today i was stopped by a traffic policeman near jb custom while heading back to spore. i went into the car lane n switched back to the bikes lane after the traffic light.

i was shocked when he stopped me as i was quite sure this doesnt warrant an offence. den he tried to telll me in his half broken english and malay that the fine would be minimum of 300rm if i chose to do it the legal way.

as i had only 20rm left after pumping petrol i told him i had no rm. so he told me i could top up in spore dollars. i refused to open up my wallet to show him how much i had though he kept pointing at my wallet. lucky for me he decided to accept the 20rm which i kept inside my bag after the pump (if i had put the money in my wallet he would have saw the 100 dollar SGD i actually had! lucky me)

so bros out there be careful. cheap lesson for me

• Replies 23

Wah... Holy month of Ramadan also they want to earn this kind of dirty $$$. At least in Cairo they know how to respect the holy month. Next time tell them, Encik, Fasting month cannot take bribe. You wanna saman just saman only lah. But God will know.

1998-2000(APRILIA EXTREMA)

2000-2002(DR350)

2002-2003(HEXAGON)

2003-2007(SUPER4 VS)

2007-____(DL1000K3)

low-life buggers. lady also take bride. haiz. nowadays got alot of TP at the way leading up to JB customs. better be careful.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

Wah... Holy month of Ramadan also they want to earn this kind of dirty $$$. At least in Cairo they know how to respect the holy month. Next time tell them, Encik, Fasting month cannot take bribe. You wanna saman just saman only lah. But God will know.

They will tell u : God will know i helping u to pay less $$$$.

Dear TS, What made you enter the car lane anyway?

this is the first time i went into the car lane. an honest mistake. not purposely one. maybe usually got bikers in front of me den i just follow. but i went in at midnight no bikers so sub conciously followed the cars in front of me

Alamak... next time gotta be careful bro... those peeps out there waiting for ppl to make mistake...

If u go in day time, den u ask officer whether he fasting anot. If yes then "Rasuah (bribery)" is "haram (forbidden/illegal)". hehehe

Actual even if not day time, bribery is already considered illegal. sigh.. Malaysia boleh!!!

Can't post a new thread? Read HERE

insist on the summon instead of giving in to them.

because every singaporeans give in to them easily, they're taking us for suckers by having ops every other day.

if they do issue you the summon, they have this discounted period whereby you pay your summon at a cheaper rate.

if you do give them the money for getting away, this might backfire as they might say you are bribing them. which was reported in other car forum in recent time.

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

aiya,jb 1 wad

lyk almost all of them r litat

C-O-R-R-U-P-T-E-D

because of corrupted people like that, i everytime think twice or thrice before i want to go inside jb with my bike. in the end a trip there for cheap petrol would end up being an expensive one.

You've Been Hit By

A Smooth Criminal

this method has been used

and sometimes, the guy is taken into lockup on the fact that he has insulted islam, so be careful.

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

Insult Islam?The fact is he takes bribe and the fact is Islam forbids bribery. Insult?i think they are the ones that is an insult to Islam but here u talking about Malaysia. I don't think there is any avenue to contest their accusation. Lock up and you LL suck thumb. Moral of the story, not neccessary don go in JB. You end up losing out more.

Edited by is_muddys

1998-2000(APRILIA EXTREMA)

2000-2002(DR350)

2002-2003(HEXAGON)

2003-2007(SUPER4 VS)

2007-____(DL1000K3)

The TPs are always waiting at the return leg to Woodlands ... be careful to slowdown and act cute :)

Honda XR125 - September 2009

Honda Version S 50th Anniversary Edition - August 2010

Yamaha FZ6 S1 - Year 2013

If I were you, I'd ask for the RM300 summons to be issued to me. Then wait for the Agong's birthday for a discount and pay online. I understand that it is steep but giving in will only encourage such behavior.

Anyway, chances are if you ask for the summons, he might not issue you one. I've been in a similar situation where I committed an error and was stopped. He asked me how want to settle it and I told him, "It's ok encik. I know I made a mistake. You can issue me the summons and I'll pay it online". Next thing, he said, "Ok. Never mind. Next time don't do it again". That's it.

PS. I also firmly believe that it you dress maturely and project yourself as a seasoned rider, chances are they won't bother you too much.

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

thats hw dey do tings dere. corrupted. imagine my fren was stop in jb cos his pipe is loud. he say my fren can kanna fine. in jb summore. wtf! in the end as usual, settle with 30 rm. haizz

Just BEcause I fOllOw The speed LIMIT DoesnT mEan i am slow!!

haha.. next time don't show any intention of giving bribe la..

and dun give in to them if they give any hints.. just keep quiet.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg

bring a voice recorder along...(most MP3 player hav tat function anyway), so that when ever ur stopped, record the conversation tat ur having and if he asks or hints for bribes, at least u have evidence to lodge a complaint...but do note tat this action may backfire in the case of u giving the copper bribes and its all recorded...even better if u use a video recording gadget..now theres the pen look-a-like video recorder thingy...powerful, yet discreet...

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m420/Biomodified/biomodified.jpg

In Loving Memory: Muhammad Borhan Bin Jamal

A Cousin, A Friend, My Biking Mentor

actually i had been into the same situation like TS but worst, i missed all the left turn into bike lane cos i was on the most extreme right lane and nearly went into the place where they chop passport then got the same thing. initially wanted to summon me then ask for kopi-lui then i tell them to just issue me the summon but then they didn't give me any summon paper thou they wrote my license on a piece of paper.

my question is:

1) did i get the summon?

2) if yes, any ways to check.