Originally posted by Throttle@Jul 15 2005, 07:16 PM

The P2 has had very varying reviews since it is the newest and latest vitola of the PArtagas family. the ones i have are Mar05, very young.

it smells good so i hope it will taste as good.

The Partagas Piramides EL should be 2000 and not 2001 I believe.

I still have 5 of those in my humidor. top class.

either ways I'm quite sure i will enjoy it.

My selection for tonite is:-

Partagas P2

H. Upmann Mag 46

RYJ Ex No. 4

Throttle, I think you're right. It's 2000 and not 2001. There's no year stated on the EL band as compared to the later ELs so I "estimated" it to be 2001 :-P

• Replies 3.7k

thie mornign was chilling due to drizzling, a very comfort morning so i decided to smoke a small partagas short...

it has no spicy taste like monte, and its flovour came straight from the start, became stronger towards the end, strong woody and slighly bitter taste... very strong nicotine, get the 'kick' at the last inch, giddy and sweating, very powerful for such small cigar... smoke till it burnt my finger...

http://img158.imageshack.us/img158/3597/cigar6vh.jpg

very good construction, never need a single re-light, smooth draw, nice wrapper too...

http://img158.imageshack.us/img158/8813/cigar27am.jpg

smoke till the very end...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Sev, cant help but noticed that the ash rings are very uneven.

So actually, it cannot be classified as good construction in cigar terms.

however, glad to know it was enjoyable.

The wrapper sure looks dark and oily!

Originally posted by Throttle@Jul 15 2005, 10:33 AM

storing in cigar box is good becos of the wood lining environment keeping the scents and aroma in. but it is not airtight and can mess up the humidity slightly.

try to put in a travel humidifier to control the humidity.

keep in tupperware is good becos airtight but no goof becos plasticky smell may infect cigar aroma.

get a humidor lah..

hot much would a humidor cost??? any particular brands to

recommend??

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/numbergames-1096510755_turesblack.jpg

ya, the burning ring not very even, think it is due to the windy balcony... :giddy:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

hmm.....good to see the cigar session still going strong, Was so tied up last week due to long n torturing long hours at work.... now maybe it's time to seek for some relax session.... Here i come, my cigar.... :cheeky: :lovestruck:

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2006/11/22/bikepics-729398-150.jpg

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

I'm a sucker for expensive lighters but 'm not a sucker for expensive humidors.

Top brands like don marshalls and Elie Bleu and Davidoff etc are into the thousands of dollars..... my humidors are all only a few hundred each.

a popular and well made brand in Singapore is the Siglo series. about $500 for a 75 cigar humidor.

My advice is buy a humidor from overseas where it's cheaper.

Spain, Italy, Switzerland and many european countries have humidors for less than S$200 and very well made and beautiful.

I agree that in Singapore, the best value humidors are the Siglo series. They are made by Pacific Cigars and the widest range is sold at Connoiseur Divan at UE Square.

I've also made humidor purchases at http://www.famous-smoke.com/cigars/cigarhumidors.cfm before. Even taking into account the delivery charges and conversion of US$ to S$, it is still cheaper. The only problem is that signing up for an account is a bit of a hassle, and payment by credit card to the company is not a smooth process. Gotta involve a bit of emails to the person-in-charge, etc. If anyone is interested in getting a humidor this way and is facing problems, please pm me.

A tip:

If you're "testing" a humidor, open the lid to a 30 degree angle and "drop" the lid. If it closes with a 'whoosh' without slamming, this means it's a humidor that is well made and airtight.

Entity, are you member at Con Divan?

Do you go there frequently?

I'm there usually on Friday evenings.

thinking of setting up a cigar joint myself. perhaps in the next few years.

Originally posted by Throttle@Jul 18 2005, 12:18 PM

Entity, are you member at Con Divan?

Do you go there frequently?

what is this place???

Conoisseur Divan = cigar and wine bar at UE Square.

Originally posted by Throttle@Jul 18 2005, 09:36 PM

Conoisseur Divan = cigar and wine bar at UE Square.

where is that man???

Throttle, I'm a member at Connoisuer Divan but have not gone there for quite a while already. I get my cigars cheaper elsewhere and I prefer smoking in other places. Dun mind joining you there one day though. As for setting up a cigar joint, it sounds like a good idea. I would like to do the same except I'm not sure if I can make money from it, judging by the limited number of cigar smokers and the cost of getting cigars into Singapore.

To the rest, UE Square is at Mohammed Sultan road. Connoiseur Divan is at the ground floor at the side facing Double O. It closes at midnight (last I checked). Closed on Sundays.

Yeah, Con Divan is not the most fabulous place to smoke and the cigars there are expensive. I'm a normal member of the Pacific cigars club and get only 10% off.

Oaks give better deals I think. Also I have friends who will split boxes so cost is lower.

You seem very new in this forum?

Yes Throttle, I'm very new to this forum. Stumbled here cos I'm learning my 2B and wanted to find out more things about motorbikes and riding.

Oaks is cheaper than Con Divan for sure, but sometimes their cigars are not kept in very good condition. So for them, I make sure that I check before purchasing any cigar. My preferred outlet is La Casa Del Habano. I've stuck up some sort of friendship with the owner so he recommends me cigars he knows I'll like. Their cigars are not that cheap either, but they're kept in fantastic condition, and the knowledge that he imparts are invaluable.

Not that many people I know will share a box of cigars with me and my tastes vary a lot depending on my "seasons". Will be glad to chip in in the future if you're getting any boxes.

Yes I go to Jimmy's quite often too and we have a smoke outside once in a while.

It's no longer La Casa Del Habanos but La Casa Del Cubana now.

Perhaps we have met there before? Or maybe have common friends there?

Do you know Joel, Joost, Paul and the rest?

These guys are always smoking at LCC.

Yes I do buy stuff there as well.

Last Year I went to Cuba with my wife and bot a lot back.

Paid the taxes just before they increased.

hoho.

Cool! Dun think I've seen you there before though. I only know Paul from your list.

I'd like to visit Cuba too. But I dun have the kind of finances for that kind of trip. Right now, I'm just spending all my money on taking 2B lessons and "living off" the remaining cigars I have in my collection..

Oh I see, class 2B.

Good luck, hope you pass.

Tonight I should be a balaclava having my midweek cigar.

If anyone free, do join.

Originally posted by Throttle@Jul 20 2005, 09:55 AM

Oh I see, class 2B.

Good luck, hope you pass.

Tonight I should be a balaclava having my midweek cigar.

If anyone free, do join.

what time would you be there???

with your friends i suppose....

Tonight i can't :( :weep: Got to be at home to see on something. Enjoy....... my friends. :lovestruck:

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2006/11/22/bikepics-729398-150.jpg

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

Nothing really confirm, maybe I'll go somewhere else.

it's been highly stressful for me lately.

sigh..

had a power Bolivar Belicoso Fino which I kept in my humidor for 6 months.

smoke was really leathery and thick. full bodied but without the spiciness and bitterness. Intruder knows what I mean....right? better to smoke this with a full stomach and a nice long drink.

sorry i couldnt make time to catch up with the folks here.

tomorrow i'll be smoking again but with my regular cigar buddies becos we need to discuss some serious business.

hope everyone had a relaxing nite.

bloody hell eat too much durians . kena sorethroat, problem smoking now....

Originally posted by Throttle@Jul 22 2005, 06:00 PM

bloody hell eat too much durians . kena sorethroat, problem smoking now....

take it easy man on the cigars....a lot of people at my work place also

are getting sorethroats and coughing... epidemic i think...