Originally posted by none@Oct 23 2004, 09:01 AM

Yup, I am the guy who took over the black non ABS VFR from Edwin. :smile:

I don't quite like the look of a "Bra", what's a tube? Air tube to channel the heat away?

yah i also dun like the look of the bra.. covers one of the most exotic part of the bike... aka fuel tank. Erm.. my tube actually means 1/2 bra.....heheh u know girls always wear tube mah... reveal a bit...

but 1 thing to take note when using 1/2 or full bra is you need to occasionally take it out. My R1 now has got a fantastic paint on the tank and faded look on the rest of the cowlings....

how they channel heat away? well... they (leather) is a bad conductor of heat

Ride hard & safe...

• Replies 3.6k

Originally posted by none@Oct 23 2004, 09:06 AM

Hi Edwin, I don't really drag every gear, as a matter of fact I usually ride and change gear in the 4-5k rpm. Occasionally rode in the 6k range. Almost never hit the 7k (vtec) range in SG.

I was wondering whether it could be city riding? Stop and go very often between traffic lights.

a minute of idling matters alot i think. with the same riding style at idling of 1.2~1.3k rpm, i am gettin 290km on the main. With 1.0~1.1k idling, i am able to get another 20km more. Imaging the number of times u stop in the city compared to me. It could be a possible reason.

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by none@Oct 23 2004, 09:06 AM

Hi Edwin, I don't really drag every gear, as a matter of fact I usually ride and change gear in the 4-5k rpm. Occasionally rode in the 6k range. Almost never hit the 7k (vtec) range in SG.

I was wondering whether it could be city riding? Stop and go very often between traffic lights.

oh yes...too much stop and go will increase fuel comsumption. I usally on the expressway. and sometimes om city roads the different in comsumption is about 40 to 60 km more or less before touching reserve depends on city riding or expressway.

http://photos-d.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v313/251/70/563403338/n563403338_974923_6695.jpg

My present rides:

Honda CBR600RR8 (Black)

Yamaha FZ1N (Blue)

--------------------------------------------------

Originally posted by spoofy@Oct 26 2004, 01:05 AM

Hi.. new comer here.. may i noe where n how much to get the original vfr800 panniers???

:smile: Think ah boy has it. Can go check it out :cheeky:

Originally posted by cheekozer600@Oct 26 2004, 12:45 PM

:smile: Think ah boy has it. Can go check it out :cheeky:

Ah boy? reali?? new comer here. pls dun sabo hor..:smile:

Life is Short...... Ride Hard!!!

http://www.intertanko.com/tankerfacts/sizes/images/t11.jpg

well u can treat us all 2 kopi n we woul gladly show u the panniers rite guys :p juz jokin lar maybe we arrange for a vfr outing at kallang kfc u can come dwn n take a look. btw im the 1 not using original panniers using hepco n beckers, original panniers cost round $1800.

put a fierce exhaust lah. your petrol consumption will increase exponentially with your smile factor.

Originally posted by koma@Oct 27 2004, 11:41 PM

well u can treat us all 2 kopi n we woul gladly show u the panniers rite guys :p juz jokin lar maybe we arrange for a vfr outing at kallang kfc u can come dwn n take a look. btw im the 1 not using original panniers using hepco n beckers, original panniers cost round $1800.

Kopi... no problem...:thumb: btw when is e outing?? I shift work leh.. I noe abt H&B but not so nice on vfr leh.. tatz jus my opinion.. :smile: But I hrd e price of e original panniers has dropped.. duno true or not..:confused:

Originally posted by spoofy@Oct 28 2004, 12:12 AM

Kopi... no problem...:thumb: btw when is e outing?? I shift work leh.. I noe abt H&B but not so nice on vfr leh.. tatz jus my opinion.. :smile: But I hrd e price of e original panniers has dropped.. duno true or not..:confused:

WAO!@##$ drop? basket... Anwyays, everythings gonna drop slightly form 2006 onwards

Ride hard & safe...

One bad thing about the original panniers is that they are so glossy and fragile on the sides. Slight bump to any hard objects are enough to scratch the surface.

Don't feel like bringing them out to find scratches are over them :(

Guys any ways of protecting them? carbon fibre stickers?

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by none@Oct 28 2004, 11:12 AM

One bad thing about the original panniers is that they are so glossy and fragile on the sides. Slight bump to any hard objects are enough to scratch the surface.

Don't feel like bringing them out to find scratches are over them :(

Guys any ways of protecting them? carbon fibre stickers?

3M sticker? those like tankslapper.

Originally posted by lEddyl@Oct 28 2004, 08:01 PM

3M sticker? those like tankslapper.

I am checking with them on availability.

Want to order together?

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by none@Oct 28 2004, 08:11 PM

I am checking with them on availability.

Want to order together?

ok. need the kit for 1000rr

let me know when u ready bro :)

Hi agn.. juz got my ride(vfr800 of cos..) 2days ago... May i noe how big is e fuel tank inclusive of reserve in litres? n wat is the economical rpm 2 run in 6th gear during cruising?? Is it when the last bar of the fuel indicator blinks indicating that I'm running on reserve?? thanz in advance...:smile:

Originally posted by spoofy@Oct 29 2004, 01:48 AM

Hi agn.. juz got my ride(vfr800 of cos..) 2days ago... May i noe how big is e fuel tank inclusive of reserve in litres? n wat is the economical rpm 2 run in 6th gear during cruising?? Is it when the last bar of the fuel indicator blinks indicating that I'm running on reserve?? thanz in advance...:smile:

Manufacturer specs:-

main tank : 18.4liters

reserve : 3.6liters

Total : 22liters

But i always hit 310km before reserve, which then gives another 80km more. this works out to be

main tank : 80% (17.6liters)

reserve : 20% (4.4 liters)

With 90% expressway travel, 90~110km, I managed to clock 17~18km/liter. Best cruising I tried was 120kmh constant. This gave me 20km/liter. Cruising at 200++ constnat gave me about 11~13km/liter.....Didn't try any other combination though.

As for bar indicator. There is a reserve tank anymore.Why i say that? Coz when the old bikes have a knob to switch to reseverve, this means the petrol level has below the inlet tube. Hence you have to turn the switch, so that the tube head lower the fuel level opens, thus using the so called reserve. But for the newer bikes, its is light indicated. In fact, the petrol is always flowing the the ulimate tank..Its just when the sensor gonna tell you its not it has past a certain mark.

So basically, for the VFR, once the indicator blinks, it means you have reached level X.You can also set your own reserve with the VFR indicator.

Here is the breakdown

1. bar 1 --- 20km++

2. bar 2 --- 60km

3. bar 3~7 --- 40km each bar

4. bar 8 --- 20+km

5. blinkning bar 80~100km

This a rough bar breakdown on mileage for my daily riding. Hope these helps

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Oct 29 2004, 02:29 AM

Here is the breakdown

1. bar 1 --- 20km++

2. bar 2 --- 60km

3. bar 3~7 --- 40km each bar

4. bar 8 --- 20+km

5. blinkning bar 80~100km

This a rough bar breakdown on mileage for my daily riding. Hope these helps

Normally for other bikes that I rode on, the indicator will last very long on the first few bar and drop drastically on the last few.

For the VFR I was quite shock when it drop first bar on 18++km.

Here's my one for last week. (80% on normal roads)

1. bar 1 --- 18km++

2. bar 2 --- 70+km

3. bar 3~7 --- 70-200km

4. bar 8 --- 220km

5. blinking bar 240+km

This week I am on eway most of the time, got 155km mileage at the 4th bar.

Originally posted by spoofy@Oct 29 2004, 11:04 AM

Thanz a lot hamsterZ n none... tat was a very gd n detailed breakdown! :thumb:

:smile: Have u bought your boxes from ah boy yet? :cheeky:

Originally posted by spoofy@Oct 29 2004, 01:48 AM

hi spoofy, u got ur bike frm vfr9774 isit?? maybe next fri we go gp eat u might wan 2 join us??

Originally posted by cheekozer600@Oct 29 2004, 12:05 PM

No yet... But my fren went 2 check out the price n I can't reali believe!!! It'stoo gd 2 be true.. Cannot post the price bcos might caused some people here to puke blood..:bouncefire:

Originally posted by koma@Oct 29 2004, 07:25 PM

hi spoofy, u got ur bike frm vfr9774 isit?? maybe next fri we go gp eat u might wan 2 join us??

Yes. I'm working shift work leh... Will let u noe soon...:cheeky:

Guest RC46^VTEC
Originally posted by cheekozer600@Oct 29 2004, 12:05 PM

Hi there, u mean Ah-Boy or Regina?Their prices for Hondaline boxes competitive?

Wish to get more info on it...thks!

Originally posted by RC46^VTEC@Oct 29 2004, 08:52 PM

Hi there, u mean Ah-Boy or Regina?Their prices for Hondaline boxes competitive?

Wish to get more info on it...thks!

It's regina.. u wanna order?? y dun we order 2gether n make e price "super competitive"?