Just an experience to share with u all. A few months back then i had a minor accident in Hougang at night.

Its a 2 lane road, a red traffic light, 1 car each at each lane behind the traffic light and a yellow box behind the cars for traffic at its left side road. Normally i will just squeeze between the 2 lane and position myself infront of the car but that day i decided to play by traffic rules, slow down and stop outside the yellow box.

Then it happened, a vios collided into my rear.....

So i guess not all traffic rules are meant to be followed:dot:???

• Replies 11

best to always check, u might be able to stop quickly and effectively but not the bugger behind.

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

Just an experience to share with u all. A few months back then i had a minor accident in Hougang at night.

Its a 2 lane road, a red traffic light, 1 car each at each lane behind the traffic light and a yellow box behind the cars for traffic at its left side road. Normally i will just squeeze between the 2 lane and position myself infront of the car but that day i decided to play by traffic rules, slow down and stop outside the yellow box.

claim the damn bugger jialat jialat! keng all your injuries like slip disc...

life's never fair bro

but then u did the right thing!

i support u!

you did nothing wrong what. its the dumbass behind failed to anticipate.

claim his/her ass.

but also good you let the car behind know your intention also, as in slowing down way before the box. a good 50m to 75m.

I sometimes do intermittent braking which is a double edged sword. First, the guy behind will slow down like siao, until he so far away from you, or... he will think you are playing with him, then try to tailgate you. But this case very rare la.

Then i moved to hand signs. Somehow they all always slow down and go very far away from me like i am carrying some bio hazard material. It works, so i'm not complaining, especially when its raining heavily.

dont get it wrong.. all traffic rules should be followed.

but just because u follow the traffic rules, it doesnt mean u will be 100% safe from other **** drivers.

u still gotta protect urself.

I sometimes do intermittent braking which is a double edged sword. First, the guy behind will slow down like siao, until he so far away from you, or... he will think you are playing with him, then try to tailgate you. But this case very rare la.

Then i moved to hand signs. Somehow they all always slow down and go very far away from me like i am carrying some bio hazard material. It works, so i'm not complaining, especially when its raining heavily.

waht hand signs, teach me leh. i wanna learn!

Aiya, its the normal hand signs in the driving manual for class 2b la. But i anyhow do on the road one. Turn left, i just hold my hand out 70 degrees and flap it like a bird slowly. Turn right, i use right hand. Say thank you or paiseh is the hand above the head.

I know all these wrong la, but somehow ah, except for the thank you one, they will really like slow down like hell then behind me got so much space for me to filter or do whatever i want.

Or perhaps they think i told them their car got problem then they stopping just in case? I dunno lol. It works anyway, so i dont really bother.:thumb:

u did the rite thing by stopping outside the yellow box. Claim from tat basket! :dot:

Just received the claim from my solicitator. Actually the 3rd party was quite polite but he cannot afford the cash in private settlement so no choice had to go by the legal means.

ever encounter quite recently, i used fake brake (tap lightly that ur brake light on, but not actually braking) but the bugger still tail me. never wanted to play him or have the chance to hit me, i followed the rules and left quite a big gap btw me and the car in front.

there was another time quite long ago, i used fake brake then the bugger followed far far away. he's driving a merz so i'm guessing he knew what i wanted and dont want to hit me.

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?