Any recommendations for waterproof boots that are red/black in colour? Those full-black boots look kinda boring and i might feel that i'm back in the army. =P

Licence

Class 3 - 03 Jul 2009

Class 2B - 28 Jul 2010

Class 2A - 27 Jun 2012

Rides

2007 Honda CBF 150 - 30 Nov 2010 (FBB 5207 D) - Sold

2006 Hyundai Getz 1.1M - 27 Jun 2012 (SGF 7187 J) - Scrapped

2000 Suzuki DRZ400SY - 20 Apr 2016 (FV XXXX D)

• Replies 304

i got the Gaerne Flow

http://www.gaerneusa.com/images/flow_boot.jpg

quite a few months back from JR

it's a touch too big for me, but as i have broad feet (3E) and I've yet to find riding boots that cater to foot width, i usually have to settle for shoes / boots half to one size bigger.

the slightly larger size is not that big a deal for me as I prefer wearing thicker socks to absorb perspiration

one reason i got it was for office wear... i do keep a spare pair of shoes in the office, but there are days i just can't be bothered to change out of the boots and this goes well with my shirt and jeans

comfort:

very good while riding (so far have only used it on my Super4)

gear changes are smooth with it, no issues with the feel problem

waterproofing:

been in a couple of wet conditions with it (not Orchard Road wet, if you know what I mean), but the important thing is that my feet stayed dry

walking:

it is slightly on the curved profile, so takes a little getting used to for walking, after a couple of times, it's pretty ok for me

grip:

on dry road / pavements the grip is very good, but have nearly slipped and nearly toppled my bike while parking when i accidentally stepped onto a wet leaf or small patch of oil, then again, would be similar problem with most boots / shoes.

the TCX air-tech

http://blog.ridermagazine.com/uploads/2010/03/TCX-Airtech-boots.jpg

looks really good, and the heel and sole looks much more friendly for riding / walking

so if it's still around after i wear out my Gaerne Flow, i will definitely consider that pair...

oh... forgot the most important part

got it from JR for SGD$280 (i think, cannot remember exact price) was a little more, but bargained

Grounded... :/

Thanks for the Gaerne review! :thumb:

antartica said:

the TCX air-tech

http://blog.ridermagazine.com/uploads/2010/03/TCX-Airtech-boots.jpg

looks really good, and the heel and sole looks much more friendly for riding / walking

so if it's still around after i wear out my Gaerne Flow, i will definitely consider that pair...

I had initially got a pair of TCX AirTech GoreTex - they're really really breathable and keep your feet cool, but I wasn't happy with their waterproofing.

Complained to Chiap Lee, who forwarded it to TCX, and they replaced the boots for free. I requested to change to the X-Five instead (same price) and have been quite happy with it since.

On the other hand, I did check out reviews of the AirTech before I bought, and people seemed to be happy with the waterproofing, so maybe it's just my luck.

If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough. - Mario Andretti

A buying tip when looking for GoreTex boots: Try and find boots that have "full GoreTex" rather than "half GoreTex". This applies to riding boots as well as other outdoor shoes that might have GoreTex

To check the GoreTex lining, take out the insole of the boot (almost all modern boots will have removable insoles) and look at the bottom. The lining is the blue/grey material that lines the sides of the boot. It should go all the way around the bottom of your foot, like this "full" GoreTex lining:

http://i444.photobucket.com/albums/qq166/crankcase79/Bike%20photos/DSC00649.jpg

And not like this "half" GoreTex lining which offers no protection in the middle of the sole:

http://i444.photobucket.com/albums/qq166/crankcase79/Bike%20photos/DSC00648.jpg

A full lining gives you better protection from water seepage from all directions. Hope this helps! :thumb:

Edited by crankcase
broken photo link

If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough. - Mario Andretti

any review for diadora boots?:pity:

IRC, regina have them

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

  breadman said:
any low cut waterproof boots that resembles office shoes from the ankle down?

komine 05-063? cuz it's partial leather on the top. was seriously one of my considerations, but they didn't carry my size.

i find it better to just keep a pair of office shoes at work to change into. generally riding shoes are riding shoes. think it won't be as comfortable as regular office shoes to walk around in, airflow for riding shoes also meant to be effective at high speed with windflow. therefore, can be quite stuffy in a still environment. riding boots can also sound quite noisy. i rather extend the life of riding shoes, which are more expensive than office shoes, by wearing it mostly for riding.

the garnae boots is great... my feet remain dry despite a heavy down pour though the zipper seem to be exposed... but TCX boots is great as well

  xavw said:
komine 05-063? cuz it's partial leather on the top. was seriously one of my considerations, but they didn't carry my size.

i find it better to just keep a pair of office shoes at work to change into. generally riding shoes are riding shoes. think it won't be as comfortable as regular office shoes to walk around in, airflow for riding shoes also meant to be effective at high speed with windflow. therefore, can be quite stuffy in a still environment. riding boots can also sound quite noisy. i rather extend the life of riding shoes, which are more expensive than office shoes, by wearing it mostly for riding.

Thanks for sharing. I hadn't thought of those factors. Keeping my work shoes in office is a great idea :)

any review for Rjays edge riding boots? their website claims it waterproof

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

Try the Diadoras from Regina, not bad.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

hi guys , do u know where I could find TCX X-Square or Dainese Soyto Shoes ? I browse thru the net at they really catch my attention. Do you think those Regina & etc carry this boots/shoe ?

- 2011 to 2013 - HONDA CBR 150R (Becky)

- 2013 to Present - YAMAHA RXZ 135 (Azza)

http://www.ridersdiscount.com/street-gear/boots-men/127926.php

Feel like getting this boots...Full protection and waterproof....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Been wearing these for about 6 months now :

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/7029/2009tcxxsquareallpurpos.jpg

They are not waterproof but I was never soaked with them, even when riding in a heavy rain - go figure..

They have the best comfort-look-safety combo I could find. They look great with jeans and casual pants, and perfect to walk around town without looking like Rossi :) I use them to commute, go to work and WE in SG.

The thing I like about these on top of the not so bulky look is they are absolutely discreet: I sometimes forget I have them on, they're not heavy at all, very flexible and breathable and super comfortable.

They have all the necessary protection: toes, ankle, gear lever. This plus a spray of waterproof stuff and you have yourself slick and practical causal riding boots.

Bought them at Motorcycle Superstore during a sale at $80 US.

You definitely want to look around online seeing how the Sing dollar is at an advantage against the US dollar these days .. :)

I also recommend these:

http://image.rakuten.co.jp/leotanimoto/cabinet/onboot/img58602819.jpg

Bought at Motoworld, quoted $200 payed $165 (That's the ang moh price for you, I'm sure if you're local you can get it cheaper)

I got them essentially to ride in MY as I didn't want to spoil my other pair walking off road etc.. They are fully water proof, fit very snugly without being too much, and are bulkier than the above, while still being the less bulky of the shelve.

They feel very heavy duty and reliable, the kind of boots you KNOW you'll keep all your life if you don't run into an accident, cause that's the only thing that will damage them, everything in them screams time resistant.

saw this on MW's ad. Care to share about the protective levels of this shoe? toe and ankle?

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

I've currently looking for low cut riding boots around 200SGD. Any one to recommend. Pardon me for asking but ive been reading thru the part numbers and cant really figure out which is which. Saw some good looking low cuts ones along the forum but any users care to tell me which one has served them well most?

  ticks said:

I've currently looking for low cut riding boots around 200SGD. Any one to recommend. Pardon me for asking but ive been reading thru the part numbers and cant really figure out which is which. Saw some good looking low cuts ones along the forum but any users care to tell me which one has served them well most?

My personal recommendation: TCX Jupiter 2...I have been wearing these almost everyday for last 3 years and am currently in my 2nd pair. I walk and stood in ankle deep water when my office got flooded (long story) and my feet stayed dry (its goretex). no kidding! Not sponsored by chiap lee or TCX but altho I've always liked Sidi design, they never fit my feet... so I've got TCX Jupiter, XFive, Competizione and Infinity...cos they fit my feet well.

  Scramble said:
My personal recommendation: TCX Jupiter 2...I have been wearing these almost everyday for last 3 years and am currently in my 2nd pair. I walk and stood in ankle deep water when my office got flooded (long story) and my feet stayed dry (its goretex). no kidding! Not sponsored by chiap lee or TCX but altho I've always liked Sidi design, they never fit my feet... so I've got TCX Jupiter, XFive, Competizione and Infinity...cos they fit my feet well.

bro how much u got the jupiter for? wan to know wat's the avg price so wont kena chopped...thanks in advance

so far have used 2 pairs of tcx air tech (crashed in first pair, 2nd pair leaked after 1 yr, frequent use almost 365 days)

recently changed to tcx x-five

one thing about air tech, the textile may give way and develop holes after 1 yr if u use it frequently. sole also dont last long if u walk around in it often, but that is to be expected lah.

so i bought x-five, made of leather, hope it is more durable.

air tech is def. cooler and more comfortable than x-five

both are very comfortable though.

for my air tech, one plus is that the sole is oil and slip resistant. when going around carpark n i accidentally stepped into a patch of oil, with airtech i can still regain my traction. with normal sneaker the bike sure drop alr (i dont flatfoot the bike so there is less traction area).

i dont know about x-five as i have not tested under such circumstances (dont wish to try)

would definitely buy tcx again. tcx ftw

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

  ticks said:
saw this on MW's ad. Care to share about the protective levels of this shoe? toe and ankle?

Hard protection on both area: toe is reinforced a bit like construction work boots from the inside and ankle area got a protective hard pad. The boot closes up very snugly at the ankle without restricting your movement.

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

They don't make boots specially for riding, do they? If you are talking about their regular boots, if you pick the ones with a thick leather and waterproof, they could be a good option. Two issues I can think of:

- they are not offering you the protection a riding boot would. Its better than flip flops or sneakers, but still not completely ideal.

- if waterproof or good leather cover, they will be very hot to wear in SG weather.

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !