my malossi transmission set is here... anybody wants my used aftermarket NCY variator and clutch bell? Gimme some kopi lui can liao... u want new rollers have to buy yourself... you can also have the used aftermarket clutch but you are going to have to rebuild a few parts for that (the rubber absorbers inside are busted)

PM me with your contact number if you interested...

And I've still got that J Costa variator lying around if you want it... used this for about 10km only... so it's practically still new...

Signature editted as unauthorised commercial advertising. Please contact Senior Moderator/Admin for more advertising details

• Replies 830

Hi Everyone..

i have to let go my Honda PCX baby which i just love it since its arrived in April this year..

Bought it through Heng Motors brand new.. paid 1000$ upfront and monthly 225$ is the installment.. which i also paid 7 already... total was 4yrs..

Its Gray in color.. and good FBG Number!

Reason for selling - at my wife's workplace, one of her colleague met with a accident and with some serious life threatening injuries.. and since then shes trying to convince me to buy a car which i just booked today and i need to let this baby go from my hands...

i will miss riding.. as u don't have to queue up behind long traffic jams! u can just cut through cars and jump above them :D

anyway.. if anyone is interested then please contact me at 9 1 9 9 4 6 8 0.

Btw.. i have already paid 7 installments + 1000$ upfront.. and i will let it go as it is.. dont want any topup.... just bear the transfer charges and continue riding and paying installments.. thats okay with me.. :)

Hi Everyone..

i have to let go my Honda PCX baby which i just love it since its arrived in April this year..

Bought it through Heng Motors brand new.. paid 1000$ upfront and monthly 225$ is the installment.. which i also paid 7 already... total was 4yrs..

Reason for selling - at my wife's workplace, one of her colleague met with a accident and with some serious life threatening injuries.. and since then shes trying to convince me to buy a car which i just booked today and i need to let this baby go from my hands...

i will miss riding.. as u don't have to queue up behind long traffic jams! u can just cut through cars and jump above them :D

Btw.. i have already paid 7 installments + 1000$ upfront.. and i will let it go as it is.. dont want any topup.... just bear the transfer charges and continue riding and paying installments.. thats okay with me.. :)

Wow bro , 1000 +( 225 x 12 x4) = ?? How m many percent interests ?

Hi Everyone..

wah bro u tio kah is it...?

Signature editted as unauthorised commercial advertising. Please contact Senior Moderator/Admin for more advertising details

I've been browsing the thread to find out more about good mods for PCX 125. Good info in here. But... which workshop should I go to if I wanna do stuff like:

1) Switch to dr.pulley 13g rolling sliders

2) Switch to stiffer suspension (which brand/model is good?)

3) Switch to K&N air filter

I'm aiming for just the above 3 mods for now to hopefully improve acceleration, handling, and top speed. Would be great if you can recommend a good workshop that does these mods!

@harumonia

1) Switch to dr.pulley 13g rolling sliders >> Tai huat or tai hin if I'm not wrong, at kaki bukit road 2

2) Switch to stiffer suspension (which brand/model is good?) >> currently using YSS hydraulic shocks from Wing Yap, but I think they may be out of stock

3) Switch to K&N air filter >> e-bay and bring to mechanic to install, cheaper... otherwise Scooter Narcotics got Marchald for $140, louder in my opinion

the YSS definitely improves handling, dr pulley and mushroom air filter will give you acceleration but top speed doesn't change much...

if you want acceleration and top speed, you've really got to trash your original transmission and get a new one, I got a Malossi variator, Malossi delta clutch and a chameleon works torque driver... went up to 125 km/h...

If you want acceleration and top speed, you've really got to trash your original transmission and get a new one, I got a Malossi variator, Malossi delta clutch and a chameleon works torque driver... went up to 125 km/h...

I am not convinced about the clutch mod on a 125. On a larger more powerful scooter like a 300 or up yes. Then get a Hit clutch. For overall performance increase J Costa gives the best urban set up. Yes maybe a little more expensive but maybe not more expensive than the above set up.

If you want acceleration and top speed, you've really got to trash your original transmission and get a new one, I got a Malossi variator, Malossi delta clutch and a chameleon works torque driver... went up to 125 km/h...

I am not convinced about the clutch mod on a 125. On a larger more powerful scooter like a 300 or up yes. Then get a Hit clutch. For overall performance increase J Costa gives the best urban set up. Yes maybe a little more expensive but maybe not more expensive than the above set up.

tried the J Costa... it was ****...

well... my mods are working as they should be.... >.>

tried the J Costa... it was ****...

well... my mods are working as they should be.... >.>

Please expand. Why was it **** as you put it.

Yes they also work better on larger bikes

They are not set up from the factory to give ultimate performance. They are optimized for fast, road use for the majority of scooter riders. For ultimate performance they can be tuning just like any other variator using different weights but not all riders have the time, the mechanic's skill or the inclination.

Please expand. Why was it **** as you put it.

Yes they also work better on larger bikes

They are not set up from the factory to give ultimate performance. They are optimized for fast, road use for the majority of scooter riders. For ultimate performance they can be tuning just like any other variator using different weights but not all riders have the time, the mechanic's skill or the inclination.

I tried the J-costa... it totally killed my acceleration and my top speed dropped to 95... on my clutch settings...

Weird because here in Thailand a 125 equipped with J Costa is like a 150. Top speed more than 117kph and better acceleration. Maybe you got one with the wrong weights or your had a non standard counter spring or... It doesn't really matter as long as you are happy with what you have. There is more than one way to skin a cat.

FYI. You may know that the standard weights in a J Costa are 11gms. there is a guy here running with 9gms and revving to 11,000. Obviously not stock and he doesn't ride it to work!

Weird because here in Thailand a 125 equipped with J Costa is like a 150. Top speed more than 117kph and better acceleration. Maybe you got one with the wrong weights or your had a non standard counter spring or... It doesn't really matter as long as you are happy with what you have. There is more than one way to skin a cat.

FYI. You may know that the standard weights in a J Costa are 11gms. there is a guy here running with 9gms and revving to 11,000. Obviously not stock and he doesn't ride it to work!

u fellas remapped the CDI?

and when you use the J-Costa, is it together with stock clutch? I was using the original J-Costa weights that came with it... don't know what's the weights but didn't work with the NCY clutch and yellow springs...

I'm using Malossi 10.5g x 6

u fellas remapped the CDI?

and when you use the J-Costa, is it together with stock clutch? I was using the original J-Costa weights that came with it... don't know what's the weights but didn't work with the NCY clutch and yellow springs...

I'm using Malossi 10.5g x 6

J Costa as supplied from the factory is developed to be used with everything stock. As you know it is important that the counter spring is balanced with the variator weights and the ramp plate or in J Costa's case the bell shape. Of course J Costa can be tuned to work with other stuff but that takes away the main benefit that all the work has been done on the factory dyno.

I think the guy I mentioned uses API-Tech CDI. His bike is 166cc, with CBR 150 throttle body, CBR250 valves and Sonic double valve springs.

P9190923.jpg

If you simply want to richen the mixture a bit. I have one Dobeck Performance Electronic jet kit left but the performance gain is small. But as you know the closer you get to the maximum the smaller the steps are!

J Costa as supplied from the factory is developed to be used with everything stock. As you know it is important that the counter spring is balanced with the variator weights and the ramp plate or in J Costa's case the bell shape. Of course J Costa can be tuned to work with other stuff but that takes away the main benefit that all the work has been done on the factory dyno.

I think the guy I mentioned uses API-Tech CDI. His bike is 166cc, with CBR 150 throttle body, CBR250 valves and Sonic double valve springs.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]259755[/ATTACH]

If you simply want to richen the mixture a bit. I have one Dobeck Performance Electronic jet kit left but the performance gain is small. But as you know the closer you get to the maximum the smaller the steps are!

blah he's got a pipe too... :( we don't have legal approved pipes in Singapore... yet... and he's modded his engine...

your jet kit replaces the FI system? doing this will increase the fuel consumption yeah?

Where in thailand do people usually get their PCX done? (english friendly please, can't speak thai) I may want to either ride up or jack a train to visit and see what else I can do there.

blah he's got a pipe too... :( we don't have legal approved pipes in Singapore... yet... and he's modded his engine...

your jet kit replaces the FI system? doing this will increase the fuel consumption yeah?

Where in thailand do people usually get their PCX done? (english friendly please, can't speak thai) I may want to either ride up or jack a train to visit and see what else I can do there.

The Dobeck unit is a piggyback unit goes between the Factory ECU and the injector. Richening the mixture will cause increase fuel consumption but only when you use it!

I shouldn't be plugging commercial stuff here but I have a J Costa exhaust for 125 that is EU approved. I read somewhere on here that Singaporeans need a paper certificate or something if fitting an aftermarket exhaust. Do you know anything about this?

I think I still have the guys email he is Japanese. As for local tuning shops my Thai is not that good so what they have or do? That being said they do it mostly for street racing!

The Dobeck unit is a piggyback unit goes between the Factory ECU and the injector. Richening the mixture will cause increase fuel consumption but only when you use it!

I shouldn't be plugging commercial stuff here but I have a J Costa exhaust for 125 that is EU approved. I read somewhere on here that Singaporeans need a paper certificate or something if fitting an aftermarket exhaust. Do you know anything about this?

I think I still have the guys email he is Japanese. As for local tuning shops my Thai is not that good so what they have or do? That being said they do it mostly for street racing!

Yeah we need an inspection after installation and approval papers... provided the pipe has been pre-approved already by the LTA. Otherwise it's a lengthy process and not guaranteed to get approved should we want to bring in our own.

So what's the noticeable advantages of the Dobeck?

I've also seen some youtube videos on "Aling" variator but no google results on that... you know what that is?

Yeah we need an inspection after installation and approval papers... provided the pipe has been pre-approved already by the LTA. Otherwise it's a lengthy process and not guaranteed to get approved should we want to bring in our own.

So what's the noticeable advantages of the Dobeck?

I've also seen some youtube videos on "Aling" variator but no google results on that... you know what that is?

All the dobeck unit does is to allow you to tune the mixture, as most scooters are too lean at the top end. As I said the gain is small.

I think Ailing has stopped doing his mods. What he did was to take a stock variator half from Honda and machine off the stops. I.e. the bits that inhibit the weight from travelling further to the outside. As you know the stock variator is not round but hexagonal.

PA300599.jpg

This increased the gearing. Then you have to play with weights to get what you want.

So even if an exhaust has certification from the EU it still has to be separately approved by the LTA?

All the dobeck unit does is to allow you to tune the mixture, as most scooters are too lean at the top end. As I said the gain is small.

I think Ailing has stopped doing his mods. What he did was to take a stock variator half from Honda and machine off the stops. I.e. the bits that inhibit the weight from travelling further to the outside. As you know the stock variator is not round but hexagonal.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]259763[/ATTACH]

This increased the gearing. Then you have to play with weights to get what you want.

So even if an exhaust has certification from the EU it still has to be separately approved by the LTA?

yeah even if EU or Japan approved, LTA is still a whore...

Ah then I think my Malossi is similar to the aling then, except i think they rebuilt the variator from scratch...

and the dobeck has pretty much no significant added advantage then, the only other way with a stock engine is to get a tunable CDI and do a remap... in my opinion...

@harumonia

1) Switch to dr.pulley 13g rolling sliders >> Tai huat or tai hin if I'm not wrong, at kaki bukit road 2

2) Switch to stiffer suspension (which brand/model is good?) >> currently using YSS hydraulic shocks from Wing Yap, but I think they may be out of stock

3) Switch to K&N air filter >> e-bay and bring to mechanic to install, cheaper... otherwise Scooter Narcotics got Marchald for $140, louder in my opinion

the YSS definitely improves handling, dr pulley and mushroom air filter will give you acceleration but top speed doesn't change much...

if you want acceleration and top speed, you've really got to trash your original transmission and get a new one, I got a Malossi variator, Malossi delta clutch and a chameleon works torque driver... went up to 125 km/h...

Wah sounds like no single shop to do all the things required. I went down to Wing Yap but they didn't have YSS shocks anymore. What else is good for PCX?

Was considering switching out the exhaust but sadly no LTA approved pipes yet...

Wah sounds like no single shop to do all the things required. I went down to Wing Yap but they didn't have YSS shocks anymore. What else is good for PCX?

Was considering switching out the exhaust but sadly no LTA approved pipes yet...

then ask them for the cheaper stiff shocks then... no hydraulic oil one... at least better than stock shocks...

I was thinking of buying one from Japan then getting it approved myself... but the "not-guaranteed" part is sort of holding me back...