Financially-off ppl shd learn to curb their desires for exp bikes (LONG POST)

• Replies 136

Perfectly fine if u think u r always right.

Whatever rocks ur boat.

thanks for being magnanimous

Eg: Mr A who rides a phantom (asset) is actually richer than Mr B who rides a BMW (liability) if Mr Fate rolls his dices.

Being an avid shopper of "near scrap condition" motorcycles I felt a Phantom (popular model) was a more worthwhile investment than a $1000 Suzuki Bandit (quite rare/niche) because the upkeep is far less and there were a lot of new riders still wanting these sturdy Thai choppers.

That popularity meant that I can benefit from combined technical knowledge (courtesy of the Phantom Knights) to restore the old rust bucket to poser-level glory within a month, and proceed to reduce or eliminate the basic design's well known weaknesses to suit my handling tastes.

The bike may not be much but the company counts a lot. The input gleaned from friendly and experienced Phantom owners had made a simple Thai chopper quite priceless in terms of sentimental value.

That gives me security to slowly look for a larger bike that I really like. Sentimental value is a great excuse to automatically save lots of money!

Or I could not upgrade at all because if I did my homework well enough, this bike can last another decade - I also love the way input from some 2B riders are universally looked down upon. Who cares I still get to home/work/school and I get there in one piece. That counts most of all :D

Being an avid shopper of "near scrap condition" motorcycles I felt a Phantom (popular model) was a more worthwhile investment than a $1000 Suzuki Bandit (quite rare/niche) because the upkeep is far less and there were a lot of new riders still wanting these sturdy Thai choppers.

That popularity meant that I can benefit from combined technical knowledge (courtesy of the Phantom Knights) to restore the old rust bucket to poser-level glory within a month, and proceed to reduce or eliminate the basic design's well known weaknesses to suit my handling tastes.

The bike may not be much but the company counts a lot. The input gleaned from friendly and experienced Phantom owners had made a simple Thai chopper quite priceless in terms of sentimental value.

That gives me security to slowly look for a larger bike that I really like. Sentimental value is a great excuse to automatically save lots of money!

Or I could not upgrade at all because if I did my homework well enough, this bike can last another decade - I also love the way input from some 2B riders are universally looked down upon. Who cares I still get to home/work/school and I get there in one piece. That counts most of all :D

I was discussing about hire purchase and its potential pitfalls

not about your choice of bike; you dun have to take it personally.

phantom and bmw are both analogies.

The only reason why I'm not laughing with you is that I prefer laughing at you.

I was discussing about hire purchase and its potential pitfalls

not about your choice of bike; you dun have to take it personally.

phantom and bmw are both analogies.

No problem, I am a phantom poser myself. Love BMWs too - got one reserved for me in M'sia :D

Just thought to share the tale of the pink phantom since we rarely see him on the forums these days.

Thought the bike choice strategy was suitable for the original topic of this thread. Hire purchases are lucrative. And then overlooking the upkeep costs...

Housing loan is cheap. If you can get a good loan package and your DTI (debt to income ratio) is manageable (say 30-40% of income), housing loan is actually a good loan because there is a chance of asset appreciation.

provided a) u own more than 1 house. or b) u dun buy hdb. or c) u bought after market crashed. or d) u sell off the hdb and stay in tents, with cash.

i.e. the hdb asset appreciation factor is ENTIRELY in the hands of the almighties who literally control our lives through them.

i oni click 1 time leh... ...

new feature of SBF...

http://www.museumofconceptualart.com/Jesusisms_vs_Bushisms/images/Double%20Whammy.jpg

anybody make profit from buying and selling bikes ? anyone in forum ?

except for super rich CB750 super bike owner...

Someone did. One bike he sold was a Shadow 400 he bought for $3k and he sold it for $5k. There's more bikes that he bought low and sold high but not sure if I should mention his nick

The only point to be made in the thread is to buy only things that you can afford, not just bikes.

And being able to afford it doesn't just mean being able to pay in full. Instalments are ok too as long as they're manageble n doesn't take from life's essentials.

Of course that being said, just cos you are more frugal n decide to get a 'practical' bike to ride in this little island with stupidly low speed limits doesn't automatically mean or make you wiser or more sensible than the dude who decided to get an 'impractical' hypersport machine. After all he or she may have a passion to ride hard, something which cannot be achieved on a rustbucket.

As long as they can afford it.

Else, I can take it COI off your hands.... of course right after you've payed the excess sum n interest owed. ;)

But the sad thing is, there are always more people willing to bite the COI bait due to low monthly instalments, and we end up with 10 year old-COE dying bikes that costs more than half the price a new machine.

When questions arise on the high prices, the usual response is that the bike has "value". Somehow the fact that the overly inflated price contains a large interest component seems to evade many.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator