Sorry i need some help here.. today i started my bike and heard some 'ticking' sound generated near my version s carb area. Wonder whether is it normal or whether the shims are due for a change? Anyone could kindly help me with it? And was wondering what are the tell tale signs that the shims are due for a service? Kindly appreciate anyone's help. Thanks.

• Replies 18.1k

we all have to die. 50 years from now. what difference does it make?. just enjoy what ur doing now. rip fellow s4 rider.

Wise Men say,only fools rush in.

Sorry i need some help here.. today i started my bike and heard some 'ticking' sound generated near my version s carb area. Wonder whether is it normal or whether the shims are due for a change? Anyone could kindly help me with it? And was wondering what are the tell tale signs that the shims are due for a service? Kindly appreciate anyone's help. Thanks.

There are no "due" servicing for shims. When its worn, just have to be replaced. Occasionally, this sound comes around and is quite 'normal'. If it goes away after a few days, its okay but if its consistent and gets louder every now and then, that when it need to be replaced.

http://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/GoogleSearchIconShadow.gifhttp://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/SuperSearchIconShadow.gif

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Ride safe my friend..:cheer:

http://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/GoogleSearchIconShadow.gifhttp://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/SuperSearchIconShadow.gif

Thank ah pek,no worries,im a 'self-claimed' safe rider esp with pillion.haha!:thumb:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

Just got a message from the Section Head of my school that my classmate, Albert, riding a Version S passed away during the weekends in a bike accident in JB. May he rest in peace.

No wonder there's no version S today when I reached school. Sigh.

my most sincere condolences.

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

Just got a message from the Section Head of my school that my classmate, Albert, riding a Version S passed away during the weekends in a bike accident in JB. May he rest in peace.

No wonder there's no version S today when I reached school. Sigh.

Is he a SBF S4 forum member here..if yes, what's his nick? Sad indeed..!!!:(

Ah Pek, will post a mock-up pic of how I wan to mount the switch box and could give you an idea to DIY switches project...

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

Hi ah pek,

I was thinking of install Current Stimulator on my bike and that time you told me about your current stimulator. Is it possible for you to pm me the pricing including installation for the current stimulator? Cos i was also look at power abuser and was thinking of installing it..

Cos wanna compare the pricing..

Ah Pek, will post a mock-up pic of how I wan to mount the switch box and could give you an idea to DIY switches project...

Yah..that be great. Post it here and have open discussion. Others may help and suggest too..two heads are better than one.

I can't comment much right now koz ain't see your idea in visual yet..but was wondering why in a "box" form and on the lever...sound 'weird'.

Hi ah pek,

I was thinking of install Current Stimulator on my bike and that time you told me about your current stimulator. Is it possible for you to pm me the pricing including installation for the current stimulator? Cos i was also look at power abuser and was thinking of installing it..

Cos wanna compare the pricing..

Heh Xianbanz..that's not a "stimulator"..its a taser thingy and really NASTY SHOCK! Cannot lah..its illegal..anything swaye_swaye goes wrong I kenna go court for manslaughter I :faint:liao. Btw..I'm in the process of building 5 double (one for fan and one for headlamp) waterproof switches liao..believe you want one?..this one can lah.:sian:

Not power abuser..that's a 'toy'...EPS CCA (Cold Cranking Amphere (current)) you mean...yah, that's good for your bike electrical load performance. Since you got my grounding, it works well :thumb:

hi ah pek.. i have been following this thread for quite a while already.

i got a version S a couple of mths back from a friend's shop. had no problems with the bike till yesterday. thought u might have some knowledge about it.

there is some stains appearing on the block area on the right side.... near the chrome 'top' and the rubber layer. dun tink its coolent as it would have dried up. could be engine oil or petrol?

is it showing signs that i need a top overhual or replacement of the 'rubber'?

there is this clicking sound too when i start my bike in the morning. my bike has been back firing a lot too since day one. it could have been because of the end can as it sounds real loud. probaly operated on before by previous owner.

and lastly i m very interested in trying out your 'premix formula' but maybe something needs to be done first to the above mentioned problems?

kindly advise.

could u pm the cost of changing to ur 'premix' and probaly oil filter and a set of plugs too. and also when u might be available to help me solve these problems. kopi-oh and lunch on me. :)

http://www.ralliart.com/img/anime.gif
hi ah pek.. i have been following this thread for quite a while already.

i got a version S a couple of mths back from a friend's shop. had no problems with the bike till yesterday. thought u might have some knowledge about it.

there is some stains appearing on the block area on the right side.... near the chrome 'top' and the rubber layer. dun tink its coolent as it would have dried up. could be engine oil or petrol?

is it showing signs that i need a top overhual or replacement of the 'rubber'?

there is this clicking sound too when i start my bike in the morning. my bike has been back firing a lot too since day one. it could have been because of the end can as it sounds real loud. probaly operated on before by previous owner.

and lastly i m very interested in trying out your 'premix formula' but maybe something needs to be done first to the above mentioned problems?

kindly advise.

could u pm the cost of changing to ur 'premix' and probaly oil filter and a set of plugs too. and also when u might be available to help me solve these problems. kopi-oh and lunch on me. :)

If you are certain that its eo sipping or leaking mildly out between the top cover and mid block, meaning the gasket may be 'defective'..you can try tightening the bolts on the cyclinder block head first. Have to do it equally and diagonal. It coould be that the gasket is not seating properly due to loose cyclinder head cover job done in the past.

Don't ever suggest or mention word like "overhaul" to a mototiam you do not know..they will jump on it and your head is on the chopping block. As for the ticking, it could be the shim..its quite normal unless the sound continues and does not go away and goes on for weeks..its time then to replace the faulty shim/shims only.

K..will pm u.

Heh Xianbanz..that's not a "stimulator"..its a taser thingy and really NASTY SHOCK! Cannot lah..its illegal..anything swaye_swaye goes wrong I kenna go court for manslaughter I :faint:liao. Btw..I'm in the process of building 5 double (one for fan and one for headlamp) waterproof switches liao..believe you want one?..this one can lah.:sian:

Not power abuser..that's a 'toy'...EPS CCA (Cold Cranking Amphere (current)) you mean...yah, that's good for your bike electrical load performance. Since you got my grounding, it works well :thumb:

haha yupz yupz, btw ah pek when the waterproof switches are ready? This sat i'm free (I got retrenched, cos me part time so first to go), can go down your place to install.. And cos i also thinking of installing the current stabilizer which you have under your set.. That time you told me will be better for your electrical load.. Haha..

Takes quite awhile to assemble it...can get one set ready by this Saturday for you. Will pm u the cost. The last set was taken by Solar...was meant for you..but first come first serve lah.

I'll try post pic of the switch box asap before sat. so maybe Ah Pek can try to Diy the switch box...

Have to indicate and identify the following:

1) What equipment or accessories the box switches be link to.

2) Their current rating as wire type are of importance.

3) Do the individual require seperated fuses?

4) How big is the box at max in size and EXACTLY where and how you want it mounted.

5) Make sure you have enough $s :angel:..LOL!

Precisely why I need your help Ah Pek... I have only the physical idea in mind. Will indicate the materials used as these materials are easily available. :)

If you are certain that its eo sipping or leaking mildly out between the top cover and mid block, meaning the gasket may be 'defective'..you can try tightening the bolts on the cyclinder block head first. Have to do it equally and diagonal. It coould be that the gasket is not seating properly due to loose cyclinder head cover job done in the past.

Don't ever suggest or mention word like "overhaul" to a mototiam you do not know..they will jump on it and your head is on the chopping block. As for the ticking, it could be the shim..its quite normal unless the sound continues and does not go away and goes on for weeks..its time then to replace the faulty shim/shims only.

K..will pm u.

thanks for enlightening me...

maybe i can come down n show it to you the next time u guys have another kopi session and seek your advise on wat to do. i stay at bishan n its very near only.

actually i m kinda interested in doing some grounding too. my bike is using the rxz 'sai tao' when i took over. i notice whenever i brake, the headlights kind of dim a slight bit. hope by doing the grounding it might help.

let me know when u guys meeting up den i see if i can drop by a not as my working hours kinda long so daily only knock off about 8+pm. sunday off unless got urgent work.

http://www.ralliart.com/img/anime.gif
Takes quite awhile to assemble it...can get one set ready by this Saturday for you. Will pm u the cost. The last set was taken by Solar...was meant for you..but first come first serve lah.

Haha ok ok,, will be down in the afternoon depends on what time my order on sometime arrives in the morning on sat.. See you there.. :thumb:

Hi, don't if this question has been asked before but. Ver R n Ver S, which version is older? Coz would like 2 buy Super4 but seems like these r cheaper as compare to the VTEC versions. =X

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2365/2226771327_1468cf5b9b.jpg

13 Aug 2008 - Class 2B

8 Sep-now - NSR150SP

27 Nov 2009 - Class 2A

13 Jan 2010 - Super 4 Ver S

Hi, don't if this question has been asked before but. Ver R n Ver S, which version is older? Coz would like 2 buy Super4 but seems like these r cheaper as compare to the VTEC versions. =X

Skipping all the details...get Version "S".

anyway..im selling my version S end next month...if interested can contact me to view :)

bor bian...collecting my car by then..

å·±æ‰€ä¸æ¬²ï¼Œå‹¿æ–½äºŽäºº

hi.. can i ask a noob question.. how does the tyre size works?? like 160/70.. 160 is the width rite.. n 70 should be the thickness.. can i like change to 170/70 instead?? will it have any impact on performance or will the wear n tear rate be faster??

Rides : :gun:

YBR125 (Nov 2007 - Mar 2009 )

CB400 PB1 (Mar 2009 - Mar 2010 )

FZ6S S1 (Present)

hi.. can i ask a noob question.. how does the tyre size works?? like 160/70.. 160 is the width rite.. n 70 should be the thickness.. can i like change to 170/70 instead?? will it have any impact on performance or will the wear n tear rate be faster??

Anything oso can as long as the tyre wall don't rub or touch your swing arm. Expect higher fc.