Hmm.. Let's say I wanna buy a new bike but wan to retain my number plate.. What r the procedures? And how much must I pay?

Thanks.. :cheer:

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

• Replies 14

Originally posted by Technician III@Dec 4 2006, 05:20 PM

Hmm.. Let's say I wanna buy a new bike but wan to retain my number plate.. What r the procedures? And how much must I pay?

Thanks.. :cheer:

$100 only

both bike must be in the same owner name

the new bike coe must be under ur name

then teh old bike get new register number plate FBB :offtopic:

http://sticker.eepz.org/albums/digital-print-album/lap_top.sized.jpg
Originally posted by yoshi@Dec 4 2006, 06:17 PM

$100 only

both bike must be in the same owner name

the new bike coe must be under ur name

then teh old bike get new register number plate FBB :offtopic:

Hmm.. abit confusing leh.. let's say I hav a situation like this..

I now riding class 2b bike and I wan to buy a new class 2a bike.. I wan to retain my number plate for my new bike, but i oso wan to sell away my class 2b bike..

Do u mean I must..

1) Purchase my class 2a bike 1st, apply for retain of number plate from dealer

2) Then my class 2b bike will have a new number plate

3) After which I can take my class 2b bike and sell it away?

Thanks for ur info.. :smile:

Originally posted by Technician III@Dec 21 2006, 07:09 PM

Hmm.. abit confusing leh.. let's say I hav a situation like this..

I now riding class 2b bike and I wan to buy a new class 2a bike.. I wan to retain my number plate for my new bike, but i oso wan to sell away my class 2b bike..

Do u mean I must..

1) Purchase my class 2a bike 1st, apply for retain of number plate from dealer

2) Then my class 2b bike will have a new number plate

3) After which I can take my class 2b bike and sell it away?

Thanks for ur info.. :smile:

let make it short u want to sell ur class 2b bike first also can.simple just pay $1300 to lta to retain the number plate for 1 year.

if u put on new vehicle lta will refund u the $1200 by cheque.

if u dont wish to pay the $1300 first then ,u simple purchase ur class 2a bike then pay $100 for rentention number plate ,then u sell away ur class 2b bike.

hmmm so means if i've got 2 bikes under my name, and i wanna interchange the plates, i would only have to pay $100?

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

Originally posted by shiraz@Dec 21 2006, 11:54 PM

hmmm so means if i've got 2 bikes under my name, and i wanna interchange the plates, i would only have to pay $100?

not to be mean ,$100 is for new register vehicle with coe under ur name.

dont think ur 2 biek meet the requirement.

teh price for that is $1300 x2 if both biek swap.

if only 1 biek swap then $1300 teh other biek will get a f b b number plate

Hmm.. Pai seh ar.. Ask another few qns..

1) So if i retain my number plate for my new bike, then the coe for my old number plate continues from the day i started using it rite? I no longer can count 10 yrs from when I pay $100 to retain the plate rite?

So actually this whole thing is like I "transfer" my COE to my new bike and I buy another 10 yrs COE for my old bike?

2) I know it's abit silly but i juz ask lah.. Which is a better idea?

I bought my new bike indicating to the bike shop tat i intended to retain my number plate.. I got my new bike wif my old number plate and my old bike fixed with the new plate.. I ride my old bike to different bike shops asking for its selling price..

OR I juz "trade in" my old bike and let the bike shop handle the retain number plate thing..

Both methods work rite?

1st Option

=======

If you trade in your old bike to the same shop that you will purchase the new bike then they can do it for you and you only have to pay S$100 for retaining yr number.

2nd Option

=======

You purchase the new bike and still hold yr old bike. The fees are the same at S$100.

3rd Option

=======

You sell yr old bike first and retain the number for the new bike which you haven't purchase yet. The fees are S$1300

+ + + +

The new COE remains with the new bike regardless the number plate sawped or not. For example you swap the plate number FS1234 (abt 7years old) with the number plate FBB5678. The COE of the FS1234 is for 10years and the COE for FBB5678 is for the remaining 3 years.

+ + +

To swap the number plates between 2 vehicles, both of the vehicles has to be under your name at the time of swapping. In that case you only pay S$100. I did retain my car's number. I sold my old car to an intividual and purchased my new car from an agent. I delivered my old car to the new Owner one working day after my new car was registered.

Is that clear?

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/greece_bl.gif http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/MyK8b.jpg

eh so now 2 ppl are contradicting each other. so do i pay 100 or 1300 if both bikes are under my name and i wanna swap both plates? both are old bikes btw..

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

Originally posted by shiraz@Dec 27 2006, 05:54 PM

eh so now 2 ppl are contradicting each other. so do i pay 100 or 1300 if both bikes are under my name and i wanna swap both plates? both are old bikes btw..

lets say u have a bike now FA123

den u wanna buy new bike fr motoshop

to put FA123 on a new bike pay 100 only

if now u got 2 bikes

bike A = FA 123

bike B = FZ1X

u wan bike A to becum FZ1X plate

bike B becum FA123

means swop bike A n B plate

tis one is 1300X2= 2600

so simple

Is there anyone who wants to buy a second hand bike but retain his old bike number? Is it very silly?

Originally posted by edwardthy@Dec 27 2006, 09:37 PM

Is there anyone who wants to buy a second hand bike but retain his old bike number? Is it very silly?

2600...shld have bah..pple got money to b88n

Originally posted by shiraz@Dec 27 2006, 05:54 PM

the $100 u havent include GST.

neway another situation is..

ur existing bike is insurance abt 2expire BUT

new bike havent register yet..

so wat u can do, lay up the old bike.

register new bike under ur name, den pay $100 + GST to swap plates.

'90 DT200RR | '95 Skipper 125 | '94 RXZ 135 | '99 WRE 125 | '80 Super 150 | '99 KTM200EGS

'91 NC30 | '00 GN250EY | '03 YZF-R1 | '00 Y125Z | '04 X-1 | '06 R6

'07 GSX1300R

PC3USB | Ti-Force Sumo | BMC Race | Discacciati | Swage | Venhill | ZG | Motovation | Ariete | Michelin PilotRoad 2 | SPY Alarm

Hmm.. Thanks veri much for the info given.. I finally understood liao.. Tink I'll buy my new bike at a time b4 my insurance ends.. Now i can decide wat to do liao.. Thanks guys.. :cheer: