BMW Motorcycles

Drawmer

Originally posted by SDR@May 29 2005, 01:53 PM

Is this handgear? & where's the carburettor?

Look here:

http://www.wehrmachtsgespann.de/webshop/-TA09-10.JPG

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

http://www.wehrmachtsgespann.de/webshop/-TA14-15.JPG

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@May 29 2005, 02:06 PM

Look here:

Err....Huh.....hmmm.....Ohhhh....okieee.....http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/Stoned_anim.gif

http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/headscratch.gif

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

And if you need a little protection from road bandits, there are accessories that might suit your needs http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/99smoke.gif

http://www.wehrmachtsgespann.de/webshop/bilder/KS-MGHA.JPG

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@May 29 2005, 02:17 PM

Err....Huh.....hmmm.....Ohhhh....okieee.....http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/Stoned_anim.gif

Part 1027, single unit, fed by centrifugal air cleaner 1001.

The years thunder by.

Went to Mobil to get Gear U for topping up just now, so same time check on the 20W50 U, hmmm S$5.25 per ltr, hmmm. Think may be will change to TotalFinaElf - 1 big family (or Elf / Total) @ Carrerfour for $..., can't remember the exact price, but remember quite cheap lah.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@May 29 2005, 07:40 AM

Eh...... don't think that was me bro http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/headscratch.gif

So, how's your new bike http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol.gif

Hhhehehe... I love that pic!!! kekekek :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by Suzu@May 29 2005, 11:32 AM

Yo Gabes, there is one GS1150 Silver Colour for sale by my fren for your neighbour Leslie .

http://www.singaporebikes.com/classifieds/...hp?siteid=11294

Very done up with Laser Pipes n Technoflex shocks. All the major headaches taken care of.

Price may be a bit high but at least u r getting one with good value :smile:

eh oh k! I will pass message. I tot he is keeping the bike? how come selling?

I am interested in getting his accessories though. LOL.

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by SDR@May 29 2005, 07:49 AM

CONGRATULATIONS :cheer:

GSGABES, How's your (_Y_) pipe?

Very goooood!!!! Very Shiok....

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@May 29 2005, 02:21 PM

Part 1027, single unit, fed by centrifugal air cleaner 1001.

Guess this is the carb, looks very complicated to me. You just remind me of my experience on tuning the carb. After almost 1 week of trial and error, I think I finally get the setting right for Carb setting - but subject to a test ride to confirm it.

This carb is not easy to tune, according to manual "...juggling settings to achieve the desired smoothness and throttle respones, the method is very time-consuming and requires a great deal of skill and experience as well as a rather sensitive ear, ...." think the writer should include "NOSE" as well. It is truely very time consuming as per tuning only last 10mins, if more than 10mins, the bike will be overheated, to re-tune, it needs to return to 60 degree celcius or slightly less (as normal operating temp), tt's about 2-3hrs waiting.

Now I understand, after so many years of riding, no mech ever offer to clean the carbs and none of them ever deny that the bike was not tuned properly, when I complained, they will just re-syn the carbs (I am not happy with that but as I myself very scare to touch it, only LL), at times I can go back to them as often as daily for a period of 3-5days, so far, only 1 great "SENIOR" TECHNICAL CONSULTANTS ever said to me : "CANNOT BE" when I complained the bike was not properly tuned.

Someone ever advised me to change the bike to Injection system, as it is much easier "tune" and if spoil - they replaced it. Easy for mech and owner.

Originally posted by GSGabes@May 29 2005, 02:41 PM

eh oh k! I will pass message. I tot he is keeping the bike? how come selling?

I am interested in getting his accessories though. LOL.

(Y) pipes and "Technoflex"............. Oooooooooo Gabby baby................Oooooooooo http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/cover.gif

The years thunder by.

Just wanna get opinions. Is it neccessary to install the computer chip for the 1150 if the whole exhaust system is changed?

Originally posted by SDR@May 29 2005, 02:51 PM

Guess this is the carb, looks very complicated to me. You just remind me of my experience on tuning the carb. After almost 1 week of trial and error, I think I finally get the setting right for Carb setting - but subject to a test ride to confirm it.

This carb is not easy to tune, according to manual "...juggling settings to achieve the desired smoothness and throttle respones, the method is very time-consuming and requires a great deal of skill and experience as well as a rather sensitive ear, ...." think the writer should include "NOSE" as well. It is truely very time consuming as per tuning only last 10mins, if more than 10mins, the bike will be overheated, to re-tune, it needs to return to 60 degree celcius or slightly less (as normal operating temp), tt's about 2-3hrs waiting.

Now I understand, after so many years of riding, no mech ever offer to clean the carbs and none of them ever deny that the bike was not tuned properly, when I complained, they will just re-syn the carbs (I am not happy with that but as I myself very scare to touch it, only LL), at times I can go back to them as often as daily for a period of 3-5days, so far, only 1 great "SENIOR" TECHNICAL CONSULTANTS ever said to me : "CANNOT BE" when I complained the bike was not properly tuned.

Someone ever advised me to change the bike to Injection system, as it is much easier "tune" and if spoil - they replaced it. Easy for mech and owner.

Uh huh....... a little trial and error here. Thats what I like about carbs, like 2 strokers, its and art, not purely science....... thats what gives it "Soul" I guess.

Don't forget to mark down all settings and dape a little sealant over the screws once the setting is right http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/99smoke.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by GSGabes@May 29 2005, 02:55 PM

Just wanna get opinions. Is it neccessary to install the computer chip for the 1150 if the whole exhaust system is changed?

Strictly speaking, yes. Especially if you free up the intake and exhaust, else the engine might run lean => hot => pre-mature detonation.

As all engines are not exactly the same, the settings/mapping provided by the manufacturer is a general ballpark figure. For more sophisticated ECU, the mappings are adaptive; for add ons like Power Commander, you can put it on a dyno and each unit can be tuned to match your engine/intake/exhaust.

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@May 29 2005, 02:59 PM

Uh huh....... a little trial and error here. Thats what I like about carbs, like 2 strokers, its and art, not purely science....... thats what gives it "Soul" I guess.

Don't forget to mark down all settings and dape a little sealant over the screws once the setting is right http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/99smoke.gif

was thinking of finger clear nail polish, can?

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@May 29 2005, 03:04 PM

Strictly speaking, yes. Especially if you free up the intake and exhaust, else the engine might run lean => hot => pre-mature detonation.

As all engines are not exactly the same, the settings/mapping provided by the manufacturer is a general ballpark figure. For more sophisticated ECU, the mappings are adaptive; for add ons like Power Commander, you can put it on a dyno and each unit can be tuned to match your engine/intake/exhaust.

I do understand that it will run lean. So am i right to say by slapping on the chip, the chip will automatically run the mapping correctly?

Where can I actuallly run a Dyno man.....the agent? :sweat:

Originally posted by SDR@May 29 2005, 03:12 PM

was thinking of finger clear nail polish, can?

I think anything that does not wash off with gas fumes and oil is ok. I use a fine tip paint marker and even a hypo needle filled with paint to mark out just at the knurling of the screw heads. A little excessive/obsessive but the result looks good. :thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@May 29 2005, 03:04 PM

hohoho, GSGABES, the (_Y_) is just the begining. more to come. Chua will be delighted to fix the TECHNOFLEX and do the adjustment for you. hehehehe.

when you fired up ur engine yesterday, there's a very heavy fuel smell, wonder if this is normal, if not, may I suggest you to find a "PROFESSIONAL MECH" to re-syn yr FI and/or if necessary change ur plugs according to manufacturer recommendation.

Originally posted by GSGabes@May 29 2005, 03:18 PM

I do understand that it will run lean. So am i right to say by slapping on the chip, the chip will automatically run the mapping correctly?

Where can I actuallly run a Dyno man.....the agent? :sweat:

Not sure about this chip though. Its a plug in module to the existing ECU? If so, that the mapping should be a general one. Good enough but not perfect. Can the mapping be altered? If not, Dyno will just tell you what your bike is doin, you won't be able to alter/fine tune anything. I think you can get a session at Sporting.

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@May 29 2005, 03:21 PM

hohoho, GSGABES, the (_Y_) is just the begining. more to come. Chua will be delighted to fix the TECHNOFLEX and do the adjustment for you. hehehehe.

when you fired up ur engine yesterday, there's a very heavy fuel smell, wonder if this is normal, if not, may I suggest you to find a "PROFESSIONAL MECH" to re-syn yr FI and/or if necessary change ur plugs according to manufacturer recommendation.

For the 1150, which part of the exhaust chain is most restrictive? The headers or the Can? If the restriction comes mainly from the Can, then the (Y) pipes benifit right now is more to weight loss rather then hp liberation. Does the 1150 comes with lamda and O2 sensors??

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@May 29 2005, 02:59 PM

I don't quite like it actually, for my SDR, it is very simple, I just listerned to it, played with the mixture screw, think most of the time, tuning not perfect, but the bike just run right.

For this Airhead, I bought the carb syn everywhere, tune it during lunch time, after work, next morning. How I wish it can be more straight forward to tell me what went wrong & at times I got so fedup and was thinking if I can replace it with Mikuni 38mm carbs.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@May 29 2005, 03:32 PM

For the 1150, which part of the exhaust chain is most restrictive? The headers or the Can? If the restriction comes mainly from the Can, then the (Y) pipes benifit right now is more to weight loss rather then hp liberation. Does the 1150 comes with lamda and O2 sensors??

wow, this is very CHIM,

GSGABES, this question is for you. hehehe.

Originally posted by SDR@May 29 2005, 03:36 PM

I don't quite like it actually, for my SDR, it is very simple, I just listerned to it, played with the mixture screw, think most of the time, tuning not perfect, but the bike just run right.

For this Airhead, I bought the carb syn everywhere, tune it during lunch time, after work, next morning. How I wish it can be more straight forward to tell me what went wrong & at times I got so fedup and was thinking if I can replace it with Mikuni 38mm carbs.

Use the Force http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/sid.gif

From Episode V:

After Luke had failed to raise the ship using The Force:

Luke Skywalker: "It's impossible."

Yoda lifts the X-Wing from the swamp.

Luke Skywalker: "I don't believe it!"

Yoda: "That is why you fail."

If that doesn't work............

"You don't know the power of the Dark Side." —Darth Vader

"The Dark Side of the Force is a pathway to many abilities some consider to be...... unnatural." --Palpatine

http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol8.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol8.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol8.gif

The years thunder by.

Ok guys.... the Y-piece has a O2 sensor plug, which allow the standard O2 sensor to be plugged in, thats all. Cyclops, the chip thing is giving me a headache. However, i read from ADVrider that the chip enhances HP etc etc... u can slap on the chip even with the stock exhaust configuration. Read this guy's post. He claims the already stock condition of the bike is already lean... huh???

Read THIS

Actually SDR, that heavy fuel smell has been ard for sometime i noticed. I dunno whether the Air/Fuel mixture is properly set.

Can I give a check-list to the agent? to check on specific items? i want it to be tip-top.

Originally posted by GSGabes@May 29 2005, 04:14 PM

Ok guys.... the Y-piece has a O2 sensor plug, which allow the standard O2 sensor to be plugged in, thats all. Cyclops, the chip thing is giving me a headache. However, i read from ADVrider that the chip enhances HP etc etc... u can slap on the chip even with the stock exhaust configuration. Read this guy's post. He claims the already stock condition of the bike is already lean... huh???

Read THIS

Actually SDR, that heavy fuel smell has been ard for sometime i noticed. I dunno whether the Air/Fuel mixture is properly set.

Can I give a check-list to the agent? to check on specific items? i want it to be tip-top.

Yes, I've heard Mr Technoflex mentioning about the Techlusion gadget. Basically you can set it to give you a richer mixture for smoother running. Generally speaking: More gas + more air = more power.

As for the bike running lean, is it across the range or just at a apecific window, say between 4500-5000rpm?? The reason I ask this is that some manufacturers do this on purpose. The lean spot is put there to allow the bike to pass emission regulation.

As to the chip, I don't know what it actually does. Do you have a site where there's a write up? http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/headscratch.gif

The years thunder by.