where did you guys service your VFR? especially engine tuning.

I posted in the "Why pay more" section but no response. :sian:

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
  • Replies 3.6k

Originally posted by none@Jul 28 2005, 08:57 AM

where did you guys service your VFR? especially engine tuning.

I posted in the "Why pay more" section but no response. :sian:

minor servicings like

1. oil change

2. oil filter change

3. air filter change

4. engine bolt tightening

5. spark plugs

6. coolant

7. chain adjustment

8. suspension setting

can be DIYed. Take a little time if you are doing them the 1st time. Will be simple after you have gone through the first one. So far i did them myself. I would be glad to share the procedures if you are keen. :sweat:

As for engine tuning, basically I havent done any. What i anticipate would be

1. throttle body synchro

2. valve clearance

As for item 1, can be DIYed also. just a little patience. I am waiting for my turn though.

Would love to do myself, but due to time and space constrait, ain't able to do it. But it would be a BIG learning experience I guess. :cheeky:

Should time is a constraint, maybe you can try looi's (meng tong.. but have to book i tink). Comments is that he is kindoff "xi xin" in servicing bikes. So far, comments are from frens... think would be likewise for VFRs.

Another place might be Stanford at AMK. Check this out with koma.. think he best fren with him!! :cheer:

Hope these helps.... Call me if you need help in DIY-ing. Oh yah call me if you are ready to collect the plugs

Ride hard & safe...

I myself had done 3. to 8., 1. & 2. normally I change at the workshop by the mechanic.

I just saw my new mechanic sync my starter valves yesterday, seems like a easy task, only need to get the vacuum gauge.

My bike is hitting the magical 60k km mark soon, there is some rattling sound coming. Suspect could be the cam chain or tensioner out of life soon.

I have not try out Looi before, not sure how long I have to wait since my bike is not from them.

Stanford is definitely out for me.

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Guest cheeko
Originally posted by KISS@Jul 27 2005, 10:43 AM

Can your Ohlins be fitted into my VFR800fi?

:giddy: Ehh....this question i duno how to answer u as i am an illiterate person, duno how to read specs all this kinda stuff :giddy: Maybe bro hamster can help to answer this question for u cos he is a technical guy :smile:

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by none@Jul 28 2005, 08:26 PM

I myself had done 3. to 8., 1. & 2. normally I change at the workshop by the mechanic.

I just saw my new mechanic sync my starter valves yesterday, seems like a easy task, only need to get the vacuum gauge.

My bike is hitting the magical 60k km mark soon, there is some rattling sound coming. Suspect could be the cam chain or tensioner out of life soon.

I have not try out Looi before, not sure how long I have to wait since my bike is not from them.

:mad: Yeah u rite, stanford like this kinda working style how to go there service, unless u got plenty of free time to wait. I nowadays go there just change tyre & buy oil only then quickly F.O liao :mad:

Originally posted by KISS@Jul 27 2005, 10:43 AM

Can your Ohlins be fitted into my VFR800fi?

Nope slightly different mounting, u can check out the specs on ohlins website.

the models of shock r different on the website

Originally posted by cheekozer@Jul 28 2005, 10:17 PM

:giddy: Ehh....this question i duno how to answer u as i am an illiterate person, duno how to read specs all this kinda stuff :giddy: Maybe bro hamster can help to answer this question for u cos he is a technical guy :smile:

oops.. i am out of this ques. Haven't checked it out yet. thoug .. sorry leh :sweat:

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by none@Jul 28 2005, 08:26 PM

Well I am able to get my hands on the vacuum gauge. Carb syn II. Gimme a beep if you are keen.

As for Loois, usually sat is hard, duration is abt 2 days minimum. Oh yah must make appointment first

Ride hard & safe...

guys, have a fellow V4 enthusiast with some questions. I gave some personal encounters for him. You guys might have more/different things to share.... he post here http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....0entry2035640 in the RVF thread.

Originally posted by Shay@Jul 24 2005, 10:15 PM

Ok guys....the age old debate whether anot the OEM air intake works or just 2 pieces of thrash??

Dug this up from a old Japanese webby that features the specs of the RVF400 when it was launched many years ago.

http://www.honda.co.jp/factbook/motor/RVF/19940100/image/007-002.gif

""Inhalation system as the air which was sucked from the air intake of NASA duct type by the fact that it makes the design which is led to the air cleaner via the duct, rise of intake air temperature is held down , made that the mixture which is always optimum is sent into the cylinder possible, actualized the engine efficiency which is stabilized. Furthermore, it allots the urethane inside the duct of the air cleaner and assures also the decrease of inhalation sound.""

The english is atrocious as Google translated it from japanese text..but you guys get the idea. " rise of intake air temperature is held down" optimising carbueration. Note, the air cleaner in the passage refers to the airbox.

The air ducts are therefore not a direct air intake INTO the airbox (dun understand why Honda dun make it so) but a intake of cooler charges of air to "blast-cool" the ambient temperature around the frontal area of the airbox from where it sucks air from.

As we all know...cool air gives more Horsies compare with hot air being drawn into the engine. Its the same concept as WRX's frontal air scoops, and why some performance cars install "cold-air" intake cone....all the same purpose; cooling by convection.

up to you guys to believe....but this site is quite reliable in its tech info..check it out for youselves. http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=e...Den-us%26sa%3DN

hi, i intruder here... :cheeky:

Finally I found out what it means, coz they dunt seem to lead to anywhere from the "naked eye". Thankz for the "truth" man.

Ok no offence but.. The bulk reason of the scoops/duct for WRX is meant for the inter-cooler unit. :sweat:

Ride hard & safe...

Hi VFR Riders, I'm seriously considering a VFR800. ;)

Problem is, there isn't any 2nd hands going around!! Anybody has news of anyone selling or any shops carrying 2nd hands?

Sitting on my hands... Must... Not... Rebutt...!! ARGH~!@

Originally posted by feng125@Aug 2 2005, 06:48 PM

Problem is, there isn't any 2nd hands going around!! Anybody has news of anyone selling or any shops carrying 2nd hands?

hope any one here can really gif full details on e bike price... if i'm not wrong, $23k+ OTR for first hand?

Originally posted by feng125@Aug 2 2005, 06:48 PM

There is a new type selling on yahoo auctions. There is a 99 VFR selling here in the garage sales. Both red. Think saturdays clasifieds (straits times) also has one.

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

VFR800 VTEC ABS since 03/2005 :

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Silverwing 400 since 11/2007

CBR 1000 RR7 repsol since 5/2009 SOLD

Varadero XL1000 since 08/2010

paiseh rstopel for makin u wait at mtech that day, was on the way dwn then it rained n i had to stop to change into my raincoat. ok guys`~i still got 1 brand new ohlins to let go, anyone interested can approach me. i paid $200 deposit liao if u wan juz gibe me $130 back can liao then pay the remining $870 to sporting motors~~~

Originally posted by Wei_De@Aug 2 2005, 07:57 PM

hope any one here can really gif full details on e bike price... if i'm not wrong, $23k+ OTR for first hand?

Machine : 19,918.10

GST : 995.90

ARF : 2164.00

COE : 210.00

Reg fee : 140.00

Road tax : 128.00

trans fee : 244.00

Total OTR : 23,800.00

Panniers : 1800

VFR bags : 200

GST : 100

Total : 2100

So all in all for bike n OEM pnaniers & bags, it totalled up to 25,900.

thats for bike out with Loois. Other might be higher or lower. Hope this helps as a gauge

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Aug 3 2005, 09:29 PM

thats for bike out with Loois. Other might be higher or lower. Hope this helps as a gauge

Seriously in monetary terms it is not worth it to buy VFR with this kind of money.

You can buy any jap litre++ class sports/sports touring bike using 24-26k.

Only die hard viffers would part with this kind of money for their love bike. :smile:

Originally posted by koma@Aug 3 2005, 11:18 AM

paiseh rstopel for makin u wait at mtech that day, was on the way dwn then it rained n i had to stop to change into my raincoat. ok guys`~i still got 1 brand new ohlins to let go, anyone interested can approach me. i paid $200 deposit liao if u wan juz gibe me $130 back can liao then pay the remining $870 to sporting motors~~~

no problem martin. Just that I had a appointment at 4pm. still made it before event started. Hey, why is there this net on top of my box? Any use? else I cut it off. Forgot to ask you last sat.

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Originally posted by none@Aug 4 2005, 08:29 AM

Seriously in monetary terms it is not worth it to buy VFR with this kind of money.

Only die hard viffers would part with this kind of money for their love bike. :smile:

Dun agree. You sound like must guys here on this board that base treir preference on how much cc they get per dollar. If I were to buy a new cl2 bike I would buy VFR. Simply because it is the safest (ABS, dual brake) and very practical to ride. It is also one of the best looking bikes around (red only). It is a Honda some more so superior quality and rather decent resale value.

Only problem is that buying a new CL2 bike is that you have to be prepared to drop a huge chunk when you sell it so better think twice whether you can hold on to it.

just my 2cts :thumb:

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Originally posted by none@Aug 4 2005, 08:29 AM

Well generally I agree. But i was not looking for power at that point of time. More of comfort yet playable vehicle. VFR fits the criteria! I am riding a jap 1liter also. Both bike just belong to different worlds.

Well why didn't i get a 2nd hand. Well..probably its just my dream/feel/satisfaction/desire or whichever it can be comprehended ever since i rode my first class 2B bike. Every second hand bike i get, give funni probs at weird times. I like to know my own things and keep track of them. Prob thats why I got a new vehicle.

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by rstopel@Aug 4 2005, 06:52 PM

Dun agree. You sound like must guys here on this board that base treir preference on how much cc they get per dollar. If I were to buy a new cl2 bike I would buy VFR. Simply because it is the safest (ABS, dual brake) and very practical to ride. It is also one of the best looking bikes around (red only). It is a Honda some more so superior quality and rather decent resale value.

Only problem is that buying a new CL2 bike is that you have to be prepared to drop a huge chunk when you sell it so better think twice whether you can hold on to it.

just my 2cts :thumb:

I kinda agree to it. Pardon if i offend anyone. I also used to use cc/$$ to compare most bikes when i was still an amatuer (but now also not pro lah.. jsut a more a bit better than amatuer.... :sweat: )Untill i rode different class 2 bikes to work and to mersing, i realised, it all boils down to what you really, and what you are willing to compromise. like.. :smile:

1. comfortable? think again.. the rear shocks are too soft

2. Great power? think again, its really hard to gun the bike on certain bends.. thrill factor is killed

3. Looks good rite? think again, italian stuff is great in different angles, but it boils down to 1 pocket when its sick.

4. Great handling and comfrt eh? Think again, i can't push it THAT hard also...

But ultimately, it all boils down to $$... which none is right. It budget is does not permit the bike you want (even though you know thats it), a second hand one will suffice..because the savings you have can go into family needs, extra lifestyle and so on. :cheeky:

I suppose it might be a better to cal loss in terms of depreciation each year. That will give a better gauge to how much you will lose in each year till you sell it off (meaning you need to plan how many years you want to ride it for before selling).

I have ppl who boought expensive bikes, yet after close calculation, they break even and even depreciate minimal !

These were some stuff i considered after experiencing diff makes n model of bikes. My 2 cents worth

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Aug 3 2005, 09:29 PM

thanks for the info... very detailed... meaning u got everything at 26k?

Originally posted by rstopel@Aug 4 2005, 06:31 PM

no problem martin. Just that I had a appointment at 4pm. still made it before event started. Hey, why is there this net on top of my box? Any use? else I cut it off. Forgot to ask you last sat.

its juz a normal cargo net, u can cut it off no prob ;)

Originally posted by Wei_De@Aug 4 2005, 08:39 PM

thanks for the info... very detailed... meaning u got everything at 26k?

yesh... this does not included add on non OEM accessories (hugger, windshield etcetc).

Getting a viffer soon? :cheeky: :cheer:

Ride hard & safe...

thanks for the info dudes... especially to Stanley.

I've decided on a second hand one already. Now its just the matter of $$$. Perhaps one day i should meet up with u guys to learn more after i take over.

ps: Stanley we've met before... i wonder if u remember. ;)

Sitting on my hands... Must... Not... Rebutt...!! ARGH~!@

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Aug 5 2005, 12:38 AM

yesh... this does not included add on non OEM accessories (hugger, windshield etcetc).

Getting a viffer soon? :cheeky: :cheer:

stil hvn take class2, but going to... now trying to look for e bike dat i wana ride... stil considering wat to get when i got class2...

Guest Delusi0n

just change my engine oil to fully sync today...

but after tat on the road something strange happen...

the low oil pressure signal light came on and the engine just die off while the bike is still moving...

anyone ever encounter such thing?

wats is the optimal oil pressure than?