Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 20 2005, 04:15 PM

Hey guys, opposite Shell Station, in front of a coffee shop, is it then?

Well, SDR u know my bike. I'll park somewhere I see that matches both your description. hahaha

Yes the coffeeshop directly opp... next to the hotel...... :cheeky:

Good western food there. :thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by gsxxer@Jan 20 2005, 02:37 PM

Its the BMW Minor Servicing.

Namely: 1) Engine Oil

2) Oil Filter

3) Valve Clearance

4) Check Clutch Fluid

5) Check Brake Fluid

6) Check Alternator Belt

7) Check Battery water level

8) Check Spark Plugs

9) Change Drain plug O-ring

10) Change seals

11) Check Wheel bearings free-play

12) CHeck Brake Pads

I might have missed out some stuff. basically thats what they "so-called" did.

Thanks gsxxer. I just want a gauge of what they did and how they charge. :thumb:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 20 2005, 04:17 PM

Hmm.....seriously, u think I should do it? I just got it for less than 2 months!

And I just spent 1K servicing it and change some parts. I thought maybe can ride for 1 to 2 years first b4 thinking abt my next move.

Hey Pinglong, maybe i can share my experience with you.

Used to own a 98' GS1100 for 1.5yrs. I have the same habit like SDR...cant stand bikes with poor appearance so there I go... spending close to 2k refurbishing it, giving it a new coat of paint, changing all the seals, repairs, etc and then another 3 - 4 k loading up accessories. Bought the bike for $15k then.

Haha, so there I was, very pleased with what I done :cheeky: But as the months go by, realised tat my shocks were no longer working fine, exhaust sounds shitty, starter started giving problems, front brake pump retarding, rear master brake pump getting stuck, brake dust on rims cant seem to come off no matter what i do n many more....

So, no choice, since brakes are critical, went to PML and bought the replacement piston for front brake pump (its a cheaper alternative but still cost $97 excluding workmanship of $70) and rear master brake pump cylinder (as advised my Chris, workmanship, more than $100).

After doing all this, I started to think very carefully what do I wanna do abt all this unsatisfaction, result :

1. Replace Ohlins Shocks ($2300)

2. Change starter ($700)

3. Change Clutch Plate ($1500)

4. Change Hall sensor ($400)

5. Change exhaust ($1200)

6. Change rims to GSA rims ($3000)

In total, to resolve my dissatisfaction, I would need to spend another $9000

:giddy: So my wife ask me, is this the real ultimate bike u wanna keep ??? Errr... not sure leh .... So my wife said, I know your pattern one lah, so many complaints, might as well spent this $ on a new bike which also comes with warranty. No more complaints ....

With this, I landed myself on a new GS n never look back :cheeky:

Hope this give you some insight :smile:

nice meetin u guys at changi juz now, saw quite a few "chio bus" juz now rite :p

enjoy ur bah ku teh in the mornin ;)

Originally posted by koma@Jan 21 2005, 02:32 AM

nice meetin u guys at changi juz now, saw quite a few "chio bus" juz now rite :p

enjoy ur bah ku teh in the mornin ;)

Yeah, nice to meet you guys and gal too.

Thxs to you , SDR & wife for the drinks and makan.

had a good time chit chatting..

Those who are going..Enjoy your breakfast 2molo :smile:

Oh yes. Great time spent talking and laffing. :cheeky:

Yah yah. Thanks for the drinks and the oyster omelette! Drinks on me another time. :hungry:

See u guys later at 8am.

GS1200...dude. Your experiences are getting me a lil worried. LOL.

$$ spent....... woooo....

Need to do some financial planning.... by investing.... :weep::hungry:

Orh by the way... clutch plate is $1500? I tot PML is charging ard 2.2k....

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by RT@Jan 21 2005, 02:51 AM

Yeah, nice to meet you guys and gal too.

Thxs to you , SDR & wife for the drinks and makan.

had a good time chit chatting..

Those who are going..Enjoy your breakfast 2molo :smile:

It was a pleasure meeting all of you too.

See you guys tomorrow morning!

If anybody want to join us, we'll be meeting at Esso Petrol Kiosk Gelang Patah @ 8am later b4 setting off together. Since we're all sleeping late tonight, I think we'll be late a bit. :cheeky: haha. But nvm, still must go!

To GS1200, thanks for the insight. I think I'll give myself and the bike abt 6 months to build camaraderie. If I really have to go thru something as similar as yours, then tough decision will have to be made....sigh.... but such is life.

For now...zzzz...later...bah kut teh! wooohoooo! First group-riding!

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 21 2005, 03:03 AM

It was a pleasure meeting all of you too.

See you guys tomorrow morning!

If anybody want to join us, we'll be meeting at Esso Petrol Kiosk Gelang Patah @ 8am later b4 setting off together. Since we're all sleeping late tonight, I think we'll be late a bit. :cheeky: haha. But nvm, still must go!

To GS1200, thanks for the insight. I think I'll give myself and the bike abt 6 months to build camaraderie. If I really have to go thru something as similar as yours, then tough decision will have to be made....sigh.... but such is life.

For now...zzzz...later...bah kut teh! wooohoooo! First group-riding!

Aiyahh.. sorry guyzz.....

cun join u all..... tiz morning wake up den see the threaD... i wan BAK KUH TEH~!~!~

2nd link there got bak kuh teh mehh?? where where???? alamak.....

nxt time meet up with ya guyz den..... :weep:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by gsxxer@Jan 21 2005, 03:02 AM

Oh yes. Great time spent talking and laffing. :cheeky:

Yah yah. Thanks for the drinks and the oyster omelette! Drinks on me another time. :hungry:

See u guys later at 8am.

GS1200...dude. Your experiences are getting me a lil worried. LOL.

$$ spent....... woooo....

Need to do some financial planning.... by investing.... :weep::hungry:

Orh by the way... clutch plate is $1500? I tot PML is charging ard 2.2k....

Hey gsxxer, relax mate, not everyone like me so suay :cheeky: So wat bike r u planning for next ???

Yep, PML charges abt 2 Gs but if u go to Dili or Stamford Motors, its abt this price +/- :smile:

Well, the only thing abt doing it at PML is that its got warranty so can still go back make noise if not done properly.

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 21 2005, 12:56 PM

hahahaha, wow, you are a big spender, much much worst than me. hehehe.... i m not alone.:cheer:

Hey SDR :smile: Wat to do ??? Back then was contemplating of buying an 1150 but it was so ex cos the one that I wanted was $25 Gs, so I thought saving the $10 Gs n use it to load up new stuff on my 1100 would be a smarter choice. Alas.... still plunge myself into a deep hole :giddy: But no regrets, new bikes really feels different n I m really enjoying every peaceful moment of ownership...no more funny sound, squeaky parts, rust, etc. or dont know what else can spring up like Hall Sensor failure n then getting stranded....

Hey Pinglong, r u aware that u should never use high pressure jet to wash Bertha. If not, pls take note that the high pressure jet can damage the hall sensor n oso the electronic stuff of your dash board :giddy: When washing, just sponge it n rinse with water. Yes, the hall sensor problem is indeed a headache. Its is normally caused by the wire harness breaking up after the years n water shorting it. So, to be safe, change it every 2 yrs. The other thing is abt the price of BMW spare parts.... it normally appreciates. So, better to buy the spare sensor....if.....u r keeping the bike. Cost abt $400 now. Bought mine 1 yr ago at $370.

Originally posted by GS1200@Jan 21 2005, 06:37 PM

Hey SDR :smile: Wat to do ??? Back then was contemplating of buying an 1150 but it was so ex cos the one that I wanted was $25 Gs, so I thought saving the $10 Gs n use it to load up new stuff on my 1100 would be a smarter choice. Alas.... still plunge myself into a deep hole :giddy: But no regrets, new bikes really feels different n I m really enjoying every peaceful moment of ownership...no more funny sound, squeaky parts, rust, etc. or dont know what else can spring up like Hall Sensor failure n then getting stranded....

Hey Pinglong, r u aware that u should never use high pressure jet to wash Bertha. If not, pls take note that the high pressure jet can damage the hall sensor n oso the electronic stuff of your dash board :giddy: When washing, just sponge it n rinse with water. Yes, the hall sensor problem is indeed a headache. Its is normally caused by the wire harness breaking up after the years n water shorting it. So, to be safe, change it every 2 yrs. The other thing is abt the price of BMW spare parts.... it normally appreciates. So, better to buy the spare sensor....if.....u r keeping the bike. Cost abt $400 now. Bought mine 1 yr ago at $370.

Hey Pinglong, what GS1200 and SDR says is very true about hanging on to a bike with a little milage under its tires. Sometimes its the little money that we keep throwing at it to keep it running, and finally when we look back, it all adds up to quite a sum. But money is not the only discomfort that haunts us, imagine the hassle of breakdowns, poor performances, bad milage to a tank and such, they all intrude into the overall biking experience, don't you agree.

Buy guys, I would also like to bring up the case of the opportunity cost involved here. If Pinglong's bike runs trouble free after the work that was put in, than should he sell it if there is a willing buyer? Firstly, like someone mentioned earlier in this thread, people who buy BMW would either buy new or are enthusiast looking for a specific model, so they would be willing to put down good money for it. Second, the moment the 1200RT arrives, the 1100RT would become 2 generation old, I don't think depreciation in this market is gonna be linear, so the lost might be even greater if anyone else is still looking for one. Third, dear Pinglong is already itching for an upgrade, and we all know, that means trouble....heh heh :cheeky:

IMHO, I think Pinglong should still meet this guy who's looking for the 1100. If he's willing to offer a good price, then why not, short pain better than long pain right.. If the offer is not good, then he should plan to keep the bike longer. I would say Pinglong should look beyond even the 1200RT and start putting money aside for the even newer model after the 1200 while making full use of the investment that he has already put into the 1100 :thumb:

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by GS1200@Jan 21 2005, 06:26 PM

Hey gsxxer, relax mate, not everyone like me so suay :cheeky: So wat bike r u planning for next ???

Yep, PML charges abt 2 Gs but if u go to Dili or Stamford Motors, its abt this price +/- :smile:

Well, the only thing abt doing it at PML is that its got warranty so can still go back make noise if not done properly.

Erm... i dun think i am looking at any other bikes at the moment. :smile:

Hmmmm the clutch thingy. Bike Connection told me the shop beside them charges $800 bucks...:confused:

Originally posted by gsxxer@Jan 23 2005, 03:53 AM

Hmmmm the clutch thingy. Bike Connection told me the shop beside them charges $800 bucks...:confused:

Hey Guys, how long does the clutch typically last? Is it worthwhile to consider those ceremic type? Quite X but I heard that they are bomb proof, probably able to last the lifetime of the bike.... o_O

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by vmaxxmadness@Jan 23 2005, 11:13 AM

cyclop!!! congrates on your 6 months wait for the GS, well at least it arrives.... :thumb:

Indeed it has!!!! And a long and painful wait it was, but the bike is rewarding its owner Big time. Thanks bro :thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by gsxxer@Jan 23 2005, 03:53 AM

Hmmm.... $800 ? Does that include the labour ? From what I know, Clutch plate replacement is abt $700 and that's only the clutch plate, then there are the other seals n other stuff which I can't remember. As for the workmanship, cant be only $100 cos they need to pull out the whole rear section to access the clutch plate so I m a bit skeptical abt the price. The bike shop next to bike connection is actually working for Eugene as well for his repairs n servicing.

Well, if they really can do it for $800, it would be good news to fellow BMW owners

Originally posted by cyclop@Jan 23 2005, 11:05 AM

Hey Guys, how long does the clutch typically last? Is it worthwhile to consider those ceremic type? Quite X but I heard that they are bomb proof, probably able to last the lifetime of the bike.... o_O

Hey Cyclops, the clutch plate thingy typically last at least 100k depending on your riding style. But of course if u pull wheelies often.... :giddy:

As for the ceramic ones, have not heard abt its reliability yet.

My fren just changed his at 140,000, but there are some that changed it btw 70k - 90k . In fact, i had read some where that it should last for a good 200,000 but cant remember where I read it.

For those riding the 1150s or 1100, the concern would be more on the hall sensor, starter motor n ABS unit. Recently had been encountering a few 1150s with ABS fault and they are all with the age range of 4yrs.

As for the GS12, everything awaits to be seen.... From what I know, the hall sensor has been replaced with another type.

Hope this info helps :smile:

eh guys, u tink a GS1100, 1 of the last batch before the series stoppped production registered dec99 tat makes it 4yr 1mth old with AG**x 2 digit number plate with front n back ohlins, hepco crash bars, hepco rear rack n hepco top box, touratech hard parts for both sides footpegs,side carbon fiber panels worth $15k or not?? i saw the bike liao although 130000km mileage but the engine still damm strong n smooth. so wat u guys tink cause i hav 2 get another gs liao my fren last min dun wan 2 let go the gs1100 u guys saw me ridin the other day

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 23 2005, 02:15 PM

Let me KP here,heard fm GS1100 & GS1150 owner tt e fault is e old sensor fitted on 1100models tt's not waterproof thus giving those R1100GS/R/RT/RS owners problems,bmw had replaced a better & weather proof sensor 4 e 1150 models & it is also compatible 4 1100modelsl,solving this problems.True?

STARTER-mine replaced once,heard fm A-Ong (ex-PML mech) tt's exactly e same used on Mazda 323 during e 80s,was also advised by him tt to prevent starter motor to fail - do not force start,tt's; if it doesnt start,leave it alone & try it gently after 5mins - by pressing & release & not holding on to it regardless it start or not,dont press on it forcing it to start like most mech did.check e choke or others.most important of all,after starting it,do not press on e starter (saw some mech did tt as well) it will produce de.de.de.de sound,also dont alway start / stop for short distance-like 100m or less,u may like to push ur bike around,yes,it is heavy but wat to do?of cos,guess no choice 4 upslope.

to CYCLOPS, is there a ceramic clutch plate in e mkt?,where can i get it & do they hv it 4 r100 models?TKS.

Hey SDR, u r absolutely right abt the starter, never force crank it, if its cant, leave it alone then try again. However, there are times when u may just off the engine with petrol still choke up n tat will cause the starter to hesitate. If tat happens, just start n throttle gently.

As for the ceramic clutch plate, its sold by Touratech for the R80, 100, 850, 1100 & 1150 GS series. The ceramic ones were developed in Africa due to its terrain n its said to be very enduring. Cost abt SGD788 before shipping.

http://www.touratech.de/shop/enter.html?lang=en-us

Originally posted by koma@Jan 23 2005, 01:43 PM

eh guys, u tink a GS1100, 1 of the last batch before the series stoppped production registered dec99 tat makes it 4yr 1mth old with AG**x 2 digit number plate with front n back ohlins, hepco crash bars, hepco rear rack n hepco top box, touratech hard parts for both sides footpegs,side carbon fiber panels worth $15k or not?? i saw the bike liao although 130000km mileage but the engine still damm strong n smooth. so wat u guys tink cause i hav 2 get another gs liao my fren last min dun wan 2 let go the gs1100 u guys saw me ridin the other day

Koma,

Unless you must have the 1100 for whatever reasons..

have you considered the 1150 instead, saw the one for sale this weekend but unfortunately the seller would not bulge on the selling price,i would have considered it if he was willing to lower his price..its going for 22.5K.non neg.

Its basically stock but has a couple of accessories to it ...

thanks sdr n for ur answers, actually my fren was lettin gop at 7.5k only but tat day he did the wedding convoy he sort of feel attached to the bike so not sellin liao. anyway reason i gettin a beemer cause i be using it for a long term most prob not goin 2 sell it. myvfr i knoe i be lettin go bout 2 yrs dwn the road. maybe i gettin old dun need high speed thrills liao :p reason i gettin the 1100 cause its proven 2 be the most reliable of the gs range n i believe its not longer in production liao. but i tested out the machine tis mornin the engine is really gd better than my fren's bike. so any more advice guys cause i tried out another gs juz now fp plate reg nov 97 with full ohlins front n back,plus a few cosmetic accessories haggled the price dwn 2 12k. so which 1 is the better deal, personally i find the 15k bike more of a gd deal.

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 24 2005, 02:32 AM

koma, r u sure u wanna to keep this last batch of GS? u may not be able to sell it after 2yrs or bike may just cost a mere $7k or less with all the new models rolling out fm BM and it's really pain to keep old bikes.

but if u r ready for above, then I believe you should also set aside at least 5k for hipups. if no hipups, then it's saving for old age (you or your bike).hehehe.

i don't hv 1 and hv no experience with 4vv, I can't really advise on repair or tech things, all i can say is, if u hv set ur mind, then u should go for it. get 1 with the best outlook and performance, think 15k+ a bit high, some1 got his GS1150 for 19k so should neg further.

as for e 4vv engine, think not to worry, saw on a magazine many years ago, BMW tested this engine for dont know how many hours, can't recall, wonder if it was 30,000 or 300,000hrs, exhaust turned white (red 1st then white), but engine still works. Gearbox, hv not heard of any1 changing it (esp the 4vv), infact, according to PML, I was the only 1 changed the gearbox in singapore, another guy owning the 2vv engine GSPD also set another record, he changed his engine - was told $6k - don't know if this price in/excludes workmanship (guess the rest of the 2vv owners prefer scrap to repair).

as long it is not the very 1st batch, think should be ok, an Australian bike magazine reported the left side joint holding the engine near the rider footpeg cracked, engine oil always leak due to overheat, BMW improved both on their later batch. all my magazines are in my mum's place, wonder if they're still there, if they are, next time, i will bring it out to show u (she accidentally throw away my file containing all PML invoices, 1 spare key and 3 pannier locks).

As always... so technical.... hehehhe

The ceramic clutch sounds good.... :giddy:

kopi session again? when? :hungry:

Originally posted by GS1200@Jan 23 2005, 04:28 PM

Hey SDR, u r absolutely right abt the starter, never force crank it, if its cant, leave it alone then try again. However, there are times when u may just off the engine with petrol still choke up n tat will cause the starter to hesitate. If tat happens, just start n throttle gently.

As for the ceramic clutch plate, its sold by Touratech for the R80, 100, 850, 1100 & 1150 GS series. The ceramic ones were developed in Africa due to its terrain n its said to be very enduring. Cost abt SGD788 before shipping.

http://www.touratech.de/shop/enter.html?lang=en-us

Hello SDR, GS1200's link is spot on, check it out! This one's for the 1200.

Ceramic clutch BMW R 1200 GS Euro 370,00

http://www.touratech.de/shop/media/01-040-0353-0_I_01.JPG

The ceramic clutch has been developed in Africa for use on Africa's extreme trails and for off-road trips. Since its introduction it has proved to be reliable. The ceramic clutch is much more durable and can be used under

more extreme conditions than the original clutch. Even when climbing uphill on narrow tarmac roads with heavy luggage the clutch will work perfectly. Until now, not a single clutch has broken down!

- 1.8 mm laser-cut stainless steel

- 8 ceramic friction plates (riveted)

- Racing technology

- Tried and tested in South Africa for many years and

On tracks world-wide

- Clutch does not longer overheat under extreme conditions.

- Excellent workmanship and exacting tolerance

- It normally does not break during the "LIFE OF A MOTORBIKE"

01-040-0353-0

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by koma@Jan 24 2005, 01:27 AM

thanks sdr n for ur answers, actually my fren was lettin gop at 7.5k only but tat day he did the wedding convoy he sort of feel attached to the bike so not sellin liao. anyway reason i gettin a beemer cause i be using it for a long term most prob not goin 2 sell it. myvfr i knoe i be lettin go bout 2 yrs dwn the road. maybe i gettin old dun need high speed thrills liao :p reason i gettin the 1100 cause its proven 2 be the most reliable of the gs range n i believe its not longer in production liao. but i tested out the machine tis mornin the engine is really gd better than my fren's bike. so any more advice guys cause i tried out another gs juz now fp plate reg nov 97 with full ohlins front n back,plus a few cosmetic accessories haggled the price dwn 2 12k. so which 1 is the better deal, personally i find the 15k bike more of a gd deal.

Hey Koma, I've heard of this Yellow 1150GS that is being out up for sale. Low milage, fully accessorised with Ohlins, Staintune, Cobin etc...... Owner initially asking for 27 but was told to be more realistic. Now he's willing to negotiate. Usually when a bike is offered for sale, what other aftermarket parts, the original owners' insurance and road tax should not be featured into the pricing, only the bike price is being considered. I can help you link up with the guy if you wanna have a look see. :thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by koma@Jan 24 2005, 01:27 AM

hey koma, If I m not wrong, the bike tat u r looking at is a red GS with the no. plate FK*C. This bike is the first batch of the GS11 tat came in n featured no ABS n a plastic tank. Wat I know is the current owner replaced the whole shaft piece not long after he got it cos it gave up. Abt the convoy, is it the one done on 21 Jan 04 for a couple riding the GS1150 ? If yes, i was there too :smile:

Well, if u r willing to set a aside a couple Gs to tahan any breakdowns, i would say, go with your heart babe :smile: Price wise is quite rock bottom oredi :cheeky: