Originally posted by Nightstalker@Jun 2 2005, 09:45 PM

hey guys...im headin down to town this sat and im plannin to check out the cigar shop at taka. its called oaks rite? dun know much abt cigars yet and was thinkin of buyin one to try. any reccomendations? maybe i can bring it along for the next meetup after my injury...

Yah, Oaks is the shop in Taka...BTW what happened to you lah? :sorry: :sorry:

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2006/11/22/bikepics-729398-150.jpg

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

• Replies 3.7k

heh heh eh heh heh :cheeky:

Eah eah.. Good stuffs you have Throttle..... Yummy! :hungry: :hungry: :hungry:

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

Originally posted by Nightstalker@Jun 2 2005, 10:04 PM

haha...sprained my ankle while playin tennis. been stuck at home for almost 2 wks. shd be up and runnin soon... dyin of boredom man

Me also kena stucked at home for abt 2 weeks due to flu....even Wednesday night cigar session, I can't taste the fullest of my RyJ.....I only can struggle to taste it about 70%... wasteful of me.....But the session is a great great learning time conducted by Throttle. Hope you can join us next rd.

UPDATE

Hey guys, read that u all had a great time at pit stop, glad that u enjoyed the cigars. Still have 5 more cigars if anyone's interested. Sev ur 2 still waiting for collection.

3 x Partagas Serie D No. 4 $25 ea

2 x Trinidad Fundadores $40 ea

4 x Monte Cristo No. 5 $10 ea RESERVED

1 x Partagas Shorts $10 ea RESERVED

2 x Romeo Y Julieta Exhibition No. 4 $20 ea SOLD

1 x Hoyo de Monterrey Epicure No. 2 $25 ea SOLD

Originally posted by Nightstalker@Jun 2 2005, 09:45 PM

hey guys...im headin down to town this sat and im plannin to check out the cigar shop at taka. its called oaks rite? dun know much abt cigars yet and was thinkin of buyin one to try. any reccomendations? maybe i can bring it along for the next meetup after my injury...

i might be coming down there myself too today... but then again cannot

confirm that.... need to get a cutter and lighter....what time would u be there?

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/numbergames-1096510755_turesblack.jpg
Originally posted by numbergames@Jun 4 2005, 09:42 AM

confirm that.... need to get a cutter and lighter....what time would u be there?

i went yesterday, it's at level 2 Takashimaya. It is at the end near the lift with Taka shopping mall. Not the main lobby there.

whopping dinner last nite.

goose liver pate

mushroom soup

baked cod fish

creme brulee

cigars:-

Elrey del Mundo Lunch Club

Vegas Robaina Formosos

Cuaba Distinguidos

:smile: :cheer: :thumb:

Originally posted by Throttle@Jun 4 2005, 10:26 AM

goose liver pate

mushroom soup

baked cod fish

creme brulee

Vegas Robaina Formosos

Cuaba Distinguidos

wah, 3 cigars a night! power!!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by shortie@Jun 3 2005, 11:59 AM

UPDATE

Hey guys, read that u all had a great time at pit stop, glad that u enjoyed the cigars. Still have 5 more cigars if anyone's interested. Sev ur 2 still waiting for collection.

3 x Partagas Serie D No. 4 $25 ea

2 x Trinidad Fundadores $40 ea

4 x Monte Cristo No. 5 $10 ea RESERVED

1 x Partagas Shorts $10 ea RESERVED

2 x Romeo Y Julieta Exhibition No. 4 $20 ea SOLD

1 x Hoyo de Monterrey Epicure No. 2 $25 ea SOLD

sorry shortie, working late yesterday, sorry to keep you waiting at home, after that my wife called me said she not feeling, brought her see doc, so can't meet you yesterday night.

now still in office continue my work yesterday, sian, nobody in the office.... :giddy:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Throttle@Jun 4 2005, 10:26 AM

goose liver pate

mushroom soup

baked cod fish

creme brulee

Vegas Robaina Formosos

Cuaba Distinguidos

holy cow, where did u have it?

hoho that's why it's called a cigar dinner....

we can have one too

Had my Monte cristo yesterday....it is ligther than the RyJ. And not so intimitating like the bigger one. Easier to handle for a novice like me.

Originally posted by Throttle@Jun 4 2005, 11:04 AM

hoho that's why it's called a cigar dinner....

we can have one too

that sounds like fun...

Originally posted by Intruder@Jun 4 2005, 11:37 AM

Had my Monte cristo yesterday....it is ligther than the RyJ. And not so intimitating like the bigger one. Easier to handle for a novice like me.

maybe i could try that too.....

cigar dinner was at private dining hall at the Tavern River Valley...

Originally posted by numbergames@Jun 4 2005, 09:42 AM

oops...sorry. was bz last nite. didnt see this message till today. i juz came back from oaks. had a hard time findin tat place man.

the salesperson there was very friendly. was very patient in explainin stuff abt cigars to my fren and i. found it very enlightenin... ended up buyin a monte cristo no. 4 and a ramon allones habana (hope i got the 2nd one correct). tats wat he recommended... decided to try them out...

ramon allones, which size? specially selecteds or petit coronas or ramonitas or small clubs . Ramons are nice. My favourite is Ramon Gigantes (Double Corona)

Aiyoh, why he intro Monte 4 to you...

thats a very very common cigar. only the brand is popular so he recommend

Next time try Rafael Gonzales Petit Corona

Originally posted by Throttle@Jun 4 2005, 05:34 PM

ramon allones, which size? specially selecteds or petit coronas or ramonitas or small clubs . Ramons are nice. My favourite is Ramon Gigantes (Double Corona)

Aiyoh, why he intro Monte 4 to you...

thats a very very common cigar. only the brand is popular so he recommend

Next time try Rafael Gonzales Petit Corona

hmm...im not sure. it's stated 'A Clubs' on the receipt. physically it's abt the same size of the monte no 4. haha...i really sound like a rookie man...

goin to a pub later for a drink and a smoke of my personally bought cigar. haha....

i went there around 4-5pm yesterday... bought a cutter, carrying case and

1 cigar that the nice man over there recommended me something which i

cannot remember now... comes in a tube which is vanilla coloured... told me

that it is something light and good for a newbie to try... when i get home later i

will tell the name... but i have not tried it yet so cannot confirm how's the taste...

still got some Romeo Julieta no4 to finish first... i'll keep that new one for

another day......

Originally posted by numbergames@Jun 5 2005, 04:33 PM

i went there around 4-5pm yesterday... bought a cutter, carrying case and

1 cigar that the nice man over there recommended me something which i

cannot remember now... comes in a tube which is vanilla coloured... told me

that it is something light and good for a newbie to try... when i get home later i

will tell the name... but i have not tried it yet so cannot confirm how's the taste...

still got some Romeo Julieta no4 to finish first... i'll keep that new one for

another day......

wow...u bought so many things from there? i was checkin out the lighters there and boy were they pricey! i kindda like those 2 in 1 ones, with the cutter and lighter. looks rather stylish...

I went to Ebay Worldwide to check out the cutters there....Woh, they are very cheap and some even comes with very beautiful case carrying case.

These are the few.

http://i17.ebayimg.com/01/i/04/25/bb/88_1_b.JPG

This is my favourite!

http://i15.ebayimg.com/03/i/04/30/2a/1b_1_b.JPG

comes in a vanilla tube???

oh no, there are only basically two cuban brands that come in vanilla tube..

Monte and Bolivar...

since you cant remember, i reckon it's the bolivar.

the bolivar is full bodied and heavy cigar which is usually too strong for starters.

earthy and woody and spicy right from the start. can be bitter too.