from your eo. When you have too much eo, it happends. the air filter box diuble as a bleeder and drainer for excessive eo to be expeed. Look carefully outside your airbox on the left...there is a short protrusion with a shop rubber tube plug..that's the drainage and once a while, do pull it out to let the excessive eo flows out.

This usually happened when you ride in hi-rpm and has excessive eo in your gearbox.

haha.. cos mine using alien headlight and exhaust w/o baffle..

send thru shops, likely to pass de..

Hi guys, just wanna know, what is 'valve clearance'?, how much will it cost?... thanks..

can drop by unique motor.. their price is transparent..

I did mine with overhualing, so the exact cost is unclear..

but i can tell you it's between the $400 or more range..

shim alone dun cost cheap..

I AM WATCHINGhttp://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b89/valente86/DSC00063RS.jpg

can drop by unique motor.. their price is transparent..

I did mine with overhualing, so the exact cost is unclear..

but i can tell you it's between the $400 or more range..

shim alone dun cost cheap..

Actually, I did my valve clearance together with an engine block gasket change for $150. For $400 or more range, that is referred to as "clearing the valve", at least, that was what Ah Chong at Planet told me.

And there is a significant difference after a valve clearance. It's like your engine is rejuvenatd.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

Originally Posted by bakashi

hi Guys,

Need some help & advice on the following queries...

Been outta the riding circle for quite some time so now quite lost where to get best bang for buck bike stuff...

1. Any comments on the FC of this S4 VS I'm riding?

Full tank about 15litre can hit 350-360km til reserve

Running on Esso 95

Is this consumption normal? Any way to improve it?

2. My rear shocks like gone liao. Hard and bumpy.

Any recommendation to go for?

- Servicing

- Change new one?

Whats the price range and where to do it?

3. Service Carb

Been long time since it's been done as the bike was passed to me by my elder Bro who went overseas.

So far have not done any major thing internally.

- Where is a good and reliable place to do so?

1) My S4 version R FC is the same with you. 360-370 before switching to reserved. I compare with my some of friends who is riding ver s or spec 1. Their petrol consumption is about 280 hitting reserved. But have to see the riding style..

2) I am using the normal one, after lost. so far so good, heard from the mechanic is about 100 plus can get.

3)till now, i never service carb, my only servicing for my s4 is spark plug, checking coolant and engine oil only..never do other stuff.. not too sure sufficient.. but so my ride is good =)

----------------------

Honda CB399cc Ver ®

----------------------

whitewhite

----------------------

till now, i never service carb, my only servicing for my s4 is spark plug, checking coolant and engine oil only..never do other stuff.. not too sure sufficient.. but so my ride is good =)

That's the way to go! :)

haha.. cos mine using alien headlight and exhaust w/o baffle..

send thru shops, likely to pass de..

alien headlight cannot eh? i heard some ppl say can, others say cannot...one of those unconfirmed speculations to me..haha..:giddy:

pek! i use the paint remover on my pipe and fork slider, but like no difference only le..dun have the bubble2..

LOL!...something tells me you gotten the wrong stuff like "paint thinner".:bounce:

alien headlight cannot eh? i heard some ppl say can, others say cannot...one of those unconfirmed speculations to me..haha..:giddy:

depends on luck de..

see the mood of the tester? hahaha..

i heard of ppl passing the inspection..

let off with a warning..

then there r some whom hv to come back again with original headlights..

LOL!...something tells me you gotten the wrong stuff like "paint thinner".:bounce:

SERIOUS?? NOOOooooo....

but i use on my pillion footrest bracket, it works..got bubble2, then peel off..but not my pipe or slider...hurm....:confused:

Q2. Have a total refurbishing at Teck Thye with better rebound rate spacer included for $240. Check the thread here for address.

Teck Thye Company

12 Braddell Road S(359900)

tel: 62803138

62826564 (Workshop)

Contact person: David Ong (98178791)

Should be this place right? Need to call in advance to make booking or just walk in can le? It's just around my place. Can visit it soon :)

$240 sounds reasonable. My bike shop at Geylang Lor 25 wanna quote me $300 for a 2nd hand one... Dunno isit "Robert" price

Q3. Nothing broken..don't touch..nothing done internaly means there is something wrong..things mind end up worst and you still won't know. Anyway...carbs tunning is standard at $40, wash carbs (never never necessary these days) at $80. The only thing you wanna do about carbs is change the inlet manifold and slider niddle. :shades:

Ya, true. If it's not broken, dun fix it.

Cos it's a 10 year+ bike liao. Renewed COE last year

Wanna do 1 time nab nab maintenance so that can last in future.

Scared bike die halfway then spend more later as harder to get parts as this model getting more and more obsolete

My bike shop also quote me $80 for service carb. Excluding the inlet manifold and slider needle and parts needed to be change.

After reading quite abit, wanna check if elsewhere with better and reliable place to do it one shot. Abit more $$, worth the investment to prolong the bike.

1) My S4 version R FC is the same with you. 360-370 before switching to reserved. I compare with my some of friends who is riding ver s or spec 1. Their petrol consumption is about 280 hitting reserved. But have to see the riding style..

guess my FC is average liao then? But compare to newer S4 vtec. this VS FC is good... This bike is stock all the way since day one.

At times, quited tempted to zhng abit. Like getting a full exhuast system for it... Any comments on this?

2) I am using the normal one, after lost. so far so good, heard from the mechanic is about 100 plus can get.

What thing lost? $100 plus is new one or used one?

3)till now, i never service carb, my only servicing for my s4 is spark plug, checking coolant and engine oil only..never do other stuff.. not too sure sufficient.. but so my ride is good =)

Yap, Just did mine too last weekend.

Last "major" job was change clutch pad early this year

Bike is FP plate, just renewed COE last year. Bro bought cash back then. So no more instalement, scrape liao so waste.

But 10 year+ bike liao, alot of things not performing or breaking down liao.

Perhaps when you peeps have outing I can join you all... then can gimme some advice on what to do.

never refund uh bro?

hahakzz.. lesson learned i guess.. no refund.. or not can end up in brawl.. so lets play safe & still learned.. haahakzz.. did my servicing lah ah pek.. my engine damn dirty man.. & the coolant was muddy brown... changed to all dat u recommended... WooHoo like crazy horse man inside the engine.. the chief mechanic also said dat its a posibilty dat the previous owner remove the themostat... hmmm still pondering wer isit at...:giddy:

:box: Lets just Ride & Have FUN!!! :cheer:
Perhaps when you peeps have outing I can join you all... then can gimme some advice on what to do.

This Wendesday nite...at Tech Ghee Square...the guys around AMK and somewhere esle are gathering for kopee and bikey talk..check the AMK S4 thread.