I was there on 27 -30th Dec... Didn't know u were going there as well...

Yup Chaweng was part of my 26 days trip. Was there at Chaweng on 28th till 1st jan. Just reached home yesterday morning. You catched the fireworks by the beach? Lovely eh?

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg

Hi papabread79,

Thanks for the kind words. Mr blues and I have kissed and made up (not literally, of course!) over a cup of kopi. This episode shows how easy it is to have a misunderstanding in a forum. We can't tell a person's intention without hearing the tone or seeing the person's face.

Anyway, hope to see you again soon at LC. :cool:

Hi bikerblues,

Thanks for the additional poison. :sian:

Very long and interesting read.

But US$7500 for a turbo system? Can buy a GS Adventure liao. Well, almost... ;)

The Spyder Full exhaust at US$900 is more reasonable (relatively speaking). But what do I do with my GPR then?

I think better wait for you to install the turbo plus the Remus on your black XR1200 first lah. I am pretty sure you will do that.

Then when you charge past Orchard Road, TP can hear you but can't see you. :lol:

Be the first HOG in Singapore to fly!

BTW, is there any place in Sing where they ceramic coat an exhaust pipe?

Hi Currypuff,

No worries..hope you will find the bagster useful for your trips..

THe RSR is really expensive and jz 'food for thought' on possibilities..though economically, it does not make sense to spend this sort of cash for our commutes..

cheers and ride safe

BB

Yup Chaweng was part of my 26 days trip. Was there at Chaweng on 28th till 1st jan. Just reached home yesterday morning. You catched the fireworks by the beach? Lovely eh?

Yup. I did. As well as the floating lanterns. But i hate the chaweng district traffic. Jammed pack.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/adik_putri/Beenthere1.jpg

2004 - 2006 WR200

2006 - 2008 WR400FS

2008 - 201* R1200GS adv

2010 - 201* VFR 800 02'

This beauty escorted me and my friends from Ho Chinh Min to Cambodian border. Such elegant machine.

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs142.snc3/16932_234372337551_676382551_3046140_5324300_n.jpg

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg

Wow....such a beauty indeed...i'm mesmerised!!

Btw, anyone here rides a r1150rockster and intends to change ride, pm me...a friend of mine is looking for one! CHeers!!

Boxer rocks!!

Live to Ride.....

Dream Ride:

Triumph Thruxton

Norton Commando 961 please!!

I have a friend letting go a R1150R, mileage is about 60k if I recall right, great condition for a 2003 bike, 2 owners including himself. Bike is in a rideaway condition, no problems to solve. Anyone keen just PM me your number and you guys talk direct. I know that he is looking at at least $13K, dunno what is the actual price he is looking at.

Cat

Edited by coolcat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

can't seem to find the handle riser in the URL, can advise again?

Hiya,

Google "handlebar riser R1150R" and you will see many examples. Wunderlich do a wonderful but spendy one.

Cat

Hi Cat, thank you so much for the info....the r1150r is a beautiful bike but i prefer the weird-looking rockster....came across one in almost brand new condition (mileage was only 11K or something like that)....but was too late!!

Wonder whether the owner of the bike is in this forum.....:cheeky:

I have a friend letting go a R1150R, mileage is about 60k if I recall right, great condition for a 2003 bike, 2 owners including himself. Bike is in a rideaway condition, no problems to solve. Anyone keen just PM me your number and you guys talk direct. I know that he is looking at at least $13K, dunno what is the actual price he is looking at.

Cat

Live to Ride.....

Dream Ride:

Triumph Thruxton

Norton Commando 961 please!!

bmw doesn't seem to be doing very well in the dakar for the 2 wheels category this year (and the pass few years as well)

the rsv450 is the one that is pulling out the punches out of no where, this time around...

gone are the days where the GS used to dominate the event....sigh, seems like BMW's today are more civilised and technologically advanced and not the raw and simple machines of yesteryear where we mere riders could actually fix them without having to hook them up to a computer.

http://www.thisoldtractor.com/guzzitech.dk/english/index.htm

1981 dt125

"its bad but not too bad"

BMW top-case

Does anyone has a BMW top case suitable for R1150R for sale?

Also, does anyone know which is a better gear shift indicator for R1150R?

gone are the days where the GS used to dominate the event....sigh, seems like BMW's today are more civilised and technologically advanced and not the raw and simple machines of yesteryear where we mere riders could actually fix them without having to hook them up to a computer.

The last boxer BMW to take part in the rally was the R900RR for 2000 and 2001, and while their power was unmatched in the field, they did not fare too well on the technical sections cos' of weight (even though they weighed only about 190 kg). These are not complicated machines; although based on the R1150 engines, they ran on carbs and conventional forks. The more complicated F650RR fared better, winning the 1999 and 2000 champions. In 2001, the BMW factory team only took 6th, 7th and 13th places, incidentally the 13th place rider was Cyril Despres (who looks to win this year). The BMW also struggled with the emergence of KTM's dominance.

http://www.motorcycleinfo.co.uk/resources/6795/imageGallery/bmw_hpn_r900rr.jpg

There is also another good reason why BMW bikes no longer dominate the Dakar; BMW stopped participating in the Dakar between 1988 to 1997, and after 2001. All BMW bikes that participated in those years and post-2001 were privateers or non-factory teams.

BMW top-case

Does anyone has a BMW top case suitable for R1150R for sale?

Unlikely cos' there is no BMW hard case for the R1150R. What BMW have for the R1150R is a lockable rack/softcase combi that is also used by the K1200RS.

http://www.vhoist.com/uploaded_images/garage/101106/6014_101106_full.jpg

I've modded my rear to take a F650GS / Pelican box if necessary. More for fun factor than for necessity cos' the side boxes are sufficient for my rides so far. :p One advantage of the F650GS box is that you can re-key it to use your boxer's key.

One can also cheaply mod the rear to take GIVI box etc. Or if you are not into mod but just buy and bolt, look for stuff like Hepco / Givi or BestRest.

BTW, the rear cases mods are reversible and does not involve mutilating the bike.

Cat

Edited by coolcat

Any DIYers around? Am seriously considering to bleed my clutch and brake fluid. But i have read that i would need the funnel and dummy wooden blocks for the calipers.

I have the servo ABS anyway.

Also looking at balancing the throttle body as i am experiencing surging problem.

Any help appreciated. Thanks

Any DIYers around? Am seriously considering to bleed my clutch and brake fluid. But i have read that i would need the funnel and dummy wooden blocks for the calipers.

I have the servo ABS anyway.

Also looking at balancing the throttle body as i am experiencing surging problem.

Any help appreciated. Thanks

Which model and year?

Cat

Hi. Good to know there is another DIYer.

There are a number of threads on how to bleed the ABS. I find this one among the best.

http://users.rcn.com/dehager/service/service_abs3.pdf

As you can see, it appears a rather tedious process but doesn't look too complicated. If things go according to plan, I will be attempting a ABS bleed at a friend's friend's place sometime next week. If successful, I can help you to do yours (good practice for me too).

In the meantime, maybe you can search the website on how to make that funnel for standing on the ABS module.

As the bleeders on my bike are already rusty, I plan to replace them with SpeedBleeders. These things prevent air from entering the brake system during bleeding. They cost US$7 each or $15 for the stainless steel ones ($12 on ebay).

However, my bike being the 1100 series has 5 nipples, compared to your 9 (2 x front calipers, 1 x rear caliper, 6 x ABS module). So it may be more cost effective for you to invest in a vacuum pump instead.

Then again, I think they are a good long-term investment since it is advisable to bleed your brakes once a year. Unlike the R1100 series, bikes with the servo brakes must be bled from the ABS module for a complete fluid change.

My problem is I am not sure what size to get. There are conflicting reports on which one suit my bike. I emailed Speed Bleeder but so far they have not replied. :angry:

The below link teaches you how to adjust your valves which should be done before balancing your throttle bodies.

Value Adjustment for Dummies

Throttle Body Synching for Dummies

I am thinking of getting either the TwinMax or Carbtune Pro for the tuning. But... one thing at a time lah. :cheeky:

If I sound very knowledgeable I can assure you I am not. I am just beginning to read up on all these DIY threads to know a little more self servicing and saving some $.

That the advantage of BMW bikes. Lots of info on the web.

Amazing what these Ang Mohs are capable of. :bow:

Let's have more discussion on how to go about servicing our bikes if you are interested. :thumb:

Coolcat: I have a '02 1150GSA

Currypuff: Hmmm, let's see if we can work out something. I just came back from calibrating my TPS. My first task and chose it because it's the easiest to do, lol.

And damn, u just reminded me to check if my bike have the nipple or grub screw on the right caliper. The thought of speed bleeders did came across my mind. But i have also heard that they are rather fragile.

I do DIY a lot on my jap inline4 and is familiar with almost all the necessary servicing. But this is my first non jap bike, got to be careful with everything.

And fa*k, i suspect some water ran into my tank while i washed my bike for the first time a couple of days ago. The water drain pipe might be stuck. Now firing is inconsistent and having some backfire. Any good place to recommend for flushing the fuel tank? I have almost a full tank! :faint: The previous owner frequent M-Technik.

Hi. Good to know there is another DIYer.

There are a number of threads on how to bleed the ABS. I find this one among the best.

http://users.rcn.com/dehager/service/service_abs3.pdf

As you can see, it appears a rather tedious process but doesn't look too complicated. If things go according to plan, I will be attempting a ABS bleed at a friend's friend's place sometime next week. If successful, I can help you to do yours (good practice for me too).

In the meantime, maybe you can search the website on how to make that funnel for standing on the ABS module.

As the bleeders on my bike are already rusty, I plan to replace them with SpeedBleeders. These things prevent air from entering the brake system during bleeding. They cost US$7 each or $15 for the stainless steel ones ($12 on ebay).

However, my bike being the 1100 series has 5 nipples, compared to your 9 (2 x front calipers, 1 x rear caliper, 6 x ABS module). So it may be more cost effective for you to invest in a vacuum pump instead.

Then again, I think they are a good long-term investment since it is advisable to bleed your brakes once a year. Unlike the R1100 series, bikes with the servo brakes must be bled from the ABS module for a complete fluid change.

My problem is I am not sure what size to get. There are conflicting reports on which one suit my bike. I emailed Speed Bleeder but so far they have not replied. :angry:

The below link teaches you how to adjust your valves which should be done before balancing your throttle bodies.

Value Adjustment for Dummies

Throttle Body Synching for Dummies

I am thinking of getting either the TwinMax or Carbtune Pro for the tuning. But... one thing at a time lah. :cheeky:

If I sound very knowledgeable I can assure you I am not. I am just beginning to read up on all these DIY threads to know a little more self servicing and saving some $.

That the advantage of BMW bikes. Lots of info on the web.

Amazing what these Ang Mohs are capable of. :bow:

Let's have more discussion on how to go about servicing our bikes if you are interested. :thumb:

:thumb::thumb::thumb:

Wish the 1200GS is the same as old 1150GS.... Not many things can DIY.

Still have to bring back to PML even after doing it.

Hiya, Enjoy

The bleeding is the same as Jap bikes; and I did not use any speed bleeder. If you have been doing your own bleeding then you should be ok. However, if you have ABS, then Clymer and (of course) BMW says that the ABS control unit should be bled by authorised workshop; while some other literature takes the view that bleeding from the calipers will also drain the ABS system. The last time when I worked on a R1150RT, that did not work and we had to manually vacuum out the fluids in the hydro unit. My take on it is to do a normal drain via calipers and then see how the brakes are.

The clutch is a bit more painful cos of the allen-key grub screw / check valve system used by BMW instead of the usual nipple. You can fit a BMW nipple part no. 34 21 2 330 310 to it and then bleed it the usual way as brakes. The bleed nipple can be left there after flushing.

Water in a full tank? I'll gladly take some fuel from ya. :) Just drain the whole lot and let the tank dry out. Good luck.

Cat

Nice. Is that kopi-O or teh-O? :slurp:

I had to top up my front reservoir once and the fluid looked dirty grey. The light wasn't too good so couldn't be sure how bad it was but that convinced me I better change all the brake fluid.

On another note I emailed a SpeedBleeder vendor on ebay about the size of the nipples under the tank and he said he doesn't know.

I emailed the same question to SpeedBleeder last week but till now there was no reply. If this is their customer service, it sure doesn't instill confidence in the company. Anyway, even if I order now, they wouldn't arrive in time so I will try bleeding with the original grub screws. At least this time round.

Will see how it goes.

BTW, what did you use for your TBS? Did it solve your surging?

Hey guys... I need some useful advices. I ve a month old 2nd hand africa twin cost abt 7500. But suddenly ive a change of heart to get a GS or GSA.... regardless 1st or 2nd hand. The problem is that how is the procedure to return back the bike(AT) to the shop?

I mean whats usually have to be paid? Anybody stuck in this situation before? Pls share with some experiences and i really wanna get my hand on a beemer but first have to get rid of this africa twin first. Pls advise.

Thanx guys.

Hey guys... I need some useful advices. I ve a month old 2nd hand africa twin cost abt 7500. But suddenly ive a change of heart to get a GS or GSA.... regardless 1st or 2nd hand. The problem is that how is the procedure to return back the bike(AT) to the shop?

I mean whats usually have to be paid? Anybody stuck in this situation before? Pls share with some experiences and i really wanna get my hand on a beemer but first have to get rid of this africa twin first. Pls advise.

Thanx guys.

Dear BeMyWoman (how did you think this nick up? :) )

If the AT is not under loan then you simply sell the AT in the open market. If the bike is under financing then there may be a slew of penalties, admin fee etc. Even after a month the shop may treat any "return" as you pushing the bike back to it, and the penalty stuff etc applies plus depreciation in the value of the bike. Your best scenario (if you can call it that) would be to hunt for a GS from the same shop and then persuade them to "upgrade" your purchase. The shop might be more attracted to that.

Good luck (you will need it).

Cat