Just wondering if there are any more cigar lovers or aficionados besides myself in this forum.

To those who have been curious about cigars and related, here's a thread where we can discuss about the flavors, fragrance, edicion limitadas and places to sit down relax and do a fine cigar.

• Replies 3.7k

maybe i'll start with my regular weekly smokes

Monte Cristo No. 2 piramides - smooth and creamy to the draw, a good dark batch will certainly bring a stronger woodier and nuttier taste to the palate. otherwise medium in flavor and easy even for beginners. Easy to smoke beocs of its piramides shape, the Monte 2 will give about 70mins of pleasure if you do it right.

Hoyo Do Monterey Epicure No. 2 - a robusto in size, the epicure is definitely the nicest smelling non vintage, non edicion limitada cigar money can buy. the fragrance overwhelmes its flavor and one can be contented just smelling it without smoking. Other, an excellent draw with a hint of chocolaty vanilla taste.

PArtagas Serie D No. 4 - another robusto size favourite of mine. The serie D always comes with very dark and oily wrappers, smooth to the feel. presenting a stronger deeper and sometimes slightly bitter flavor, the Serie D is good to the last draw even without a drink in hand.

Next time I'll give some reviews on some of the top notch Edicion Limitadas which I have smoked.

Edited by Throttle

no one here likes cigars?

not rich then smoke less, that's all

anyway a pack of cigarettes is almost $10

a relative OK Cuban cigar is $15

beginners may want to try the slightly milder dominican republic cigars which are also slightly cheaper. about $12 to $20 each depending on size and brand.

anyway cigars are different, you need the mood to do it right and to enjoy

Mama africa is a nice place for cigar and wine. Cebernet sauvignon, zinfandel complement with cheese... Slurpp! :hungry: Also quite a wide range of cigars kept in controlled environment, Price is ok lah 10+ to 30+ average per cigar(also got the very exclusive and HUGE cuban "missile" cigar that can cost hundreds of dollars) for you to chomp on the whole night while watching EPL. Honduras, Dominican.... Even mini cohibas. I usaully spent less than 20 on a cigar and its still affordable. A bottle of wine share by two person, still comes up to less than 50 per person for a weekend night out so still ok lah. One thing i observed is that alot of people like to stereotype people smoking cigar as poseurs but wat the heck man... I also observed more and more cigar friendly joint opening up these days. I aint no expert just buy, chill out and relax. watever that make me happy. ENJOY! :bounce:

Originally posted by necrosis@Mar 28 2004, 06:19 PM

Mama africa is a nice place for cigar and wine. Cebernet sauvignon, zinfandel complement with cheese... Slurpp! :hungry: Also quite a wide range of cigars kept in controlled environment, Price is ok lah 10+ to 30+ average per cigar(also got the very exclusive and HUGE cuban "missile" cigar that can cost hundreds of dollars) for you to chomp on the whole night while watching EPL. Honduras, Dominican.... Even mini cohibas. I usaully spent less than 20 on a cigar and its still affordable. A bottle of wine share by two person, still comes up to less than 50 per person for a weekend night out so still ok lah. One thing i observed is that alot of people like to stereotype people smoking cigar as poseurs but wat the heck man... I also observed more and more cigar friendly joint opening up these days. I aint no expert just buy, chill out and relax. watever that make me happy. ENJOY! :bounce:

whr's it located?

88 telok ayer st.Far east sq #01-01 Tel 65329339.

Wah make me hungry liao.... The burgers they serve there are tops man. ok price bout 12 bucks but the portion is big ! :hungry:

Posuer or not, one look can tell.

cigar smoking - a lot of skills required.

from choosing the cigar, to cutting , lighting, holding, relighting, drawing, and finishing......

the most basic rule that every cigar smoker should know and learn.

No. 1 = Cut your own cigar

No. 2 light your own cigar.

simply by looking at the way someone lights his cigar, i know if he is a posuer or a real aficionado.

of course many so call cigar smokers are posuers......... sad to say.

I got my own cigar supplier so i stock up at home.

I never buy from restaurants or non tobacconist shops.. becos they charge too much for mediocre cigars, haha

excuse me FX PJR, people dont smoke cigars for kick,more for flavor, taste, scent or aroma.

Cigar is not like cigarettes...:smile:

the best place to smoke one is in a windless room........:thumb:

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 28 2004, 09:52 PM

excuse me FX PJR, there is no so call "kick" in cigars, just flavor, taste, scent or aroma.

Cigar is not like cigarettes...:smile:

the best place to smoke one is in a windless room........:thumb:

Oooh i c...nvm u like your WAy,i;ll do it my way.........Anyway didn't know there's RULES in where u smoke and HOW u smoke cigars...........pei seh....shall STOP burning cigars from now......:smile:

hoho thats what makes cigars different from cigarettes.....

dont be angry, next time, i pass you one of my indonesian made petite coronas OK? nice tasting but not so strong.

i've tried this brand of cigar from spain years ago, very aromatic and subtle. excellent with a macchiato. never did get the name, it's nice. :lovestruck:

http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/transformers/images/8/8f/Laserrave.gif

FROZEN...

spain? then it may be quite uncommon. spain does produce cigars but in small quantities. too bad you didnt remember the brand.....

Fact: the best Cuban cigars are found in Spain becos of a pact made to the king of Spain many years ago. until today, the best harvest of tobacco leaves making the good batch of cuban cigars goes to Spain....

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 28 2004, 10:41 PM

spain? then it may be quite uncommon. spain does produce cigars but in small quantities. too bad you didnt remember the brand.....

Fact: the best Cuban cigars are found in Spain becos of a pact made to the king of Spain many years ago. until today, the best harvest of tobacco leaves making the good batch of cuban cigars goes to Spain....

well, it's black... an unusual colour for a cigar, i think... and rather small and thin, not as thin as a cigarette though... i kinda miss it :weep:

FROZEN...

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 28 2004, 09:50 PM

from choosing the cigar, to cutting , lighting, holding, relighting, drawing, and finishing......

simply by looking at the way someone lights his cigar, i know if he is a posuer or a real aficionado.

I never buy from restaurants or non tobacconist shops.. becos they charge too much for mediocre cigars, haha

hmmm

whr u learn these skills from?

teach me can?

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 28 2004, 09:50 PM

well im always wanted to try cigar.. but nv noe which is good which is not.. haha.. too ex oso cannot la.. pocket cannot take it.. haha.. went into the cigar shop in a hotel.. wah so damn ex.. one cigar can cost up to thousands n thousands.. cheapest i found was 200+ in the shopp.. haha.. see liao sianz liaox.. so nv buy...

dun mind i ask.. y muz we cut e cigar? ani other procedures... how to best enjoy e cigar?

Fast faster fastest.. In life people only want everything to be fast..but they did not realised that they had missed all the wonderful things and people they had as they did not slow down their pace..

Hi Princess,

the color of the cigar may up to a certain extend determin it's origins but if it's blackish then it's the Maduro wrapped cigar. usually giving a hint of coffee aroma.

Also a bit like dark choc. If you are talking about the thin one then the cigar is known as a panatella.

Hi Leonz, you must have got it wrong... thousands or dollars for a box. not for 1 cigar. Most cigar shops in hotels sell "singles" or just one cigar. prices may range from $10 to $80 depending on brand size year origins.

You need to cut the cap of the cigar so that the air can flow thru. otherwise how to smoke? heheheh. cheap cigars like villager or henry wintermans have pre-cut tip.

Hi Biker, I learn from my years of smoking which started in Switzerland when I was working there.

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 29 2004, 09:53 AM

Hi Princess,

the color of the cigar may up to a certain extend determin it's origins but if it's blackish then it's the Maduro wrapped cigar. usually giving a hint of coffee aroma.

Also a bit like dark choc. If you are talking about the thin one then the cigar is known as a panatella.

hahaha! thanks for the info... i have to admit that i know nuts bout cigars in the first place... just found that particular one very nice. coz i found that most cigars abit on the stinky side (maybe cheapos smoked by poseurs?) :cheeky:

speaking bout poseurs... i have a first-hand experience of a local actor's faux pas... maybe i'll relate it later... coz i have to work now

FROZEN...

Hi, my friend did pass me a swmall box of cigar... mixed type... think he bought it in Taka... but I really dun know how to smoke...

Got a few question...

1. Where to buy cigar cutter?

2. I just put the cigar there... will it "lao hon"

3. How's the effect like?

Is it worst than smoking cigarette? Currently me a Marlboro smoker. I saw from TV that the cutter is pre-sized... ie: put the cutter through the tip in as far as possible and just cut... isit like that?:confused:

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/28/97/2817982/2960842392146l.jpg

sorry... one more... how do we actually smoke with cigar... heard that it's not like cigarette where we ta lek it all the way in... we just have to put it in our mouth and the smoke will diffuse through the tongue... is it true?

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/28/97/2817982/2960842392146l.jpg

Hi Alloy,

totally wrong, cigars are about taste and aroma. you DO NOT inhale into your lungs or you will cough like mad and die very young, hahaha 1 robusto cigar has enuff tobacco to make about 20 cigarettes!!!

Cigar cutter can buy from any good cigar shop.

There are general 3 types of cutters.

V cut, Punch cut or guillotine cut.

My fave is still standard twin blade guilotine cut.

When you cut the tip, you must cut pass the cap but not into the wrapper or else the cigar wrapper will unravel.

If you leave your cigars in a box in room tempareture and humidity in singapore, it is quite OK. dont not leave it in aircon or it will dry up.

Smoking requires the skill of using your mouth and not your lungs.

Roll the smoke in your mouth and let it come out (not blow out) the taste will linger if you flap your tongue, goes well with some liquor like sharidan's brandy, whiskey, kahlua, baileys etc...

Effect? it's the taste and aroma like I said, but you may get a little bit dreamy, in the cloud of smoke....hehhe

Can we take it that cigars are 'healthier' than ciggies as u dun 'tarake' the smoke? :sweat:

Melting under blue skies

Belting out sunlight

Shimmering love